Terran Strategy discussion V 1.0, The Last Mankind on Galaxy

evofantasy
post Oct 27 2010, 03:47 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Oct 27 2010, 03:45 PM)
i still believe MMM + timing can own everything. too cheaty hahaha
i think bunkers + 2 rax worth of army can hold it...
by the time he gets his medivacs i think u would have enuff economy lead to get tanks etc...
evofantasy
post Oct 27 2010, 05:35 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Oct 27 2010, 03:50 PM)
then go for MMM + 6 scv push. hahaha
or if u dare to take the risk, do ITR's build haha
evofantasy
post Oct 29 2010, 01:52 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 29 2010, 01:36 PM)
whats ITR's build?

haha roti john is an all'iner!
IntoTheRainbow...
1 Rax FE and jz get ahead from there on...
evofantasy
post Nov 2 2010, 02:12 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 2 2010, 01:25 PM)
http://us.battle.net/sc2/en/profile/2302127/1/Tanbakudan/ my imouto. proves that terran is faceroll (Y)

completely newbie player, and platinum league. LAWL
lol...
my NA account is now 8-3...
and when i get terran as random i faceroll with stim only...
only lost to 1 diamond toss when my marine scv all-in fail (canceled bunker by accident zzzzz)
evofantasy
post Nov 2 2010, 04:55 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 2 2010, 02:27 PM)
i would have you know that we face all diamonds/plat in our placement/3 games after it. and i happen to random terran most of them time. 3 of us terran. you guess the rest.

and no, im pretty sure our result would be the same (if not better! wwww) in SEA
facerolling MM never ever gets old
lol though 1 thing marauder without concussive sucks...
i forgot concussive and went to engage then i got rape by the same toss (fail marine scv rush)...
was wondering why i cant kite his army and OMFG i didnt have concussive =(

still i would say terran are fun to play...
i love to open with marines ala foxer vs zerg...
when u have the micro, its jz so fun to annoy zerg (took down this natural twice)...
late game jz stim and run behind his mineral patch (metalopolis) where its such a great position since u are mobile enuff to get there wit minimum casualties...
evofantasy
post Nov 10 2010, 10:31 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Nov 10 2010, 10:24 AM)
really? blink.gif
why you say so then?
i would say that terran is the easiest race to pickup due to the similarity of their mechanics with other RTS...

Added on November 10, 2010, 10:32 am
QUOTE(tjinn @ Nov 10 2010, 10:30 AM)
I'tll b better to do a polt timing attack then to use the banshees fr harassment. Observer in base will allow stalkers to snipe down ur banshee b4 doing any significant damage.
revealing ur banshee is asking for more observers as well...
of course if u can time ur banshee rite to be in his base when his obs is on the way to ur base u can use it for harassment...
or u can harass if u make sure ur banshee doesn't die (only some maps though in fact)

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Nov 10 2010, 10:32 AM
evofantasy
post Nov 10 2010, 11:11 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Nov 10 2010, 11:05 AM)
yes ..reapers cant last as long as banshee..but way cheaper.

But the whole idea is just to harras. Plus you get to scout as well, by running in toss base.

Once the reapers die (RIP) you can still pump marauders/ghost/ marines from the teched barrack.

Added on November 10, 2010, 11:07 am

There is a saying..."practice makes perfect".

Play solo with AI. Start from medium and slowly increase the difficulty settings.
If you can beat insane, congrats ..u can make it to diamond league liao. rclxms.gif
but unlike reapers, banshee compliments ur army very very well...
even late game having banshees (their dps is freaking high, higher on colossus than viking even) + cloak is close to auto win when u manage to snipe the observer (which u should if u are going banshees)...

drop a scan and focus down the obs...
ur banshee will wipe out his group forces and when ur banshee reach a big mass + good support from the ground such as some thors and marines, its pretty much a super deathball which is mobile in terms of banshee+marine (see painuser's build vs nony)
evofantasy
post Nov 10 2010, 11:30 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Nov 10 2010, 11:29 AM)
Yup..banshee end game is excellent. with raven...snipe obs and PDD.. bye bye ground troops.

But as an early harrass and scouting option, IMHO reapers are way cheaper and effective.
u can barely harass with reapers...
and they cost gas...
its better to do so with hellions imho as they dun cost gas, are fast and make use of the factory which would otherwise be useless (bio builds etc)
evofantasy
post Nov 10 2010, 07:36 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(tjinn @ Nov 10 2010, 07:14 PM)
Scouting yes. Harassing no. Reapers are just too soft. Hellions u cn still keep them if ur opponent opts to use chargelotz. I find it difficult to harass protoss unless they decide to fe
lies =(
stop dropping in my base!!!

@ calvin
yup foxer style of marine aggression is so damn fun...
i rather go bio vs zerg cause of the mobility...
evofantasy
post Nov 11 2010, 02:33 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(tjinn @ Nov 11 2010, 08:48 AM)
Early vr into base gives toss all the info he needs. Makes it easy fr him to go phoenix since stargate already out. U cn turret up. Bt doing so early really sets u bck economically. Especially if ur going fr tht fast banshee. N a good toss cn gauge ur unit composition just by looking at wt u hv in ur army.

Added on November 11, 2010, 9:43 amVoidrays are nt affected by pdd also l. Forgot to mention. If terran comes out wif viking u cn snipe it down wif ur phoenix as well. Since no reactor on the port. And during tht time, mass lotz n sentries cn rape u.
phoenix > vikings at high numbers due to their effective dps vs vikings...
the counter to that like wut painuser di was thor(s)...
evofantasy
post Nov 11 2010, 03:12 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(tjinn @ Nov 11 2010, 03:06 PM)
I mentioned viking fr vr. Not phoenix.. I got thors in my match up wjth u d other day also wert coz i scouted ur stargate. U were tryin to counter my polt
to be fair, VR are as good as vikings if u micro...
nexgenius took down 2 vikings with a single VR in blizzcon...
unlike other units, u cant really kite VR as they can attack while moving and with patch 1.12 changes they do deal quite a significant damage uncharged...

VR do melt to thor as well as long as the thor have support...
else 2-3 VR can burn the thor down without much effort =p

ITR aka hopetorture did put it: if ur opponent get more than 2 sentries, ur thor rush would kill him outright when he beat nexgenius...
evofantasy
post Nov 11 2010, 03:19 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(tjinn @ Nov 11 2010, 03:16 PM)
Well to b fair. I had lots of marines fr support as well. And ur nt nexgenius. wink.gif
cry.gif

i thot my vr micro that day vs u was good =(
evofantasy
post Nov 11 2010, 03:27 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Nov 11 2010, 03:22 PM)
Anyone here has any good idea how to break colo/zealots and immortal combo..

I find it freaking hard...!!! My bio just die and my tanks dont do enuff damage to the colo..on a losing streak oo..against toss.

I find TVP ..damn hard from mid game onwards.
hmmm to be frank the best way is to keep up ur aggression...
terran's early game advantage vs toss should not be overlooked...
keep pushing with some bio ball (bio ball are better in small numbers vs small numbers - QXC), threaten an attack and prevent him from teching to colossus that early (if he does its an auto win)...

once they get their big ball of doom, that ball is really really immobile...
doing 1-2 drops would keep the toss in his base due to their immobility allowing u to get vikings for the colossus...

u can try ghost for emp but i still think pressuring and constant attacking is the way to go...
as for me, i would prefer getting banshees now...

Added on November 11, 2010, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(tjinn @ Nov 11 2010, 03:23 PM)
Ok laaa tongue.gif
it was good la. Bt it didnt really set me bck la. The hellion drop did. Lol
VR are good way to handle drop as they can pew pew the medic as they are running or trying to land...
pretty much learnt this from inca...

Added on November 11, 2010, 3:31 pmoh ya dun be afraid to pull scv to tank for ur MM ball...
ur eco wont be affected as u have mules and they complement MM balls well (45 hp for 50 minerals and melee range + the AI of attacking scvs)

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Nov 11 2010, 03:31 PM
evofantasy
post Nov 12 2010, 01:23 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(tjinn @ Nov 12 2010, 07:18 AM)
ull hv to micro ur ground army well so it doesnt get taken out by the zealots sentries n immortals though. However if u go with the strat i recommended. In the event of mismicro n ground army diminishing. U cn still cloak ur banshees n continue pressuring toss opponent. Just remember to snipe sentry b4 ur rines go down.
^ this

even when there's chargelot as long as ur position are good u can kite all of them with marauders and retreat safely...
if u managed to snipe sentries before that. that is a big big advantage u are getting...
depending on ur position be bold to snipe down some colossus...

the magic number for colossus is 4 and anything above would be dealing srz damage...
so its actually ok to sac some marauders and snipe down the colossus to keep their count low =p
evofantasy
post Nov 12 2010, 03:07 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(tjinn @ Nov 12 2010, 01:33 PM)
i think as gladfly mention bout usin tanks. U cn fortify ur position against the toss by building a couple of turrets as well. Its quite anti collosus. As tank play is all bout positioning. Turrets will give u the perimeter u need to maintain ur tank positions.
chargelots will let u friendly fire too much to worth using tanks imho...
1-2 tanks is fine though...
evofantasy
post Nov 12 2010, 04:45 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(tjinn @ Nov 12 2010, 03:26 PM)
owh... Thx fr tht. I just. Remembered a really bad game where my tanks gt raped by chargelotz. Tramatized till nw.
lol when there's storm it get worse...
they removed halucinated zealots having charge (if u research charge) else it was better...
used to halucinate chargelots + real chargelots + storm against tanks...

QUOTE(gladfly @ Nov 12 2010, 03:29 PM)
Problem with tanks is that unless you micro them they wont overkill. They tend to whack the chargelots first while colo "przzzzzzz...." all your bio units plus tanks splash ...makes it even easier for colo to "przzzzzzz..."
Ghost is always best for emp but.... tanks..marauders..medivac...= heavy gas.. hard to get more gas from 2 exp only

I played yesterday and and my opponent went 2gate robo. Tried going thors..surprise surprise..Thor actually pawns the colo..2 thors focus fire..against 2 colo focus fire..thors win...hmmmm...can work meh this? Always thought that colo stops thors...
actually the siege tanks in sc2 != sc1...
the siege tanks in sc2 wont overkill actually...
their AI has been upgraded that's why blizz nerfed their damage twice...
just that u need to make sure they dun fire their own units...

thors > colossus as long as the thors spread out...

Added on November 12, 2010, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(westley0214 @ Nov 12 2010, 04:32 PM)
Rines has the same range 5 with Immortals. Normally a good Toss will put his Immortals at the back, and focus fire on your Thors. Thors will die in no time.
for the immortal to fire at the thors, ur marines would hit em...
to be frank toss wont put immortals behind as: -
1. u want their hardened shields
2. stalkers have range 6 so they cant really be behind
3. the pathing issues of immortals when they are behind is horrible to get a good concave

being a random played (main sitll toss) i think i would understand this matchup pretty well...
immortals work well in small scale battles as well, the bigger the battle, the worse they'll be...

and again dun be afraid to pull scvs with ur army as they complement the terran army very well either as meatshields/ repairbots as ur army are range...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Nov 12 2010, 04:48 PM
evofantasy
post Nov 13 2010, 01:14 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Nov 13 2010, 12:16 PM)
got 1 question, how to deal with zerg's mass muta ball? quite annoying when they just use it to dance between your base and expansion....and sometimes the ball is just so huge that they will brute force the turrets..

i know early harassment is an option, but i am still very new to this game, and still struggling to master the basic build...
jz go attack and kill him...
force his muta to go back and def his base (even nada did the same after a while)...
while u mass up to a death ball jz get thors + marines with stim (and some medics)...

if he doesnt magic box his muta, ur thor would be supreme...
if he does, ur marines will pew pew all the mutas...
evofantasy
post Nov 13 2010, 03:40 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

i guess westley and tjinn cover it up pretty well...
turrets are good but thors are better as they have high range + splash...
and the best thing is u can move out with them...

vikings are really really really horrible vs mutas due to their low firing rate thus very bad effective dps...
thors + marines are the way to go...
usually i prefer to go marine heavy and once the muta reach a certain mass u would need some thors...
others go for thor first to help def the base (1 thor per base is enuff usually) then mass up marine tank thor for the deathball

Added on November 13, 2010, 3:41 pm
QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Nov 13 2010, 02:19 PM)
Most of my wins from playing terran are from TVP and TVZ match ups! I totally suck at TVT especially when it comes to games which is more than 30minutes my winning rate is equally 0% -.-
TvT is really hard to play...
such a high lvl chess game...
though i still like going banshee harass -> tank marine -> tank marine vikign (and some marauders when his tank count is high)...
still i am nt used to managing all my tanks at the same time + viking + raven PDD + stim = die from trying to multitask lol

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Nov 13 2010, 03:41 PM
evofantasy
post Nov 18 2010, 04:04 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(smartleader @ Nov 18 2010, 03:51 PM)
I played a TvZ just now, the Zerg player made all the way to Mutalisk+Zergling+Baneling, I did scout earlier and do some economical damage, but it seems that its not enough, the Zerg will just expand way more faster than I did. All I did is just Bio ball+Thor and was getting Siege Tank as well but in the end was gg-ed as he go his Ultra out. Any suggestion to break this combo?
after ur eco advantage i believe he went muta and pin u down to ur base rite?
the general respond to this is to stay on ur 2 bases and just do a big timing push before his ultras get high or he get to a 300food army (200/200 with larvae stockpiled)...
timing push with some thors + siegetanks and bio support (marine heavy) as ur big ball of death...
get the tanks damage upgrade to 1 shot banes (+1 for +0 armor banes) and upgrade accordingly...
a 120-150 food would be a good timing depending on map and wut ur opponent does...
his food would be much higher at around 180-200 but ur tech heavy army will chew through it with some losses...

it would require some experience for this of course but since u did some economical damage i think the window for ur timing push is slightly bigger...
evofantasy
post Nov 18 2010, 04:09 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Nov 18 2010, 04:05 PM)
btw guys thor >> collo

250 MM 1 shot would kill a colo almost instantly..

They need to do something about thors biggrin.gif
yup...
but thors are mostly used on immortals nowdays as the cannons go through the hardened shields and 1 shot...
the advantage of colossus are the 9 range and the splash if the thors are lined up though...
chargelots are a must in PvT imho >.<

btw from ur experience of thor vs VR what to u think?
i been having mixed results on this >.<

14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0512sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:28 AM