Terran Strategy discussion V 1.0, The Last Mankind on Galaxy

jeffvip
post Jan 12 2012, 11:43 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Jan 12 2012, 02:07 AM)
you guys talk make me @@

some days i really want to watch u all play liao.
you wanna see quest play mech vs protoss? Me too

Talk bout TvP Mech. That whole strategy evolve between banshee and multitasking. Mech is only viable when:

i) Banshee to keep Protoss from attacking too early. Non-stop harassing

ii) Protoss player which unable to multitask.
-Since death ball is working so well, thus it force so many Protoss player to grown comfortable with it (I rarely saw Protoss player doin a multitasking against me) and this comfortable will come back to bite them.

I tried 2 times with Mech vP and it work wonders(but I play on NA, so obviously it is consider smurfing). But as time pass by I believe Protoss player will learn how to put 2 to 3 cannon in the mineral line & at the same time do a better multtasking with blink stalker, then mech will hit wall again. With Immortal and chargelot, I can see P will have a very good chance to demolish a mech play if Mech vP become a matured MU.
jeffvip
post Jan 12 2012, 02:35 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Jan 12 2012, 12:43 PM)
yeap this is how i do it. when it become mature, obviously both party need to be on equal level of skill and 50% 50% chance for both like marine tank vs muta ling.

i think blink stalker will f*** up noober opponent really well...as mothership recall and warp prisms can be shut down via turrent ring. (lol BW turrent ring) well for player who play BW b4, its exactly the same concept other than vulture mine become cloak banshee and now you have wonder ghost. vulture run by and just turtle until 200/200 +2+2 and a move to win.

and i realize, mech need more hotkeys, its quite micro demanding for a 1TA terran like me. ghost emp, raven pdd, banshee cloak, sinege tank siege focus, snipe obs, hellion kite...and cloak banshee + snipe obs is the key in sc2 mech tvp because if both player trade army evenly. lets say 200/200 to 120 each, protoss can just warp in 15 zealot and eat up ur small mech count at home. mech will only shine in larger numbers. so you can use ur cloak banshee to buy time, let opponent cant attack you right away. they need to wait for new obs to come out.
and i just realize obs got the lowest attack priority o0o so you must individually click on it.
I think stargate can come to play too. Phoenix + speed observer to hunt down banshee, Mass carrier to fight heavy tank army instead of Immortal.

Regarding micro demanding. It is really fun, I need to control my army so fast that usually i dont even hotkey 1 of them. Just individual click on that particular unit to use that skill. I always prioritize siege tank, then raven. So I usually get all my army burn up before able to use up all their own skill. (Particularly Ghost)

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Jan 12 2012, 01:41 PM)
i wanna see evofantasy play, he got so many strategy lol
who doesn't? remember to PM me when he play notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by jeffvip: Jan 12 2012, 02:43 PM
jeffvip
post Jan 12 2012, 04:27 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Jan 12 2012, 04:22 PM)
well goody is lol. but then he is a good example, wif his awfully low apm, he can only be a pro because he play mech...as in, mech gives you the furthest edge if you know how to play it well. it has the lowest apm requirement most of the time. *i think*

multiprong attack like WP will be useless after u secure 3 base with sensor tower and turrent rings. (other than blink stalkers) and ur only mobile army is hellion which dont do well against stalker.....owh well, you just need to survive till 200/200, flash style.

a 3 base turtle style map is important. like a tight triangle. and preferably can put PF at choke point. maps like bel shir beach is mind f*** for mech.

a problem im still pondering with is the instant tech switches. after an engagement, if he cleared my ravens, then he will warp in stakler, if he cleared most of my hellions, he will warp in stalkers. so cloak banshee is still the key.

my playstyle is inspired  by villeillusion. check his stream to learn more lol. he play mech tvp every game.
villeillusion always play banshee? Will it be too predictable?
jeffvip
post Jan 16 2012, 11:40 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(wyyam @ Jan 16 2012, 12:38 AM)
juz finished watching the blizzard cup final..
damn cool i muz say .. especially the match 7 part..
I was lucky enough to watch that game live. One of the Moment of the year, 2nd only to Henry score the winner against Leeds in FA Cup.

Roaches win all the 3 game for DRG. If he go roaches again in game 7 then maybe the outcome is different.
jeffvip
post Feb 16 2012, 05:09 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Feb 15 2012, 08:52 PM)

do u know who is this? she is prof sc 2player
I'm actually imagine by the time I meet her, I will be so embarrassing bcos I know this girl will beat me in SC.
jeffvip
post Feb 21 2012, 08:18 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Feb 21 2012, 12:39 AM)
wat the fcuk man.......... the division placement for season 6... some dude tried to probe rush me, and i defended and win. then the next thing i know i entered bronze league.

its so unfair to judge me based on one game like that!! T_T...

Added on February 21, 2012, 12:39 amfyi the guy i beat is from gold league.

Added on February 21, 2012, 12:40 amwtf kena troll on division placement
you need to play more games. placement is not judged by 1 game. btw, is a good thing. you can now join keretapir's tournament.
jeffvip
post Feb 22 2012, 10:52 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Feb 22 2012, 01:23 AM)
Understand dude. The worst feeling is to lose to all-ins.

Things u can do here:
- Improve your reaction time on scv repair timing then.
- Scout more and know what are u scouting. Usually if protoss save up a lot of chrono boost & 3rd pylon is missing, all-in is incoming.
- Probe counting for higher level. When u scanned and saw 16 @ mineral and 6 @ gas (26 food), usually 3gate Void ray all in. 20 probes @ mineral and 3 at gas is standard 4 gate. (Don't expect player to do best version of "all-in" on silver and bronze lvl though)

ps:
I'm learning to 4 gate rush + warp prism now. tongue.gif

jeffvip
post Feb 22 2012, 11:31 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Feb 22 2012, 11:24 AM)
terran with 1 bunker on top of ramp and scv repair can NEVER lose to a 4 gate all in IMO....

p/s ok you might die if his 1st push got includes 2 sentry to block repair....but its very unlikely, i encountered once tongue.gif

how to defend a 4 gate all in with ANY build.

1) when you scout him. check how many mana left in his nexus. this is like the easiest way to scout for a 4 gate. your scv can stay in his base until he make a stalker. see how he use his chronoboost. if he used all on his nexus to make probe, he is giong to 1 gate FE, if he use it on gate and core, and still have extra energy saved up, its a push incoming.

2) now leave his base b4 stalker is out (normal timing for stalker is 4.20~ ithink...4-4.20) hide your scv at his 3rd base or wherever you think he acnt find you. not watch tower, not outside his base, somewhere hidden.

3) make sure you make a bunker before 4.30 because stalkers are imba. they can eat marine all the long unless you have more than 1 barracks.

4) wait for his stalker to hit your base or 5 min mark, whichever come 1st. the hidden scv str8 go into his base. if it is a 4 gate all in, his base will have no unit, only 4 gates warping in. now you got a free scout. if you see sentry or a nexus, then you know a 4 gate push is not coming.

5) so its a 4 gate. put marines in your bunker, put scv behind to repair. seriously, if its a 4 gate, you just park your scv there, as long as you hold, theres no way you are going to lose. you can easily defend it with 1 rax FE or cloak banshee or anything. if you are playing 2-3 rax, just push out at around 5.30, if you can catch his outside pylon, you have a high chance of supply block him or even cancel his warp in. then he will left with 1 stalker 1 zealot raedy to gg. you can even push earlier and put bunker rush him. because a 4 gate is most vunerable when WG research is not complete
how do you defend 3gate void ray then? let's say i'm doing 1 rax FE and I'm completed building 2 depot and the choke d.
jeffvip
post Feb 22 2012, 02:01 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Feb 22 2012, 11:41 AM)
your choke is 2 depot 1 bunker? i had nvr had any problem defending 3 gate VR as long as after 1 rax FE i put 2 mroe rax right away. (some ppl put 2 gas 1st only 2 more rax) then constant marine production. actually by the time you put down the 2 mroe rax you must determine what build your opponent is going adi (actually earlier, the 2nd scv scout is damn important, you need to know what he is doing). if they didnt expand, hell no way am i going to make any stupid marauders. in early game defending rush, you dont need marauders, maybe 1 or 2 max. most important is still marine. because theres 3 dangerous all in that might come, 3 gate void ray, 3 gate immortal or 4 gate warp prisms. marines are good against VR and immortal but not marauders. with enough marines, you can hold it off easier. a ball of 25 marine + scv is much easier to hold than let say 6 marauder 8 marine and scv.

i rarely make marauder but when i make, i make sure he is going fast nexus and am planning to make a small poke.
to defend it with 1-1-1 is abit more tricky because you will not have enough marine and if your bunker go down you are gone. you need to stall until you make 1 viking out of your starport...im not very experienced with that but then 1 rax FE vs VR all in still come down to micro alot....i rmb once i forgot to cahgne back my race, on tal darim i got PvT i just 3 gate VR the terran and i just outmicroed him...like VR can come in go out along the ledge, marine cant hit you, when they commit, sentry down there put forcefield to trap, or even put forcefield let marine cant hit you while you charge on depot...alot of things can do but terran should micro properly too, not just 1A your way to victory....
I usually rush to viking to def but sometime still lose. as u say, 4 rax power build maybe better.

This post has been edited by jeffvip: Feb 22 2012, 02:02 PM
jeffvip
post Feb 22 2012, 03:44 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Feb 22 2012, 02:36 PM)
if you know he is coming, as i said. park scv at bunker. worth it. you dont want to save that few secs of mining time and lose the game right. normally i will put 1 more scv just outside my base to see when he is camping outside my base. and when he is relaly coming, lower depot and put 2-3 scv in front of bunker to full surround repair.

Added on February 22, 2012, 2:38 pm

as ian had said, dont rush to viking off 1 rax FE. just do heavy rax. (this is the only safe thing you can do after you scouted he is going to all in you) if you scouted expo nexus, then you can go ahead and take 2 gas off 1 rax. then plant factory starport etc....

Added on February 22, 2012, 2:42 pm

yeah, recently protoss are doing so good is because of all these 2 base immortal sentry shits. T.T see ST parting. they can even fake a push and go for 3 base 8 gate timing T.T
anyway thats the 2nd stage of the game adi. in this stage. terran without medivac or ghost will just outright die IMO...and i personally prefer ghost over medivac in current trend of immortal sentry play. medivac play will really significantly drop your bio ball. ghost play can easily counter sentry immortal bust but the problem is you can only stim once or twice. thats way tooo risky but depends on user also. medivac is more user friendly....and marauders are really not that good in this point of time too...because of the 2-3 immortals..

Added on February 22, 2012, 2:44 pmi personally thinks that timing you said kinda counters 3 rax reactor medivac play because of timing problem...the medivacs will just be too late....

terran's counter to that is 2 base 4-5 rax marine production, put techlab research combat shield and ghost academy. when p[ush reach, got 2 EMP ready, combat shield and stim.
Well, not a problem for me lately bcos I'm playing P. I wonder 4gate in PvZ & PvP + 3gate proxy robo in PvT will bring me how far.
jeffvip
post Feb 23 2012, 08:29 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Feb 22 2012, 04:32 PM)

二气低能量-隐刀;二气高能量-虚空;单气高能量-4bg,单气低能量-开矿 <--- advice for lower league players or simpler metagame.
great advice rclxms.gif Personally, I use "二气高能量" for 3 gate robo. new variation after immortal buff

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Feb 22 2012, 10:55 PM)
even if u dun play protoss, watch combatex's PoV video with commentary...
he explain the though process where is fundamental for a sc2 player...
some of which u may know already but some u may not know...

for example, when i see a opponent is moving on the map, i'll patrol a zeal slighty in front of my army so i wont get caught out of position with a slower FF...
it also involve other decision making process like what to do when u are ahead, what to do when u are being, how to react etc...
Protoss still ok, Terran got caught off guard means dead. so I think it is a practice d for terran to stim 1 marine ahead.

QUOTE(FLampard @ Feb 22 2012, 11:21 PM)
jefffff i demand a rematch!!! mad.gif
PvT? I as a Protoss again? No problem.
btw, you did got a chance to win yesterday when i got caught off guard by your 10 banshee. I wanna type gg d but I was able to hang on. you see, mental toughness is very important in SC. Play more TvT and your mental strength will increase significantly. flex.gif

This post has been edited by jeffvip: Feb 23 2012, 08:31 AM
jeffvip
post Feb 23 2012, 07:30 PM

134 posts

burrow movement is retardly good. not even pro can spot it
jeffvip
post Feb 23 2012, 07:53 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Feb 23 2012, 07:38 PM)
the direct cause of that victory is the constant ling runby. dual sight zerg has such absurd win rate is because theres 2 about same distance main route to opponent base, its (almost) impossible for terran to pressure or zone off both. for us lower leagues terran player, what i do is, i put a bunker next to the outer refinery (the direction ling will come) then put supply depot surrounding it. if the zerg just shift right click run by, he probably cant get anything because of AI control. (some good map to use is tal darim 3rd base, arid plataue 3rd base, metalopolis 3rd base these kind of stretch out 3rd base that have a direct route for zerg to run by and you cant siege up there)

for shattered temple inner 3rd base, i will put a bunker on top of the outer ramp, zerg can never break the rock. these things will work like wonder for us but for those korean pro, their micro and apm is much higher so they can save these 100 minerals.

Added on February 23, 2012, 7:47 pm3rd time drg and genius meet in this season lol. ro32 ro16 and now finals lolololol

genius topped him both time including a fast 2-0 in ro32, can drg claim his 1st title?

anyway congratz team MVP, 2nd team manage to have a teamkill final since Nestea vs Losira.
I just meant burrowed movement is almost impossible to detect by naked eye. nothing do with the outcome of the game. Actually I think the losing cause is Gumiho go for marauder hellion push. This push is so stupid, nvr see a game where Terran use this strat against zerg and win. Good try for Gumiho for such a big underdog though.

Added on February 23, 2012, 7:54 pm
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Feb 23 2012, 07:50 PM)
they nvr met in ro16 despite being in the same group...
DRG to stay in the kong line imho
Genius beat DRG 2-0 in the 1st round

This post has been edited by jeffvip: Feb 23 2012, 07:54 PM
jeffvip
post Feb 25 2012, 07:02 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ Feb 25 2012, 02:38 PM)
ah~~~ another tvt problem.. so hard.. my worst MU
http://replayfu.com/download/grnzkv
1) Why are you building Marauder instead of pure marine? I saw you are using them just like marine. Marauder will actually eat into your medivacs and tank count. Unless you got specific reason (like BFH), I prefer to use pure marine + tank here.

2) Engagement. Back off when u sure u will lose in a battle. Conserve your unit medivacs heal and scv repair.

3) Small mistake, U have actually 5 scv mining 1 gas from the beginning of time.

4) Build turret to prevent sudden massive drop but u dealed with drops good enough that time.

BIGGEST REASON
5) Map awareness. It is a good practices to put a single marine in a possible route to your bases.
I can tell you that your opponent is a noob. You lost just bcos your army is out of position.
- He, try to build CC on opponent's gold mine in metalopolis (really? build a gold base in this kind of map? siege tank tipu 1 ah?),
- bad macro (your supply is ahead of him during your containment),
- too much viking in the beginning (he is not playing MECH for god sake) &
- the worst thing is he is building a heavy marauder army against marine tank composition. (marauder do negligible damage against marine & tank do an insane damage against marauder).

** You can definitely beat him next time if you have better map awareness

I personally suggest you to go for mech a period of time. You will be surprise how much maturity you gained when u r playing marine siege tank back.

Added on February 25, 2012, 7:04 pm
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Feb 24 2012, 08:37 PM)
today...................only protoss won...other than ryung win a tvt.

ryung win tvt, then ogs vines (protoss) win 4 str8 game (including mma), slayers puzzle (protoss) came out as ace and win another 3 games. then inca vs puzzle ace match (pvp) -_____________________-

PROTOSS
shhh, LYN protoss will scold u if you talk too loud."Protoss very strong"'s word is a taboo here vmad.gif

ps: It happens today too. Damn it, I should shut up.

This post has been edited by jeffvip: Feb 25 2012, 07:14 PM
jeffvip
post Feb 25 2012, 07:26 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ Feb 25 2012, 07:19 PM)
thx alot~~ i will try to learn mech play more thx for the advice.. any specific player mech play is good to learn from??
Slayers Ryung, IM Happy, oGs Supernova, Liquid Jinro...

expect to lose a lot of game if you are going mech. Mech force you to minimize mistake and improve your siege tank position. 1 mistake basically you are dead. It is so damn cruel.

This post has been edited by jeffvip: Feb 25 2012, 07:30 PM
jeffvip
post Feb 25 2012, 07:50 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ Feb 25 2012, 07:40 PM)
oh kk~~ so i shud play custom game to train mech?? haha..
no, play "FIND MATCH". Your mind limit will be stress to the limit when u r goin mech and he is goin only bio.
jeffvip
post Feb 27 2012, 09:46 AM

134 posts

[quote=quest_5692,Feb 25 2012, 10:11 PM]
since mech became my staple tvt build, i cant play marine tank anymore.....its just too weird i dont know how to play it anymore...mech is too good...

Added on February 25, 2012, 10:12 pmi think mech not beginner friendly la......silencesoul last time i saw your game, your tvt marine tank control is quite decent for your level. just macro better to back you up and you can be better.

[/quote]

I was playing both type. On and off. I feel wanna play offensive and aggressive I will go for bio-tank style.
[quote=chahupping,Feb 25 2012, 10:31 PM]
tqtq~~ i will try train more tvt..

[/quote]
so this my my first full mech play.. i had like 5base lose to a 2 base terran.. :'(

http://replayfu.com/download/PrxQ5r

[/quote]

Really? Is hard to believe a 5 base terran lose. Will give my opinion after work.
jeffvip
post Feb 28 2012, 12:31 PM

134 posts

[quote=jeffvip,Feb 27 2012, 09:46 AM]
I was playing both type. On and off. I feel wanna play offensive and aggressive I will go for bio-tank style.

so this my my first full mech play.. i had like 5base lose to a 2 base terran.. :'(

http://replayfu.com/download/PrxQ5r

[/quote]

Really? Is hard to believe a 5 base terran lose. Will give my opinion after work.

[/quote]

i think u didnt lose the game. u just have to stay long enough to win the game. he didnt have any economy to rebuild this army again. when u quit i saw your 6 vking n 2 bc is on the way d. just send ur scv for mass repair will do. a few thor pop out is enough to change the tide of the game. btw, u should charge in when u saw the tank count is so small in front when ur 1st push crush his 3rd.

Added on February 28, 2012, 2:41 pm[quote=evofantasy,Feb 28 2012, 09:15 AM]
i dun think so...
Polt's run been really impressive (and don't forget, he just dropped to code B)...
this article http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...topic_id=316039 should say it all about it...

sure ROG don't have all of the top tier players but the koreans lineup is pretty much respectable...
Terran: Polt, Puma, Taeja
Protoss: Hero, JYP
Zerg: Moon, Lucky

his play against Lucky is one of the most impressive play in a while using the mobility of his army to max out the multittasking...
Lucky did do very very well in codeA and GSTL so he is not any ordinary zerg...
Polt deserve his codeS seed back again thumbup.gif

---

as for MLG, HuK's run were all PvP till he meet MKP which is =.="
the whole Naniwa series was mostly zergs trying to cheese out naniwa and died doing it (since naniwa have a reputation to FFE or die trying lolx)
looking match for match wise, the game is pretty balanced still...

---

as for GSL
http://wiki.teamliquid.net/starcraft2/2012...League_Season_1
^ the racial distribution says terrans still dominate in numbers

[/quote]

is undeniable that currently Protoss is on top of the metagame now. Is ok, it used to be Terran, now Protoss. Everything is fine. Zerg seems a bit weird though.IMO zerg required most skill to play among 3 races as you can see the gap btwn top Zerg and bad Zerg is so huge.

Added on February 28, 2012, 6:06 pmAwww... MVP use mech so beautifully to defeat Sniper in game 3. I'm melting happily.

Ball of steel from MVP, mech is consider risky build bcos it will die to any special timing attack from zerg if unprepared.

This post has been edited by jeffvip: Feb 28 2012, 06:06 PM
jeffvip
post Feb 28 2012, 11:57 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Feb 28 2012, 10:18 PM)
kinda agree on this (compared to what Jeff said)...

terrans are the easiest at the lowest level (mules, scans) being very forgiving and flexible but once u throw in multitasking with micro, they really go far far far...
a-moving with terran will get u decimated by a protoss/ zerg with decent mechanics...
one of the reason why i always love to watch mma and polt plays as i feel they really push terran to the max...

zerg is mostly jz mechanics which is hard at lower level...
at higher level, mechanics is not an issue...
the difference for me between top tier zergs and lower ones are the decision making...
this is the part i love most about DRG as he is never afraid to take risk...

ps: i still find nestea overrated as zerg... i dun put him as a top5 zerg at all... his wins always come down to him being greedy and not being punished or base trading =.="... even his championship runs which he does well are easy... when he is faced with a better player, he loses...

personally, i love playing terran due to their flexibility and mobility...
my mechanics are still much much much more polished with protoss though lolx...
flexibility and mobility? you must play the style i hate. 1 A move to victory. Real Terran play mech. Bio tank is still ok but pls no bio only shit.

yup, MMA is still not a Real Terran for me.
jeffvip
post Feb 29 2012, 12:02 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Feb 28 2012, 11:59 PM)
i play bio only.....lol sometimes mix with a bit of tanks and banshee. almost never do bc b4
dont play bio only, especially TvT. Learn to use siege tank

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0544sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:10 PM