The Zerg Strategy v1.0, Cheer for the overmind!

mad_geist
post Aug 13 2010, 11:19 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Aug 13 2010, 11:09 AM)
try get hydra when harassing instead...
or maybe try drop/nydus da upgraded lings into their base wif muta support...
usually if u go head on...it's tough... sweat.gif
Yeah.. I heard Day9 said the advantage of Zerg is they have a very mobile army (with the exception of BroodLord perhaps.. they are very slow flier).. we should try to exploit that as much as we can

mad_geist
post Aug 13 2010, 11:23 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 13 2010, 11:17 AM)
drop can do wonder sometimes, 2 OL drop of fully upgraded ling can destroy an expansion in no time, if undefended
or you can try popping up a Nydus worm somewhere they least expected.. really loving those worms.. really help me out with attacking and expanding.. then again I'm in practice league so not sure how it will be in the real league
mad_geist
post Aug 18 2010, 08:54 PM

31 posts

was over at Craftingstars.com and I saw this video.. its in Korean so I dont know what he is talking about..

but MAN... thats one beautiful Nydus play! I know nydus is a good tool.. but that guy just push it to the limit!

btw.. I dont know if the youtube link up there will work or not.. but the link is as follows

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

edit: nope.. i dunno how to make that YOUTUBE tag work..

*goldfries : edited youtube tag for you.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Aug 18 2010, 10:25 PM
mad_geist
post Aug 21 2010, 01:30 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 20 2010, 12:48 AM)
yup, even ultras are weak when you consider they're up against ranged units.

need quite some skill to combo and control.
I've seen a group of Ultra taking on a Mech heavy Terran army and won! Its one of TLO's game where he is using Zerg.. the effective way to use them is to surround/flank the Terran army so their splash damage will have full effect.. or so Husky said when he was commenting on the game

so yeah.. Zerg need skills to win tongue.gif (and I'm low on that)
mad_geist
post Aug 23 2010, 08:00 AM

31 posts

hey guys.. I need some tip here.. as a Zerg how do I win against Terran Hard AI?

I always loose when the Tanks came out.. or abit after that..

I would need banelings right?

maybe my BO is whacked.. so I cant keep up in terms of Tech.. usually I have zergling and baneling when they came at me with tanks
mad_geist
post Aug 26 2010, 04:17 PM

31 posts

Wth? Goldfries! u never made Queens????

I think they are a must haves.. or at least pro people using it too..

I'm guessing u making multiple hatcheries per mineral location?
mad_geist
post Aug 26 2010, 04:52 PM

31 posts

with Queens you can stockpile Larvae.. lots and lots of Larvae.. not limited to the max 3 larvae per hatch..

thou you have to micro them.. which I usually forgot in the heat of battle tongue.gif
mad_geist
post Aug 26 2010, 08:36 PM

31 posts

hey guys.. thanks for the "Control Group Queens, Click V and click on minimap, the nearest queen will cast on nearest hatch" tip..

that really helped me out..

any more good tips? hehe

any good replays that I watch on How to properly play Zerg? Especially from the sifu here (poke at Moonflown)..
mad_geist
post Aug 27 2010, 01:52 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 26 2010, 09:05 PM)
lost all my infestors to a BC trying to control it >.>
uhhrrrmmm... correct me if I'm wrong.. but... I thought Infestors could not control flying units?

Added on August 27, 2010, 3:24 am
QUOTE(Moonflown @ Aug 26 2010, 09:23 PM)
I didn't really play much lately because of exams, will be training harder starting next week and I'll upload replays if there's any that worth watching.

But I had one game in Delta Quadrant that I didn't FE. Not really in my best condition because of I rarely play these few weeks. But feel free to criticize! =D

Replay Link

P/S:And also thanks to Quaza for updating the thread with replays.
huhuhuhuhu..

nice replay Moon.. like the Nydus work.. lucky he forgot to put something at the edge to detect Nydus/Drop huhuhuhu..

This post has been edited by mad_geist: Aug 27 2010, 03:24 AM
mad_geist
post Aug 27 2010, 12:38 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(caasisc @ Aug 27 2010, 12:18 PM)
When you set multiple queens which stay in different base in 1 hotkey, you can produce lava by using that hotkey and click on your hect in minimap. The nearest queen in that base will produce lava to that hect. This will eventually save your time by not looking at your base.
what caasisc said.. and refer to this post

QUOTE(rockets @ Aug 26 2010, 04:34 PM)
you can spawn larva using the minimap. i group all my queens togethers and my hatcheries together. select queen group, hold shift + v and click all my hatch on the minimap. the closest queen will always spawn larva at the closest hatchery.
so now I can just select the Queens Control Group (usually group 5 for me) and hit "V" for the larvae then Click on my Hatcheries on the minimap (usually indicated by being the biggest square) and you are done!

In 2-3 seconds where as before it would take me longer looking for the closest queens amongst my Overlords (i usually got it stuck behind a bunch overlords on my base, hence difficult to see tongue.gif)

btw.. I havent seen your replay yet Sky.. but then again I am in lower league then you.. hehe.. dont think I can help much
mad_geist
post Aug 27 2010, 03:54 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Aug 27 2010, 03:28 PM)
ZvZ is the most boring game in the entire Kropulu sector.
Quote of the Day! tongue.gif

I agree whole heartedly! biggrin.gif

Added on August 27, 2010, 4:02 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 27 2010, 12:49 PM)
mad_geist - our ranking not far from each other. biggrin.gif
am not too proud of that SC2sig really.. tongue.gif I'm loosing my ladder fight Alot!

I loose it in the heat of battle.. forgot to do this, forgot to do that.. panic some more.. no more plan in my head..

I think its more of who I am rather then out of practice tongue.gif huhuhu... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by mad_geist: Aug 27 2010, 04:02 PM
mad_geist
post Aug 27 2010, 05:57 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 27 2010, 05:16 PM)
cheh IRC issit yeah i from broodwar era but i no join IRC wan.
those where literal commands for the in game chat system I believe...

it uses the same cmd as IRC did.. in fact.. they may even took and IRC client and put them inside the game smile.gif
mad_geist
post Aug 30 2010, 11:55 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Aug 30 2010, 08:04 PM)
Some nub tried to pull a morrow rush on me.  biggrin.gif

After seeing that match.. I'm thinking that my play have been too passive for a Zerg..

I should have been more aggressive in my games smile.gif

love seeing Sichiri's Roaches just mows thru the front door of that Terran base biggrin.gif
mad_geist
post Sep 3 2010, 02:12 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Sep 2 2010, 07:00 PM)
Hi Zergsss,

Need some input for my game

Although I win, I tried being aggressive for the whole game but cant find a way to quickly end the game.. Any help on how to end terran quick when they wall off?
U did very good overall I think.. kudos for keeping the pressure on him..

From what I see, he is using one blob of army to cover both of his bases.. if he is distracted elsewhere, a nydus/drop could be done on the other side..

then again.. hind sight is 20/20 tongue.gif

just my 2cent

This post has been edited by mad_geist: Sep 3 2010, 02:14 AM
mad_geist
post Sep 3 2010, 05:02 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Sep 3 2010, 04:25 PM)
does piano help your tabbing skill? xD
must practice my scale more haha..

on the other hand, I am not really favouring Roaches due to the fact of high food count and also slow moving without upgrade, and also always loose out to air (bad scouting) when I do mass roaches.
yeah going Roach heavy is a gamble.. I had one fight where I almost wipe out his base, but he crank up some air units that totally destroyed me in the end tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

so now I try to mix Roach and Hydra.. or go Roach first and have Hydra ready for switch if he go for air..

however.. if u go roach heavy and cant end the game quickly.. its almost a certain GG (for me atleast)

but my scouting and BO is still pretty weak.. so its all not that good for me right now.. hehe..

I'm all strategist but lack the execution skill when it really comes down to the wire.. hehehe.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mad_geist: Sep 3 2010, 05:03 PM
mad_geist
post Sep 3 2010, 06:09 PM

31 posts

ok my turn.. I need all the advice I can get on this..

if u guys can point me what I did wrong.. and how I can overcome this problem..

its a very short game.. in 11min I GG already.. rclxub.gif

I probably expand too early.. didnt scout properly.. and skipping speedlings.. all spell G G for me tongue.gif

I welcome any input/help/oppinion biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mad_geist: Sep 3 2010, 06:11 PM
mad_geist
post Sep 4 2010, 12:55 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Sep 4 2010, 12:31 AM)
opponent's base had a gaping hole in his entrance that you can sneak in with some lings
also, stalkers > roach, go zerglings instead.
well... in the later part of the game I did.. but was too late thou.. hehe

thanks for the input.. yeah.. was roach heavy at that time.. maybe I should go for speedling+hydra mix?

@narf03 -> that sounds pretty similar to the game that I lost.. he went for speedling+hydra.. I rolled him with my Roaches.. wiped one of his base.. but he popped Muta from his other base and I GG tongue.gif hehe..
mad_geist
post Sep 4 2010, 01:09 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Sep 4 2010, 11:53 AM)

a game of mine against terran in SEA server
nice play there Ash.. was hoping you would use those Nydus alot more actually.. tongue.gif

Hit them where it hurt the most.. Nydus in to hit their mineral lines! biggrin.gif

I love them Nydus play smile.gif
mad_geist
post Sep 4 2010, 03:17 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Sep 4 2010, 02:19 PM)
Too down to play for my losing streak T_T
Expanding timing seems good just that you din't hold up the first wave rush. maybe more lings shud do, lay down some static defences maybe..
Great game, in the middle game where your units were killed you managed to rebuild so fast..
33mins game, such intensity

Never know you can use infestor like that... create diversion tactics.. but if he gets a raven it can be hard right?
I think I know why I cant hold his rush.. I didnt saturate my mineral line.. just got tip from Moon last nite to pun 26 drones to fill mineral line

If I can get more minerals and more larvae maybe I could do it.. smile.gif

been working on my drone count/extra lair in my main base right now..

About that infestor.. yes.. Raven/Missile turret would see them.. and I've seen games where 4-5 Infestor spawn a whole bunch of infested marines at a terran new expansion and shut it down for good.. thumbup.gif
mad_geist
post Sep 4 2010, 05:17 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Sep 4 2010, 04:49 PM)
nice Air Battle! thumbup.gif

both players decided to go Air.. hehe..

the only thing I have to say is.. u had Lots of mineral unspent! probably would finish it earlier if it werent so high..

imagine how many speelings u could do with them!! and flood his base!! hehe brows.gif

0.0550sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:37 PM