QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Aug 21 2011, 01:08 PM)
We used to apply "Investment portfolio Diversification" in stock mkt , but in property investment, I always believe this "Golden Rule" can be challenged.
Put all the apples in one basket is not always wrong To answer your question needs further in depth analysis..
Let's put location (prime), project concept, building design + quality, developer's reputation, accessibility, land tenure as constant factors for both scenarios
a few variables hv to be taken into consideration.
1. Is the condo ease of tenancy? (located near decent & renown colleges (Taylor, Sunway, Inti, HELP, SeGi etc), LRT)
2. Projected yield (3.8%-4.5% nett ROI, CONSISTENTLY is healthy)
3. Holding power (how long to sustain the mthly repayment?), if one can hold 2 years after the completion, then SD is better bet. If kenot hold, but 1 & 2 is fulfilled, then condo is safer bet.
Alwiz remember, for condo play, dun simply buy although it is relatively cheap or below mkt value, must do more studies on vicinity development (DD vs SS). Condo/apt supply has touched a critical red line!! My 2 cent

"Put all apples in one basket is not always wrong"....of course 99 times wrong and 1 time correct and this statement still qualify, rite?
in bad times, the lesser value props will have better liquidity than higher value prop(>$1mil) regardless if it's highrise or landed.
in good times, the lower value props tend to appreciate faster than expensive props regardless if it's highrise or landed....ask Pai taikor and he can easily quote you many successful investments
IMHO, investing in blue chip landed real estate as sweeping statement is flawed and misleading......Bro, no offence and my intention is to share my thots

Added on August 21, 2011, 6:53 pmQUOTE(Antzfield @ Aug 21 2011, 01:11 PM)
Aiyo! for a start. Are you buying such a high value "landed property" for investment or own stay? if own stay, whether the property price going up, down, or maintain, there is no impact on you. For me and my family, we loves the environment and concept, and thus for own stay.
On the other hand, please enlighten me where to invest a decent RM300k on a condo that can "appreciate" in value more or higher than a landed property? There is no doubt that condo price will appreciate but there are so many condo flooded the market and in long term, landed property can "defend" the value more. Just my "many" cents.
I also believe there "might" be so call better value + materials + freehold than KR, but what about the area and the surronding? How we wish to have the "best" of both world that suits us, as we are really paying a huge sum of our hard earned monies. As for me and my family, we are happy with it, at least for now.
understand you are vested in KR and you sounded defensive about your investment which is perfectly normal.....everyone will do the same including me.
seems you invested in KR for your own stay.....congrats !
This post has been edited by jet2020: Aug 21 2011, 06:53 PM