Everdying
post Aug 12 2010, 05:59 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,731 posts

from razer fb.
Razer The gears are in motion for a mechanical future. 18.08.2010.

Everdying
post Aug 12 2010, 07:34 PM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Aug 12 2010, 07:11 PM)
If that little "sample" pic they have on the web is really the product, it looks like a keyboard. And it sounds ominously like they are going mechanical.
what else can it be if its mechanical? a pencil? tongue.gif
Everdying
post Aug 12 2010, 10:07 PM

30,731 posts

nah they cant turn back else i go there burn their office tongue.gif
but all i can say is probability my 7G might get relegated to the reserves...
tho looks like it'll be awhile before my xai and sib v2 gets demoted...

This post has been edited by Everdying: Aug 12 2010, 10:29 PM
Everdying
post Aug 14 2010, 09:01 AM

30,731 posts

i dont like kb's with extra keys on the left side tongue.gif

Everdying
post Aug 16 2010, 05:08 PM

30,731 posts

if the video not there anymore means someone at razer got to it tongue.gif
http://www.tudou.com/programs/view/ogOhm7oPgwA/
Everdying
post Aug 17 2010, 07:29 PM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Aug 17 2010, 08:08 AM)
Wonder what switches it use. Cherry Black? hmm.gif
hopefully, but somehow im guessing blue...have to wait and see.

btw, seems mechanical kbs arent fully fault-free...found some bad reviews of the majestouch...including this video which shows something similar to a double-click.
good thing my 7G is fault-free, have to wait and see how razer's one is tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Aug 17 2010, 07:29 PM
Everdying
post Aug 19 2010, 01:29 AM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Aug 19 2010, 01:01 AM)
but I thought mechanical keyboard should be fault-free..
even ferraris and lamboghinis breakdown once in awhile biggrin.gif
Everdying
post Aug 20 2010, 06:15 PM

30,731 posts

Everdying
post Aug 21 2010, 02:28 AM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Aug 20 2010, 09:34 PM)
Nais box. Wonder where it came from.
while razer was transporting stuff from SG to gamescom Germany, one of the boxes fell off the plane mid-air and landed in my front yard.

QUOTE(phantomash @ Aug 21 2010, 01:17 AM)
http://multiplay.lowyat.net/2010/08/18/raz...nical-keyboard/

OMG! BlackWidow without backlight keys are only RM250+-?! OMGOMGOMG
actually once reach here will be around RM289 / 299.
the one with backlight will be RM90 - 100 more expensive, so somewhere around RM389 / 399.
Everdying
post Aug 21 2010, 01:46 PM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Aug 21 2010, 10:28 AM)
yeah, when arrive in MY it would be much more expensive.
trying to beat 6Gv2 price?  icon_idea.gif
trying to?
it already raped the 6Gv2 price tongue.gif

Added on August 21, 2010, 1:59 pmok just some pics for now, comparing the Razer Blackwidow with SS 7G.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Aug 21 2010, 02:24 PM
Everdying
post Aug 22 2010, 02:50 AM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(Top-Gun @ Aug 21 2010, 07:03 PM)
How is cherry blues good for gaming?
(Only for those who like to mash key or need to press certain keys repeatedly, blue cherries are NOT that suitable for it but still useable. Brown or black cherries should be better)

LOL at the custom switch that Razer claimed.. maybe it's a blue switch with a black/brown/red tactile response... maybe.

Hope this move by Razer gets more people to buy mechanical keyboards and drive the cost of mechanical keyswitches down.
pressing keys repeatedly is still ok.
so far, with just simple tests like continuously hitting space followed by a letter, its slightly more accurate than the 7G at however fast i can go which on a good day can hit over 100wpm.

i guess when it says not really meant for gaming, its mostly due to the key clicks which you can also feel compared to the smoothness of the 7G cherry blacks.
but then it also doesnt really require much difference in force to press the keys between the two kbs.

btw, what custom switch? i dont see a mention of it anywhere.

there is a function key to switch to gaming mode, which basically just disables the windows key.
SS meanwhile just puts the windows key beside the Right Ctrl key away from your WASD hand.

so yea, design wise in terms of the window key, it's probably a tie somewhat.
but the blackwidow may just get back some fans who prefer a rectangular Enter key so that they may also have a longer Backspace key.
the 7G as can be seen has a L-shaped Enter key which makes the Backspace smaller, which some just do not like.

as for the macros on the blackwidow, i dont use macros so wouldnt know what to place in it...
so needless to say, those 5 special macro keys running down the left side irritate me.
anyway, cant do any macros yet as razer hasnt uploaded the drivers tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Aug 22 2010, 02:53 AM
Everdying
post Aug 22 2010, 03:00 PM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(zandara @ Aug 22 2010, 08:52 AM)
Will BW release as the same time on September like Euro?
should be, latest also probably early oct here.
Everdying
post Aug 22 2010, 03:35 PM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(Top-Gun @ Aug 22 2010, 03:17 PM)
I mean if you need to mash keys repeatedly for the same key, for example A A A A A.. due to the actuation point being slightly higher than the return when u lift your finger off the key, you might miss it because you are waiting for that click cue. (unless you get used to the tactile response of the blue cherry switch and you're able to overcome this problem)

Well, regarding the custom switch statement:

Click here and choose WHAT ARE MECHANICAL KEYBOARDS to read Razer's take on their 'custom' mechanical keyswitches.
well like razer already says in that site, with mech keys u do not need to bottom it out to activate the letter regardless if its blue or black.
but since there is no 'click' in the blacks etc, most users will bottom the whole key out as they want to be sure the key has activated...i also sometimes tend to do that with my 7G.
the 'click' btw is about halfway to the bottom.
guess thats why cherry blues are better for typing, so for those who need to mash alot of buttons, like RTS guys etc, it may benefit them more.
which i guess explains why it also has macro keys.
so to a FPS guy like me, all of it doesnt really matter tongue.gif

i still dont see a mention of the word 'custom' anywhere.
unless ur talking about them calling the cherry blues their own key which i agree is bs.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Aug 22 2010, 03:42 PM
Everdying
post Sep 6 2010, 01:25 PM

30,731 posts

first one is the belkin n50.
belkin also had a 'gaming' mouse back then which failed horribly.

i dont think anyone ever carried the mouse, but the n50 way back then already i see in SG stores for under RM300...maybe its still lying around in the same stores tongue.gif
Everdying
post Sep 7 2010, 01:00 AM

30,731 posts

my team just won 8 units of microsoft x6 from a competition...but i dont think i wanna use it...7G ftw tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 7 2010, 01:00 AM
Everdying
post Sep 7 2010, 11:30 AM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(victor2212 @ Sep 7 2010, 01:38 AM)
NICE!!, what competition did you win?

all 8 units x6 go to you?

are u crazy? of course use mechanical tongue.gif. Once u go mechanical u never going back  biggrin.gif
bad company 2...didnt win la...team ended up 3rd...
so the x6's will be distributed among others in the team who dont have proper keyboards tongue.gif

Everdying
post Sep 7 2010, 07:47 PM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Sep 7 2010, 03:34 PM)
Where can i get Mechanical keyboards in Malaysia, to be more specific around SEL or KL would be great! biggrin.gif

Im looking for a cherry MX black keyboard.

Im actually eyeing on the SS 6gv2 but currently it is out of stock in malaysia sad.gif

Anti ghosting feature are really not important for me since i play RTS Max keys i press at once would maybe reach up to 3-4 keys.

N whats the NKOR feature, sorry if i spelt it wrong, I read it some where but i couldnt recall where, it is a feature that Razer BW doesnt have and that is why it is cheaper than SS keyboards if i am not mistaken.

Do I need those feature if im playing a RTS game?
razer blackwidow is not cheaper, the rest are all marked up too much biggrin.gif
and its NKRO, blackwidow is 6-keys max...reason cos it uses USB so can take advantage of having drivers to use macros etc which is what makes it more gamer-centric.
but anyway, the blackwidow is using cherry blues...so right now the SS 6gv2 is your best choice.
Everdying
post Sep 7 2010, 11:25 PM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(Devilene @ Sep 7 2010, 10:18 PM)
but razer claims its cherry blues are different from the standard blues. =/
Imo its all a bunch of marketing bs...they can also claim it was 3yrs in development...
i tried the prototype blackwidow and i can say it looks more like 3days in development tongue.gif
And from the first released details ppl already guessed it was cherry blues based on the actuation force data released...only later did they officially announce they were blues...
anyway i'll stick to my 7G blacks...
But the blackwidow is still a good buy for the specs etc.

Everdying
post Sep 8 2010, 03:55 AM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(Devilene @ Sep 8 2010, 03:47 AM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BlWYLJIibxE

just thought i ought to share this vid i came across.
thats a stupid review, looks more like camwhoring.
and he obviously doesnt have the drivers either.
well, at least it helped in wasting 8 minutes of my life while waiting for the 2nd half of the england vs switzerland match to start tongue.gif
Everdying
post Sep 10 2010, 12:14 AM

30,731 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Sep 9 2010, 12:44 PM)
thinking to get an old reclusa. Any comment/
my advice - stay away from it tongue.gif
i remember during a pcfair couple yrs ago, microsoft or one of the booths were clearing it for RM50.

how much is it selling in that store? whatever price it is better save up abit more and wait for the razer blackwidow which should be RM299.

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Sep 9 2010, 10:52 PM)
I like square-ish type kbs.
Looks elegant and professional  icon_idea.gif

I cant stand those fancy bling bling looking kb.
QUOTE(victor2212 @ Sep 9 2010, 11:35 PM)
im okay with both, so basicly u dont like bling bling on anything? haha what about kone and g15v2  tongue.gif
lala kena tongue.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0511sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:53 PM