Streamyx TMnet throttle MKV, AVI and PPS mayb Youtube !, Solution Removed Thank to 007 SPY

LCP
post Sep 17 2010, 10:50 PM

61 posts

I think I have made a discovery on the "throttling" pattern that I am facing, but no idea how to report it or solve it...

In my case I can get full unthrottled P2P torrent only from about 9.30pm to about 2.30am each day, yes, only 5 hours. All all other times, P2P is throttled in such a way that I can not make more than 10-20 connections per torrent, compared to 60-100 connections per torrent during the 9.30pm-2.30am "happy hours".

It took me days to realise that the above is a fixed pattern, experimented with switching IPs (logout then login, no need to reboot modem) every few minutes while resetting all peers on my torrent client.

The speed is not throttled, so if I am lucky, there could be one or two in the 10-20 connections which are fast, but usually they won't last for more than a few minutes. Typically can only download 5-20kB/sec per torrent but can still upload at full speed 40+kB/sec. During happy hours like right now, downloads of 450+kB/sec is easily achievable (dependent on seeds/peers)... (I'm on a 4mbps package, with download port speed at 5mbps)

How lah?
LCP
post Sep 17 2010, 11:02 PM

61 posts

Also, the reason I know that my "happy hours" always end at around 2.30am each day is by looking at the speed graphs... It's so obvious that the download speed will nose dive from few hundred kB/sec to zero at around 2.30am each day (give or take 30mins), and then restarted to around 5-30 kB/sec (depending on number of active torrents).

My modem may also register one CRC error during that time.

Fyi, my connection is good and stable with the cable length below 1km to the ports. Typical (down/up) readings:

SNR Margin: 25-33/27.0
Attenuation: 11.7/8.0
Data rate: 5120/512

0.0363sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:22 AM