Home Networking N Router By Asus RTN-66U / Asus RTN-16 / RT-N56U, Asus RT-N Series Supported Unifi

whateva2k
post Oct 14 2011, 02:21 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Oct 13 2011, 02:39 AM)
Bro, first of all I like to say that you're the greatest! I've learned a lot from your posts and your klseet.com site.

I am currently shopping for a wireless router replacement for my unifi, and from all your advice, I've decided on Asus RT-N56U.

I almost go and get it today, then I thought of N66U that according to your website will be out Oct 2011. So better wait for it.

So, its mid Oct now, any news that you've heard about the availability of N66U?

Also if I get it the moment its available, will it work with Unifi? I only need Unifi's internet access, I don't use the IPTV.
Or do I have to wait for another month or two for the Unifi firmware for it to work with Unifi?

Also, how do I make use of the dual-band? I've googled dual-band and understand that the advantage is having 5GHz band, especially if we're in a wifi crowded area where mostly uses 2.4GHz.

So does it mean to take advantage of it, we need to use the 5Ghz band? Which means we have to use a wireless adapter which works on 802.11a, right?

Can't wait for N66U. Hope to hear good news from you soon. icon_rolleyes.gif

whateva2k
post Oct 15 2011, 03:37 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Oct 15 2011, 01:14 AM)
@whateva2k
Waliao, you over-praised me la ... blush.gif
I'm learning (and still) from many more even greatest out there, I'm merely doing my little part to share only....  laugh.gif

The last I heard the RT-N66 should be here around Dec'11, custom UniFi firmware is planned 1 or 2 months after it.
The ASUS team is extremely busy, need to queue-up our request ...  sweat.gif

To achieve maximum 5GHz throughput, should get those 802.11n type, set N-only with WPA2 + AES
Next, RT-N12 (Broadcom again yeah!) custom UniFi firmware planned next month Nov'11  wink.gif
Haha, looks like you're humble too.

Wah Dec, and then another month or two for unifi firmware, I'm afraid I cannot tahan and will go get the N56U. tongue.gif

RT-N12? Another choice. Pening kepala.
whateva2k
post Oct 18 2011, 02:15 PM

88 posts

Ok guys, I'm planning to get the Asus RT-N56U together with Cisco Linksys AE1000 dual band wireless adapter for my desktop by end of this week.

Can't wait anymore.

I hope its a good pair. Anyone has any other suggestions please do let me know.

Thank you.
whateva2k
post Oct 21 2011, 06:48 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Oct 18 2011, 02:15 PM)
Ok guys, I'm planning to get the Asus RT-N56U together with Cisco Linksys AE1000 dual band wireless adapter for my desktop by end of this week.

Can't wait anymore.

I hope its a good pair. Anyone has any other suggestions please do let me know.

Thank you.
Just though I share.

I just bought Asus N56U and Linksys AE1000 yesterday. Both working great as it should. Many thanks to klseet for the Asus N56U setup instructions.

My router is installed in the living hall, while my desktop, which I bought the AE1000 for, is upstairs in one of the room.

When everything has been setup, I can connect to the Asus 2.4GHz wifi without any problem, however I can't seems to connect to the 5GHz wifi. When I search for wifi networks in range, sometimes the 5GHz wifi appears, and sometimes it will disappears, and when it appears, there's no signal bar at all.

Something must be wrong with the AE1000, so I started searching online for AE1000's problems. And I found this from some random forum:

"Note that with 5GHz you will see significant performance drop off as distance grows and the number of physical barriers increases, 2.4 isn't as prone to LOS needs but is more susceptible to interference from neighbors and other wireless devices."

I have completely no knowledge of the above. I decided to connect the AE1000 on my laptop and bring it downstairs, true enough, my laptop found the 5GHz wifi and connects to it fine.

I have a small house, double storey 20x70 linked. But looks like the 5GHz signal is not strong enough to travel between 1 floor.

So I can't use the 5GHz, the one and only reason why I bought N56U. blink.gif rclxub.gif cry.gif doh.gif smile.gif tongue.gif

And so looks like I should have gotten the N16 instead. Would have better 2.4Ghz signal strength.

Anyone wants to buy my N56U? biggrin.gif

Oh, one more thing, the N56U looks even more sexy when installed horizontally.

whateva2k
post Oct 23 2011, 08:23 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Oct 22 2011, 11:22 AM)
What's your setup?

The 5GHz might not be strong enough to transmit far distance, but definitely it's good enough to handle a double storey house, I have no problem on my laptop built-in Intel AGN5100, even upstairs into the room into the washroom with 2 layer of wall, still got 2~3 bars.

I'm really sure about the AE1000, please find out whether it's pure-N. Try to play around with this settings first:
Wireless mode=N
Channel bandwidth=20MHz
Channel=(start with the lowest 36 first)
For Authentication & Encryption:
- start with WPA-Auto-Personal with AES+TKIP first
- if works, then WPA2+AES for pure-N

You may also try the latest firmware (above mentioned), also can consider the default config file.
I was reading both your PMs and those links, walioa, it seem lots of posts and I really have hard time to read through all ler .... sweat.gif
I used your setup file downloaded from your website.

I think AE1000 is fine, because its the same thing with my Playbook and iPad. I go downstairs with clear LOS, I connect to the 5GHz connection with full bar. With the 5GHz connected, as I walk upstairs, the connection bar drops until I lose the connection when I reach my desktop.

I tried playing around with the settings as you mentioned above, and its still always either I can't find the 5GHz wifi, or found the 5GHz wifi with no bar and can't connect.

So now the culprit is either my N56U is faulty or there's something wrong with my house's wall and ceiling.

For the sake of ruling our my N56U being faulty, I went a little further to find how far is my AE1000 from N56U, and how many layers of bricks and concretes it has to pass through.

Here's the picture of my house's plan:

The picture shows my ground floor's plan, and my N56U is on a table. My AE1000 is upstairs where my desktop is and I've place my AE1000 on the floor just to get it as close to my N56U as possible.

From the straight arrow, the signal has to pass through only 1 wall, 1 layer of plaster ceiling and 1 layer of concrete ceiling.

And the straight line of sight distance between my AE1000 and N56U is around 5.5 meter (this is pretty accurate as I used a laser rangefinder)

So, with the information above, do any of you think I should be getting some signal from my N56U's 5GHz connection?

If yes, I will be contacting Asus customer service. laugh.gif tongue.gif

Added on October 23, 2011, 8:43 am
QUOTE(klseet @ Oct 22 2011, 11:22 AM)
RT-N56U users

Fyi, there is another firmware release version 1.0.1.7c :
http://my.asus.com/Networks/Wireless_Route...TN56U/#download

I've tested, UI is even more responsive now, seem stable built version now. smile.gif

I've also uploaded the default UniFi setup config file HERE

Always remember clean flash:
- Factory Restore both BEFORE & AFTER flashing the firmware
- only connect LAN 2/3 wired during flashing & setup process, NO WAN cable !

Please note there is also a new utility (at the bottom section of the same page) for this version.
Again, don't expect the current Download Manager to behave like BT client, hopefully the new UI and DM will settle this once and for all !
Isn't Beta version 8.1.1.4 newer than 1.0.1.7c? And unlike 8.1.1.4, 1.0.1.7c's description doesn't say it supports unifi.

If it does, do you think 1.0.1.7c is better, even if its an older version? (by about 1/2 month only actually).

Added on October 23, 2011, 8:45 am
QUOTE(logit85 @ Oct 22 2011, 04:27 PM)
wow u got unifi sigh
You can always get one too! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by whateva2k: Oct 23 2011, 08:45 AM
whateva2k
post Feb 9 2012, 10:46 AM

88 posts

I'm using RT-N56U with firmware 1.0.1.7c and I'm very satisfied with it. It has given me no problem at all except for the limited distance of the 5GHz wireless.

I always thought that Asus router has guest wifi function, but I couldn't find it in mine. Can anyone confirm this?

This post has been edited by whateva2k: Feb 9 2012, 10:47 AM
whateva2k
post Sep 28 2014, 07:47 AM

88 posts

Hi ASUSmy and other experienced users,

Do you all know if RT-N14UHP supports Maxis 3G USB modem model Huawei E1762?

Or any Asus wireless router that supports this 3G USB modem?

Thanks in advance.

Update: Got the answer here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...40&p=70601027&#

This post has been edited by whateva2k: Sep 29 2014, 12:37 PM

0.0490sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:24 PM