Home Networking N Router By Asus RTN-66U / Asus RTN-16 / RT-N56U, Asus RT-N Series Supported Unifi

lau6311
post Dec 26 2014, 09:32 AM

QUOTE(acbc @ May 30 2014, 08:12 PM)
I got mine working with RT-N66U long time ago. Firmware is 3.0.0.4.374_4561. Only set the Technicolor router to give DMZ to RT-N66U and dialing out done by new router itself. Very stable for months. Both my decoders and Internet no problems.
Hi acbc & good other bros

When my subcription with Maxis fibre, it was set up properly by the tech and he was gone. The question is "what is provided by Maxis so that we can tweat the technicolor ?" I was not given a CD containing any setup features, and believe that the Maxis firmware has been custom tailored and it is different from the standard firmware from technicolor (getting from internet, perhaps), if any. I checked with friends and there are same (no CD and firmware) & no setup with our PC. I am thinking to call Maxis for providing, but guessing that the answer could be dissapointing.

Really if you can share with us the missing part, or highlight my misundertanding. Many thanks bro....
rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by lau6311: Dec 26 2014, 09:35 AM
lau6311
post Dec 29 2014, 09:32 AM

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 26 2014, 03:39 PM)
For Maxis Fibre, u better off replacing it with offerings from TP-Link, D-Link or Asus. Easy simply by entering username and password. No complex set up. U can't tweak much on the stock router. Myself also have a spare unit lying around.
Hi bro acbc, good to hear from you. thumbup.gif

On last Saturday, I got the Asus-AC87 from Lowyat, basic setup (much more to learn settings) with TM modem & Technicolor. AC87 is set as the router and it is working, but needs more proper settings later, I guess.

(Setup: Modem cable to AC87 WAN, AC87 ethernet port 3_VoIP enabled out to Technicolor WAN, dect phone connected to Technicolor phone port, phone is working fine.)

I need to use the Technicolor to work so that I can get the dect phone functioning with Maxis/Technicolor. The dect phone will NOT work without the Technicolor, am I right ?

But I cannot get the technicolor to provide internet service. Only AC87 with the connected Tk-Link power plugs are providing internet services in the house. My PC can detect wifi signal from Technicolor, but no internet. Note: Technicolor internet green LED is not "lighting up". Technicolor broadband/wifi/phone 1&2 LEDs did light up.

Hoping to learn from you and other sifus by getting the Technicolor to provide internet signal. Thanks bros. rclxms.gif

Note: More internet providing devices will provide better flexibility, e.g. AC87 5Ghz working on same ground floor__no need penetrating walls, 2.4 GHz internet service for upper floor, power plugs for hard corners on upper floor. Any better strategy, please? I am planning to implement high speed home cloud working with good internet signals at all places.
icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lau6311: Dec 29 2014, 09:51 AM
lau6311
post Dec 29 2014, 12:39 PM

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 29 2014, 10:59 AM)
I guess u need to set the Technicolor to DMZ as per my previous post. U can ignore the IPTV settings since u not using it. Once done, the WAN port of AC87 to connect to LAN port 2 on the Technicolor. Once done, u then enter your Maxis username and password on the AC87 and it should work.
Hi Bro, you are kind and thank you. Tonite, I will try setting it up with DMZ to Technicolor.

Not sure I got it right. Because the WAN port of AC87 now is connected from TM modem ethernet cable out, so WAN port of AC87 is occupied. My setup is modem cable to AC87 WAN port, AC87 ethernet port 3 (VoIP enabled) to Technicolor WAN port. (But yours mentioning is ""WAN port of AC87 to connect to LAN port 2 on the Technicolor."" Sorry bro, I am not sure now.) tongue.gif

I will search for your previous post. thumbup.gif
lau6311
post Dec 29 2014, 02:14 PM

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 29 2014, 02:59 PM)
It should be TM modem > Technicolor > Asus first.
Please also refer to ASUSmy "Post #2180" of "ASUS Networking User and Technical Support by ASUS Malaysia". It was showing clearly modem -> AC87 -> Technicolor.

However, for 'no-try no-known' concept, tonite I will restore back to std hookup i.e. removing AC87 to see everything is working the original way without new problems; then hookup your way to see the different, and finally trying the ASUSmy suggestion. Then, it may tell what is better. it would not be too time consumming & a way to find out. Thanks. hmm.gif
lau6311
post Dec 29 2014, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 29 2014, 02:59 PM)
It should be TM modem > Technicolor > Asus first.
Maxis Fibre setup with Asus router procedure:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=playe...d&v=iBRbk1FSFj0
lau6311
post Dec 29 2014, 03:19 PM

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 29 2014, 03:56 PM)
ASUSmy too complicated.

Mine also trial by error and worked perfectly for months now.

1. LAN2 port on TM-Huawei modem (white cable w/ red jack) to WAN port of Technicolor and set DMZ on it.
2. LAN2 port on Technicolor (yellow cable) to WAN port of Asus RT-N66U and set profile as Maxis Fibre and fill in username and password.

1. Another view from Asus router. Notice yellow cable from LAN2 port on Technicolor to WAN port on Asus?
I will try your setup, simple and not tedious. The bottom line is to have better & more appropriate working devices.

If ASUSmy can provide additional comments for clarification and clarity, it would be productive and other Asus router new users would benefit as well. Perhaps there is no single one way to only work. Hoping so!

0.0440sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:22 PM