RPG Dragon Age: Origins + Dragon Age 2 V3, an epic storytelling game

sai86
post Feb 22 2011, 06:10 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(reehdus @ Feb 22 2011, 04:46 PM)
Eh...you're right...can't download yet...but it should be open for download today (22/2/2011)...here's the link to the DA2 demo page. Keep checking that page:

http://dragonage.bioware.com/da2/demo/
lol...and i thought u dl d german version laugh.gif
IINM should be 2moro 2am, which folo US date, juz like steam, update sales on everyday 2am biggrin.gif
getsu
post Feb 22 2011, 07:23 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(crono_05 @ Feb 22 2011, 05:03 PM)
The graphics for the demo is lock at medium,retail should be much much more awesome...

But yeah can't wait to play the demo and unlock that blade...it's 2 GB though,which could take me days to finish downloading it....
the graphics for the demo is locked at high :/ and for those wondering, DX11 is available (I did post screens of the German demo a few days back)

unless of course they gimped out on the English version and decided to lock it to Medium instead, in which I laugh HA-HA. (Though really, the only difference between Medium and High from what I can tell is motion blur, and the ability to turn on SSAO)
crono_05
post Feb 22 2011, 09:19 PM

13 posts

Really?...i i coulda sworn i that Chris priestly ( or was it mike) over at the bioware forum wrote that the demo graphic was locked at medium dx9 console setting ..or maybe they lied?wouldn't be the first time they did it,they are evil like that...ehhh my bad then tongue.gif

(Though really, the only difference between Medium and High from what I can tell is motion blur, and the ability to turn on SSAO)

But..but.. DX11 will have clouds shadows..and clouds shadows is awesome,yes? .... tongue.gif

EDIT:Ahh yes it is all clear now.. someone said over at the bioware forum that if you only have DX9 then the graphic will locked into medium,but if you choose DX11 then you can set it to high...yup my bad indeed

This post has been edited by crono_05: Feb 22 2011, 09:36 PM
getsu
post Feb 22 2011, 09:50 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(crono_05 @ Feb 22 2011, 09:19 PM)
Really?...i i coulda sworn i that Chris priestly ( or was it mike) over at the bioware forum wrote that the demo graphic was locked at medium dx9 console setting ..or maybe they lied?wouldn't be the first time they did it,they are evil like that...ehhh my bad then tongue.gif
But..but.. DX11 will have clouds shadows..and clouds shadows is awesome,yes? .... tongue.gif

EDIT:Ahh yes it is all clear now.. someone said over at the bioware forum that if you only have DX9 then the graphic will locked into medium,but if you choose DX11 then you can set it to high...yup my bad indeed
mmm, I suppose cloud shadows will be available at Very High, coz I definitely didn't notice any of that at High. I wonder what else will be "available" at Very High, tessellation? I think the game needs a higher texture pack more than effects, really.
mukhlisz
post Feb 22 2011, 11:32 PM

373 posts

FemHawke does kinda remind me of Morrigan but with shorter hair and less b****y.. hmm.gif
mekboyz
post Feb 23 2011, 01:58 AM

438 posts

sigh i must play daa and dao all over again ffuuuu. not to mention my copy of da2 is arriving on march 11 doh.gif

This post has been edited by mekboyz: Feb 23 2011, 01:58 AM
crono_05
post Feb 23 2011, 04:51 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(getsu @ Feb 22 2011, 09:50 PM)
mmm, I suppose cloud shadows will be available at Very High, coz I definitely didn't notice any of that at High. I wonder what else will be "available" at Very High, tessellation? I think the game needs a higher texture pack more than effects, really.
Cloud shadows is definitely in, just not in the demo i guess,and everybody at the bioware forum is expecting minor tessellation..but i don't think they said anything about tessellation.The next Bioware blog should shed some light on this .... smile.gif

QUOTE(mukhlisz @ Feb 22 2011,11:32 PM)
FemHawke does kinda remind me of Morrigan but with shorter hair and less b****y..

well..i'm totally gonna play as a b****y femhawke in my second play through,i'm gonna pick,aggressive and sarcastic comment all the way... tongue.gif

EDIT:
QUOTE(Rob Bartel from bioware )
The PC demo has known performance and stability issues with DirectX 11. These have been fixed in the final game.

We recommend that all users disable DirectX 11 while playing the demo, including those with high-end machines.

This post has been edited by crono_05: Feb 23 2011, 06:15 AM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Feb 23 2011, 11:53 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

http://dragonage.bioware.com/da2/demo/

demo available for download liao.

1.9GB O_O

300k downloaded

700k more and everyone gets 2 free items?
Sey
post Feb 23 2011, 12:35 PM

164 posts

Played it and the demo was okay. Basically lets you play a portion of the prologue then skips to further into the game.

The combat will probably get split opinions . Personally i played a rogue and liked it a lot. Its fast, flashy and rather fun. Camera controls felt a bit weird though since the button to rotate the camera overlaps with the attack button which is right mouse click .(or maybe its just my mouse sensitivity too high). Other than that the background in the first prologue area (the one that was criticized to no end) was rather bland. Then again maybe its just the first area.

PS: I advised anyone who wants to dl the demo to do it using steam. The bioware webbie link always times out on me and i can't ever resume it using IDM.

PS.2 : Playtime is around an hour.

---

EDIT 3 :

Anyone know where i can still get the signature edition for the PC? Ugh, wished i POed it ealier doh.gif

This post has been edited by Sey: Feb 23 2011, 12:47 PM
donchaka
post Feb 23 2011, 01:28 PM

102 posts

A question regarding Bioware points. Usually where you guys bought it?

I clicked the link from Bioware Social and the price is USD20 for 1600 points. But when I visit EA Store Singapore I saw they put the price at SGD27.80. So anyone bought it from EA Store before?

This post has been edited by donchaka: Feb 23 2011, 01:30 PM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Feb 23 2011, 02:09 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(donchaka @ Feb 23 2011, 01:28 PM)
A question regarding Bioware points. Usually where you guys bought it?

I clicked the link from Bioware Social and the price is USD20 for 1600 points. But when I visit EA Store Singapore I saw they put the price at SGD27.80. So anyone bought it from EA Store before?

last time i buy direct from social.bioware.com

ever since they updated the interface, cannot buy liao.

zuhaili87
post Feb 23 2011, 04:55 PM

2,098 posts

just finished playing DA2 demo, awesome! biggrin.gif
reehdus
post Feb 23 2011, 06:16 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(zuhaili87 @ Feb 23 2011, 04:55 PM)
just finished playing DA2 demo, awesome! biggrin.gif
Can you comment on how you found the gameplay etc? It seems to be a sorta hack and slash...and everything seems to be tailored to suit consoles so it looks a bit simplified...seems a bit disappointing though...the gameplay reminds me of the LOTR Return of the King game...more suited to consoles than PC
getsu
post Feb 23 2011, 10:53 PM

33 posts

it's still point-and-click for the PC, but the action is slick and stylish in a way. You still have the option of pausing and taking a tactical approach, of course.

http://www.pcgameshardware.de/aid,812713/D...Adventure/Test/

for those who wanna see what differences DX11 brings
faizdtk
post Feb 24 2011, 12:31 AM

136 posts

the combat for me is good but sometimes i think the animation is too fast. the 2 handed in da2 is fun to play compare to da:o.
numloque
post Feb 24 2011, 12:38 AM

Awesome Demo. Tried the female mage, and it's really fast combat gameplay. I died 3 times fighting the first boss, until I realize I can use the potion. lol
Aoshi_88
post Feb 24 2011, 12:57 AM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

Because no one has posted any screenies yet.

Dragon Age 2 should be renamed Boob Age 2: Isabela Has Nice Boobage.

EDIT: I resized from 1920x1080 to 1280x720... else it'll kill your screens.

This post has been edited by Aoshi_88: Feb 24 2011, 12:57 AM
Edison83
post Feb 24 2011, 09:29 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Feb 24 2011, 12:57 AM)
Because no one has posted any screenies yet.

Dragon Age 2 should be renamed Boob Age 2: Isabela Has Nice Boobage.
Agree on some points. SOme old women still have big boobs which doesnt make sense. Silicon boobs enlargement already got in dragon age era?

I really cant comment much about it. Character design disable, inventory disable and Very High setting disable.

The combat is too fast paced (I really dont wanna finsih this game so fast). The speed on DA1 is good.
DX11 i think is insanely bugged in demo. Lagging to hell with no major different from DX9.

Text speech i still like ME2 style more.
crono_05
post Feb 24 2011, 09:32 AM

13 posts

Played the demo as a 2 handed warrior,learned something new, huge sword=weightless tongue.gif .....would be awesome if they put a little more weight into the 2 hand animation.....but it's fast and responsive and that's all that matters..i guess

if there's one thing that's bad about the demo,it's the fact that i still haven't got the free blade yet and it's been 3 hours since i finish the demo..... sad.gif
Koross
post Feb 24 2011, 10:24 AM

185 posts

I managed to finish one playthrough of the DA2 demo before I left for work. I did it with a 2H warrior as my main. Below are my opinions on this demo.

Pros:
- Moves are more responsive.
- Combat is fast paced, violent and visceral.
- Minimalist UI.
- Same old stuff.
- Art style.

Cons:
- No more tactical view.
- UI is very minimal without any artful design.
- Tactics screen was a little bugged.
- Art style is too clean that on some areas, it looks empty.

81 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:23 AM