The Thread for iPhone 4 Singapore , 16GB- S$888 and 32GB- S$1,048
deodorant
Jul 27 2010, 02:26 PM
Considering that the iPhone4 is launching in under 72 hours in SG, there's hardly any information available online/etc other than the pricing. I mean ... the SG apple store still says "coming soon."
Anyway, can I correctly assume that:
- online orders are SG credit card and ship to SG address only - online orders cannot GST refund - physical shop only (and at airport only, and perhaps also subject to minimum stay duration)
i've got plenty of friends in SG but feel a bit leceh to take a trip down to SG just for iPhone ...
deodorant
Jul 27 2010, 02:37 PM
Well if you look at it the other way, go down SG get your own set = save rm400. Go down SG get 2 or 3 sets = make enough money to cover the cost of the trip + hotel stay + some shopping ...  I'm thinking ... I've got some friends who stay in JB and work in Singapore. Should be OK for me to ask them to buy, bring over the border, and then poslaju to me ... right?
deodorant
Jul 27 2010, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Jul 27 2010, 06:00 PM) Maxis and DiGi please learn from our friends from Sg lah....always thinking uniting always.....we are customer that need to make our life is happy with our own telco and not to compared with others.... lol i read this a few times and don't understand what you're trying to say. Are you saying we ought to be good little loyal customers and sign up for maxis/digi iphone4 plans in september instead of buying uk/aussie/sing sets? @a4paper/alieamin > yeah SG data plans are way more generous than ours. Not only for iPhone lah ... you see their wired broadband also got like 100mbps plans, for us most of the country still limited to 1mbps.
deodorant
Jul 27 2010, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(mrportable @ Jul 27 2010, 06:09 PM) hmm what does this mean? it doesn't make sense if unlocked units can be purchased from online store only, in singapore..... it means that for now, there hasn't been any confirmation of a physical location for which singaporeans can queue up to buy the phone. For now the only confirmed details we have is that the unlocked iPhone4 will be available for purchase online.
deodorant
Jul 27 2010, 06:19 PM
You're getting yourself mixed up in the terminologies here. All iphone sold in SG is unlocked, i.e. you can use it with any other carrier.
But previously with the 3G, you had to sign up for a contract in order to buy an iPhone (not sure if it was the same with the 3G-S).
Compare to Malaysia 3G (for Maxis), you had the option of buying the phone at normal price outright (for usage with hotlink, for example), or buying with contract at subsidized price.
deodorant
Jul 27 2010, 06:33 PM
Erm, credit card in foreign country is no problem what. Assuming you've got some sort of activity there whether studying or working, of course  @Alex based on the information we have right now (which isn't much), your only options now are to (i) pay inflated prices to the folks over on garage sales, or (ii) get a friend/relative who stays in singapore to order online for you then you go collect when he gets it.
deodorant
Jul 28 2010, 11:19 PM
Gonna be same as the 3G-S, then. Or even worse. My singaporean friend pre-ordered (with plan) the 3G-S weeks in advance and still only got hers delivered 1 month after it was launched.
deodorant
Jul 30 2010, 12:20 AM
SG Apple store still has it on "coming soon," hehe. Anyway we'll know by tomorrow or the weekend what the stock levels are like. Chances are it'll be on a fairly long queue judging by previous 3G-S sales in SG (and we all know the 4 is a huge step up over the 3G-S)
deodorant
Jul 31 2010, 12:13 AM
wah 3 weeks. though I suppose even that will be 2-4 weeks quicker than waiting for MY iPhone4.
any word on what the MY iPhone4 is expected to cost with no contract? Should be couple hundred ringgit more expensive than the ~rm2.1k equivalent, right?
deodorant
Jul 31 2010, 01:39 AM
Hmm. Quote from the email I got: QUOTE Thank you for shopping the Apple Online Store. We are processing your order now. Visit online Order Status to view up-to-date order details and track your shipment. Log in to make changes to your order. Does this mean accepted? MY credit card, MY billing address, SG post code, SG shipping address (friend). IPHONE 4 BLACK 16GB-ITS MC603ZA/A Ships:24/08/2010 Delivers:26/08/2010
deodorant
Aug 1 2010, 10:31 PM
@keston not really. quote:
Order acknowledgements: You should receive an order acknowledgement only if you have used a payment method other than credit or debit card. This email contains details about how to pay for your order.
Order confirmation: Once your payment has been received and your order has been accepted by Apple, you will receive an order confirmation email with the details of your order and estimated availability and delivery dates.
deodorant
Aug 4 2010, 04:19 PM
Guys, do any of you actually see the purchase on your credit card statement? I bought on 31st July, received confirmation email, but until now 4th Aug also don't see it appearing on my credit card online activity.
I'm hoping it's like those hotel deposit where they 'block' certain $$ on your credit limit but don't actually charge you til you check out.
deodorant
Aug 19 2010, 10:37 PM
Hmm, is there any word on whether any of the premium resellers will be stocking anytime soon? Didn't see any update on the front page.
Gonna road trip down to SG next week to pick up my pre-ordered/shipped one, might as well pick up another unit if it'll also be available to buy in a brick-and-mortar store.
deodorant
Aug 20 2010, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 20 2010, 11:18 AM) @deodorant, No news of the iPhone 4 being available at a brick-and-mortar store either.. I think not for now, at least wait till they've launched worldwide and fulfilled all the back orders than maybe got chance  Ah well. Now need to decide whether to drive or bus to Singapore, whether to make it a day trip or stay overnight and meet up with friends. Hmmmmm ... need to cut my SIM too, huh? Last I remember, Maxis only gives the data-plan-only micro sim's, not applicable for voice+data, or has that changed?
deodorant
Aug 20 2010, 07:21 PM
@tink/keith > haha was expecting mine to arrive only end of next week so I haven't gotten my micro sim ready yet. Seems like from other threads that maxis postpaid (which I'm on) has micro sim's for phone plans for rm25 will get that next week.
The thing is my friend whose address I used will be coming up to KL to balik kampung next weekend, so all logic dictates that I should wait for her to come up and not be an idiot and spend 10 hours on a bus so I can get my phone a week early ... but ... I'm still tempted, lol!
deodorant
Aug 26 2010, 03:35 PM
my iphone 4 getting delivered to me from SG only this weekend. but i gatal go and change micro sim from maxis today. micro sim cannot use in my current iphone 3g. so what to do? DIY my own micro sim adaptor wahahahhaha. Attached thumbnail(s)
deodorant
Aug 26 2010, 04:15 PM
@tink > yes it does, lol. don't know whether it will work long-term, but don't care. only need it to last til tomorrow night when i pick up my iP4.
@ysc > lots of people have cut their big sim to micro sim size and 100% no problem to work with iP4. my opinion is, if you are on maxis postpaid and you can't get the cutting for free, then just pay the rm25 to get the micro sim from maxis.
deodorant
Aug 28 2010, 01:01 AM
why, what's this?  death grip test:
deodorant
Aug 28 2010, 01:20 AM
malaysia price will probably be more expensive, due to sirim and tax, probably around rm2.5k. personally, i got mine from singapore purely due to not wanting to wait for malaysia release ... hehe.
deodorant
Aug 28 2010, 11:08 PM
2.5% is like rm50? that sucks pretty bad. mine no separate forex charges, but the rate for sgd-myr conversion was crap.