belly dance
Jul 27 2010, 01:30 PM, updated 16y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
22 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
hey......im so interested into belly dance. any teacher/ dance studio recommended?? thanks a lot
Jul 27 2010, 02:37 PM
31 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
a bit interested too.. how much is the class fees?
Jul 27 2010, 02:39 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
my music school got classes
Jul 27 2010, 02:42 PM
1,104 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
there are lots studio at taman desa and kuchai lama.
you may go there have a look. if not mistaken, 4 classes/ per month is around RM70 - RM100. |
Jul 30 2010, 09:35 AM
114 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
what's your location?
there's a few in kuchai lama rm70 for 4 lessons |
Jul 30 2010, 12:13 PM
413 posts Joined: May 2010 |
I learnt the basic one by myself, now thinking of to go back for it again
Where in ss2 for that music school? |
Aug 5 2010, 09:46 AM
114 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Aug 5 2010, 11:48 PM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: hometown:melaka, working:kl |
hi all,
i've been learning belly dance for quite a while.... currently my teacher is the lovely Percy, she's a professional belly dancer.... you may visit her website www.mysticalmoves.com my tips to those who is interested, get the basics right..... happy belly dancing |
Aug 11 2010, 01:37 PM
55 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(yennie31 @ Aug 5 2010, 11:48 PM) hi all, Hi Yennie,i've been learning belly dance for quite a while.... currently my teacher is the lovely Percy, she's a professional belly dancer.... you may visit her website www.mysticalmoves.com my tips to those who is interested, get the basics right..... happy belly dancing how much does she charge? where's her studio? |
Aug 12 2010, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(Chica @ Aug 11 2010, 01:37 PM) hi Chica,she dun have a studio on her own....she & her mum travels around to teach in certain studios but i'm not sure where exactly are other studios.... i'm learning at bukit jalil country club (sorry, can't remember the exact full name)... the fees structure for me is rm130 as i'm not bukit jalil club member, if member is rm120..... other places i'm not too sure.... you may email her to ask, she's a very nice person.... you might find the fees slightly higher compare to the price mentioned by other forumers.... you can survey around and see which instructor suits your liking.... in my opinion, you may survey which style you like, then easier to find instuctor.... Percy & Pauline's style is oriental belly dance, or many ppl call it egyptian belly dancing..... but they do mix other elements in, for eg tribal, jazzy.... juz side track a little, if you view the website, you can see there's an event on 4th sept, Hafla Night....if you interested, can come for the event.... |
Aug 12 2010, 12:21 PM
thanks.. ya i'm surveying instructor, i like Percy (the mother) style.. she's more traditional.. thanks for the info, yes it's slightly higher so I'll wait n see if I can find any other teacher who is affordable and that i like, i'd rather not go at all if the teacher is no good..
thanks for the recommendation, I am definitely keeping these two in mind! |
Aug 12 2010, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(Chica @ Aug 12 2010, 12:21 PM) thanks.. ya i'm surveying instructor, i like Percy (the mother) style.. she's more traditional.. thanks for the info, yes it's slightly higher so I'll wait n see if I can find any other teacher who is affordable and that i like, i'd rather not go at all if the teacher is no good.. err, Pauline is the mother, Percy is the daughter.... hehe.... thanks for the recommendation, I am definitely keeping these two in mind! actually they are both in the same style....juz that belly dancing is one of the dance genre that the body can flow freely and create a different feel although both of the dancing the same choreography... yes, basics is important.... i started off with another teacher (also oriental style), she has stopped teaching to attend to her family.... at that time, for me, her teaching was ok and the studio is nearby my place, so it's convenient.... however after 1 year + she stopped, another teacher came to substitute, i didn't like her style.... fusion, more like hip hop belly dance....come to think of it, i can't even remember the choreo she taught.... after few lesson, i stopped.... after much searching, i found Percy's class and i like it..... but i notice something, my basics is as strong as my other frens who has been following Percy since beginner.... though the number of years we learnt belly dance is about the same.... she and her mum's teaching technics is good.... good luck in ur search! p/s: do learn this art, you'll love it!! |
Aug 12 2010, 03:52 PM
413 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Aug 12 2010, 03:53 PM
thanks! i'm doing salsa right now and i also llike the traditional or street version better (Cuban). I guess i'm more of a conventional dancer. I notice Percy (daughter, sorry) is more modern movements while the mother is more slow and seems more traditional.. i like the mother more. But I can't comment much anyway since I don't know anything at all about belly dancing.
my salsa school is opening up belly dancing soon but I don't know who the teacher is yet.. if you have any recommendations in PJ or Kelana Jaya area? Thanks so much darl! :) |
Aug 12 2010, 06:03 PM
264 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Winland |
QUOTE(yennie31 @ Aug 12 2010, 02:50 PM) err, Pauline is the mother, Percy is the daughter.... hehe.... I think I know who you're referring to, my sister was in the same class as Percy. actually they are both in the same style....juz that belly dancing is one of the dance genre that the body can flow freely and create a different feel although both of the dancing the same choreography... yes, basics is important.... i started off with another teacher (also oriental style), she has stopped teaching to attend to her family.... at that time, for me, her teaching was ok and the studio is nearby my place, so it's convenient.... however after 1 year + she stopped, another teacher came to substitute, i didn't like her style.... fusion, more like hip hop belly dance....come to think of it, i can't even remember the choreo she taught.... after few lesson, i stopped.... after much searching, i found Percy's class and i like it..... but i notice something, my basics is as strong as my other frens who has been following Percy since beginner.... though the number of years we learnt belly dance is about the same.... she and her mum's teaching technics is good.... good luck in ur search! p/s: do learn this art, you'll love it!! I know PJ SS2 has a place, its is in a row of shoplots on the left of the road, if you're coming from the Rothman's roundabout (where the overhead pedestrian bridge is). PS you should watch some videos of Rachel Brice, one of the best professional bellydancers in the world. Also, Sharon Kihara. |
Aug 13 2010, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(Chica @ Aug 12 2010, 03:53 PM) thanks! i'm doing salsa right now and i also llike the traditional or street version better (Cuban). I guess i'm more of a conventional dancer. I notice Percy (daughter, sorry) is more modern movements while the mother is more slow and seems more traditional.. i like the mother more. But I can't comment much anyway since I don't know anything at all about belly dancing. that's great....probably you wanna wait & see who's the teacher.... my salsa school is opening up belly dancing soon but I don't know who the teacher is yet.. if you have any recommendations in PJ or Kelana Jaya area? Thanks so much darl! if not mistaken, Percy has class at Tropicana Golf and also Jaya 33.... |
Dec 2 2010, 10:30 PM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: Malaysia |
There's a studio in Desa Sri Hartamas also offering belly dance, called Talent Hub. I've seen many belly dance performances before and the instructor from Talent Hub is by far the best one I've seen, ever in KL. I attended her Gothic Belly Dance workshop at Viva Vertical studio last month and she is also an excellent instructor! Unfortunately I dont remember her name since I was late for class then rushed off right after to work but you can find her through these two studios i guess
| Change to: | 0.0189sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:08 AM |