RTS Starcraft 2 V5.0, HELL IT'S TIME...

yimingwuzere
post Jul 28 2010, 11:04 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(-ZeN- @ Jul 28 2010, 10:43 AM)
Shoudl be able to use back ur bnet acc, and as for ur char, i think most likely will remain. If not, doesnt surf the purpose of a guest pass if u cant continue ur fun.

Guys, 1 thing about the achievement.... I hate to say it, but logically, blizz does say that u CANT EARN achievement when it is disconnected from bnet. I kena few time half way got dropped out, then it will say u are currently in offline mode, so u cant earn achievement.

So... lets think about it, it is the same as the achievement being disable taken it like in offline mode. So how do u expect ur achievement to be pop back up when the achievement is enable back?

Plus, it is direct link to bnet profile, so every achievement pop up real time then direct update to bnet. So when it doesnt pop up by then, i dun think they will ever suddenly pop up afterward.

GG for those who played on Hard and finish the campaign during achievement being disable, because if u forgot to save the game before each mission, u need to start back from 1st mission and play through all again.

Added on July 28, 2010, 10:44 amRefer to lchee post above, guess achievement is back up during morning.
Luckily i waited 1 night so i wont waste whole few hours playing campaign without achievement.

Added on July 28, 2010, 10:45 am@lchee - so does ur previous achievement that u suppose to get during achievement is being disable got pop back up or not?? If u had play la.

If not, anyone else achievement got pop back up? I was logically thinking it wont, so anyone can confirm it will or not?
This issue seems to be a SEA only problem. Ah, I guess IAH still sucking as usual.
yimingwuzere
post Jul 28 2010, 01:54 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jul 28 2010, 12:51 PM)
Dude, US version is 60USD for both retail (from amazon) and digital (from battle.net).

Are we paying more because we're richer than the yanks?
There's a big fracas about this in singapore when they announced the pricing.

Blizzard's reason - server bandwidth costs, server costs blablabla

My take - IAHGames greedy, Activision CEO greedy, nothing to do with bandwidth or servers (EA charges less for BFBC2 here yet includes dedicated servers)

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Jul 28 2010, 01:56 PM
yimingwuzere
post Jul 28 2010, 02:44 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(roronoa_zorro @ Jul 28 2010, 02:35 PM)
wut they did?
did not follow the news haha
US$60 instead of US$50 for most full priced PC releases
No dedicated servers for PC multiplayer
Nerfed max players in almost all modes
No game mods
General apathetic treatment of COD community

etc etc

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jul 28 2010, 02:42 PM)
activision really start to piss off many gamers these days...
infinity wards+mw2 map pack price+sc2 price... shakehead.gif
This one also involves IAH Games. US release only costs US$60. SEA release is ~US$78.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Jul 28 2010, 02:49 PM
yimingwuzere
post Jul 28 2010, 04:56 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jul 28 2010, 04:42 PM)

http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=140764872609672

This made me get SEA as I have friends on both sides.
Read that the day Blizz announced that. Not bothered still.

1) The whole thing screams of a knee-jerk reaction. AFAIK, why should I need two copies of SC2 installed on my computer to choose which server I want to play on?
2) Even then, how does this justify the inflated price? I didn't have to pay megabucks still for WC3. Nor SC1. Nor Diablo 2. The local server bandwidth cost reasoning is BS considering companies like EA host local dedicated servers for their stuff.
3) IAH and all their screwups means I will never buy anything from them. Too many friends got their wallets burned on Hellgate London. Last I heard, SEA servers is having the most DCed games and the only ones with downed achievement servers... I can't be sure Blizzard isn't lying when they say they are running the local servers not IAH Games.
yimingwuzere
post Jul 28 2010, 05:03 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jul 28 2010, 04:58 PM)
My googling fails and i can't find a single faq over this region locking thingy.  From what i understand SEA players will be allowed to play on the US servers but only by creating a new ID specifically for the US.  Which means that achivements, friends lists and so on won't carry over to the US.

Attempting to post on the US forums, there's a message which specifies that i don't have a license for that region even though i am already logged into battle net.  This leads my to believe that i can add US access and EU access irrespective of my geographical region onto battle.net by buying additional licenses specifically for this region. 

If anything, I can post on SEA SC2 forums but that's just full of Australians complaining about being stuck on servers with asians.  really.

With this whole region hullabaloo, I've only played the 1st campaign mission and will probably leave it till they sort out the US license issue.
Which is why I'm waiting till the massive backlash from EU/US, progamers/korea, etc cross server backlash by players eventually leads to Blizzard giving a proper cross server playing experience in a future patch before I pick this up. That, and no more than US$50 for the game of course.
yimingwuzere
post Jul 29 2010, 09:56 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 29 2010, 08:49 AM)
Probably the servers still need tweaking.

Added on July 29, 2010, 8:54 am

Yea, SEA version is more expensive.

I think, just go for US version.

Cheaper, and the servers are much more stable. SEA server is quite bad now,even the number of players are less than Beta on US server.
You also need to factor in the ridiculous local price as a deterrent to most players over here. These guys are going to jack sparrow it. Not surprised the servers are half dead compared to other regions.

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 29 2010, 09:44 AM)
I had a hunch it maybe that reason.

Its quite expensive to setup a server farm in singapore due to the general cost of electricity over there as well as space needed to host the game servers.

Malaysia would be a better option if not for the fact that out broadband network infrastructure is the only thing holding us back.
That may be the official reason behind that, but there's so many shooters I've played with official dedicated servers in SG. And I didn't need to pay extra for the server costs. So, to me, the price hike is unjustified.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Jul 29 2010, 09:59 AM
yimingwuzere
post Jul 29 2010, 10:05 AM

990 posts

Guest pass is for playing SC2 for up to 7 hours gameplay or 14 days from registering guest pass.

ASAP: Cheapest option is digital download (59.90 USD). Retail copy just gets you a box with the DVD and manual extra. Both copies allow you to redownload the game client as many times as needed.

Not sure about the Mac/PC part.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Jul 29 2010, 10:07 AM
yimingwuzere
post Aug 11 2010, 05:45 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Aug 11 2010, 11:30 AM)
Click at your risk.

If that is true then Blizzard self owned themselves like Ubisoft and EA did back in 2008. Pirates have more content than legitimate buyers? Lol.

0.0313sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:47 AM