Brand- HTC/motorola
Budget-1.5k-2k
Specs. Android capacitive touch 3.5" screen or bigger, very good camera
What you need in the phone -Sense UI
Deswin
post Oct 11 2010, 10:40 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

desire doesn't have any multitouch problem according to my survey.. it beats iphone 4 n galaxy s in terms of browsing speed as well..

so far i think desire is the best android phone.. not to mention about the latest desire hd coming up soon
Deswin
post Oct 20 2010, 05:18 AM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

i would prefer galaxy 5 because it has the android 2.1 which is compatible with all the android apps..

x10 mini is android 1.6 so i wont be compatible with all apps in market
Deswin
post Oct 27 2010, 08:15 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

xt720 is alot way bhind if compare with desire in terms of cpu, gpu, ram, user interface..

only thing i like is the xenon flash on the xt720.. other than that no..

just my opinion though smile.gif
Deswin
post Oct 28 2010, 08:24 AM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Oct 27 2010, 09:52 PM)
For the HTC Desire  it is still VGA and WVGA respectively, which is way too disappointing for full-fledged multimedia phones. tongue.gif
If ur favourite Android handset so far has been the HTC Desire, with its top of the range specs, I really can't blame you. But the Motorola Milestone XT720 could be the handset to give the Desire a run for its money biggrin.gif .
I say that because of things like its 8-megapixel camera with xenon flash, 720p video recording, HDMI-out – with cable provided – and vast high-resolution screen.
Of course there's no Sense UI as u'll find on the Desire, but you might be able to live with that, and the rest of the expected goodies are here too, such as Wi-Fi, GPS and Hspda and lastly can play all the high end game better than desire. cool2.gif  cool2.gif
desire n xt720 cannot be compared because desire is a high end smart phone while xt720 is a medium end smart phone.. btw, the screen resolution is WVGA(same like xt720) and it supports 720p video recording.. since when its VGA? sweat.gif

take note that most high end game require 1ghz processor to play smoothly..

u should try htc desire then u will noe about it.. rclxms.gif

Added on October 28, 2010, 8:32 amalsoo to mention the ability of desire to handle multitasking with 576mb ram compared to xt720 that have 256mb ram only..

Added on October 28, 2010, 8:36 amalso to mention desire comes with amoled screen and optical trackpad that can improve browsing through the net alot.. rclxms.gif

Added on October 28, 2010, 8:38 amconclusion: we cant compare both phones as 1 is high end n medium end..

This post has been edited by Deswin: Oct 28 2010, 08:38 AM
Deswin
post Oct 28 2010, 03:12 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

most pp including me love sense ui.. any comments?

*pls don't tell me that xt720 ui is much better than sense ui doh.gif
Deswin
post Oct 28 2010, 10:06 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

i noe that u can port rom n use htc sense.. but im sure u will not feel as smooth as desire.. the 576mb ram is used for smooth multitasking.. whereas the xt720 only got 256mb ram..

also to mention about no flash support in browser..

i feel that u are very satisfied with ur xt720.. but u should try other higher end phones.. i feel that u should be unbias about ur opinion.. so imho, if a person searching for a mid range smart phone then xt720 is d one.. if want smooth ui + good browsing xperience + without lag then desire is the one smile.gif.. this is my advice to consumers who want to get a phone smile.gif
Deswin
post Oct 28 2010, 11:48 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Oct 28 2010, 10:48 PM)
your family owns doesn't means you own it, have you personally used the Desire for months before judging it?

the processor on Desire is definitely faster, but not everyone will notice it,
its just like i5 vs i7 processor, when you are not utilizing the i7 to its max, it would just behave like an i5.
Yea, you can OC the processor, but have you really tested it?
FYI OCing your xt720 would drain the hell out of your battery, so what's the point?
You're saying 256MB of RAM is the same as 512MB of RAM?
so why do people even bother spending money to get more RAM on their PC?

plus, gaming? Just get an PSX Emulator, done. Why bother with sub-par 3D games?

Xenon Flash means it'll drain even more battery when you need flash, and you can't use it as a torch smile.gif

oh and, the root support for Desire is way way better than xt720, there are many options of custom ROMS for it,
and most software support will take Desire into consideration first.

by the time froyo landed on xt720 (if ever), Desire user would be on Android 3.0 already smile.gif

all in all, you get what you pay for, its pointless to argue which phone is better when the price range isn't even same.
well said!! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Oct 28 2010, 11:19 PM)
agree!!..hehe..but dont ezy said to others people ur phone is mid range...my phone is high range...hahaha..but when in reality compare head to head...cannot perform..haiyaaaa doh.gif
its not simply say bro.. its the fact that its made for midrange purposes.. can't be comparing this phone to desire,desire hd, galaxy s and other high end phone in the market m i rite.. smile.gif
Deswin
post Oct 29 2010, 12:43 AM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Oct 29 2010, 12:01 AM)
Still?..haha..I'm not talking abt the price..wats I'm talking abt performance..wat ever la dude..r u HTC seller?..if u want compare desire hd or z we can compare with Ms 2 ..Bahamas...but ur desire only at my xt range la bro....huhu
nope im not a htc seller.. im a an nokia xpress music user n sharing my opinions about desire n xt720.. im not being bias but i cant stop u for saying anything but pls dun mislead consumers to get xt720 when they want desire or higher end phone just because ur satisfied with it.. go n ask any1 n they would recomend desire instead of xt720 if u dun trust me:)

QUOTE(xedi @ Oct 29 2010, 12:04 AM)
hi all.. =)
need u guys help here..
planning to get a android device..
but still cant choose between Samsung Galaxy S and HTC Desire..
which 1 will u choose guys?
in term of battery life.. speed.. performance.. and etc..
it depends on whats ur usage bro.. theres pro n cons for both phones

Galaxy s
pro: good graphics for gaming with super amoled lcd
cons: "some" users are facing problem with the laggness and time to lock gps satelite

desire:
pro: smooth user interface with sense ui without lag, optical trackpad for better browsing
con: "some" users are facing multitouch problem.. rumoured to be using only 2 touch inputs(not real multitouch)
Deswin
post Nov 22 2010, 11:09 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

QUOTE(lost123 @ Nov 22 2010, 07:37 PM)

he cant accept d fact that XT720 is a mid end android phone laugh.gif
Deswin
post Nov 22 2010, 11:15 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Nov 22 2010, 11:10 PM)

very true.. this kinda pp lead d consumers for d wrong phone cool2.gif
Deswin
post Nov 23 2010, 06:35 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

white desire not launch in msia
Deswin
post Nov 24 2010, 02:39 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

erm xt720 able to detect how many points on multitouch test?
Deswin
post Nov 24 2010, 06:27 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Nov 24 2010, 03:18 PM)
hehehe...still want to argue... tongue.gif
for ur info dude xt dont hv problem with multitouch..not bcoz  how many point but multitouch on desire is faulty..u can see video shot @59 seconds..then u know what is faulty ... cool2.gif  cool2.gif
opss ok i only found 3 points at my multiouch but what important not faulty like tuttttttt....cheers!.. tongue.gif  tongue.gif
bro, just wanted to noe only n u say argue.. i noe that desire have faulty multitouch but would just want to know for xt720.. not meant to argue seriously sweat.gif
Deswin
post Nov 25 2010, 03:29 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

htc wildfire will suit u smile.gif
Deswin
post Nov 26 2010, 06:15 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Nov 26 2010, 12:39 PM)
If I want to get an Android phone with a good camera and video,
better get HTC Desire or Motorla Milestone XR720?

Did the Froyo update improve the video recording quality in Desire?
I guess video quality is more important since MP(in photos) don't really matter(right?)

Many thanks in advance
if u want good camera between d desire n xt720 then xt720 wins becoz of the 8mp and xenon flash as well

Desire's video quality is in 720p after froyo update

based on camera quality, so far x10 is d best in android smartphone range but the lack of xenon flash loses to the xt720
Deswin
post Nov 27 2010, 04:35 PM

Smoked'Em
816 posts

DHD will be much better..

sgs is having problems with their gps and laggness. unless u root it

0.0443sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:05 PM