Android Phone recommendation thread, Official thread on "Which should I get?"

41LY45
post Nov 21 2010, 02:25 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Nov 21 2010, 10:24 AM)
Rooting is something that gives you power to control your phone fully. Without rooting, the things you can do with your phones are limited. Once you rooted, you can cuztomize your wallpaper, install ahem apps and much more. It will void your warranty IF you send it the rooted phone to claim warranty BUT you are able to unroot it. After you unroot it, just send them to claim warranty and they won't notice a thing.
Bro, What happen if i TER-perma root the thing? whistling.gif whistling.gif
41LY45
post Nov 21 2010, 02:53 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Nov 21 2010, 02:38 PM)
I don't know but is there such thing as perma root? I only know that you are able to unroot it back  blink.gif
I saw it from those crazy XDA devs.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=834228

Even can boot custom ROM for it.. laugh.gif
41LY45
post Nov 21 2010, 04:14 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Nov 21 2010, 03:37 PM)
perma-root means rooted properly, because before this, the G2, aka Desire Z can't be properly rooted,
every time you reboot the phone it will be unroot back,
so this perma-root simply means it wont be unroot back, as the root state will stay even after you reboot the phone

so even if you "perma" root the phone, it can still be unroot back by flashing it back to default state.

btw, booting custom ROM is a normal thing for rooted device tongue.gif
that's one of the many reasons why people want to root their phone, custom ROMs.
Nice, thanks for the clarification, bro notworthy.gif

So, by unrooting \ flash ori ROM = warranty back again la

New to this field bro, wanna take the first step into the Droid world with the G2.. brows.gif
41LY45
post Nov 22 2010, 03:59 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(jamieshin @ Nov 22 2010, 03:02 AM)
ic.. thx clon12... my bro having wildfire nw.. wat im stil thkin which 1 to buy is jus bcos the resolution thgs.. n oso worry tat some apps cannot play in wildfire.. n little bit of considering on camera.. hee.. but i c wildfire photos not bad too... n got flash.. (+ 1 function -> touch light ^^ )

Added on November 22, 2010, 3:07 amcustomize the wallpaper means can play animation wallpaper izit?

wat is 'ahem' apps...

since we can unroot is good.. but wat if the phone totally cannot ON?? -- tat would b my fate - bad luck thn?? haa...
"ahem" - it's a forbidden word here. i can say is about it is = ARRR.. matey!!!

Kalau kena brick, then i dunno.. lol

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Nov 22 2010, 04:01 AM
41LY45
post Nov 28 2010, 11:45 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

Hello Guys,

Interested in getting an android phone.

Budget: ~ 800 - 1k

Need something with a good camera, & if possible a somewhat high res screen.

Thanks!

BTW, open for suggestions for hackable (to Android) WinMobile phones.. whistling.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Nov 29 2010, 12:25 AM
41LY45
post Nov 29 2010, 12:26 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Nov 28 2010, 11:59 PM)
Perhaps u can wait for LG Optimus One.
The 3.2 megapixel autofocus camera isn't good though.
Hmmm.. specs looks good though..

Thanks man. biggrin.gif
41LY45
post Nov 30 2010, 12:19 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(@1fr3dv11 @ Nov 29 2010, 11:25 PM)
hey guys can i know where can i buy htc derisre z in kl?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1606722 cool2.gif
41LY45
post Nov 30 2010, 07:00 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Nov 30 2010, 02:26 PM)
but i'm into HTC's Sense. unsure.gif

how would the resolution be compared to n95?

Based on the specs from GSM arena, Wildfire is almost the same with n95 resolution with a bigger screen.
I've been reading via my n95 all these while so i thought i can get used to the resolution.  sad.gif

How much is Desire by the way?
That res? not nice la..

Fellow n95 user i see.. hahah.. laugh.gif

For me la, i'm waiting for dual-core phons to come out early next year.. brows.gif

Dun wan get buthurt seeing other people use it.. whistling.gif
41LY45
post Dec 8 2010, 08:15 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

Hello guys!

1.Brand : Any

2. Budget: ~ 1k (can push up abit if none in that range laugh.gif )

3. Specs:
Android OS (can update to 2.2)
5MP camera with flash (better camera is preferable)
HSPDA
GPS
Quad Band GSM /HSPDA (kinda need it for roaming purposes)
Somewhat high res screen.

4. Type/Size:
Any

Thanks!

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Dec 8 2010, 08:17 AM
41LY45
post Dec 8 2010, 02:26 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKn1ghtx @ Dec 8 2010, 09:07 AM)
hmm.gif I think there are none in ur price range that is upgradeble to 2.2 with 5mp camera.  If you prefer a better camera but only has 2.1, go for xt720 or x10i. Both around 1.3k or so. If you need 2.2, go for AP Desire. Around 1.5k at garage sales.
hmm.gif
Xperia X10i , played with it, nice cam but interface shakehead.gif

alang2, think i'll probably shoot for T-mobile G2 AP around 1.8k(last time i check la) laugh.gif

QUOTE(happyhappyjony @ Dec 8 2010, 11:57 AM)
Am a newbie here, but i think Acer Liquid E S100 is quite a good bargain...rm1499 (ORI set), 5mp cam but no flash, upgradable to 2.2 (Acer Canada has released official ROM for users there), screen is 800x480 (normal TFT, no AMOLED), processor snapdragon underclocked to 768mhz but can be overclocked to 960mhz..with GPS (i have tested mine with Papago)
no flash? shakehead.gif

upgrading from the ye olde N95 8GB. so yeah, i need a phone which can double as a camera. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Dec 8 2010, 02:39 PM
41LY45
post Dec 8 2010, 04:39 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKn1ghtx @ Dec 8 2010, 04:21 PM)
LILIIf you wanna go for acer, wait for the new Liquid Metal. Check out the officiaIL thread. Its cheaper than the Liquid-e series. And nicer with Froyo. Btw iPhone has a 1Ghz Apple A4 processor
liquid metal eh? will consider.

iPhong? whistling.gif dun wanna turn into iFag.. laugh.gif

and i'm planing to do some android app dev/ hacking. brows.gif

so no iPhong for me. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Dec 8 2010, 04:40 PM
41LY45
post Dec 8 2010, 05:31 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKn1ghtx @ Dec 8 2010, 05:27 PM)
hmm.gif If you wanna hax the Android i recommend you take the upcoming Nexus one. Price should be 1500+-.. Dev phone for haxing =P
Nexus One? Don't you mean Nexus S? unsure.gif if that then it's around 2k++ (kinda out of budget la)

T- Mobile G2 seems to fit my bill though, stock Android, no stupid HTC Sense.. an has a resonable enuf price la..
41LY45
post Dec 8 2010, 05:45 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKn1ghtx @ Dec 8 2010, 05:38 PM)
Yep Nexus S. doh.gif typo. Its not around 2k +.. a few person said it was $520 or so. Converted back here should be 1.5/1.6k

drool.gif rclxm9.gif

Naice!!! Thanks Bro!

Now have to wait for it to show up in M'sia.

41LY45
post Dec 8 2010, 11:07 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(happyhappyjony @ Dec 8 2010, 09:12 PM)
since you would like to hack your phone, then i have to agree that you get a google phone, the nexus S as suggested by fellow forumer.. would be worth the wait smile.gif
think so too la bro. it's pure google, no manufacturer crap add-in. which i really rike..

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Dec 8 2010, 11:48 PM
41LY45
post Dec 18 2010, 11:41 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(hoimangkuk @ Dec 18 2010, 11:12 AM)
in this case then i need to go lite gaming...  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

csl phone ok ker???
It's a rebrand of motorola quench XT

refer to thread here : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1665404/+0&#entry38618524

If your are on of the "gila" ones, can flash Cyanogen 6.1 ROM on this (Custom Android 2.2, Froyo) brows.gif

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Dec 18 2010, 05:38 PM
41LY45
post Dec 18 2010, 09:27 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(chantakzee @ Dec 18 2010, 05:52 PM)
1.Brand -Any brand (If CSL please give some persuasion since i heard they are quite notorious )
2.Budget - 700+-100
3.Specs-Prefer Camera and maybe GPS, not quite demanding in other gadgets
4.What do you need - Taking some pictures , light gaming.

Please response ASAP.
since you want something with a good camera, at that price range would be CSL Spice Mi300

testimonials + discussion : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1665404/+0&#entry38618524
41LY45
post Dec 19 2010, 04:39 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(bidiey_afandi @ Dec 19 2010, 01:32 AM)
it that true ? hacked to 6.1ROM for mi300 can upgrade to android 2.2 is that what your mean?  drool.gif  but shame on me i loose my mi300 couple month ago cry.gif ..like 1k just flew away just like that...
nod.gif

Heck, should support all future cyanogen ROMs even.
Gingerbread anyone? brows.gif

Wiki + guide: http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/index.php?title=Commtiva_Z71

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Dec 19 2010, 04:41 AM
41LY45
post Dec 27 2010, 11:00 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(NigGod @ Dec 27 2010, 09:26 PM)
Go for Nexus S biggrin.gif New + Gingerbread and attractive price (1.6k)
blink.gif

Where? if buy from overseas set maybe la.

Local AP sets selling for ~ 2.3k now.
41LY45
post Dec 30 2010, 01:31 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(AMenzZ @ Dec 30 2010, 01:12 AM)
Sifu, wanna ask for recomendation, any difference between the two model below?

1. Brand. (Samsung i897 Captivate, Samsung Vibrant T959)
2. Budget. (<1.5k)
3. Specs. (1GHz / 512MB / >2.1 / >3.5")
4. Intended to get phone with qwerty keypad but not much choice so far i see, any other recomendation? budget not high.
Captivate : RM 1480
Vibrant : RM 1650

Not much diff as both share same hardware but with different housing. nod.gif
But captivate much harder to find accessories, not really popular here.

41LY45
post Jan 4 2011, 11:45 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

Hello bros, need a recommendation here. Got slightly higher budget now. laugh.gif

1. Brand: Any
2. Budget: 1.3k
3. Specs : upgradeable to Android 2.2 and beyond. (dun mind if via Custom ROM brows.gif ), 5MP camera with flash.

There is one model in my mind now, the Motorola Milestone. (can OC the processor to 1Ghz brows.gif )

Xperia X 10 is just shakehead.gif even with 2.1 still doh.gif doh.gif.

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Jan 4 2011, 11:46 PM

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.7058sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:56 PM