U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #2, all about U~

luckyhillkop
post Nov 18 2010, 12:32 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

Anyone staying in SS19 subang using U-Mobile? is coverage good there? I want to get UB68 plan with MiFi but I'm scared about bad coverage.
luckyhillkop
post Nov 18 2010, 02:15 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 18 2010, 12:54 PM)
offically, the FUP is 5GB. but effectively most ppl got capped around 10GB+. you are damm lucky using up to 30GB/60GB for the price you pay!

other provides dont even give you this kind of "hidden" benefits biggrin.gif

Added on November 18, 2010, 12:56 pm
i have tried around Subang Mewah, SS13/15 and Sunway Pyramid. Very good performance. I guess SS19 should be well covered.
BTW, Sunway/Subang area will soon be upgraded for 42mbps HSPA+ network.
thanks man. SS15 is very near to ss19 already but still I dnt feel save. think i better buy their prepaid sim first.
their UB68 MiFi plan is very tempting.
another question, do u know if i can use the Mifi with other telco's sim?

Added on November 18, 2010, 2:21 pm
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 18 2010, 12:54 PM)
offically, the FUP is 5GB. but effectively most ppl got capped around 10GB+. you are damm lucky using up to 30GB/60GB for the price you pay!

other provides dont even give you this kind of "hidden" benefits biggrin.gif

even 10GB is well over maxis who is soooooo efficient to throttle your speed to 0.000000000000001kb after 3GB

This post has been edited by luckyhillkop: Nov 18 2010, 02:22 PM
luckyhillkop
post Nov 18 2010, 02:39 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(raimy_m9 @ Nov 18 2010, 02:29 PM)
maxis system check twice a day and once or maybe a few times  in a week( if im not mistaken la..) bzos they got many users also...

ps: i used to work as a csp for hotlink and broadband..headache.. vmad.gif .always problem...thats a standard for them to wait a few days if some place got problem(  because when u call, they ask u to do this and that...and call again..at night cannot open case, ask u to call tomorrow morning.etc.)....then they take action after lots of complaint after so much hassle for u calling them to create a case....then i'll be like weeks to rectify...then they ask for rating... 1 to 5... shakehead.gif

sometimes, you dont have to call just wait.....(if they notice their system got problems la...then they will rectify and mention the problems..)

but for mac users, its a priviledge...coz maybe they will send a technical to your place.. thumbup.gif
twice a day huh, no wonder la. tak bagi chance langsung!
luckyhillkop
post Nov 18 2010, 02:56 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(raimy_m9 @ Nov 18 2010, 02:40 PM)
coz they make even more money...u top up bandwidth.sometimes a few time a month...futhurmore...maxis dont restrict on speed...but on bandwidth...
that's why i want to switch to u mobile. just need to know abt their coverage first
luckyhillkop
post Nov 18 2010, 03:13 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 18 2010, 03:05 PM)
rest asssured, Subang/Sunway area is well covered.

these ares are not fringe area, so chances of no coverage is low.

http://www.u.com.my/broadband-coverage/coverage-map
yes low, but the chances are still there. don't take this personally, but i have learned not to trust telcos talk too much. your map still has non-3g spots here and there inside your 3g coverage area. i just want to make sure smile.gif

No one answered me yet so maybe u can.
Can i use the MiFi in your UB68 package with other sims? Cz when i balik kampung theres no u mobile coverage there.

This post has been edited by luckyhillkop: Nov 18 2010, 03:15 PM
luckyhillkop
post Nov 18 2010, 03:28 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Nov 18 2010, 03:18 PM)
another catch with the coverage map is that you won't know if that area is congested or not when checking for other telcos.

For U mobile, it seems to be ok.
Fair point, that makes sense.
Still no one can answer answer my question abt MiFi..
luckyhillkop
post Nov 18 2010, 03:36 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 18 2010, 03:29 PM)
it's unlocked, of course can use with other operator's sim
cool, thanks for the answer. a rep for u (in spirit, dnt know if we can actually rep here).
i so cannot wait to ditch maxis.
luckyhillkop
post Nov 18 2010, 05:55 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(ctwice @ Nov 18 2010, 05:49 PM)
hey guys
is umobile working fine for you atm? i wanna know cause it's really horrible for me now
it's so slow, its slower than when i get capped!
i kept reconnecting but it's all the same. tested it on another lappy but its the same too.
is it just me or is it the service itself?

where are u at?
luckyhillkop
post Nov 18 2010, 07:37 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

maybe it is the upgrading work a poster talked about? hopefully that's the reason..
luckyhillkop
post Nov 18 2010, 10:04 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

it's really good to know u mobile svc is decent. i'm so getting it!
luckyhillkop
post Nov 19 2010, 09:59 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

Issh am I cursed or something? I'm getting U Mobile and suddenly it turns bad?!
luckyhillkop
post Nov 19 2010, 05:18 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Nov 19 2010, 04:35 PM)
Is everything alright?

Where are u at?
luckyhillkop
post Nov 20 2010, 11:04 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(guamainmain @ Nov 20 2010, 08:52 PM)
just planning to get u68. but throttling to 128kbps from 3.6mbps after 5Gb usage is just too much...sigh..
too much? maxis throttle to 0.00000000000000000000000000000000001kbs after 3Gb!
luckyhillkop
post Nov 20 2010, 11:53 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Nov 20 2010, 11:35 PM)
So should I be thankful that I changed to Umobile? =P

But I have to take my hats off to Maxis for their customer service. They really call you back on the next working day immediately.
I hope ur being sarcastic there. go to maxis fb page, see how people maki kaw kaw their customer svc.
maxis is one big slimy ugly leech
luckyhillkop
post Nov 22 2010, 11:27 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Nov 22 2010, 11:13 AM)
Guys, for RM68 plan which meant to be unlimited. In FUP, it stated that it shouldn't be exceeding 5GB so why don't they stated 5GB plan in 68 plan rather than hide under FUP? So will the unlimited plan under 68 will be capped the speed at 128k if exceeding 5gb?
Yes. Still better than others, they mostly cap at 3gb.
luckyhillkop
post Nov 22 2010, 04:23 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Nov 22 2010, 03:47 PM)
Err, DiGi ain't better in term of price and quota before throttling, 3gb for 68 myr? DiGi only has EDGE coverage on place U Mobile
Not yet covered.

Thing change la. Now U Mobile offering modem and MiFi too.
Shhhh, dnt let them know that. let them choose others so U Mobile network wont get congested whistling.gif
luckyhillkop
post Nov 25 2010, 09:36 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 25 2010, 08:21 AM)
umobile does not roam in digi network.

as i posted earlier: umobile broadband exclusively utilises its 3G infrastructure.

if a user is outside of um's 3g coverage, no data services is available.
the reason why umobile sign domestic roaming agreement with celcom is to allow nationwide coverage/service for voice/sms

meaning user from e.g. Kelantan, Terengganu, Sabah, Sarawak, etc. can enjoy umobile's voice plans (prepaid and postpaid).
Does that mean U coverage is as good as Celcom?
luckyhillkop
post Nov 25 2010, 09:45 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Nov 25 2010, 09:41 AM)
For voice and SMS, even better if within U Mobile coverage  brows.gif
i don't think so la, celcom got good coverage at bukit beruntung, last i check U doesnt....or maybe i was looking at 3G then? now i'm confused!
luckyhillkop
post Nov 26 2010, 11:29 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(mochachoke @ Nov 25 2010, 09:55 PM)
What.... i also stay at Bukit Beruntung, Section 7.... Celcom networks suck here, but maxis ok...., i have to climb up stare to find 3G signal....

Here i got...

Celcom 2G/3G-poor recipient
Maxis 2G/3G-average
DiGi 2G (GPRS only) or almost out of coverage
Umobile out of coverage for sure....

Wimax out of coverage.... sad.gif
i think this is because of near the hillside cause radio interference....sad.gif
hmm, i used celcom before (phone line), no prob at all. now i use maxis, no prob as well. broadband maxis use to suck but this past month has been good. U mobile/DiGi, terrible. wimax for sure la no coverage. all service providers (including Yes) only focus at bukit beruntung golf club, no fair!
i'm at bukit sentosa actually, so dnt know la coverage at real bukit beruntung how.
luckyhillkop
post Dec 27 2010, 10:34 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 27 2010, 10:11 AM)
hurry b4 stock run off........... thumbup.gif
i wish i can just buy the MiFi..

0.0431sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled