4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #2, all about U~

Icehart
post Sep 2 2010, 11:32 PM

14,897 posts

How much is 3G modem nowadays? Can I get good speed if I'm in a building at 3rd or 4th floor?
Icehart
post Sep 9 2010, 09:49 AM

14,897 posts

Upload speed around 0.06 Mbps means around 60kbps = 7.5kB/s? rclxub.gif
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 07:21 AM

14,897 posts

I subscribed yesterday for U68 plan, noticed that my area has HSDPA coverage but my speed was less than 512kbps. Not sure why, but when I do speedtest, there was a sudden burst before limiting to 512kbps. Am I being throttled? As far as I'm concerned, I downloaded 400mb worth of data yesterday.
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 07:34 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 12 2010, 07:27 AM)
u can use MDMA to check the speed profile assigned to you.

if ur profile is the same, probably bad traffic.
how about the speedtest now? still 512kbps?
Urm, can you enlighten me more, how do I access the MDMA profile from the modem? sweat.gif
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 07:55 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 12 2010, 07:37 AM)
1) download it here: http://www.nerve.org.za/

2) no setting is necessary as it uses the standard dialup connection.

3) once connected, u can find the profile speed.
note: throttled speed will show Downlink: 384.00
Hmm I tried running the application but it gave me an error "Unable to open COM port, mobile data device possibly in use by another application." I'm using the given ZTE modem and currently connected via ZTE User Interface that comes together with the device.
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 08:07 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 12 2010, 07:57 AM)
u must use MDMA exclusively.

exit/close other dashboard that taps directly to the modem.
That works, I was able to get the application running but somehow the assigned profile is showing me nothing.

Hope you can help me on this one. notworthy.gif
Current speedtest is showing me 0.44 Mbps, the meter is running in between 0.44 and 0.45, it's like there's a speedcut installed sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Icehart: Sep 12 2010, 08:08 AM
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 08:15 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 12 2010, 08:09 AM)
u need to be connected to get the assigned profile.

Added on September 12, 2010, 8:11 ammy speedtest now:

Hi bro, I already am connected using MDMA (Umobile profile) and am now posting here as we speak biggrin.gif
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 08:30 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 12 2010, 08:24 AM)
cant be cuz there is no data passing thru MDMA to register the usage (based on your screenshot).

try redo everything.

disconnect, close mdma, unplug modem -> plug modem back, open mdma and dial again
I tried already but the results still the same.

Should I download the previous version and try?

My line quality:

Speedtest:

This post has been edited by Icehart: Sep 12 2010, 08:34 AM
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 08:38 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 12 2010, 08:36 AM)
set Connection Type = 3G only and APN = my3g
Still the same bro sad.gif
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 08:54 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(mono @ Sep 12 2010, 08:53 AM)
guys,
how's UMobile broadband connection in Cheras? anyone using it within this area?
I'll let you know on Monday laugh.gif
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 09:52 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 12 2010, 09:27 AM)
@icehart, now i know why. you are using zte modem, right? too bad, mdma is designed for huawei modems.

@mono, cheras coverage is good. chck the coverage map to reconfirm. no harm getting prepaid to try first wink.gif
sad.gif

So ZTE modem users cannot check user profiles? unsure.gif
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 09:58 AM

14,897 posts

Ok, I'm going to give Cheras a try, if still 0.4 Mbps, gonna give umobile service center a call laugh.gif
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 11:35 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(mono @ Sep 12 2010, 10:44 AM)
@cybpsych: thanks, i have checked. but i need real life test to prove it. i kena already with P1. hehe.

@Icehart: appreciate your good effort. look forward to your "field report" happy.gif
LOL
I also come from P1. They downtime at the most inappropriate time shakehead.gif
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 04:00 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Sep 12 2010, 03:53 PM)
Where is your area?
Puchong area smile.gif
Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 08:06 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(mono @ Sep 12 2010, 07:29 PM)
i read in the website that UMobile does not have any contract for its broadband package.

if i take their U68 postpaid package, what i have to pay is RM100 (activation fee) and RM68 (1 month advanced payment).
And, i would get a free usb modem.

my questions:-

1. What model is the usb modem provided?
2. IF im not satisfied with the service and decided to cancel my subscription after 1-2months. Do i have to return the usb modem or can i keep it?
3. Can i use their usb modem with other provider or is it locked only with Umobile?

- Modem provided is ZTE MF180 (in my case).
- Yeah you can terminate your subscription at anytime. That's what the CS told me.
- The modem is not locked smile.gif

Icehart
post Sep 12 2010, 10:26 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(mono @ Sep 12 2010, 10:05 PM)
so, no need to return the modem if we cancel our subscription?
the modem is ours rite?
Actually you paid for it tongue.gif
Icehart
post Sep 13 2010, 10:53 AM

14,897 posts

Ok, I have good reason to believe that my account has been miscapped. sad.gif

Speedtest from Cheras.
Icehart
post Sep 13 2010, 11:24 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 13 2010, 10:56 AM)
time to call CS
Yeah, but yesterday I called too but the CS says my account no cap hmm.gif
Gonna visit U Mobile center at Sunway later.

Another speedtest for Mono @ Ampang:

Internet speed is quite fast in terms of loading page, but I can't give any download speed test as my account has been miscapped.

This post has been edited by Icehart: Sep 13 2010, 11:25 AM
Icehart
post Sep 13 2010, 03:57 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Sep 13 2010, 02:15 PM)
this very weird, if you reach Sunway SC, speedtest with their SIM and your SIM card

Bring your modem, just in case

if really miscap, don't angry, request them to speed up the correct speed.
Ok sure will! biggrin.gif
Icehart
post Sep 13 2010, 09:31 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(mono @ Sep 13 2010, 06:20 PM)
icehart: thanks for the info. appreciate it greatly. but, it seems that you are not getting UMobile's "full" speed.

what about the miscap thing?
Yeah, just went to service center to check today.

They told me they never encountered such problem before and were very curious with my problem. In the end they admitted it's their internal network system that is limiting my speed. I haven't breached the 5GB quota yet. They mentioned to me they will check with the networking side and revert back to me as soon as possible. cry.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:17 PM