4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Guild Wars Launched!, -discuss here-

zaakath
post Apr 26 2005, 12:12 AM

654 posts

Am a beta player and have the privelage of playing before the offical launch since I bought the pre-ordered box.

Its not about leveling to much but more on skill. If you want to do PVP best you have teamspeak as the action is fast and typing going to slow u down.

There is also a PVE enviroment and your choice to use henchmen or group with others.

Max level is 20 and getting to 20 is fast, which brings to the question how long before people get bored.

Its free on the subscription but you have to pay for the added content. Does this mean you have to get the added content? Answer: No but means you can't join in the added content much like in EQ2 and DOAC.

If you are a casual gamer then this game will suit you. If you are a hardcore leveler I suggest you stay away as you will be bored to death. If you love PVP this could be the game for you.

Please be aware I found in beta the first time loading into new zones takes time real long time like 2 mins or so (running on 1 mb streamyx)

Development of characters can is based on primary or secondary which include ranger,monk(priest), warrior, elementalist, necromancer. So you could have a combo ranger/priest

Its different for sure. Being level 60 or 50 not going to help you like WoW or EQ or DAOC. You can take only a certain limited skills into a PVE or PVP enviroment show choose carefully i.e. if you are a ranger do you bring your pet in? do you use crippling shot or do you scarifice for orison healing (if you are secondary skill is a monk)

I have played WoW, EQ1 and 2, Asheron Call, DoAC, COH all very time consuming games.
zaakath
post Apr 27 2005, 02:22 PM

654 posts

I should be on tonight after work prolly, if anyone heading in tonight
zaakath
post Apr 27 2005, 10:13 PM

654 posts

Finally home heading into game Zaakath is the name if anyone is heading in. Downloading the files and its a looooooooong one sweat.gif
zaakath
post Apr 28 2005, 07:16 PM

654 posts

In my preorder I got a Censor Icon. These special items depends on which retail store/online you buy from. Being a ranger which I had the bow
zaakath
post Apr 29 2005, 12:36 AM

654 posts

Well haven't played long, except for the beta, but the last 2 days has been enlightining. Quest have been straightforward and now level 4ranger/monk with a level 5 pet which I obtained today.

The UI has definately improved for the better and nice to see pet exchangable although I like my cat for now. Unlike MXO this game was lag free and enjoyable, quest are solable so far and doesn't consume much time.

My only worry is that the leveling is fast, for now but that could change once I get higher. I sincerly hope not as there are only 16 levels left and I almost halfway through level 4.

Found minor bugs but nothing major like going thru walls just outside Abbey and in the Catacombs but nothing major.

Hopefully if we have enough Low Yat members playing we could group up and do PvP but I will prolly hold that off till I get higher and acquire more skills. Teamspeak is essential for PVP as the game moves fast as I found out in beta, and was lucky enough to do it with friends in EQ2. Most of the top guilds are using it to climb the ladder and hopefully maybe we can have a Malaysian team kicking some mat salleh butts tongue.gif

Overall the game is good and not like MXO and SWG where the game was never ready when launched.

Another feathercap to NC Soft as the CoH launch was smooth and so is Guild Wars.

I still think if you want depth and a power gamer this game won't hold your interest long unless they give frequent fresh new contents. Like I said first impressions post beta and hopefully this game can keep going for a while cause its good so far.
zaakath
post Apr 29 2005, 10:14 AM

654 posts

The real puller to the game is no monthly fees and they make their money when new contents come out, and if you are one of the elite guilds I suspect they will buy the updated content.

I have notice though but it happened in Wish, and in this game lots of rude people in the beta game, unlike the community in EQ, DAoC, CoH, SWG to name a few. Not saying older people are more sensible (sometimes they behave worst then kids) but the level or concentration of players seem to be younger then usual. Again intial thoughts I could be wrong just my experince in beta and the last 2 days
zaakath
post Apr 29 2005, 10:44 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(22 @ Apr 29 2005, 12:12 AM)
Gamers, do you think its possible to let us get the cd key first? You can e-mail us or we pick up the cd key at your store, of course we will need to pay for it first. We can pick the package later when it arrive. If can't, nevermind tongue.gif
www.interactcd.com will give your key via email once they confirm the payment. They accept credit cards and paypal but I used paypal never tried the credit card as some places require you to fax your credit card which I am not too fond off.

zaakath
post Apr 29 2005, 11:26 AM

654 posts

Would be nice to flash Malaysia wins the favor of the Gods and you have the americans hmm is that country in Africa:P
zaakath
post Apr 29 2005, 02:39 PM

654 posts

It states that the early acess will end 12a.m. PST on the 29th if I am not mistaken. From then on you going to have to log in your retail key. I was lucky enough that the place I ordered online gave me the key knowing it will take a while to arrive (ordered the collector's edition)
zaakath
post Apr 29 2005, 06:47 PM

654 posts

I have the game on my vaio running on Raedon 9200 when I am on the go at hotspots, runs better then EQ2 as it is not so hungry on the system. Mind you having 1gb on the ram helps.

My collectors edition has shipped based on tracker smile.gif

zaakath
post Apr 30 2005, 07:33 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Apr 30 2005, 07:03 PM)
Dude,dun judge WoW liddat smile.gif

I'm getting GW also but when will Software Boutique receiving their stocks? smile.gif
Wed earliest I was told, but best u preorder to get the discount alternatively download from the publisher NcSoft itself

zaakath
post May 3 2005, 10:24 AM

654 posts

Software Boutique is on the 2nd floor if you trying to look for it and Xeoalpha hit it right on the dot on the shops location
zaakath
post May 3 2005, 12:33 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(Xeoalpha @ May 3 2005, 11:45 AM)
Hey Zaakath, I'll look you up on Friday in-game; and kick some ass smile.gif
Well in game Xeo Lvl9 Ranger/monk currently at Frontier Gate. Was trying to do some quest at Piken to rescue the Princess but figured I finish the Fort Ranik first.
Will look you up and put you on my friends list smile.gif

zaakath
post May 4 2005, 11:47 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ May 4 2005, 11:39 AM)
how much does the game cost every month? using credit card dor time card? might getting this game also if gamers still have some available tomorrow
No monthly charges. There will be updated content regularly and for those you have to pay. That doesn't mean u can't play the game if you don't update the content, but it just means you won't be able to go to those areas.

I haven't done any PVP as yet mostly PVE. Been invited to join a guild but I just haven't found a right one. Most of the ones offered been US ones, but I don't fancy waking up 3a.m. just to join with guildmates. Been there, done that and while its fun wrecks your RL.

Anyway looking forward to see other Malaysians online in this game. Holler if u need help. Currently a Lvl10 Ranger/Monk

zaakath
post May 4 2005, 11:59 AM

654 posts

For those who can't wait you can go here and buy, and get your code/account (note no box):

https://store.plaync.com/home.php
zaakath
post May 4 2005, 12:22 PM

654 posts

Problem with manuals is that they get outdate very quickly as Xeoalpha mentioned. Online games are dynamic and forever changing with patches and updates. If you like to keep the box for its art sure why not. But after awhile it will gather dust.

My 2cp,

If you think its going to be a classic and you want to keep go for the collectors edition. The game is very easy to get on and there are lots of forums you can refer to find tips.

For my CoH i did order online got the game instantly downloaded the client overnight and I was playing the next morning smile.gif

Actually wish more publishers would do this and helps countries where its diffcult to get the game

OT: anyone on the beta for Auto Assault by any chance? Same publishers NcSoft

zaakath
post May 5 2005, 11:25 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(sherly @ May 5 2005, 11:10 AM)
Pure monks meaning Monk/Monk is it?
In other words no second profession. Don't forget when you go into a mission you can only bring certain skills with you. As a Ranger/monk I have this problem as to whether to put orison healing or leave it out since there could be another monk or put it on as a backup. Being a pure monk you won't have this problem tongue.gif

As a ranger I also have a problem whether to use the wilderness skills to buff my pet or sacrifce that and use my marksmen skills.

Xeo, sent you a tell last nite but guess you must have been busy in a mission tongue.gif
zaakath
post May 5 2005, 02:20 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ May 5 2005, 01:56 PM)
Whoa... You can do this? How much does it cost and where do you do it? I went to the Guild Wars NA site and you need a retail copy to get the key... No other way.

Unless of course you're talking about the Korean version... all I can say is meh.
Posted on page 10 with regards to the above

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=149602&st=180

They been doing it since CoH.

zaakath
post May 5 2005, 06:10 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ May 5 2005, 05:11 PM)
Woohoo.. just got mine, special thanks to alkt! Thanks man i owe you one.. oh and mah MSN is drizzt_drz@hotmail.com wink.gif

installing NOW!
Oh a Drzzit D'uorden fan thumbup.gif

zaakath
post May 6 2005, 11:31 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(LiQuiDWaVe @ May 6 2005, 11:07 AM)
where exactly is the location? any landmarks? SS2 parking susah  sweat.gif
As you come into the main SS 2 area where the shoplots are look for Swenson Ice Cream, Software Boutique is a few doors down on the Second Floor. Can't miss it. If u went pass to Coffee Bean or Gloria Jean can't remember which you gone too far

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:58 AM