Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V2, FAQ at first post.

chewlee
post Jul 29 2010, 08:46 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(bLuE^dEv|L @ Jul 29 2010, 08:37 AM)
just go market look for SMODA widget, better than APNdroind or quick settings.. it works like charm in my sgs
u wont face the excess data usage anymore.. tongue.gif
Bro, thank for ur reply.
R u trying to tell me this set up (Wireless and network>mobile network>Access Point Names>>maxis 3G internet>APN type> select MMS) does not stop the 3G data usage? And the 3G watchdog does not show the actual data usage?

I had install APNdroid after I saw my 1st maxis statement, hope it will stop the extra charge. no more surprise from Maxis please.

chewlee
post Jul 29 2010, 09:21 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(bLuE^dEv|L @ Jul 29 2010, 09:06 AM)
i never did the manual changes like u did, when i 1st get my sgs, i installed APNdroid, it seems i always need to reboot my phone in order to re-enable the 3g connection..then i installed quick settings, it performed better than APNdroid, require to reboot reduced..so now someone recommended SMODA widget, it is fast and so far i dont have any problem on it..my data usage in 3g watchdog seems fine to me, but in order to play safe, better put some buffer on it.. eg. my maxis billing date is on 24th everymonth n i signed up on the 30th last month, so i assumed i only have the quota or (500MB*0.75) which equals 375mb to use until 23rd this month..so my data usage clocked at 360mb on the 23rd..i get my statement few days ago, i m safe !! tongue.gif
I so shock when I received my statement, can u imagine my 3G watchdog usage meter was only 11MB and the prorated limit for 7days should be 116mb (500mb/30days x 7days), why my data usage have excess the limit.
I understand that 3G watchdog is not 100% accurate/tally to Maxis calculation, but for my case the gap is too big.

chewlee
post Jul 29 2010, 03:08 PM

616 posts

I did not regret to buy the sgs, a very nice phone.
However, my advice to those 12 buy, dun buy it from Maxis. Don’t tie yourself to the 12 months contract, I m considering to terminate the contract with RM500 fine. Your charges will not as low as RM98, Maxis like to give surprise to its users, Be prepare for the big surprise. RM10 rebate omitted, Call forwarding RM3, Call waiting RM3, itemize RM5, exceed data usage RMXXX……
Smartphone can only work fine with an unlimited data plan.

chewlee
post Jul 30 2010, 11:11 AM

616 posts

Your surprise will not end after your 1st bill…. Get ready for series of bigger surprise on ur 2nd , 3rd bill…
Go Maxis’s facebook and read the complaint on the discussion board, RM250 is just a small amount while people is getting RM700 or RM800 monthly bill.

My advice to the maxis user, please check your bill, especially the 1st bill.
My 1st month bill was double charge, RM10 rebate omitted, 3G data usage charge overcharge….
I spend whole night in maxis centre to explain and guide the maxis staff how to get the actual amount, at the end I manage to get back my hard earn money.
Please take note, the call forwarding charge of RM3 should be waived as you had subscribed for 3G. Maxis will charge you that, if you don’t question it.

BTW, dun 100% rely on the 3G watchdog, it wont be 100% accurate/tally to maxis record at least not for my case. To play safe set 400MB as your limit in 3G watchdog instead of 500mb.

chewlee
post Jul 30 2010, 11:22 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(fongwei @ Jul 30 2010, 10:09 AM)
I took 3GB Plan.......
Open 24/7.....
but I switched to 2G only......
2G work fine at facebook and surfing internet......
I also use the mobile AP function set as router to connect with my pc......
Nice
think twice before you use the mobile AP function if you do not sign up for an unlimited data plan.

can you imagine if your pc downloaded a 1G movie with you 3G limited plan? RM0.005 per kb... 1G = how much?

chewlee
post Jul 30 2010, 12:18 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(fongwei @ Jul 30 2010, 11:55 AM)
ForYour information, I just want online for while...
Not use for download movie.....
I install 3g watchdog to monitor usage...
NeverUse tethering
Wat I try to say is, if u forgot to off your dl program in your PC, the charge will be very hurt.
And I assume u do know how easy to hack in to wifi network, the risk is there.

I found an offline map app, Rmaps. Download and save the maps into sgs, and you can access to the maps afterward without internet connection. Anyone is using it? Just tested it, work with GPS. I will use it on my Taiwan trip without roaming service.

This post has been edited by chewlee: Jul 30 2010, 12:25 PM
chewlee
post Jul 30 2010, 01:52 PM

616 posts

good news, now we can play facebook game with SGS

This post has been edited by chewlee: Jul 30 2010, 02:02 PM
chewlee
post Aug 2 2010, 11:41 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Aug 2 2010, 11:10 AM)
TO THOSE FOR THE 2ND BATCH ORDER WHO HASN'T PROVIDE ME THE DELIVERY ADDRESS, PLEASE PROVIDE ME YOUR ADD ASAP!

BATCH III IS IN THE PROCESS ALREADY. WAITING TO DISPATCH.

BATCH IV IS OPEN TILL 4.8.10 (WED), ANYONE WANTS TO JOIN THE BULK, DO PM OR LEAVE ME A MESSAGE AT MY POST! CHEERS!
Bro, dun postpone the 2nd batch dispatch. Must send it out by today, I can’t wait anymore, please ensure we can get it by tomorrow.

chewlee
post Aug 2 2010, 04:35 PM

616 posts

For those looking for offline map app, u can try Rmaps.
Nice apps for your oversea trip without the need of roaming service.

chewlee
post Aug 3 2010, 10:18 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Aug 3 2010, 10:08 AM)
guys..i disabled the background sync and use 2g networks because my area 3g is intermittance...and also changed my apn to mms only during night time because i dun wan it to sync automatically...

this morning i reverted back all setting to originals.. and want to download stuff from market..but it's said network stuff..someone can help me..

only 2 days with android sigh..LOL

Added on August 3, 2010, 10:11 amsorry..typo..network error
Bro, read the front page. We had repeated the solution for this problem so many time here.
chewlee
post Aug 4 2010, 04:48 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(chewlee @ Jul 27 2010, 08:43 AM)
found this from youtube, actually do we really need screen protector for sgs?

no need worry too much on the screen.
chewlee
post Aug 5 2010, 04:36 PM

616 posts

Don't listen to the Maxis customer hotline operators, they are just an answer machine. They know nothing about the Maxis product, each question u asked they will ask u to hold 3-5mins....
If you 12 confirm anything, talk directly to the staff from the complaint department.
They have confirmed with me, we can upgrade the data plan, it not consider as break of contract.
What they have to do is to revise the contract.

0.0461sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:28 PM