Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V2, FAQ at first post.

bunnymaker
post Jul 24 2010, 11:58 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Jul 24 2010, 11:17 PM)
what app is that? What does it do?
It's an antivirus app that also has backups and other services. I came across it when going through the Top Free lists. sleep.gif It was rated 4 stars, and since it was like all-in-one, so I thought what's the harm..........argh.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 24 2010, 11:19 PM)
reboot = off and on back ur device..or restart ur device..
QUOTE(teaumika @ Jul 24 2010, 11:27 PM)
Another way of rebooting is hold the ON/OFF key until it restarted.

Hope it helps
Thanks guys. Tried both ways also no use. If factory reset also can't remove it, I doubt rebooting would. Have emailed the creators requesting for other methods. sad.gif How can it survive uninstalling and factory reset also I don't know! So suspicious sad.gif sad.gif

Added on July 25, 2010, 12:14 amWoot. I managed to get rid of it...found the FAQ on the developer's site and installed the app again, went to settings to manually remove it, then uninstalled again. Ok, thank goodness it is settled!

This post has been edited by bunnymaker: Jul 25 2010, 12:14 AM
bunnymaker
post Jul 25 2010, 12:35 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Jul 25 2010, 12:19 AM)
Be careful when downloading 'antivirus' apps from market.
Yea, lesson learnt. sad.gif A forumer earlier advised that it's unnecessary to use antivirus and from reading some articles, it seems like there's no urgent need for it yet, so will hold off on "antivirus" apps.
bunnymaker
post Jul 25 2010, 12:54 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Jul 25 2010, 12:44 AM)
I have uninstalled MSNtalk and instead used ebuddy.
Because I feel MSNtalk may somehow have code written to initiate itself and try to send out data.

Because even when I do not have data or wifi on, it would always mysteriously turn itself on.

Other times when it is off, when I initiate wifi, it turns on by itself. I don't really have problems with other apps as much as MSNtalk.

So guys with APN on and got big bills, did you have a software like MSNtalk?

Added on July 25, 2010, 12:46 am

Actually, yes to a certain extent, just to clean up crap and to prevent accidental spreading to non linux/unix users.
Not so much as to protect data and system integrity.
I noticed that the inbuild Google Talk always turns itself on, so I have to stop it manually under Running Services. I have MSN Talk also, but didn't notice such behaviour. Will pay closer attention to it. tongue.gif
bunnymaker
post Jul 25 2010, 01:19 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Jul 25 2010, 01:06 AM)
I use ATK to monitor. Everything else that I use often I whitelist. So lol..
But to notice google services and others, you need to set security to low.
I'm using Auto Memory Manager, but the GTalk app I noticed using the Settings->Applications->Running Services. MSN Talk doesn't appear on that list, but it appears on my AMM Empty App list, so I have to kill it everytime. In fact, I think I had to kill it twice already since the previous post and now, so there may be some truth that it turns itself on. My phone is on wifi atm.
bunnymaker
post Jul 25 2010, 02:33 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Jul 25 2010, 01:34 AM)
Gtalk can set not to auto sign in when start up in Gtalk settings.
Thanks! Have unticked auto sign in!

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Jul 25 2010, 02:19 AM)
I stopped using AMM because it actually made my phone slower. And it sometimes closes TWlauncher as well. :S And I wasn't using aggressive settings.

It gave me problems especially when I was downloading and installing many apps from market.
I haven't had any problems with AMM so far (just installed it for a couple of days only). But even before I installed AMM, I didn't notice that my phone was especially slow or laggy. Sometimes I wonder if all these extra apps are necessary. Seems like some of them are more trouble than they're worth.
bunnymaker
post Jul 26 2010, 09:59 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(chewlee @ Jul 26 2010, 09:01 AM)
I had created few ringtones by using “Ringroid” and added to my sgs,
But how do we remove the ringtone when we don’t need it anymore?
Go to Music Player and delete it from the list.
bunnymaker
post Jul 26 2010, 11:57 AM

83 posts

Is anyone using the default SMS app? How do I see the character count when I'm typing my sms?

Thanks!

P/S: I don't want to install Handcent.
bunnymaker
post Jul 27 2010, 08:18 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Jul 27 2010, 06:52 PM)
Wallpaper set and save. This is the best. If you use the built in wallpaper chooser it will crop the picture and reduce the quality.

Just download a suitable wallpaper and apply through wallpaper set and save.

Easiest is to download flikie wallpaper HD program.
Thanks for the recommendation! Was cracking my head where to get nice wallpapers.

bunnymaker
post Jul 27 2010, 11:00 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jul 27 2010, 09:11 PM)
hi, i need your help, before i got my eye on desire as i didnt know the hardware of SGS, but now i kinda in dilema again to choose between SGS and desire so i got a few question hope someone can answer

1. is SGS harder to root than desire? / dont have much tools to root? or it all the same as desire?

2. i dont like the UI of SGS very much (kinda like iphone), if i root SGS, can i install rom that have HTC sense? and will i get all the apps such as sync the facebook picture with contact?

3. do you guys have any jealous anything that desire have and you dont? (beside the camera flash)

thank you
1. Can't help you here, my phone is unrooted.

2. I'm using Launcherpro for UI, it's nice enough for me. Can't say I prefer the Sense UI over this...

3. My sis has the HTC Desire, and after playing with both, my answer is NO. Am very satisfied with my Galaxy S. The screen alone more than tips the scales. Plus there are so many other specs that the Desire can't beat, ie sound system, processing speed etc etc.
bunnymaker
post Jul 30 2010, 12:08 PM

83 posts

O_O I'm also damn scared edi, reading the Maxis FB discussions topics now...I changed mine to ebilling and cancelled call waiting.

How do you all get your bills? By post or online?

This post has been edited by bunnymaker: Jul 30 2010, 12:15 PM
bunnymaker
post Aug 3 2010, 12:02 PM

83 posts

The morning smart alarm is damn hilarious. Birds chirping, stream tinkling, like at some wilderness resort only. But when I wake up and discover I hv to go to work, totally spoil mood tongue.gif still, it's cute of samsung to think of this smile.gif
bunnymaker
post Aug 8 2010, 03:11 AM

83 posts

Samsung Kies is seriously annoying. I've tried connecting my phone thrice, but can't detect. I had no problems before this. After running driver recovery, turns out there's a new update for Kies, so am dl-ing the driver now, which is taking a damn long time! And then once in a while, there will be a pop-up saying that there's no internet connection. WTF. mad.gif

I can't wait to upgrade my firmware! But first I have to get Kies to start working! Meh. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(fongkarseong @ Aug 8 2010, 02:41 AM)
Can share the USB drive for 64-bit download link? Search in Google?

Added on August 8, 2010, 2:44 am

Thanks for the advice.. will try.

What do you mean can't confirm ATM?? what is ATM? Automatic Teller Machine? noob  tongue.gif
ATM = at the moment

This post has been edited by bunnymaker: Aug 8 2010, 03:12 AM
bunnymaker
post Aug 8 2010, 10:56 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 8 2010, 09:30 AM)
It's actually reading the internal memory as well. If you have lots of music or movies, it's gonna be damn long to wait (perhaps 4ever). So what I do is, I backup everything inside the internal memory, reformat the internal memory and reconnect it to Kies. Then it work.
AHHH! Okay, I see. Thanks for this! Will do so next time! Right now I'm still waiting for it to dl the update, 7 hours edi only 40+%! sad.gif

This post has been edited by bunnymaker: Aug 8 2010, 11:05 AM
bunnymaker
post Aug 8 2010, 02:21 PM

83 posts

As advised by Leo the Lion, I reformatted my SD card before connecting to KIES. The phone shows the "connected" status almost immediately, but when I on KIES, I got a pop up message showing

"Method not found: Boolean MSC.Thunder.Common.Interfaces.DeviceManagement.IDevice.CheckTimeZoneVer().############# at MSC.Thunder etc etc etc"

And KIES just keep scanning sad.gif

Any advice?
bunnymaker
post Aug 9 2010, 08:13 AM

83 posts

The new official firmware seems to have solved the 3g connectivity issues! Now it can detect and connect to 3g damn fast even after surfing on wifi! After turning APN on, can connect within 5 secs. Very impressive! Good job! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bunnymaker: Aug 9 2010, 08:17 AM

0.0262sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:41 PM