4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

OMG, not this again...., Please hear me out!

TSGreenmon
post Jul 17 2010, 03:03 PM, updated 16y ago

55 posts

Alright before I start typing anything relevant to my question, please, this is such a boring subject but please bear with me as I am no rich guy! Again, <b>PLEASE!!!</B>

Lol.

That aside,

<i> Wii vs. PS3..... and XBOX 360 at the side</i>

Okay I know this has been done countless times, but for the first time I am put in a dilemma even after spending a whole day researching on the Wii!

So I've left the console world 5 years ago and moved on to handhelds. For the 6th gen consoles, I easily chose the PS2 over its two competitors. For handhelds, I easily chose both the DS and the PSP because I don't want to miss out on anything! Now I am put in a dilemma as I have only enough money to buy one console but don't know which to get. Or else I would've gotten both the Wii and PS3. Your thoughts?
SUSdattebayo
post Jul 17 2010, 03:09 PM

5,366 posts

PS3 lol
SUSedmunz
post Jul 17 2010, 03:13 PM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

i divided into 2 categories, games wise and console wise.

i'll ask u, do u willing to invest RM100 to RM300 on da game (game wise)??
again, do u need all da fancy function available in ps3/xbox/wii?? (console wise)??

u did mention dat u r not dat rich, so would u spend 1k on da console and in d end sold it bcoz u cant afford latest game? u answer ur own question d..

set aside cost for the console, most of da ps3 owner here oleady spend between 1k to 3k (depend on how hardcore they r) on game only
as for me, all of da console hav their own pros and cons. u wouldn't lose anything if u choose wrongly wub.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by edmunz: Jul 17 2010, 03:17 PM
snipersnake
post Jul 17 2010, 03:23 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

ps2.
ramz
post Jul 17 2010, 03:23 PM

21,375 posts

if u have a family, especially with kids, get a wii. ps3 is not so family friendly atm. if u plan to play alone, get a ps3, or wii also can depending on your taste of games. coz wii and ps3 don't really share too much of the games.
SUSdattebayo
post Jul 17 2010, 03:25 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(edmunz @ Jul 17 2010, 03:13 PM)

again, do u need all da fancy function available in ps3/xbox/wii?? (console wise)??

u did mention dat u r not dat rich, so would u spend 1k on da console and in d end sold it bcoz u cant afford latest game? u answer ur own question d..

set aside cost for the console, most of da ps3 owner here oleady spend between 1k to 3k (depend on how hardcore they r) on game only
as for me, all of da console hav their own pros and cons. u wouldn't lose anything if u choose wrongly wub.gif  wub.gif
oi no pirates talk here okie blush.gif
SUSedmunz
post Jul 17 2010, 03:27 PM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 17 2010, 03:25 PM)
oi no pirates talk here okie blush.gif
no pirated talk ler.. i telling him da truth of console gaming and i preparing him to this cruel console gaming industry... wii original game is very expensive hor.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by edmunz: Jul 17 2010, 03:28 PM
ramz
post Jul 17 2010, 03:31 PM

21,375 posts

QUOTE(edmunz @ Jul 17 2010, 03:27 PM)
no pirated talk ler.. i telling him da truth of console gaming and i preparing him to this cruel console gaming industry... wii original game is very expensive hor.. tongue.gif
so, ps3 original game is cheap meh?
SUSedmunz
post Jul 17 2010, 03:34 PM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 17 2010, 03:31 PM)
so, ps3 original game is cheap meh?
go seller here sell new ps3 game at RM90.. but da tittle itself is oleady few years old d lar wub.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by edmunz: Jul 17 2010, 03:34 PM
TSGreenmon
post Jul 17 2010, 03:54 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(edmunz @ Jul 17 2010, 03:13 PM)

as for me, all of da console hav their own pros and cons. u wouldn't lose anything if u choose wrongly wub.gif  wub.gif
To be honest, I don't quite catch your drift, are you being pro-Wii or pro PS3 here? tongue.gif

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 17 2010, 03:23 PM)
if u have a family, especially with kids, get a wii. ps3 is not so family friendly atm. if u plan to play alone, get a ps3, or wii also can depending on your taste of games. coz wii and ps3 don't really share too  much of the games.
I am just a humble college student, with no siblings so I will, most of the time, play online or multiplayer with my friends during holidays.
On a side note, I don't have an HDTV so will the PS3's potential suffer because of this?

Anyway thank you for the responses so far, I have a few things to add that might help you guys guide me to the right direction.

Firstly, to the guy who said PS2. I say no thanks. No doubt the PS2 has a great library and it is a great console overall, and I did consider getting it over the latest gen consoles, but then I was reminded of the trauma I had 5 years ago. I bought two PS2's, the first one was apparently fake (there were fake PS2s?) and would randomly freeze in the middle of games, and need undergo a warmup session (on and off multiple times) before a game can even be booted. The 2nd one was great for a month or so, and then it caught the DRE virus and while still playable, scratches all my discs and I had to buy new ones occasionally. I got sick of that and left the PS2 to collect dust, and moved on to handhelds for the next years, until now.

Now, most of my friends has at least one of the latest gen consoles, although, most of them seem to prefer the PS3 over anything else. In fact only one person I know has a Wii, and it's a girl >_> With all the hype going around my social network of friends, I'm tempted to move on and get a latest gen console for myself. Now, rewind 3 years back... When all the consoles were announced and released I honestly was infatuated by the Wii at first sight, the thought of playing something like Monster Hunter in the most real way possible now (motion, swinging your sword etc.) intrigues me and to support my impression of the Wii, everyone thought the PS3 sucked back then. I didn't really look at XBOX360, never really had any interest in it or any of Microsoft's consoles since the beginning of time.

Now, the PS3 is growing. With MOVE, it'll almost be like a Wii with much greater innate capabilities. Wii on the other hand has Monster Hunter Tri and Super Mario Galaxy which I'm very interested in, but is discouraged by people saying that the Wii's motion sensor is not really accurate etc.

As for the price of the games, yes I am ready to face the music with the kind of money I'll be shelling out for PS3 games, should I decide to get the PS3. Back in the day when the PSP was just released, I managed to buy a lot of games for it and I still have em now. If I can buy PSP games at Malaysian retail price (average RM180) why can't I buy 2nd hand PS3 games here for around RM150?

Anyway that's all I have to say for now. Please persuade me further.

Footnote: I am also discouraged by the overall impression that the Wii seems to be targetted for kids. But the gameplay looks so fun >_>

This post has been edited by Greenmon: Jul 17 2010, 03:58 PM
snipersnake
post Jul 17 2010, 03:59 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

this generation sucks. I have 2 ps3s, one YLODed on me, and another one which I am using now. I bought my first PS3 in 2007. 2009 it yloded. exactly 2 years. I bought my ps2, the fatty one, 2001. Until now its alive and kicking.
SUSedmunz
post Jul 17 2010, 04:04 PM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

to b honest.. i getting bored wit new ps3 game.. JRPG r getting worse nowadays and good title like GOW or DI is sometime not as good as da rating given.. (btw is juz my experience on dis game wub.gif ).. is hard to find game dat u will enjoyed over and over again..

so my vote goes for wii even though im ps3 owner tongue.gif

This post has been edited by edmunz: Jul 17 2010, 04:04 PM
TSGreenmon
post Jul 17 2010, 04:10 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jul 17 2010, 03:59 PM)
this generation sucks. I have 2 ps3s, one YLODed on me, and another one which I am using now. I bought my first PS3 in 2007. 2009 it yloded. exactly 2 years. I bought my ps2, the fatty one, 2001. Until now its alive and kicking.
Yes... I'm very much afraid of all these DREs, YLODs, BSODs, RSODs etc, I don't want the same thing that happened to my PS2s to happen on my future newest console... Alas I think the PS2s had a good reason to die out on me, I once played the first one for 12 hours straight... That was back in high school though, I don't think I have that kind of time now. My PSX bought sometime around 2000 is still alive and kicking though.

QUOTE(edmunz @ Jul 17 2010, 04:04 PM)
to b honest.. i getting bored wit new ps3 game.. JRPG r getting worse nowadays and good title like GOW or DI is sometime not as good as da rating given.. (btw is juz my experience on dis game wub.gif ).. is hard to find game dat u will enjoyed over and over again..

so my vote goes for wii even though im ps3 owner tongue.gif
Well that depends on our personal gaming tastes. For now the only Wii games that appeal to me are as I've mentioned, MHTri and Mario Galaxy. As for PS3, none REALLY interests me but I haven't dug into either's libraries at all.

And you're voting for Wii despite not owning it? >_>
SUSedmunz
post Jul 17 2010, 04:11 PM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

well, i gets to play wii for free whenever i visit my friend shop.. tongue.gif wii actually rewrite how games supposed to b played
funnyTONE
post Jul 17 2010, 04:16 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

There is such a thing as game rental and 2nd hand games. Ps3 all the way dude. Bluray means so much even though you don't own lcd tv.
TSGreenmon
post Jul 17 2010, 04:22 PM

55 posts

So even on a crappy TV I can still play my PS3 without sighing too much? Hmm... Lots of votes for PS3 here.

Well, I've done my day's worth of research on the Wii, I guess I should start researching the PS3 now. I still don't fully understand the PS3 yet, especially on why it has all the various sized HDDs that come with it. In the meanwhile, guys, keep voting!
josnkillz
post Jul 17 2010, 04:26 PM

PS3 is best if you like solo gameplay, as well as online now and then. I personally chose a ps3 slim over xbox 360 and I had started a comparison thread like this. As for ps3 vs wii, it all depends on your taste in titles. If you like classic games like Mario and such, your friends are over a lot, and don't mind sacrificing graphics, the wii is for you. On the other side, if you like hard gaming and are a more solo/online gamer, get the ps3. I think if you don't have an HD tv, it takes away a bit of the ps3 experience

I own both a ps3 and wii, and was also deciding between ps3 and 360 a month or so back
ramz
post Jul 17 2010, 04:53 PM

21,375 posts

firstly, don't be discouraged people saying wii is for kids. most malaysians gamers like ps3 coz they have blood, violence and profanity in their games. wii games are rarely like that, so they assume wii are for kids. i have both wii and ps3. and i play my wii as much as my ps3. however wii i tend to play in a group, whereas ps3 i tend to play alone. but it depends on the games, some wii games i also play alone. the motion control in wii is really something important to me, coz some games play very well with it. my suggestion is look at the games and decide. either one u choose u won't regret i am pretty sure. wii and ps3 actually complements each other to make your gaming experience complete. its just too bad u can only get one.
TSGreenmon
post Jul 17 2010, 04:54 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(josnkillz @ Jul 17 2010, 04:26 PM)
PS3 is best if you like solo gameplay, as well as online now and then. I personally chose a ps3 slim over xbox 360 and I had started a comparison thread like this. As for ps3 vs wii, it all depends on your taste in titles. If you like classic games like Mario and such, your friends are over a lot, and don't mind sacrificing graphics, the wii is for you. On the other side, if you like hard gaming and are a more solo/online gamer, get the ps3. I think if you don't have an HD tv, it takes away a bit of the ps3 experience

I own both a ps3 and wii, and was also deciding between ps3 and 360 a month or so back
Hey josn! Nice to see you giving helpful inputs for me, again! Hahaha so in the end you decided to sell off your wii and just stay with PS3?

Well I am more of a lone player back in the days without Wi-Fi gaming, I do however enjoy multiplayer a lot whenever I have the chance. Most of my friends don't really like nintendo-styled games and are more into fast-paced action such as FPS titles, etc. Personally, since I've only owned Sony's consoles for the previous gens I can only compare handhelds in the battle of Sony vs. Nintendo. Frankly I like both, I like Nintendo-styled carefree games (Pokemon, mario, kirby etc) but I also like the RPGs usually out on a Sony system (Final Fantasy obviously, Mana series, GTA etc.) so I guess both systems can be right for me, it's just a question of whether I'd be willing to miss graphics for innovative gameplay, or miss innovative gameplay (for a while) for graphics.

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 17 2010, 04:53 PM)
firstly, don't be discouraged people saying wii is for kids. most malaysians gamers like ps3 coz they have blood, violence and profanity in their games. wii games are rarely like that, so they assume wii are for kids. i have both wii and ps3. and i play my wii as much as my ps3. however wii i tend to play in a group, whereas ps3 i tend to play alone. but it depends on the games, some wii games i also play alone. the motion control in wii is really something important to me, coz some games play very well with it. my suggestion is look at the games and decide. either one u choose u won't regret i am pretty sure. wii and ps3 actually complements each other to make your gaming experience complete.  its just too bad u can only get one.
I fully understand the Wii is definitely not just for kids, but hey you totally can't deny the lack of more mature games in its library. To be honest I think the Wii suits me better but due to conditions such as being a busy college student, having busy college students friends, and being 20 are making me lean more on the PS3. And yes I'm pretty sure I won't regret getting either, just want my first choice to be the best biggrin.gif and with MOVE, I guess the PS3 will be more appropriate.

Anyway it seems I've semi-decided on a PS3.

Tried looking at an FAQ, too many technical terms I don't understand. The wii is sooo much simpler! So if I do get a PS3 what do you guys think I should get? Slim or Phat, and what about HDD capacity? From what I understand the HDD seems to be just like an ordinary PC HDD, for media storage, music and movies and such, am I wrong? If it is then I guess I won't really mind low disk space for the PS3.

This post has been edited by Greenmon: Jul 17 2010, 05:06 PM
Nawar
post Jul 17 2010, 04:59 PM

86 posts

go to gamespot or other games review site and check the titles n ratings... choose which game do u prefer to play....

it is the game you should be paying attention to... then ull i dentify which console is suited to for you....

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:47 PM