:O2 XDA II MINI Club:, ~discuss & share your experience here~
avantgarde84
Aug 12 2006, 05:00 PM
Digilife: The kingston I bought is SD card. I believe SD is faster than MMC lor. But although my SD is the 50X one I dont think got big difference kua. I just buy for fun only.
Menmissed: Yup, the guy at the PDA Expert booth told me so. Monday I going Lowyat check out the silicone casing. For that price dunno is cheap or not but PDA Expert prices memang a bit higher la. There can check other shops and see. Once I buy on MOnday will post again. You mentioned about aluminium casing? is that the one with the door that can open and close at the side?
avantgarde84
Aug 12 2006, 06:11 PM
Any pics available? I want!!!
avantgarde84
Aug 12 2006, 06:13 PM
Guys, am I right to think that RESCO explorer is similar to Pocket plus in functions? Now I got Pocket Plus and RESCO, but I prefer Resco cos got registry editor. I unchecked the Today plug-in in pocket plus but will there be any conflict in using both?
avantgarde84
Aug 12 2006, 09:26 PM
qwerty84: Your device soft resets??? I am also using the 1.12 ROM and really not a single complain at all. Perhaps you would wanna try hard reset (to go back to original ROM, 1.03?) and flash the ROM to 1.12 again? I started from the 1.03 version...
Yup, when you add the apostrophe the msg limit drops to 70. Still wondering how to overcome it though. Other ppl who has experience pls help!
avantgarde84
Aug 12 2006, 09:29 PM
Regarding the MP3 to wav thingy, I went to seeo2.com and found this software they are giving out for free. It's called the CDex, or CD extractor. Go check it out guys... http://sourceforge.net/projects/cdexos
avantgarde84
Aug 12 2006, 09:44 PM
Yup got tonnes of them out there. Your one canggih le, Platinum sommore don play play!
avantgarde84
Aug 14 2006, 11:13 AM
ibu1980: Well, are you having all those mentioned problems inspite of using the latest 1.12 ROM? If you are, it's pretty strange cos mine is just fine, no problems of those you said. If you are still using the unupdated ROM, perhaps you will like to try out the latest 1.12 one? Find it in previous pages.
avantgarde84
Aug 14 2006, 11:17 AM
menmissed: Could it be that your 1GB SD is rosak liao? Wat brand ar? Perhaps the degree of "rosak-ness" is more pronounced wen in ur Mini than using card reader? Try out another 1GB SD from a fren or buy one new one to replace?
avantgarde84
Aug 14 2006, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(qwerty84 @ Aug 12 2006, 06:17 PM) Hi guys, sorry to go a little off topic here, but i've been having a few problems after i installed the new 1.12 rom. 1) my mini occasionally soft resets itself naturally, seldom occurs but still a little worrying. is there anything i can do to rectify this problem? 2) this second problem is a little hard to explain, its with my sms... usually we're allowed 160 characters per sms.. but when i enter words like "youll" and "thats" and they auto go to "you'll" and "that's", i end up getting only 70 words per sms. if i ignore and still send the msg, i end up sending 2 msgs.. 1 with my message and another blank one. this only happens when i let the program auto change my words and insert the apostrophe. Hope i explained it sufficiently. anyone know what i'm talking about and how to solve it? thanks Found a way to avoid having 70 characters instead of 160 wen using apostrophe in "you'll" by autocomplete in SMS. Wat i did is to let the Mini suggest 4 words instead of default 1 word. Open Messaging>New>bottom right corner arrow>Options>Word Completion>Suggest__ words. I tried it, and each time i write "yo" then 4 options come out and you'll is one of them! No reduction in characters after using the option. My 2 cents...
avantgarde84
Aug 14 2006, 11:31 AM
Of course you can use the keyboard instead you will be fine too...
avantgarde84
Aug 14 2006, 12:33 PM
DNA PRO?? Hmmm I haven heard of it b4... SanDisk ok, I bought Kingston Elite Pro though. SanDisk little bit more expensive, dunno if it is better. Can test b4 buy? You won really know if it is defective until much later right? Luck important too, also buy good brand pays!
avantgarde84
Aug 15 2006, 05:29 PM
Well anybody have been spending time with PDA Expert ppl for a long enough time almost anyone will be brain washed and believe that Atom, Exec, Dopod and all the stuff they are selling currently is the best in the world. Older stuff like the Mini is totally despised.
avantgarde84
Aug 15 2006, 05:39 PM
Btw, original battery for Mini I found in Mid Valley costs RM 180. Wanted to buy one extra as spare b4 go overseas but at that price I think I buy other compatible one kua. It's at a stall behind the stall behind PDA Expert. Silicone casing for Mini don sell in Mid Valley, only got Dopod 818 cases at RM 50@ PDA Expert. Damn cut throat man... Low Yat 30RM can get liao.
avantgarde84
Aug 16 2006, 06:04 PM
avantgarde84
Aug 17 2006, 03:22 PM
How to get the WM5 tones? Btw I thought the ability to use MP3s for ringtone is by getting a patch which tweaks the registry to allow an additional "Add as Ringtone" option in the pop up list? Heard of it b4...
avantgarde84
Aug 20 2006, 06:53 PM
Wah sounds good. But u mean use MemMaid can cause soft reset meh? MemMaid oso can free disk space on flash card other than free RAM, can it do that? Thanks for ur link, will check it out and compare and see. You damn semangat le!
avantgarde84
Aug 20 2006, 06:55 PM
One more thing: Where to find the Phone Plus app? heard it does some good but cant find it lor.
And, backing up Inbox sounds like a good question. I tot each time u sync with PC it will update and save stuff in Outlook or sth? NOt sure...
avantgarde84
Aug 20 2006, 07:06 PM
Tried out the Oxios program. Strange thing is, when I first tap on the Hibernate icon, it did free up RAM but somehow my balance of Program and Storage RAM changed. I tapped on it again, and this time the balance switched again! So just wondering, if you were to keep tapping the Hibernate icon, what will actually happen? Its supposed to free RAM, which it does every time, but if press too much wat will happen? Anything bad can happen?
avantgarde84
Aug 21 2006, 11:40 AM
Oh ggsam2006 welcome to da club man! how much did u pay for ur set?
avantgarde84
Aug 21 2006, 11:41 AM
Welcome to Lucifer too! Battery life Palm wins la, but its cos Mini is oso a Phone ma. Battery life is not bad, every night charge if wanna hear MP3s, leave few apps minimized, some Skyforce Reloaded and probably some Bluetooth-ing here and there. Also for SMS and moderate calls incoming and outgoing. I charge mine 2 days once if only SMS and use phone functions. Other forumers give comments please!
This post has been edited by avantgarde84: Aug 21 2006, 11:48 AM