:O2 XDA II MINI Club:, ~discuss & share your experience here~
WK.CWK
Oct 13 2005, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(mincuss4 @ Oct 13 2005, 05:51 PM) u mayb rite but if i chg to english us then it happens, when i chg to english uk then it's ok....weird man.... Suggest: u can get some good stuff from O2 support FAQ site, I got this answer from there but mayb I forgot the US/UK. Try it ...
SonnyCooL
Oct 13 2005, 08:40 PM
After sold my mini and upgrade (downgrade  ) to IIs, i found regret ..... I think MINI is much more better then IIs interm of performace and realibility ........ Wrong MOVE
cskean
Oct 13 2005, 11:53 PM
noob Q here....
Do I get charge for uploading via GPRS or just when I download?
Sigh, my mind just back to kindergarden when come to this...
Btw, I found from Maxis website that GPRS charges is like following...
Peak Hour : 1sen/KB Off Peak : 0.5sen/KB
So does it mean 1.5sen/KB???
So confuse here lah, experts please clarify me~
cskean
Oct 14 2005, 12:00 AM
One more noob Q~
Does GPRS depends on my hp receiption signal?
Eg: When I weak signal, does it affect the GPRS connection?
cskean
Oct 14 2005, 12:13 AM
Btw, can I install SPB GPRS MONITOR and SPB FINANCE into other location, such as Storage/Storage Card rather than into the MAIN MEMORY?
Anyone know?
julchin_09
Oct 14 2005, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(cskean @ Oct 13 2005, 11:53 PM) noob Q here.... Do I get charge for uploading via GPRS or just when I download? Sigh, my mind just back to kindergarden when come to this... Btw, I found from Maxis website that GPRS charges is like following... Peak Hour : 1sen/KB Off Peak : 0.5sen/KB So does it mean 1.5sen/KB??? So confuse here lah, experts please clarify me~ Wow...so cheap meh? I tot it was 1.5sen and 1 sen? Anyway this is good news...Last i checked you get billed for traffic going in and out... QUOTE(cskean @ Oct 14 2005, 12:00 AM) One more noob Q~ Does GPRS depends on my hp receiption signal? Eg: When I weak signal, does it affect the GPRS connection? Hmm...I too am not sure...waybe speed but I can't really confirm this..
ayiesz
Oct 14 2005, 09:26 AM
guys, whats the latest price for mini rite now? i mean the cheapest i can get. coz i'm thinking of letting go my RX3715(one year old) and new K600i(just got it yesterday - gift) if i sold those 2 stuff would it be enuff to cover the price of the mini? or should i just stick to my 3715 n use the 3g phone? i'm not very fancy about this G3 stuff actually
julchin_09
Oct 14 2005, 10:54 AM
If i'm not mistaken the Mini is going for as low as RM2100. If you can sell both your gadgets for that price then you are able to get a MiNI. As for 3G The services aren't as widespread yet as other countries and the video call charges still hasn't come down to comfortable levels yet, but some brands have released cheap 3G Phones!!!
ayiesz
Oct 14 2005, 11:14 AM
i'd rather stick to wifi compared to 3G. but mini dont have wifi. buying a slot in wifi card is another RM400 if not mistaken. quite hard to decide. my hand gatal already want to use this phone. lol
julchin_09
Oct 14 2005, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(ayiesz @ Oct 14 2005, 11:14 AM) i'd rather stick to wifi compared to 3G. but mini dont have wifi. buying a slot in wifi card is another RM400 if not mistaken. quite hard to decide. my hand gatal already want to use this phone. lol Its 2 different things actually. U are supposed to be able to surf at 384kbps but the added benefit of 3G is the video calls and currently, the coverage which is better than Wi-fi though lacking in many states. As for Wi-fi I would prefer the speed at which you can surf but you'll have to go to certain hotspots to get it free. Since I have a Mini, I'll definetly be using Wi-fi, as for the card I don't think its RM400 for WI-fi alone, That price I presume is for a 256mb built in Wi-fi. But then again looking for a good card is the key. Different brands have different lengths for their Wi-fi cards and I've heard that Spectec is the best in terms of size and price. Size so that it doesn't stick out too much... If you don't mind waiting till next year, get a 3G Enabled PDA phone running WM5 OS.  They might also have GPS built in for the almost perfect device...
mincuss4
Oct 14 2005, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Oct 14 2005, 02:27 PM) Its 2 different things actually. U are supposed to be able to surf at 384kbps but the added benefit of 3G is the video calls and currently, the coverage which is better than Wi-fi though lacking in many states. As for Wi-fi I would prefer the speed at which you can surf but you'll have to go to certain hotspots to get it free. Since I have a Mini, I'll definetly be using Wi-fi, as for the card I don't think its RM400 for WI-fi alone, That price I presume is for a 256mb built in Wi-fi. But then again looking for a good card is the key. Different brands have different lengths for their Wi-fi cards and I've heard that Spectec is the best in terms of size and price. Size so that it doesn't stick out too much... If you don't mind waiting till next year, get a 3G Enabled PDA phone running WM5 OS.  They might also have GPS built in for the almost perfect device...  just curious does the spectec card come with built in memory?
julchin_09
Oct 14 2005, 02:53 PM
I can't confirm that, but I think NO... Its just the Wi-fi...I saw it in quite a few shops but didn't see the Built-in 256mb label on the box.
ayiesz
Oct 14 2005, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Oct 14 2005, 02:27 PM) Its 2 different things actually. U are supposed to be able to surf at 384kbps but the added benefit of 3G is the video calls and currently, the coverage which is better than Wi-fi though lacking in many states. As for Wi-fi I would prefer the speed at which you can surf but you'll have to go to certain hotspots to get it free. Since I have a Mini, I'll definetly be using Wi-fi, as for the card I don't think its RM400 for WI-fi alone, That price I presume is for a 256mb built in Wi-fi. But then again looking for a good card is the key. Different brands have different lengths for their Wi-fi cards and I've heard that Spectec is the best in terms of size and price. Size so that it doesn't stick out too much... If you don't mind waiting till next year, get a 3G Enabled PDA phone running WM5 OS.  They might also have GPS built in for the almost perfect device...  i think i'll just stick to pda + phone. maybe when atom arrive then i'll reconsider to get that since its built in with wifi adaptor.
julchin_09
Oct 14 2005, 03:02 PM
not forgetting built in radio too...its a great all in 1 device...Rumoured to be around RM 3K....
mincuss4
Oct 14 2005, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Oct 14 2005, 02:53 PM) I can't confirm that, but I think NO... Its just the Wi-fi...I saw it in quite a few shops but didn't see the Built-in 256mb label on the box. seems like these days very difficult to get wifi with built in memory huh....
julchin_09
Oct 14 2005, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(mincuss4 @ Oct 14 2005, 03:15 PM) seems like these days very difficult to get wifi with built in memory huh....  Well its not that Difficult. But sometime the dealers don't keep stock of this and you'll have to order them. They prefer the normal Wi-fi only cards. Not so easy to sell as most PDA's come with Wi-fi now...
mincuss4
Oct 14 2005, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Oct 14 2005, 03:24 PM) Well its not that Difficult. But sometime the dealers don't keep stock of this and you'll have to order them. They prefer the normal Wi-fi only cards. Not so easy to sell as most PDA's come with Wi-fi now... so r u currently using a wifi card wif ur mini? which type r u using if ur using one?
WK.CWK
Oct 14 2005, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(mincuss4 @ Oct 14 2005, 11:22 AM) hey guys, when u upgraded ur rom did u encounter any problems restoring ur stuff?  Reply: If you backup & restore using Sprite Backup, it should be OK. If you use xbackup, not sure about that. One thing, SMS cannot be restore using Sprite Backup, it will corrupt ur SMS communication later. Thx
julchin_09
Oct 14 2005, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(mincuss4 @ Oct 14 2005, 04:18 PM) so r u currently using a wifi card wif ur mini? which type r u using if ur using one?  No Im not using one. As Im not in KL, there are no hotspots in my area  . I went looking for a card, but decided against it as I already have a Wi-fi enabled notebook. But a lot of people recommend Spectec.