Surround Speakers Placement, Use In-Ceiling Speakers As Alternative?

TSechoesian
post Jul 7 2010, 09:27 PM, updated 16y ago

3,294 posts

Currently, I'm looking to buy a 5.1 home theater set and I have shortlisted the PSB Image Series because of the budget and also best bang of buck reason. But here is the dilemma, Im not sure is a good choice to have ceiling speakers as the surround, I do not want to sacrifice the aesthetic reason for the performance. The main reason for ceiling speaker is that I do not want to have wires laying on the floor and also does not want to have speaker stand since there are kids around and my wife does not like as well. Anyone can give some ideas of some good ceiling speakers, how about the PSB CW60R ???

The other method is to use a pair of PSB B4 or B5 and mount on the rear top corners of the walls as depicted on the sketch above. But I worry the performance will not be that good since the distance between the sofa and the surround speakers is around 8 feet, would it be too far away and I can't feel the sound effects nicely?

I also heard that if mount on the rear top corner, it will be more flexible as the viewing location can be moved closer or far to/from the TV. And I also thought that I could use the B4/B5 for stereo in case I need to change/upgrade in the future?

This post has been edited by echoesian: Jul 7 2010, 09:28 PM
azxel
post Jul 8 2010, 12:46 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

8' seems a bit far to place those Surround/Rear speakers... wonder what the gurus comments will be...

I'm curious...

Would placing Surround/Rear speakers at the back or at the side facing your ears or maybe angled 45degrees but slightly behind your seating arrangement be better?
mpyw
post Jul 8 2010, 01:35 PM

3,603 posts

You should place the Surr spk by the side walls of the sofa....
the rear is too far, that's for rear surr spk...
ceiling speaker should work fine for surr...
jchong
post Jul 8 2010, 02:58 PM

5,989 posts

In a 5.1 system the normal recommendation for placement of the rear speakers is 90-110 degrees. See: http://www.dolby.com/consumer/setup/speake...config-5-1.html

Yours will be beyond 110 degrees.

The distance of 8' isn't such a big concern since I think Audyssey can compensate for that.
TSechoesian
post Jul 8 2010, 07:43 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jul 8 2010, 01:35 PM)
You should place the Surr spk by the side walls of the sofa....
the rear is too far, that's for rear surr spk...
ceiling speaker should work fine for surr...
There are no side walls...
azxel
post Jul 9 2010, 04:06 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 8 2010, 07:43 PM)
There are no side walls...
there aren't any walls at these locations?

- above your "half height cabinet' next to 'stairs'
- behind your 'entrance'

This post has been edited by azxel: Jul 9 2010, 04:06 PM
TSechoesian
post Jul 10 2010, 11:57 AM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jul 9 2010, 04:06 PM)
there aren't any walls at these locations?

- above your "half height cabinet' next to 'stairs'
- behind your 'entrance'
There is no wall on these location, yes there is a wall around the entrance but the seat are located way back and there is also no wall around the stairs.... the only way is to put on stand sad.gif
paskal
post Jul 10 2010, 08:15 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 10 2010, 11:57 AM)
There is no wall on these location, yes there is a wall around the entrance but the seat are located way back and there is also no wall around the stairs.... the only way is to put on stand sad.gif
if i were you, i'd put the rear speakers on your proposed locations at the rear wall, on a wall mount higher than listening position and pull the cables down from the ceiling and compensate by increasing the surround level by a few dB.

sifus and articles might say it's not the best place to put it there, but i don't really care. with proper calibration, i doubt one could hear the difference. after all, 8 feet ain't that far anyway
peter32
post Jul 11 2010, 10:29 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

I think getting on ceiling surround speakers can be a good idea too. even better, you can consider fixing up TWO left surround and TWO right surrounds to enhance the effect.

Just that the proper in ceiling speakers may not be cheap also.

Otherwise the back surround option would only be on the backwall as suggested. Not much option otherwise.
TSechoesian
post Jul 11 2010, 10:30 AM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jul 10 2010, 08:15 PM)
if i were you, i'd put the rear speakers on your proposed locations at the rear wall, on a wall mount higher than listening position and pull the cables down from the ceiling and compensate by increasing the surround level by a few dB.

sifus and articles might say it's not the best place to put it there, but i don't really care. with proper calibration, i doubt one could hear the difference. after all, 8 feet ain't that far anyway
Paskal, thanks for your comment, what is the recommended height, I plan to mount it to the top corner which is about 6-7' high from ear level, would it be too high? I heard bipole speakers are good for surround use but direct radiating speakers are good for multi-channels music, but with my non-compliant placement, would it really make a difference?

Added on July 11, 2010, 10:32 am
QUOTE(peter32 @ Jul 11 2010, 10:29 AM)
I think getting on ceiling surround speakers can be a good idea too.  even better, you can consider fixing up TWO left surround and TWO right surrounds to enhance the effect. 

Just that the proper in ceiling speakers may not be cheap also. 

Otherwise the back surround option would only be on the backwall as suggested.  Not much option otherwise.
Have you tired out the ceiling speakers? Are they really comparable with external speakers?

This post has been edited by echoesian: Jul 11 2010, 10:32 AM
paskal
post Jul 11 2010, 01:22 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 11 2010, 10:30 AM)
Paskal, thanks for your comment, what is the recommended height, I plan to mount it to the top corner which is about 6-7' high from ear level, would it be too high? I heard bipole speakers are good for surround use but direct radiating speakers are good for multi-channels music, but with my non-compliant placement, would it really make a difference?
speaking as a non sifu and doesn't care much for the absolute best placement (opposed to realistic placement as it is in the living room), a few feet from ear level is good enough. if you can't find the space, ear level also sounds fine with me, just don't put the surround facing to each other as those will absolutely cancel each other out.

the recomended placement is a few feet higher than listening position (2-3 feet) facing downwards. but like i said, if 6-7 feet looks nicer, then by all means put it at 6-7 feet.
bipole/dipole are (IMHO) good if you have a large space. but if you sit on the same spot everytime and doesn't care for what other audience next to you hears, then i do think direct radiating surrounds are better. after all, calibration are done to make the centre seat the best place to be.

but if you prefer bipole/dipole, then by all means go with them. it's just that i prefer direct radiating. personal preference.
TSechoesian
post Jul 11 2010, 04:39 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jul 11 2010, 01:22 PM)
speaking as a non sifu and doesn't care much for the absolute best placement (opposed to realistic placement as it is in the living room), a few feet from ear level is good enough. if you can't find the space, ear level also sounds fine with me, just don't put the surround facing to each other as those will absolutely cancel each other out.

the recomended placement is a few feet higher than listening position (2-3 feet) facing downwards. but like i said, if 6-7 feet looks nicer, then by all means put it at 6-7 feet.
bipole/dipole are (IMHO) good if you have a large space. but if you sit on the same spot everytime and doesn't care for what other audience next to you hears, then i do think direct radiating surrounds are better. after all, calibration are done to make the centre seat the best place to be.

but if you prefer bipole/dipole, then by all means go with them. it's just that i prefer direct radiating. personal preference.
Normally what I've seen in people's house is that the rear speakers are placed on a stand that mounted on the wall and the speakers are facing straight. The question is that, is there any stand/brackets out there that allows the speakers to be angled a little down to the sofa instead???
Skylinestar
post Jul 11 2010, 06:22 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 11 2010, 04:39 PM)
Normally what I've seen in people's house is that the rear speakers are placed on a stand that mounted on the wall and the speakers are facing straight. The question is that, is there any stand/brackets out there that allows the speakers to be angled a little down to the sofa instead???
yes, there are speaker bracket that allows you to tilt it downwards. I saw it in ACE Hardware. A pair (made of metal, black color & packed in a box) costs about RM38.90. Build quality looks good.

i have a question regarding surround speaker placement at the sidewall, at the recommended angle of 110 degree from the front and at 3 feet higher than listening-ear level. do i still need to tilt the speaker downward?

according to here:
When side mounting the surrounds, avoid having these speakers firing directly in your ears. This will lead to localized instead of diffused surround sound direct towards the listener's ears. Direct sounds from the surround speakers can be extremely annoying especially if the sound from your surrounds overpower the main speakers, throwing off the balance between the different channels.

if the speakers are not aiming at the listening position, where is it aiming at? behind your sweet spot as well as above your head ?(since the speaker is 3 feet higher than your ear) does that principle only holds true to direct-radiating speaker? how about dipoles? do you place them on your sides aka 90 degree?

at dts website, if you watch the "designing spaces" show featuring dts, you'll found out that the surround speakers are placed at ear level. is that wrong?

anyone has the dts hd-ma bike racing demo original m2ts video? care to share? drool.gif

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jul 11 2010, 09:41 PM
paskal
post Jul 11 2010, 10:43 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 11 2010, 06:22 PM)
yes, there are speaker bracket that allows you to tilt it downwards. I saw it in ACE Hardware. A pair (made of metal, black color & packed in a box)  costs about RM38.90. Build quality looks good.

i have a question regarding surround speaker placement at the sidewall, at the recommended angle of 110 degree from the front and at 3 feet higher than listening-ear level. do i still need to tilt the speaker downward?

according to here:
if the speakers are not aiming at the listening position, where is it aiming at? behind your sweet spot as well as above your head ?(since the speaker is 3 feet higher than your ear) does that principle only holds true to direct-radiating speaker? how about dipoles? do you place them on your sides aka 90 degree?

at dts website, if you watch the "designing spaces" show featuring dts, you'll found out that the surround speakers are placed at ear level. is that wrong?

anyone has the dts hd-ma bike racing demo original m2ts video? care to share? drool.gif

LoL.. the author must have a huge preference in using bipolar/dipolar speakers for surrounds. some swears that bipolar/dipolar diffused and airy sounds better in creating the surround effect.

like i said, personal preference.
mount the speakers on wall mount and tweak to your heart desire. change the angle, fire it to the walls, to the ceiling, to the floor, to your ears and see which sounds better to YOUR EARS. if you can't make up your mind, then test on stands first. or put the speaker on a ladder. tongue.gif

i prefer direct radiating speaker. sounds more accurate to my ears. smoother transition around the listening space. better ambience (at the listening position) produced than bipolar. so i went with bookshelf for surround. sifus might not like/recomend it. but sifu ain't gonna listen to it everyday. i am.
Skylinestar
post Jul 12 2010, 06:14 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

just wanna share my findings.

according to B&W, there's no need to tilt dipole/bipole surround speaker downward.

Broader guidelines, then, are as follows: First, try to get the rear surround speakers high up on the walls, tilted down towards your listening position (this is true of two, three or four rear speaker systems). If you don’t want to wall-mount your speakers, consider using tall stands instead. The key is to avoid placing your rear speakers too close to your ears: height helps introduce an additional and natural acoustic ‘delay’ to the sound. The only exception to this rule is a dedicated dipole/bipole surround speaker, such as our DS7, which fires sound in multiple directions at once. Designs such as this can be placed alongside or behind the listening position, but shouldn’t be tilted downwards.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jul 12 2010, 06:15 PM
htkaki
post Jul 12 2010, 10:08 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

RS and LS have to be not too close to your ears. Else, the surr seems to reach to fast and quite 'apinful' to listen to.

I normally have them abt 1.5' - 2' from my ears and at least 2' - 3' from my LP.
TSechoesian
post Jul 24 2010, 11:32 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 11 2010, 06:22 PM)
yes, there are speaker bracket that allows you to tilt it downwards. I saw it in ACE Hardware. A pair (made of metal, black color & packed in a box)  costs about RM38.90. Build quality looks good.

according to here:

Is the bracket from ACE are those that screw on the back of the speakers? Because the PSB Image B5 doesn't have screw holes at the back, so is there any bracket that support and 'clip' the speaker at the bottom?

0.0700sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:27 PM