DiGi iPhone Discussion Thread | V2, Strictly Booking/Buying Discussion Only

andrekua
post Jul 7 2010, 06:29 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

There is the minimum 6months advance billing and phone price to say off. Finally it's going to be an interesting plan. What left now is weather I still want to get an Iphone or wait for Digi to release Desire. This plan is better than Smart Plan. Will call to enquire tomorrow.
andrekua
post Jul 7 2010, 07:49 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Update liao... clear your cache...
andrekua
post Jul 7 2010, 08:06 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(roommate @ Jul 7 2010, 07:55 AM)
err.. i'm not quite understand with the new price plan..

On iDigi Price Plan, it stated those iDigi88 become rm60, iDigi138 become rm90 and iDigi238 become rm160.

However, on the payment options, why it still retain the original price (iDigi88 = RM88, iDigi138 = RM138, iDigi238=RM238) ??

can somebody plz enlighten me?

Edit: I just notice, the price is differ from previous plan, and its a bit cheaper.  cool2.gif
What a understatement.
I dont think Digi will maintain this call plan for long. Are they going to subsidise the 4G much with this kind of plan?
Probably wont last long.

Another reason is whether or not Apple is going to discontinued 16GB and 32GB. I think will be canned and replace by 8GB GS like what they did last year. Phone is getting faster like PC. The thing is that how often do we utilise them.
andrekua
post Jul 7 2010, 07:12 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Jul 7 2010, 05:09 PM)
I must admit, even it took me three days to fully figure out the iPhone plan when it was first launch. Eventually, it does makes sense that most telco out there doesn't make any money selling phones. Their main income is in the plan. So try to get it straight that there is no such thing as free stuff or unbelievable discounts.
I got myself the HTC Legend plan, and even that took me another three days to figure out the plan. And when I thought I got it right, there was some confusion at the digi center about how much I should pay for the Legend package. I'm not too frustrated about it though, because I already know myself that the only way digi/maxis is ever going to get back their money from the discounts is through contracts and advanced payment. For HTC legend, I had to pay in advance RM500 for the plan, including RM68 for the first month, plus RM999 for the phone itself.
So in a way, digi got off RM1567 from me when I signed the dotted line. Same story goes for iPhone plan. Digi is actually using the money customers are paying in advance for the lines to cover the cost of the phone. Only when after a few month later, digi will eventually earn profit from its plan.
Aiyah... I think if you put it straight like Smart Plan, then understood lor. Digi go and cut the monthly fee but there is no fineprint or whatsoever. It is really hard to be just a little bit transparent? The reason why I like Digi is they are straight forward with their policy and this is somewhat misleading ads. If this is USA, I bet Digi is getting bombarded with hate mail and probably gonna honour some of the deal before forcing to bring down their ads in shame.

Added on July 7, 2010, 7:16 pm
QUOTE(avatar99 @ Jul 7 2010, 05:35 PM)
the reason i take maxis plan is thier 3G coverage and speed is faster and wider. Just need to make sure u don't over use. Maxis do offer 24 month 0% interest free for the iPhone. So upfront not that much lor
Depends on location. You have to give Digi some time to improve on their services. I remembered Maxis was like shit in Sg Buloh 2 years ago and today, it was awesome. Digi is not there yet but Im getting pretty good speed in some area. My house for example can download 120-130kB/s from Hotfile. Not bad at all...

This post has been edited by andrekua: Jul 7 2010, 07:16 PM
andrekua
post Jul 8 2010, 06:32 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(mariochuah @ Jul 8 2010, 01:29 AM)
i am 88 plan user. Now digi have introduce the new 60 plan. Is it mean my 88 plan will change to 60 plan ?? or still the same ?
pls advice..
You still don't get it, do you? What Digi has done here is lowering phone price slightly by RM200 or so. User still have to pay 2k+ for the Iphone. Why the monthly fees is lowered is because Digi is collecting the so-called discount (in your case $28) in advance for 24months. For previous owner, the phone cost just Rm200 more but you paid 6 months of fees in advance, therefore you only need to pay from 7th month onwards.

Digi is not giving discount on their IDIGI plan. The difference is the billing and slightly cheaper phone by RM200.
andrekua
post Jul 8 2010, 04:15 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 8 2010, 03:13 PM)
The question is, would they revert back to RM88 after 24 months or the RM60 package continues? If they continues, i guess the savings only starts after the 24 months (considering no cheaper packages appear in between).
LOL

Of course new plan lor. Stated 24 months contract ma. Digi and Maxis are learning new things as time passes by. Just like some of them who sign up with Maxis for unlimited data for a mere RM99 lastime. That is long gone and Maxis is regreting like hell.
andrekua
post Jul 9 2010, 04:49 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 9 2010, 03:08 PM)
why not buy the iPhone4 with Digi contract? then cheaper right?
No, it wont be cheaper. Digi is using this trick to clear stock nia. There is a possibility that Digi will continue using this trick with Iphone 4. Therefore you still pay RM48 x 24months upfront + RM1590 for the phone. Since our currency already appreciate, you can just hope that Digi (or even Maxis) wont be stingy and thinking to pocket the difference to cover their subsidy lor.
andrekua
post Jul 14 2010, 06:57 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Maestrol @ Jul 12 2010, 06:23 PM)
But it is still too many numbers for the laymen. Why can't they make it easy and simple? IMHO the table will look less cluttered if they leave out the SAVINGS column. Also, if someone could do a DiGi iPhone price comparison between April 2010 and July 2010, that would make things even clearer.  rclxms.gif
No need la...
I already explained before... my calculation is exactly what Digi had in mind.

Basically Digi playing with numbers here. The IDigi plan has not been cheaper, thats why Im asking you guys to stop asking and just take out your calculator.

If you want to know how much difference, easy... Previously if you sign up for Digi 138, Iphone is RM1090. Now become RM890.
Then you are wondering why you pay so much upfront, again its easy... you take the difference in monthly payment before and after July, times with 24months contract. You add the amount to the phone amount and you will get what Digi display there. Its actually very simple. You dont need to see the chart by Digi.

YOU SAVE RM200 on the phone + some of the 5% tax as Digi put part of it as payment for the phone instead of services which had to be tax. In the end, ALL THAT YOU SAVE IS RM200 + some taxes which adds up to a total of RM250 or so. Just cheaper but not as much as they are trying to con us in the with the initial chart.
andrekua
post Jul 14 2010, 03:21 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Of course they will sell the phone only, the question is how much? RM2990? RM2490? LOL...
andrekua
post Jul 21 2010, 03:53 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 20 2010, 07:04 PM)
like what xaw said i think its about time they start diversifying their plans, 2 years is too long for a phone contract, they should create a one year plan or a data plan only.
One year plan backfire and hurt earnings. Thats why Digi dont have one year plan. That is why Maxis is charging so much more.
andrekua
post Jul 21 2010, 01:24 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 21 2010, 07:47 AM)
if i were to compare, a RM100 plan for 1 year will get you RM700 discount on 32GB 3GS, that is significant for me. Anyways no point comparing here, its a purely Digi thread, i dont mind jump ship if the plans are better smile.gif
Haha...
That's me too.. but I signed for HTC Legend. IPhone meanwhile can put on hold because I still think iPhone is so yesterday. Same interface for 5th year and with all these extra processing strength and extra ram, I just don't understand why Apple still don't want to evolve. It's about time to start something new. Android gonna catch up soon with its app. OS wise, I think its already ahead.

Added on July 21, 2010, 1:29 pm
QUOTE(naz @ Jul 21 2010, 12:47 PM)
[i]"On the launch of iPhone 4, DiGi said the company has began pre-orders for the iPhone 4 and is looking into packages that allow existing 3GS customers to upgrade their phones.

Wow, are they seriously gonna offer upgrade? I wonder anyone gonna upgrade if they sell it without subsidy for existing idigi user.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Jul 21 2010, 01:29 PM
andrekua
post Jul 21 2010, 02:36 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(naz @ Jul 21 2010, 01:38 PM)
Well, since those are the words from their CEO (M), hopefully its gonna be true.  rclxms.gif  If the upgrade will cost another extra RM200-300, it shouldn't be much problem I guess.  nod.gif
RM 300? I don't think so. 1k at least, is my guesstimate

This post has been edited by andrekua: Jul 21 2010, 02:39 PM
andrekua
post Sep 20 2010, 09:41 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

LOL...

Got such problem? Im surfing daily on my phone (Legend) and calls still coming in like shit...

andrekua
post Sep 20 2010, 04:16 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(zer016 @ Sep 20 2010, 02:48 PM)
RM1390 need contract 2 month...
now juz need wait for digi plan.. haha..
hope digi can make plan for 1 year contract..  blush.gif
Expensive for 2 years...

I was hoping to see RM1.1k pricetag... the RRP is lowered but price still expensive.
andrekua
post Sep 21 2010, 09:56 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(westthen @ Sep 21 2010, 09:50 AM)
Any of you guys saw the advertisement at star there?
Yes...
I guess Digi monthly payment gonna be lower than Maxis RM100...

QUOTE(ImSIEBEL @ Sep 21 2010, 09:52 AM)
btw i would like to ask, im using the RM68 Digi Smartplan at the moment, the unlimited one, why when i have 3G coverage, but at the time when i use something like needs more data, it drops to edge, example, Youtube, browsing safari etc etc. but then i thought maybe my area coverage not big ( Selayang ), but even in KL, or wherever i go ?

izzit because of Digi or my phone ?

im using Iphone 3G at the moment.
You can set your phone to use WCDMA only. That way it would force it to connect to 3G towers only. In area without 3G towers, just switch back to GSM and use EDGE.
andrekua
post Sep 21 2010, 11:28 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Sep 21 2010, 11:23 AM)
In Maxis, aside the monthly rate, the phone is cheaper by RM300.
I hope Digi is also the same....
NOOOO....

Digi must be cheaper!!! I will sign up if RM1.1k for I4 16GB for 2 years.
andrekua
post Sep 21 2010, 11:53 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Sep 21 2010, 11:29 AM)
The good thing about the DiGI plan is the free SMS is for all telco not only digi to digi but DiGi's line coverage is still a issue nowadays...
If you are complaining about their 3G coverage, yes, its true that its still very dependent on the area you live in. For example, I went to Kundang and Rawang, most if not all area still without 3G. But for area like Shah Alam/Subang or even Kepong, the coverage is okay and you do get the speed they promised or even better.

In Kepong area alone, the speed varying from 50kB/s ~ 250kB/s depending on area and websites.
andrekua
post Sep 21 2010, 08:42 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Sep 21 2010, 08:35 PM)
Correct me if I am wrong but from my understanding of that news, it means DiGi is subsidizing iPhone4 a lot that it may affect their profits. Simply, we could be expecting something very interesting from DiGi.Remember the e-mail that we 1st got Malaysia's Most Affordable iPhone4.
It would be just slightly cheaper or same pricing like Maxis with lower monthly payment perhaps.. Digi likes to play marketing trick.. recall the previous 3GS clearing incident?
andrekua
post Sep 22 2010, 07:58 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

The best way is still to test drive it...

Buy a prepaid card and use it for a week for RM15 to test the coverage. Better than some who signed up liao later found out their area not in 3G and start ranting in Digi@Fb
andrekua
post Sep 23 2010, 01:03 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

If the monthly plan is really RM58 like you claimed, the phone gonna be super expensive.

0.0478sec    1.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:23 AM