Photography Canon IXUS 300HS, Compact F2 with Manual Av & Tv

ozak
post Aug 3 2010, 10:31 AM

17,021 posts

Dpreview are given gold award to this camera. --> http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canonsd4000is/page10.asp

Like this must buy liao.
ozak
post Aug 3 2010, 01:39 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 3 2010, 10:35 AM)
Wah U haven't buy ah...The first Canon wth Backlited CMOS...just like currently discussed here too..haha

Canon abit late to join the bandwagon..where Sony, Samsung, Pentax started earlier since end of last year
Ok. ok. Go and buy now.

Last few week lazy go KL. Drag till now. He....
ozak
post Aug 3 2010, 07:53 PM

17,021 posts

Ok. Brought liao. tongue.gif Not much color to choose. Only red, white and black. The red is dam plastically. It maybe cause by the shinning surface I guess. I choose the white.

Price camera only - RM1200.
Screen protector - RM20
SDHC 16Gb CL10 - RM159
Camera bag - RM15
Total - RM1394.

Those accessory brought from LYP. Still cheaper than their offer package which throw in 4gb SDHC and a leather bag. The original leather bag is damn ugly. sad.gif Really not suit to this camera design.

Don't no my palm big or the camera small. hmm.gif

ozak
post Aug 3 2010, 10:06 PM

17,021 posts

I like the black too. But for girl choice, is different taste. I ask the salegirl which color she like. She choose the white. So I take the white lor.

Just quickly have a look at the camera and take some shot to post here. Don't have a time to raba raba it more detail. Later when got time, will post some shot picture here.
ozak
post Aug 7 2010, 10:04 AM

17,021 posts

300HS have few feature more than SD3500. But still depend on your shooting style and habit. If you like everything auto, nothing much different.

300HS have less pixel than SD3500. That is good with small camera. Too much pixel is bad for small camera.
ozak
post Aug 7 2010, 12:33 PM

17,021 posts

Man, I like the fisheye function. thumbup.gif Set to max and take a few shot of myself. My face look like a dog.Ha....
ozak
post Aug 8 2010, 12:39 AM

17,021 posts

Follow stimix recomend. Brought at boeing sg.wang. Don't no which floor liao. There is only 2 boeing shop in there.

The bag is normal small camera bag that sell alot in LYP 2nd floor or 3rd floor. You can't miss it.
ozak
post Aug 12 2010, 05:10 PM

17,021 posts

Some shot morning and night using 300HS.

Using fisheye mode.

Using Fooliage.

Color Swap

Miniauture Mode

Close up

Macro at night

Using nightscene

Auto Mode
ozak
post Aug 12 2010, 09:04 PM

17,021 posts

Better go there at weekday. I when there last saturday. So crowded. More late more people.
ozak
post Aug 15 2010, 12:57 AM

17,021 posts

It commbine the backlit cmos and F2.0 to achive the noise free low light. You can see I capture those I-city light with auto mode. Just handheld. No tripod.
ozak
post Aug 15 2010, 09:43 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 15 2010, 01:21 AM)
Ehh i didn't know using f/2.0 aperture can produce less noise!  tongue.gif
To shot in low light, normally I choose F and speed priority over ISO in manual mode. Either tripod or handheld. Unless I have no choice.

I don't like to shot in high ISO. The noise make the picture look teribble. Mostly I limit it max ISO400.

This is indirectly to produce less noise.
ozak
post Aug 29 2010, 02:35 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Aug 28 2010, 10:10 PM)
Stimix and all expert:

Here are the major spec for IXUS 300HS & 1000HS. Can you pls advise which one is better?
And can you pls advise me what is the meaning of f/2? f/2 compare to f/3.4, which is better? 

Model:300HS
Pixels:10M
Focus length:4.9 – 18.6 mm
Zoom:3.8x
Max focus #:f/2.0 – f/5.3
LCD size/type/dot:3.0"/TFT/230,000
Macro:3 cm
ISO:125-3200 
Movie:1280 x 720, 30fps HD
Dimension (mm):100.0 x 54.1 x 23.6
Weight:175g
Model:1000HS (Will be released on Sep/Oct time frame)
Pixels:10M
Focus length:6.3 - 63.0 mm
Zoom:10x
Max focus #:f/3.4 - f/5.6
LCD size/type/dot:3.0"/TFT/230,000
Macro:1 cm
ISO:125-3200 
Movie:1920 x 1080, 24fps HD
Dimension (mm):101.0 x 59.0 x 22.0
Weight:190g
F is your eye iris which at night will open bigger. The lower the figure, the wider iris open.

You have alot of zoom, but higher f will make you difficult shot picture.

ozak
post Aug 29 2010, 11:00 AM

17,021 posts

Mostly those camera with super duper spec in a small body won't give good quality picture. The most common example is pixel. With clamping alot of pixel in a compact camera will produce a shit picture. My office have this kind of camera which 10M pixel. The picture look shit and my 6M pixel camera is much much more better.

I would choose wider lens than zoom lens. I can overcome the zoom picture by croping the picture in a software with come with the camera purchase. 10M pixel can crop alot without scarify the quality. Makesure your hand don't shake alot. While wide lens is good for indoor, group people and small space. I can't modify the picturet in software. Accept I walk few feet more behind to take the picture. Wider lens is more common use.

You zoom to max, but the camera tell you, need open flash and not stable because high F and enable lower down. The picture look shit too. Otherwise use tripod which you're not willing to bring along to holiday. Try check those DSLR lens that can zoom 300-400mm and F1.8 cost how much.

If you in compact camera, choose the spec is most common use. That you able to shot without the camera tell you can't shot. Otherwise go for DSLR.

Anyway, I suspect some typo in this 1000HS max f3.4 which a bit high. At least f2.7 can give kua?
ozak
post Aug 29 2010, 04:19 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 29 2010, 03:30 PM)
Well, i'm guessing you were shooting at low light?Most compacts don't fare well at low light situations

And there is more to just MegaPixels which affects Picture Quality.Too many factors to consider such as lens quality,built in processor, sensor type/quality,settings such as aperture,shutter speed,ISO performance,built in Noise reduction which will either balance out the detail:noise ratio or just bluntly go for pure NR(in the case of G11), built in Optical Image Stabilisation(different manufacturers have different terms for this)

So blaming picture quality solely on the amount of Megapixels isn't fair.There are other factors to consider too smile.gif
Not just me. Able shoot at low light is an advantange for most of the user. Who don't want just takeout the camera and shot without all the warning telling you cannot shot from the camera.

Pixel is just one of the example I m given. Of course still got many cause that given bad quality picture. Pixel is a most common misleading for noob people who think higher is better.

It's like that.Superzooms or compacts with high zoom range will have a significantly higher F value to cover the whole range eh smile.gif

And picture quality/details/sharpness will therefore be compromised through out the focal length because of the huge range there smile.gif

Don't think there are any 300-400mm f/1.8 in the market now.Perhaps i remember a 300mm F2.0 from Sony or Olympus? hmm.gif Would probably cost Rm20K anyway tongue.gif

I don't follow much of DSLR equipment anymore. It just an example this kind of spec telephoto lens cost a boom. But hope 1 day some maker can create one. smile.gif Maybe cost a waja!

Sometimes you gotta understand the limitations and compromise of a superzoom.It's technically harder to produce a high zoom range lens with very wide aperture.Even DSLRs don't have those lenses sweat.gif Oh wai, got 300mm f/2 but need to pay Rm20k tongue.gif
Of course I understand the difficulty of technical to produce 1. And clamping all super duper spec in small body will not produce good picture. And worst, maybe the camera cannot last long.

You need to think as normal people what is best camera for them. Using an expert and DSLR mind will make them more difficult to own a camera.Just suggest some most common spec and day to day use is best for them. DSLR is the next level.
ozak
post Sep 2 2010, 11:15 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ Sep 2 2010, 07:42 AM)
Hi, how does it compare with LX3? LX3 has a larger of image sensor size, in theory the noise and light should get a better control than 300HS. So how about in the reality? and tone of the color?
I ve compare both quality. LX3 take better picture quality compare 300HS.
ozak
post Sep 3 2010, 12:41 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Sep 3 2010, 11:59 AM)
ozak, how abt current s90 or upcoming s95?
thanks.
I didn't compare before. So I not sure what is the quality.

I have molest the s90 before during brought the 300HS. Judge from the outlook of s90, I rather buy 300HS or LX3. The look of the s90 not stylish and dull. shakehead.gif
ozak
post Sep 3 2010, 02:25 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Sep 3 2010, 01:46 PM)
ozak. so u have a 300hs? wats ur opinion bout its pro n con?
Read back few page lah. Brought after kena stimix poison.

Brought for my gf. Judge from her look, she like it alot. So should be ok kua. hmm.gif

For me a bit difficult handling. Cause small body with my big palm. And I have to handling carefully with the white color body. Worry scratch easly. sweat.gif I m a rough handling guy. My own camera many scratch and dirty. sad.gif

I find it abit troublesome to go in menu if I want fast switching to others mode picture taken. You have to switch and enter into many step before you can take the picture mode you want. I use to like DSLR type switching which faster. But that would be alot of button outside.
ozak
post Sep 4 2010, 11:21 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Sep 3 2010, 08:17 PM)
ooo. thx smile.gif

Added on September 4, 2010, 4:06 pmguys. gonna buy this baby soon.

any accessories i should get?

4gb or 8gb? I heard there is 2 kinds of memory card rclxub.gif
Any kind will do. As long as above class 4 or same. Follow your budget.

Of course higher is better.

Added on September 4, 2010, 11:25 pm
QUOTE(balgat @ Sep 4 2010, 10:51 PM)
Which one? SDHC? SDXC?
If not mistaken, SDXC min capacity start with 16GB above.

This post has been edited by ozak: Sep 4 2010, 11:25 PM
ozak
post Sep 5 2010, 09:07 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Sep 5 2010, 08:38 AM)
OMG? where u got tat for 1220?!!

I got mine at fotokem for 1299 for camera + 2x4gb (brandless, duno sdhc or xc) and 1 case. 1 screen protector for rm25  vmad.gif  kena scam  mad.gif
Still ok lah the price. You already get a good price liau. Balgat brought without the memory card.

If taking video without stopping in the middle, the memory card speed should be ok. If just taking photo, doesn't matter at all.
ozak
post Sep 5 2010, 02:51 PM

17,021 posts

I choose class 10 16gb for this camera. Cause I worry for the high speed video taken.

But later find out that the taken high speed video is temporary store in the internal memory. And than transfer to memory card. That's why limited to 29sec shot.

0.0307sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:58 AM