8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

RTS Starcraft 2 v4.0, Warning: Starcraft 2 release detected!!

evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 06:18 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(SyokVPN @ Jul 7 2010, 06:16 PM)
Yes... thats the point.. i dont want Blizzard games become one of it.

evofantasy is your alias right? why don't you use your real name to register LYN forum?
cause i chose not to reveal it on LYN?
i did reveal it on facebook so wut's wrong?
i've even posted a screenshot of my bnet with my first name...
as i've said, i'm fine with it...

again, its not a leak when u have agreed to the usage terms of ur private information...
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 06:24 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Jul 7 2010, 06:19 PM)
Ok, we're clearly arguing with differing opinions.

It doesn't really matter whether its in their privacy agreement or not. We are arguing solely on whether its a good move or not. No one here is actually accusing Blizzard of doing anything illegal. We're just not happy with this as it is an invasion of ppls privacy just to accomplish a rather unachievable goal.

Added on July 7, 2010, 6:20 pm
Just because you choose to show little regard for your own privacy, doesn't mean others have to do the same.
when u actually looked into the issue of privacy then u would realize that revealing first/last name is not an issue at all (part of my research for the web system i'm working on)...
after all its not a unique identifier of any means...

i do regard my privacy, i know what i should reveal and what i should not reveal as well as where to reveal them...
i dun allow facebook apps to reveal my profile and adjusted them via the privacy settings...
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 06:33 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jul 7 2010, 06:29 PM)
I don't find anything wrong with it. This might not be a good example, but take it like you're entering a foreign country. You either provide them your passport with your full name & photo in it or you risk GTFO.

It's the same on the forum & it's for the same reason. People are hiding behind their anonymity to perform all kinds of mischief, trolling & con. Of course, you can choose not to post in the forum, hence saving you all this trouble but again, how many times did you shout "it's privacy invasion" when you're at the immigration?

Of course, I really do doubt the EFFECTIVENESS of such move but what I don't get is the commotion you guys are having. As mentioned by Blue, you have the option not to link your IGN ID so it's not really like a passport where your name have to match your photo. Did you provide your full name when you register at local bank or local mobile service provider? Well, guess what? They do share your info around & I didn't see anyone going FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUU or doing anything about it other than ranting about it in /k/.

Label me as sucking up to Blizz or whatever (even if I say I'm not, you guys are still gonna say I am anyway), but you're basically arguing over something that most of you never use as well. How many of you have ever touched Bnet forum? Hands up.

It has come to the situation where I seriously think BW v2 is really what Blizz should have come up with to end all these rantings.
not to say that i 100% like the changes...
but some people just made assumptions without even reading the announcement (blue post) or the FAQ itself...

as u said, when u have accepted their terms then why are u complaining?
wut more over simple non-unique such as ur name (newspapers etc do reveal ur name)

Added on July 7, 2010, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(H@H@ @ Jul 7 2010, 06:31 PM)
Again, that is YOUR assumption. Not everyone is like you, not everyone has the same respect or need to have that much (Or little) privacy as you. Is it that hard to accept that?

Having your real name known can be a real kick in the nuts depending on the situation your in. Like how if someone finds out your real name (Which may be very unique) and then discovers that you're an avid blogger who just wishes to keep gaming and blogging as separate entities... That's no longer possible. Anonymity IS optional but it should be at the hands of the individual, not some company who wants to keep their forum clean.

Its the same reason why it is *MY* right to walk around *NOT* having to wear a nametag with my name on it.
put it this way: if u dun like it, do not accept the 'agreement' regarding ur privacy information. FULL STOP

simple rite?
when in rome, do wut the romans do...

Added on July 7, 2010, 6:38 pmagain from the blue post (as well as by telexeh) "with the option to also display the name of their primary in-game character alongside it"

no one force u to associate ur game IGN into ur forum post...
thus no one is stopping u from playing the game without revealing ur personal information...

Added on July 7, 2010, 6:39 pmanother blue post by Bashiok

"One important point which I don't believe has been relayed yet is that the switch to showing RealID on the forums will only happen with the new forum systems we're launching for StarCraft II shortly before its release, and a new forum system for World of Warcraft launching shortly before the release of Cataclysm.

All posts here on the current World of Warcraft forums, or any of our classic Battle.net forums, will remain as-is. They won't (and can't) automatically switch to showing a real first and last name.

All posts in the future on the new forum systems will be an opt-in choice and ample warning will be given that you're posting with your real first and last name."

again, NO ONE IS FORCING IT...
in \k\ style, "u tak suka, u keluar" or "if u dun like it, dun join it"...
its now everything that u can eat the cake and have the cake

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 7 2010, 06:43 PM
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 07:05 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 7 2010, 06:55 PM)
hey guise, what did i miss here while i am actually working?  laugh.gif
big discussion on the possible new bnet forum (note the new word) with ur bnet firstname/lastname
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 07:39 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 7 2010, 07:31 PM)
It just not a very good way to eliminate trolling plus it is an invasion of privacy issue.

Besides I am probably the only forumer who uses my real name as my nick so yeah. Frankly, I can't be bothered with it. If people wanna pick a real fight with me, bring it on. Gotta use the weight training for something eh?
again its not an invasion of privacy since u would have to agree to blizzard's privacy policy in the first place...
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 07:55 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 7 2010, 07:43 PM)
Doesn't affect me since I am already using my real name in here, probably the same in Battlenet forums. So yeah.

Technically, I am the only one who is explicitly agreeable to Battlenet implementation.
kinda true lol...
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 09:10 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

from TLO's facebook "TheLittleOne: Drop whatever you are doing and click on your SC2 Launcher it iiiiiiiiiiiiiiis Patch time!"

but he stated he is in EU, not sure bout US client
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 09:43 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Instinct @ Jul 7 2010, 09:28 PM)
Yeap, currently Europe is patching. No change for US version ! Can't wait !!
yup gotta wait >.<

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 7 2010, 09:30 PM)
Ok, I am only qualified to rebut this. The rest should state their real names before rebutting.

So, yes people can dig up information and check on you.

Well, I survived in LowYat net since 2007 without being beaten up or gotten the chance to retaliate (in real life). So it's proof that even with your real name, you probably won't get screwed.

You probably more likely get screwed in Facebook than in forums.
i did reveal my name from my bnet account screenshot of cata beta =p
and i did not bother to censored it...
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 09:50 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 7 2010, 09:45 PM)
You can always reveal real name now, if you want.

It makes your arguments far more credible.

Besides mine appears in every post.
nah i dun see the need to reveal it here...
after all, i did linked blueposts and FAQs from blizz themselves...
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 09:55 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 7 2010, 09:51 PM)
See, now you know how the others felt.

Although it's not a big deal, it still annoys people.
its not that but i dun see how revealing ur name itself would add credibility lol...
if u wanna know my name, u can find it out...
after all its within LYN itself, not that hard...
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 10:11 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jul 7 2010, 10:09 PM)
Thou it looks nothing for revealing your real name, but it's still a form of privacy invasion set up by Blizzard.

YES, the more reason to stay away from the game.
or any other games by blizzard in the future eh
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 10:32 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 7 2010, 10:16 PM)
The old blizzard games aren't bound by that so it's a-ok.
new games are not bound as well...
its only the forums sleep.gif"

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Jul 7 2010, 10:17 PM)
No risk of privacy issues my ass.

Fantastic, keep up the good work Blizzard  doh.gif
why would some bother finding information/ stalk about u?
enlighten me...

after all, u are not a blizz staff

Added on July 7, 2010, 10:34 pm
QUOTE(Gormaz @ Jul 7 2010, 10:26 PM)
never, ever, underestimate the power of Internet trolls.

That's exactly the kind of things I was worried about...

Having played Wow for more than 3 years, gone through my fair share of guild/loot drama, I can totally know how personal some people can be with a game like WoW (I would say MMO are the worst for the amount of "attachment" you end up having for your characters/account)

The RealID is removing a fair share of anonymity and protection for everyone without real advantage for the players.

I could almost take bets on when the first Wow-related-IRL murder will take place over a piece of virtual loot.
the names only appear in the forum...
no matter wut happen in game, they wont have ur name unless: -
- u enable ur IGN to be shown in ur bnet forum profile and u made a post there
- that some1 is ur realID fren

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 7 2010, 10:35 PM
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 10:38 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jul 7 2010, 10:36 PM)
@evofantasy,

Let me tell you, our privacy is always protected. WHY?
It's because somewhere, someone who might have grudge on you, OR just to troll you, likewise in our DEAR KOPITIAM SECTION, will dig up A WHOLE LOTS of information on you and posted it out public, either to make fun of you, or whatever.

Ok, let's say that if you don't really care about it. What about your wife? your sister? Your parents? your friends?

They all might get mocked up, just because your information WENT PUBLIC.

You lack of some thinking, boy.
dude, if u know ur real name is posted on bnet forum WOULD U STILL TROLL that forum?
it makes u think before doing something that might cause some1 to have a grudge on u...

and wutever happen in game would not affect ur personal life since u wont associate ur IGN into ur bnet forum...

Added on July 7, 2010, 10:39 pm@talexeh

think i better give up...
most ppl here still dunno how realID work...
boycott the game all u want, u wont be missed...

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jul 7 2010, 10:11 PM)
New patch is UP ... but for EU only, EU players started patching edy.
omg 485 MB in size...
but new sounds = possible new music lol...
terran's music need to be changed >.<

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 7 2010, 10:41 PM
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 10:42 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jul 7 2010, 10:41 PM)
DUDE,
The KEYWORD HERE - TROLL
Try to register that word in your mind.
It'll help you from getting urself into some real deep shit. doh.gif
seriously, why of millions of users within the forum, u would be trolled?
and if u are so afraid, jz avoid the forum...

Added on July 7, 2010, 10:44 pm
QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Jul 7 2010, 10:41 PM)
You sure a one big blizz fanboy to think that people are arguing to... boycott STARCRAFT 2?  doh.gif
wow now i become a blizz fanboy?
i dun even play diablo lol...

at least i know to see how such issue would not affect me enjoying the game

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 7 2010, 10:44 PM
evofantasy
post Jul 7 2010, 11:21 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jul 7 2010, 11:04 PM)
Again, it's not the same thing as what you're asking me to do here. As mentioned over & over again previously, you have the option to not reveal your IGN in the new Bnet forum, which means that if I were to use my real name without associating it to talexeh, there should be no issue at all.
SPOT ON!

ur firstname/lastname alone != unique
ur firstname/lastname + some other ID (or any other info actually) = unique since u can narrow down/ filter the results or rather an association

that's why as i've said, revealing the name alone is not an issue of privacy on the web (those who actually know about privacy or done some reading about it or those making web based systems) should know this

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 7 2010, 11:24 PM
evofantasy
post Jul 8 2010, 12:31 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 7 2010, 11:25 PM)
your first day on the internuts or wat?

Added on July 7, 2010, 11:56 pm

1985, barely half a human's average lifespan, doesn't really qualify your father-son relationship. just sayin.

Added on July 8, 2010, 12:05 am

(Y) (msn emoticon if any of you guys couldnt figure)

Added on July 8, 2010, 12:09 am

did you really need to open "dat can" of [insert stuff here]? wwwwww
u gotta know that now revealing ur name on ur IGN/ forum nick makes u a lvl above others...

http://www.spokeo.com/
try putting in ur email alone and marvel at how much of ur information is there on the web unprotected...
then try putting in ur name...
or any other name like "ian david" etc

u would notice the difference in hits between ur name and ur email...
which is why the 'name' alone is a pretty useless private information on the web (heck how the hell can ur name which u address urself as when u meet people is a private information)

ps: this is WHY i never ever reveal my personal email on the net (such as when u guys are posting emails for beta)

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 8 2010, 12:36 AM
evofantasy
post Jul 8 2010, 10:34 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

@ cheese
perhaps u gotta know that there is no such thing as a battlenet nickname?
battlenet goes by ur registered name itself and the email for ur bnet account is always hidden...
and again u keep bringing up activision sleep.gif
dun it ever get old???

at least know about bnet system before spurring stuffs

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 8 2010, 10:35 AM
evofantasy
post Jul 8 2010, 01:58 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jul 8 2010, 11:10 AM)
New IA included up to Insane level with new icons and new achivements biggrin.gif

Btw, got new Terran music as well.
I KNOW THIS IS COMING!!!
seriously the old terran music kinda rclxub.gif

Added on July 8, 2010, 1:58 pm
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jul 8 2010, 01:36 PM)
I will ... someone pls gimme a list.

Players, please gimme ur Bnet nick and and ID number. I will not post any email in the forum.
smart choice

Added on July 8, 2010, 2:00 pm
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jul 8 2010, 01:43 PM)
I wonder why high lvl players use Ultra but not carrier or Battle Cruisers.  hmm.gif
different tech tree which takes quit some time to get up and produce units...
besides u can come out with tonnes of ultras when ur utralisk den is up vs other races...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 8 2010, 02:00 PM
evofantasy
post Jul 8 2010, 02:06 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 8 2010, 02:00 PM)
bro, FFS, copy paste from v3 list, thats what ive been trying to say since the creation of v4 :/
http://www.spokeo.com/ says hi if u post ur email lol...

Added on July 8, 2010, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jul 8 2010, 02:05 PM)
Then how are we going to add people?
Enabled the ability to manually add a StarCraft II character friend using the player's character code. Character code is a server-assigned numerical code that is displayed within the Add Friend panel.

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jul 8 2010, 02:11 PM
evofantasy
post Jul 8 2010, 02:27 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jul 8 2010, 02:13 PM)
You add ppl by input there bnet nick name and bnet character code.

Close frens can email each other to add there email (RealID)

Fuj, ill PM u my email.
if u have added that person via WoW realID, it will automatically be registered for your SC2 as well...
it would be an account-based linked regardless of characters or game...

like me and xeno are realID friends through WoW, when he is in SC2, he can see that i am playing WoW using which toon as well as chat wit me (even through different games)...
this is one of the big reason why i am such a fan of realID...

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0172sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:31 AM