7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

US stock discussion v3, Double Bottom coming?

prophetjul
post Mar 22 2011, 01:20 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Mar 22 2011, 11:54 AM)
Of all, only SLW is attractive. AXU is errr. Like China's coal stock, very dangerous. They mine quartz.. low prospect for Zinc, Lead, Gold and Silver.

My favorite this month is AAPL.
Had SLw since $3...... Cash machine! biggrin.gif

AXU mine quartz? rclxub.gif
Alexco should have around 3,1 million equivalent ounces of silver for 2011. Producing around 18 million pounds of lead (current price is 1,22 USD/pound) and around 9 million ounces zinc (prices are 1,10 USD)

Added on March 22, 2011, 1:30 pmAlexco presentation

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2r16yxQy80&feature=relmfu

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Mar 22 2011, 01:30 PM
prophetjul
post Mar 22 2011, 10:03 PM

12,268 posts

zamanz o dan,

how many days before the TT monies is credited to Just2trade accounts?

prophetjul
post Mar 23 2011, 07:35 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Mar 23 2011, 12:01 AM)
Since USD3?? Woooooooooow.. That is amazing, sure or not? Last seen at USD3 was in April 2005. Or are you saying since $3x.xx?
2 Working days.
Thanks mate!

Check out slw at Nov 2008 biggrin.gif went down to $2.50.....caught it at $3.00 held to date.....12 bagger rclxms.gif

Added on March 23, 2011, 7:40 am
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 22 2011, 09:14 PM)
Good evening all,

AGQ -> this is not miner, just 2x ETF of SLV. If Silver retreats, watch out but awesome run for the since the beginning of this year!  thumbup.gif
Right! AGQ not actually a miner....highly volatile ETF....good for you traders to swing it! thumbup.gif

i first caught it in 2009 $33....bought the silver story......traded it to $215 just two weeks ago..... sweat.gif

Returns are great. Better than miners.

OR you could short silver using ZSL

GLTU

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Mar 23 2011, 07:42 AM
prophetjul
post Mar 23 2011, 09:52 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Mar 23 2011, 09:47 AM)
as Sifu Dan suggests - go with OPTIONS.

Mine is
FINANCE,  TECHNOLOGY and  MINING. The rest are situational play.
hi mate

How do you play the options?

Is this similar to calls and puts?

i have NOT applied for margin trading....
prophetjul
post Mar 23 2011, 10:30 AM

12,268 posts

By Tom Miles

BEIJING, March 22 | Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:12am EDT

BEIJING, March 22 (Reuters) - China's exports of rare earth metals burst through the $100,000-per-tonne mark for the first time in February, up almost ninefold from a year before, while the volume of trade stayed far below historical averages.

China's squeeze on rare earths, which are used in a wide range of hardware including precision-guided weapons, hybrid car batteries and iPads, has forced prices up dramatically since July last year, when each tonne fetched a mere $14,405 on average.

The apparent price rises have averaged $10,000 per tonne per month but accelerated in February, galloping ahead by $34,000 per tonne, according to Reuters calculations based on data from China's Customs office.

Last month each tonne of exports was valued at $109,036, including the cost of insurance and freight, almost half as much again as the average value in January.

The explosion in export values has coincided with a collapse in volumes coming out of China, the source of almost all the world's rare earth supplies, which has cut export quotas of the 17 rare earth metals and raised tariffs on exports.

China's actions have infuriated its trading partners but lifted the shares of the few mining and prospecting companies outside China that are well-placed to capitalise on the constriction of Chinese supply.

They include U.S. miner Molycorp Inc (MCP.N), Canada's Rare Element Resources (RES.V) and Neo Material Technologies (NEM.TO) and Australia's Arafura (ARU.AX) and Lynas (LYC.AX).

But those firms' share prices have been under pressure this month because Japan's earthquake and tsunami are expected to temporarily slash demand from China's biggest customer. In February, 281 tonnes of Chinese exports went to Japan, valued at $38.9 million or $138,406 per tonne. [ID:nN15270138]

prophetjul
post Mar 24 2011, 07:38 AM

12,268 posts

Oh whatta nite! Miners are poopping to the upside like spring flowers! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

SLW 5.5%
AGQ 5.4%
AXU 2.93%
MNEAF 6.4%
AG 5.98%
SVM 5.93%
AUNFF -1% A DUD! mad.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Mar 24 2011, 07:39 AM
prophetjul
post Mar 24 2011, 08:55 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Mar 24 2011, 08:48 AM)
Yeah, crazy prices of commodities. Just wait for the crash.

BAC got hammered due to rejection to increase their dividend payout. What a crap policy!
Depends what commodities you have......

Silver is ripping it.....Backwardation et al....... $40 soon

Rebuilding of disaster hit cities will require lots of steel and copper....... biggrin.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 24 2011, 10:46 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 24 2011, 10:29 AM)
Huge bubble in Silver.. so call backwardation, not believing this.
We will see whos right.... biggrin.gif

Added on March 24, 2011, 10:48 pmGold is flat while silver has risen in all currencies again today. Sterling has fallen sharply again today and the euro, yen and sterling have fallen sharply versus gold and silver in recent days. Silver's surge to new 31 year highs at $37.87 is due to continuing strong industrial and investment demand and tight supply.

Many investors see silver as a cheaper ‘safe haven’ than gold right now. Silver looks set to target $40/oz and in the longer term, many investors see gains above the record highs of nearly $50/oz.

Importantly, backwardation continues with spot silver for immediate delivery is at $37.80/oz while futures set to expire in December 2013 (Dec13) are trading at $37.00/oz. The continuing backwardation suggests tightness in the small physical silver bullion market continues and there is the increasing possibility of a short squeeze of banks holding concentrated silver short positions.

The eurozone debt crisis shows signs of entering a new phase with Portuguese and Irish debt under significant pressure again today. There are real concerns about both countries defaulting and this has seen the euro fall from €1,000/oz to €1,016/oz against gold since Tuesday.

Gold in euro terms has seen a period of significant consolidation since June last year. Prices remain below the levels seen at the height of the crisis in July last year (€1,040/oz). This consolidation may be on the verge of leading to a break out above the record high of €1,072/oz with €1,100/oz than becoming psychological resistance.

The gold silver ratio has broken support and looks set to fall lower. Given the small size of the physical bullion market and increasing physical demand, the ratio is likely to revert to below the mean seen in the 1970’s which was at 30:1. Indeed the 1980 low of the gold silver ratio was 17:1 (850/50) and long term silver should revert and exceed this ratio as silver remains cheap versus gold.

Courtesy: www.goldcore.com

Added on March 24, 2011, 10:54 pmSilvers at $38.18.... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Mar 24 2011, 10:54 PM
prophetjul
post Mar 25 2011, 08:06 AM

12,268 posts

EVERYtime silver runs up, they do this...very soon margin will be zero and will be parity....... nod.gif

http://www.zerohedge.com/article/and-clock...s-halting-surge

And Like Clockwork, CME Hikes Silver Margins Halting Surge
Submitted by Tyler Durden on 03/24/2011 15:16 -0400

Capital MarketsPrecious MetalsUraniumVolatility

In tried and true fashion, just as Silver was about to viciously destabilize the global capital markets as it surged to new 31 year highs, the CME stepped in and did its usual 3-6 half life intervention by hiking initial and maintenance margins on silver futures from $11,138 and $8,250 to $11,745 and $8,700 respectively. This is merely the latest margin hike in what appears to be a neverneding series designed to reduce speculative "fervor" courtesy of endless liquidity. What it will do is merely provide a better entry point for those who by now realize that silver's next stop in the fiat endgame is $40, then $50, and so forth. Naturally, the price drop in silver caused gold to sell off too. And now that the CME accepts gold as collateral, we can't even visualize the reflexive loops that develop once the metal that is also a collateral currency becomes more and less valuable at the same time.

And while they are at it, the CME decided to remove some of the Uranium volatility by hiking maintenance and initial margins in Uranium Futures (UX) by about 50%.

From the CME:

This is certainly not the last margin increase - by the time this is all said and done, "speculators" will need to overfund cash positions to trade precious metals per executive directive.

Added on March 25, 2011, 8:25 am
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Mar 24 2011, 11:38 PM)
I still believe that SILVER/GOLD are now over-priced.

AAPL bounced back. Should be approaching 350$ soon.
zamans

No offence but many have told me that gold was over priced at

$450, $650, $850, $1,000, $1,250, now $1,400 biggrin.gif

If i had listened to any of them like some of my friends, i would
have lost out on 18% CAGR since 2002..............

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Mar 25 2011, 08:25 AM
prophetjul
post Mar 25 2011, 12:08 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Mar 25 2011, 09:39 AM)
Nah, none taken. Let me be clear - the recent run from 1375 to 1435 is over priced. Take a hint from the recent rundown during the Tsunami struck Nippon.

I do trade GOLD - physical or virtual. Silver as well, traded when it was only $7~8 and gold $400~700. That was 5-7 years back.
GOLD/SILVER trading now are purely speculation, as what OIL was 2 years back.

GOLD is added as a "safe heaven" for market uncertainties, but when comes to real world application, can you chopped off your gold bar and buy a kilo of rice? [Just a scenario].

Real world application is the CBs are buying gold eg China and Russia, etc. not just individuals

The rise in gold price is inverse to the demise of the USD.....thats been happening for the last 5 years...USD is projected to go lower

IF the TSHTF as it did in Zimbabwe, irather be holding gold than paper........

Gold a commodity or currency? hmm.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 25 2011, 10:11 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Mar 25 2011, 06:16 PM)
I'm not new to gold trading. Yes, it is co-relation to USD but don;t forget its also quoted in multi-currency and being fixed in London daily. Plus once US economy back on track, guess where will the GOLD price will be?
Yes, its quoted in other currencies but not affected by them like USD. Its only quoted.

Thats a BIG "iF" U.S economy gets back on track......by that time, many more QEs would have been
used and USD will be sunk....then guess where Gold price would be before THAT correction...

so far U.S economy has not shown much.....housing is still in the dumps....no sign of recovery

By IB Times Staff Reporter | March 23, 2011 6:31 PM GMT

Sales of single-family houses in the US fell unexpectedly in February, showing continued weakness in the housing industry recovery.

New home sales in the US fell 16. 9 percent to 250,000 in February compared with previous month, the US commerce department said on Wednesday. Markets had expected the new home sales to rise slightly to 288,000 in February.

The median price of new houses sold fell 8.9 percent to $202,100in February, recording the lowest level since December 2003.

The people in the US are finding it difficult to buy homes as the nation suffers from high unemployment rate and stricter lending norms, even though mortgage rates remain low.

Also, existing home sales in the US dropped 9.6 percent to 4.88 million in February, indicating an uneven recovery of the housing market, the National Association of Realtors said on Monday.

A report from the Commerce Department last week showed that the housing starts dropped 22.5 percent to a seasonally adjusted annual rate of 479,000 units in February, the biggest decline since March 1984. Also, new building permits, a measure of future construction, fell 8.2 percent to 517,000.

Jobs????

U.S. nonfarm payroll employment increased by 192,000 in February, and the unemployment rate was little changed at 8.9 percent, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reported on March 4. Job gains occurred in manufacturing, construction, professional and business services, health care, and transportation and warehousing.

The number of unemployed persons (13.7 million) and the unemployment rate (8.9 percent) changed little in February. The labor force was about unchanged over the month. The jobless rate was down by 0.9 percentage point since November 2010.

prophetjul
post Mar 28 2011, 11:14 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Mar 28 2011, 09:24 AM)
Open account with Just2trade.com, USD2.50 (yes, two dollars and cts fifty only). You will be saving $17.40 each trade.
Most of the shares are above $10? Come on man - that is plainly in correct.

Still good stocks below USD10 are : [These are all stocks that were profitable over the prior 12 months, with sales growth of at least 5% over the next three to five years and earnings expected to advance by at least a 10% annual clip]

zamans

Does Just2trade allow OTC stocks?
prophetjul
post Mar 28 2011, 12:21 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Mar 28 2011, 12:01 PM)
Yes. I traded once only. The charges for OTC is higher than normal stocks.
Entered WKLI. Waiting for buyers.. Never get any. Very risky.

http://finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=WKLI.OB...KLI.OB;range=3m
Ya. OTC depends very much on buyer/seller at the counters....sometimes they maybe missing! smile.gif

BUT there are many good OTC counters on the Precious metals making money.....catch a good one
may become a 20 bagger! nod.gif like my SLW....
They are just not yet under the radar of investors. However, they may be bought out by the Majors at
very good premiums because of their underground assets! nod.gif

'Most' are penny stocks..... Caveat Emptor! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Mar 28 2011, 12:21 PM
prophetjul
post Mar 28 2011, 12:51 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 28 2011, 12:44 PM)
get ready for the interest hike this year, honeymoon would be over then.
If Benny hikes interest, U.S will go into a tailspin.....
prophetjul
post Mar 31 2011, 07:50 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 31 2011, 07:33 AM)
Your mood changed completely from 1 week ago shakehead.gif
Thats what traders are! biggrin.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 1 2011, 09:40 AM

12,268 posts

Had a fast look at OTC stocks on Just2trade. They can cost you $175 just to register the certs! wow!

BTW for just2trade, do they charge $2.50 per trade? Ordinary trade?

TIA
prophetjul
post Apr 7 2011, 07:52 AM

12,268 posts

AGQ ROCKS!!! 14% in the last week alone!

rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 7 2011, 08:09 AM

12,268 posts

AND AG 22%!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Added on April 7, 2011, 8:10 amhttp://finance.yahoo.com/q/bc?t=5d&s=AG&l=on&z=l&q=l&c=agq

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Apr 7 2011, 08:10 AM
prophetjul
post Apr 8 2011, 07:37 AM

12,268 posts

i have a core position of stocks which i believe will rise meteorically with the precious metals.

Out of these core positions, i trade approx the higher beta ones which usually have big shorters. These ones tend to have good short cyclic moves for trading. These amount to approx 35 to 40% of the total.

Case in point SLW....held on since 2008....a 13 bagger.....a buy and hold
stock

http://finance.yahoo.com/q/bc?s=SLW&t=5y&l=on&z=l&q=l&c=

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Apr 8 2011, 07:39 AM
prophetjul
post Apr 8 2011, 09:25 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Apr 8 2011, 08:26 AM)
Okay, fair enough. Now, let's share the coming good stocks that will make a handsome returns. Share it with us over here.

Added on April 8, 2011, 8:34 am

Not really a fair comment. As you already know, commodities holds a better for this few years than other stocks.
To put up a showcase, I can say :
2008 LVS 81, now 45
2007 S (Sprint) 19 now 4
2007 EK was 26 now 3
2007 GOOG 700 now 580
2007 AIG 1245 now 35
2008 C 45, now 4
2008 AAPL 145, now 340

That are some of the examples. So, you can see by yourself. The words BUY and HOLD is not longer valid for overall market. This is not my words, but from FUND MANAGERS who managed over 20 billions $.
Whats the fundamentals of these companies?

Those that i hold long term have very solid fundamentals. In SLWs case i believed in PMs since 2002.
If you look at the chart, SLW was $3 in 05....ended $2 in 08 and now $45. Even if you held from 05, you still have
a 13 bagger....fundamentals. If silver fundamentals changed, i would sell SLW....but till then....its a CASH MOO

GOOG is just a spec play..fried up by the analysts....remembered it was worth an oz of gold at around $450, ithink. We were betting whether
to hold GOOG or an oz of gold... biggrin.gif

AIG and C i guess yiou know......never really liked finance cos after seeing U.S finance in 2000s. i sold ALL my HBC in 07 and planted into precious metals. i have been holding HBC since Tiananmen...... biggrin.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:54 PM