Discussion How to play football, In real life

TSbigbangformula
post Jul 1 2010, 03:41 PM, updated 16y ago

1,872 posts

Hi guys yesterday evening I played football in a field..and I realize I suck at it doh.gif

Are there any tips on how to get started?I rarely play football,but now I have an interest in it,so what do I need to get started?Do I really need a pair of football boots or will a sports shoe be enough?

And also,any place on the Internet where I can learn football from?

Thanks guys.

nimrod2
post Jul 1 2010, 04:11 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

erm assuming u have decent fitness, u just need to play with the ball and get as much exposure from games.

and yes i believe you do need a decent pair of football boots.
Angel of Deth
post Jul 1 2010, 04:15 PM

1,242 posts

as time goes by you will master it. At first you must know how to kick the ball. Then you must learn how to control the ball. I believe if you play it frequently you will learn it. And good stamina might help too. Maybe Youtube have tips for beginner.
Belphegor
post Jul 1 2010, 04:26 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

If you playing a football scale size field, jog like 4 rounds before you start kicking the ball. Make your body "ready" to run and such. About kicking, can't really tell. Like what AoDeth said, watch youtube for more on skill and kicking technique.
Makakeke
post Jul 1 2010, 04:49 PM

310 posts

Watch more football, play more football. Eventually, you'll get it.
miketee
post Jul 1 2010, 04:54 PM

483 posts

Easiest way is to just keep it simple. Get the ball, pass. Get the ball, pass. No point keeping and trying to run with it.
goldfries
post Jul 1 2010, 04:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Jul 1 2010, 03:41 PM)
Hi guys yesterday evening I played football in a field..and I realize I suck at it  doh.gif

Are there any tips on how to get started?I rarely play football,but now I have an interest in it,so what do I need to get started?Do I really need a pair of football boots or will a sports shoe be enough?

And also,any place on the Internet where I can learn football from?

Thanks guys.

get a decent pair of boots. umbro, diadora, power whatever...........

no need expensive one is fine.

as long as there are studs at the bottom.

DO NOT WEAR your usual running shoes with thick based and whatever you use for jogging. they're heavier and they don't have grip as proper football shoes. not wearing proper shoes could land you in trouble when you lose grip when running on wet grass.

not everyone good at every role. commonly you'll learn how to pass first. those like kicking the ball really far or dribbling, well they'll come later.

suppose if you lack stamina and all, perhaps you start off by playing as defender.

the thing about football is that it's not just about kicking the ball around. it's amount communicating with team mates and learn to mark opposing team players. learn to intercept, plan their move. spoil their attack. then pass the ball back to your midfield or other defenders that are clear. balblablablal.

find people to play with. if the group of people are all 20 (10 from each side, GKs not including) are running like headless chicken chasing a ball ............. wrong group. LOL. if you watch football, you'll see less than 5 people are going for the ball at one time, commonly just 2.

Added on July 1, 2010, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(miketee @ Jul 1 2010, 04:54 PM)
Easiest way is to just keep it simple. Get the ball, pass. Get the ball, pass. No point keeping and trying to run with it.
passing is the way to go. dribble is tricky for newbie, considering it's high speed running / sprinting with the ball at your feet. usually the people who dribble would be midfielder / winger / forward.

arroyos
post Jul 1 2010, 05:05 PM

408 posts

QUOTE(miketee @ Jul 1 2010, 04:54 PM)
true enough, mike...

i would say 'bond' well with the ball..play regularly and just matter of time u will able to control the ball and the game well.

This post has been edited by arroyos: Jul 1 2010, 05:05 PM
jaclynjac
post Jul 1 2010, 05:12 PM

297 posts

just use your leg to kick .. nod.gif
madfag
post Jul 1 2010, 05:59 PM

the Legend.
564 posts

i dont know about football but when i first started playing futsal, i dont know nuts too. you'll definitely need a pair of football boots.

a sports background helps with running around too.

as many have said, in order to get better, play more. it worked for me, although i still suck, but at least i was better than i was before.
goldfries
post Jul 1 2010, 06:06 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(jaclynjac @ Jul 1 2010, 05:12 PM)
just use your leg to kick .. nod.gif
well you people if don't understand FOOTBALL then please don't come spam with stupid replies like that.

chase ball, use leg kick. WTH!?! you guys think it's so simple ah?

it's very common to see ladies remark "so many people on the field chasing one ball, so stupid. donno why men like football". LOL.

so please, let's not spam with stupid (and obvious) reply. even TS knows use leg kick laaaaa, need you people to tell some more.

Added on July 1, 2010, 6:07 pm
QUOTE(madfag @ Jul 1 2010, 05:59 PM)
i dont know about football but when i first started playing futsal, i dont know nuts too. you'll definitely need a pair of football boots.

a sports background helps with running around too.

as many have said, in order to get better, play more. it worked for me, although i still suck, but at least i was better than i was before.
futsal and football uses same concept but the game is DIFFERENT in many ways.

please don't ever think that a person good in futsal = good in football, no it doesn't work that way.

number of players also different, arena size also different. a lot of things different.

TSbigbangformula
post Jul 1 2010, 06:34 PM

1,872 posts

I see,but can I play without shoes as in barefooted on the field?I don't really play on the whole field,just a small part of the field..but the surface is still the grass
goldfries
post Jul 1 2010, 06:44 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

if you talking about random bring ball to taman to kick then of course la. biggrin.gif but better you wear shoes la, M'sians are litterbugs. everything simply through. later you kena cut how?

if got dog eat sharp stuff and shit out at the field you also kena liao. then susah have to do treatment / medication, then you be in pain. why suffer la?

shoe also cheap one how much, RM 50 - 80 can get liao. fung kiong or donno what brand cheap cheap only. better than nothing.
waiken999
post Jul 1 2010, 07:02 PM

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Jul 1 2010, 06:34 PM)
I see,but can I play without shoes as in barefooted on the field?I don't really play on the whole field,just a small part of the field..but the surface is still the grass
wearing a pair of shoes is definitely better as it provides protection to ur legs .. and the feeling is different. Different type of boots provide different grip and feel towards the leg and ball =D

I've been in soccer for several years and got to say, Your basics are very very important, such as controls of the BALL and the feeling of it.
It required hard work of cause, training training and training. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

If possible u might get a soccer player to teach you the basics of how to pass the ball, cushioning the ball and so on like shooting dribbling is the next level. =D

and oh yea! watching soccer clips help alot too ! At least u know bit about the moves or the style/way of it ^^

Good luck bro! Viva Soccer!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by waiken999: Jul 1 2010, 07:03 PM
lingloong
post Jul 1 2010, 07:08 PM

# Noob In Trading #
1,256 posts

Football / Futsal is not the sport you can learn in 1-2 days. Easiest way to learn is to start playing everyday, get some football knowledge from your football friend and the most important is passion for this game. Tips from surrounding friend/footballer is a massive bonus, you can learn how to kick, pass, shoot and control the ball.

Maybe you should start with Futsal, the surface is more flat and ball are easier to control. Some field do have rough terrain and you need proper shoes for it. With a pair of jogging shoes, you might slip easily, ground tracking is zero and you don't get the proper balance when running, passing or shooting.

Love the game, you'll find it is the best sport on earth ever invented thumbup.gif

*Sorry for my bad english tongue.gif

ericling
post Jul 1 2010, 08:02 PM

323 posts

I love football but I suck on it. sad.gif
I always play barefoot in my school since my school pitch is all MUD.
I feel Left Back is my best position.

My advise is play more, train more, get confidence laugh.gif
If you play with pros, try passing first?
Or if you play with those players who same level with you, I think dribble is good to start and prove smile.gif

chester_85
post Jul 2 2010, 05:54 PM

214 posts

Juggle ball also will help in improving your touches and control.
FLampard
post Jul 2 2010, 11:23 PM

590 posts

eh u created this thread?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1476063/+60

??

i replied, on last page, hope u saw my reply.

Added on July 2, 2010, 11:25 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 1 2010, 06:06 PM)
\

please don't ever think that a person good in futsal = good in football, no it doesn't work that way.

n\

but ppl who have futsal basics can master football faster and better. = )

This post has been edited by FLampard: Jul 2 2010, 11:25 PM
Federer
post Jul 3 2010, 06:02 AM

290 posts

if u r really suck n have no confidence, here's the tips.if u play defend, clear it as fast as u can.u see ball comin, u kick to the front.
If u play striker/front, just shoot toward the goal as soon as u got the ball.
when u get used to it then u can make progress slowly...watch teammates then pass.
Not a good advice but at least u can contribute to ur team rather than let the ball get stolen away, unless u have times to do proper practices, i bet u dont.
AwaN87
post Jul 5 2010, 02:44 PM

272 posts

The TS remind some of me back then.. hahaha.. I'm known as 'kaki bangku'
until the end of secondary high school..

In a mean time b4 waiting any college entry, i've play EVERY evening even though i suck at it.. **i mean really suck that time..

and lastly, i've fell in love with this game until now.. biggrin.gif

well, good luck to TS smile.gif

This post has been edited by AwaN87: Jul 5 2010, 02:45 PM

0.0210sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:00 PM