QUOTE(Pai @ Jul 1 2010, 04:45 PM)
Hi KoNpHuSeD,
Care to explain (perhaps with formula) how does one derive the following :
1. Capitalisation rate 8%
2. ROI 15%?
Btw, Australia property not good anymore? Plenty of Malaysians now "invest" in Autralia and NZ props...... so your case is a bit diff

Australia & NZ can be consider overpriced now for an average joe in Australia to get about. Its a real estate that is based on this : Negative Gearing. Its wise if you went in the right time, not at when everything is high & one pay thru the nose just to live well.
QUOTE(rakyat @ Jul 1 2010, 05:59 PM)
If you read Renesial Leong's books, she advised not to buy properties in far away places/ foreign land. She did relate how the agent cheated her rental on her property in Melbourne. If Aussie agent oso so snaky, M'sian want would oso likely do the same.
BTW RM500k property targeting students is not a good idea; most likely target young middle class couples as you need at least RM3.5k rental to cover your installment and maintaince fees.
BBB = Buy,Buy,Buy; cf = certificate of fitness
Its not just Aussie had such, maybe you can consider Dubai? How about the price fell off after the GFC?
You got to filter the agents well before organise them to do such task for you. some can be trusted & work with you but some are manipulative.
Isnt it?
QUOTE(KoNpHuSeD @ Jul 1 2010, 10:23 PM)
@Pai: sure thing. Capitalization Rate = Net operating income (NOI) / value of the property
ROI = (Gain from investment - cost of investment) / cost of investment
From what I've heard, most Asians who buy in Australia plan to live here. Property market here is mostly captial appreciation and it is costly.
@rakyat: yes I remember that part of the book. That is one of my concerns as I will rely on a property agent to look after the property so I have to create controls in place to ensure this is unlikely to happen. Luckily I have someone in Singapore who can check on the property.
Yea, the new law change means I can no longer target students. Thanks for the advice about couples. Any ideas on the areas where most couples rent?
Lastly, thanks for the clarification on the abbreviations!

I do agree with you that Australia property is seriously costly. Average Joe know the real price, once the bubble pop; all go down too.
to invest in Msia is little high, govt ruling set the price you should invest. which mean got to be big bungalow, high end apartment, big land parcel...which the down grade is cost of maintenance, will be pricey too. Not just that;
high end property usually dont appreciate much, its the low cost, medium cost that appreciate much than high cost ones.
high cost will appreciate only when most Msian earning power are the same like Australian & cost of living is low.
right now, I think SG is still the market to be as Asia will be next powerhouse of worlds economy.
This post has been edited by KVReninem: Jul 1 2010, 10:07 PM