Foreigner buying property in Malaysia, Please help me choose what to buy

TSKoNpHuSeD
post Jul 1 2010, 01:35 PM, updated 16y ago

Hi everyone,

I live in Australia and this month I'll be travelling to KL, Malaysia with the intention to buy an investment property in Selangor. I'm not Malaysian and this will be my first property purchase. Some international property books say Malaysia is the best emerging economy to invest in. I have read two of Renesial Leong's Property Jewels books.

Initially I was looking at targeting student accommodation in Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya or Subang Jaya, but this year the government changed the purchase price for foreigners to a RM500,000 minimum.

I'm looking for positive cash flow properties with:
* a capitalisation rate of 8%
* a return on investment of 15%
* an occupancy rate of 80%

In taking a tenant targeted approach, could anyone please advise me on:
1. Target tenants I should be looking for given the minimum purchase price of RM500,000? E.g. expats, office workers, etc.
2. The type of property those tenants usually rent, e.g. apartment, semi-detached, etc.
3. The areas those tenants are abundant, e.g. Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya...

I would really appreciate your input and thank you in advance for your help. biggrin.gif
And please explain any abbreviations used, e.g. bbb, cf, etc (I have no idea what they mean)

Pai
post Jul 1 2010, 03:45 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

Hi KoNpHuSeD,

Care to explain (perhaps with formula) how does one derive the following :

1. Capitalisation rate 8%
2. ROI 15%?

Btw, Australia property not good anymore? Plenty of Malaysians now "invest" in Autralia and NZ props...... so your case is a bit diff tongue.gif
rakyat
post Jul 1 2010, 04:59 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(KoNpHuSeD @ Jul 1 2010, 01:35 PM)
Hi everyone,

I live in Australia and this month I'll be travelling to KL, Malaysia with the intention to buy an investment property in Selangor.  I'm not Malaysian and this will be my first property purchase.  Some international property books say Malaysia is the best emerging economy to invest in.  I have read two of Renesial Leong's Property Jewels books.

Initially I was looking at targeting student accommodation in Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya or Subang Jaya, but this year the government changed the purchase price for foreigners to a RM500,000 minimum.

I'm looking for positive cash flow properties with:
* a capitalisation rate of 8%
* a return on investment of 15%
* an occupancy rate of 80%

In taking a tenant targeted approach, could anyone please advise me on:
1. Target tenants I should be looking for given the minimum purchase price of RM500,000?  E.g. expats, office workers, etc. 
2. The type of property those tenants usually rent, e.g. apartment, semi-detached, etc.
3. The areas those tenants are abundant, e.g. Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya...

I would really appreciate your input and thank you in advance for your help.  biggrin.gif
And please explain any abbreviations used, e.g. bbb, cf, etc (I have no idea what they mean)
If you read Renesial Leong's books, she advised not to buy properties in far away places/ foreign land. She did relate how the agent cheated her rental on her property in Melbourne. If Aussie agent oso so snaky, M'sian want would oso likely do the same.

BTW RM500k property targeting students is not a good idea; most likely target young middle class couples as you need at least RM3.5k rental to cover your installment and maintaince fees.

BBB = Buy,Buy,Buy; cf = certificate of fitness
TSKoNpHuSeD
post Jul 1 2010, 09:23 PM

@Pai: sure thing. Capitalization Rate = Net operating income (NOI) / value of the property
ROI = (Gain from investment - cost of investment) / cost of investment

From what I've heard, most Asians who buy in Australia plan to live here. Property market here is mostly captial appreciation and it is costly.

@rakyat: yes I remember that part of the book. That is one of my concerns as I will rely on a property agent to look after the property so I have to create controls in place to ensure this is unlikely to happen. Luckily I have someone in Singapore who can check on the property.

Yea, the new law change means I can no longer target students. Thanks for the advice about couples. Any ideas on the areas where most couples rent?
Lastly, thanks for the clarification on the abbreviations! smile.gif
KVReninem
post Jul 1 2010, 10:02 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Jul 1 2010, 04:45 PM)
Hi KoNpHuSeD,

Care to explain (perhaps with formula) how does one derive the following :

1. Capitalisation rate 8%
2. ROI 15%?

Btw, Australia property not good anymore? Plenty of Malaysians now "invest" in Autralia and NZ props...... so your case is a bit diff tongue.gif
Australia & NZ can be consider overpriced now for an average joe in Australia to get about. Its a real estate that is based on this : Negative Gearing. Its wise if you went in the right time, not at when everything is high & one pay thru the nose just to live well.

QUOTE(rakyat @ Jul 1 2010, 05:59 PM)
If you read Renesial Leong's books, she advised not to buy properties in far away places/ foreign land. She did relate how the agent  cheated her rental on her property in Melbourne. If Aussie agent oso so snaky, M'sian want would oso likely do the same.

BTW RM500k property targeting students is not a good idea; most likely target young middle class couples as you need at least RM3.5k rental to cover your installment and maintaince fees.

BBB = Buy,Buy,Buy; cf = certificate of fitness
Its not just Aussie had such, maybe you can consider Dubai? How about the price fell off after the GFC?
You got to filter the agents well before organise them to do such task for you. some can be trusted & work with you but some are manipulative.
Isnt it? icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(KoNpHuSeD @ Jul 1 2010, 10:23 PM)
@Pai: sure thing.  Capitalization Rate = Net operating income (NOI) / value of the property

From what I've heard, most Asians who buy in Australia plan to live here.  Property market here is mostly captial appreciation and it is costly.
@rakyat: yes I remember that part of the book.  That is one of my concerns as I will rely on a property agent to look after the property so I have to create controls in place to ensure this is unlikely to happen.  Luckily I have someone in Singapore who can check on the property.

Yea, the new law change means I can no longer target students.  Thanks for the advice about couples.  Any ideas on the areas where most couples rent?
Lastly, thanks for the clarification on the abbreviations!  smile.gif
I do agree with you that Australia property is seriously costly. Average Joe know the real price, once the bubble pop; all go down too.
to invest in Msia is little high, govt ruling set the price you should invest. which mean got to be big bungalow, high end apartment, big land parcel...which the down grade is cost of maintenance, will be pricey too. Not just that;
high end property usually dont appreciate much, its the low cost, medium cost that appreciate much than high cost ones.

high cost will appreciate only when most Msian earning power are the same like Australian & cost of living is low.
right now, I think SG is still the market to be as Asia will be next powerhouse of worlds economy.

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Jul 1 2010, 10:07 PM
adilee
post Jul 2 2010, 01:30 AM

59 posts

I think you have to apply for MM2H also lo...i mean Malaysia My 2nd Home...i'm working with HSBC, mayb can share more on this...
rakyat
post Jul 2 2010, 09:36 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(KoNpHuSeD @ Jul 1 2010, 09:23 PM)
@Pai: sure thing.  Capitalization Rate = Net operating income (NOI) / value of the property

From what I've heard, most Asians who buy in Australia plan to live here.  Property market here is mostly captial appreciation and it is costly.
@rakyat: yes I remember that part of the book.  That is one of my concerns as I will rely on a property agent to look after the property so I have to create controls in place to ensure this is unlikely to happen.  Luckily I have someone in Singapore who can check on the property.

Yea, the new law change means I can no longer target students.  Thanks for the advice about couples.  Any ideas on the areas where most couples rent?
Lastly, thanks for the clarification on the abbreviations!  smile.gif
Not so much to live there.... Most M'sian & S'pore buy property in Aus as a EZ way to get PR (via capital investment) since there are already too many chinese restaurants tongue.gif

Look into KL citycentre - Changkat Raja Chulan looks vibrant and price is not too high, new launches in KL Sentral or mayb Mid-Valley area.

Personally I think KLCC & MK areas are expensive and overcrowded.

OTH with the crazy prices these days, RM500k might not be able to get unless studio sweat.gif
scorgio
post Jul 2 2010, 11:29 PM

4,696 posts

RM500k property with 15% ROI ?
That's equivalent to RM6250 of rental monthly AT LEAST.
Is there such a 'kang tao' in M'sia now?

flight
post Jul 3 2010, 01:28 AM

1,567 posts

sorry, in Malaysia currently there these sort of properties are very rare, the prices of apartments in the last 3~4 years have been increasing really fast and generally any sort of high yielding property is taken up very quickly or prices rise to match the yield. Your probably only going to get a ROI of maybe 7~8% here, and that would be considered good.

Moreever a lot of the properties right now are out of the reach for the average worker in Malaysia. Even if I found one I would probably put my own money down for it.
xwhizx
post Jul 3 2010, 11:40 AM

135 posts

If you want, I could get you a Seri Condo Titiwangsa.. 5-10mins to KLCC.
Its a very exclusive condo. 9-storey condo. Thanks
KVReninem
post Jul 5 2010, 01:21 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(adilee @ Jul 2 2010, 02:30 AM)
I think you have to apply for MM2H also lo...i mean Malaysia My 2nd Home...i'm working with HSBC, mayb can share more on this...
MM2H scheme is a little like daylight robbery isn't it? A scheme prop up to lure back investor to live with us..but living in high end property that doesn't appreciate much at high price.unless govt do clean up their construction, architecture, planning n real estate legislation.

Our legislation & planning still messy, foreigner like planned & well know of their rights
Nt just the beautiful msia all about from food to culture...
TSKoNpHuSeD
post Jul 8 2010, 11:46 AM

Thanks for all the replies. I'd been busy and hadn't been able to check back here until now. MM2H is a great scheme if I wish to live in MY, but I don't, and you need a lot of capital.

Sad to hear that I'll be looking to halve my intended ROI of 15% to 8%. I guess I'll be restricted to look for motivated sellers!

Any more ideas on target tenants and areas for my price range?

I read a MY property article saying that the best areas to buy in are the low end and the high end. The volume traded in the middle range isn't as high. Where does RM500,000 fit in this range?

This post has been edited by KoNpHuSeD: Jul 8 2010, 11:58 AM
lim_seng2000
post Jul 8 2010, 06:06 PM

20 posts

Hi Konphused,

please check on my post http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1483674. Is good for investment. The unit is at kota damansara next to segi university and sri kdu. With estimated 9200 student. Check it out
TSKoNpHuSeD
post Jul 10 2010, 06:50 PM

thanks for that, though I'm looking for completed properties.

0.0201sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:52 PM