A.C.Ryan | Playon!HD v3, FullHD Network Mediaplay, Sharing some of the information

soulquarianz
post Jul 1 2010, 11:14 AM

556 posts

he must have press the button 3 times...hehe

anyway welcome to new home !

anyway ngto have you register for the coming event?

This post has been edited by soulquarianz: Jul 1 2010, 11:16 AM
soulquarianz
post Jul 3 2010, 11:02 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(accitzone @ Jul 3 2010, 08:48 PM)
got my playon big + 2TB hdd. thing is, on booting, always got this [format hdd] option .. i got 2TBs of movies, hv to always click [cancel].

n cant seem to connect to torrent download, my playon is wired to the wireless adsl modem tho.
i think when u first u got HDD u didnt format it with pohd. if not i guess u need to redo it (format using pohd) or theres an option (go to acryan forum - how to section), how to create partition etc.

if possible try to format using firmware 1402 because with this samba and bt is automatically installed in the HDD. whereas later version of firmware 2388 and above, u need to install the additional service pack in order for you to use bt and browse your pohd in your network.

currently i have 2tb samsung install at the pohd formatted with 2901 so everytime (basically i like to toy around with the firmware) i update pohd firmware i need to reinstall the additional service pack whereas my other 1.5 which i format using 1402 firmware i dont have to install the service pack.

currently the best firmware i'm using in my environment is 3875.

p/s: careful when turning on your pohd if u didnt format it using pohd coz like ngto said one day u might accidently deleted (format) your hdd.

soulquarianz
post Jul 5 2010, 03:40 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(accitzone @ Jul 4 2010, 08:46 AM)
act the 2TB HDD was preppd by my playon seller. playon + samsung 2TB + 200++HD Movies, mix of mkv, BD ISO.... got it for rm940.

yuo found the solution @ playon firum, hv to slave the playon with a oc n partition magic. m currently out of town nao... just hv time to watch the preinstalld HD movues, no time to fiddle yet.... thts y torrent oso not working... bt overall veli satisfied. used to hookd up my laptop to the tv, nao hv  playon,....
ok share with us the outcome.....if too troublesome...reformat using pohd is only choice....
soulquarianz
post Jul 7 2010, 02:36 PM

556 posts

hi anybody interested to get a used POHD big comes with Compatible Wireless Dongle? if so kindly PM me as i want to let go mine....comes with official firmware 3875.

p/s: i'm jumping ship to other media player.....
soulquarianz
post Jul 8 2010, 10:22 AM

556 posts

i'm already confirm and registered as participant ! u better send yours now coz seat is limited !
soulquarianz
post Jul 8 2010, 02:34 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jul 8 2010, 12:02 PM)
Getting the Dune 3 I presume ?
that one too high end...cant afford.......

after all "why pay more" eheheh...

i'm just waiting for confirmation of HD supported Firmware only...before switching...

soulquarianz
post Jul 9 2010, 08:32 AM

556 posts

QUOTE(hdwarexpert @ Jul 8 2010, 08:47 PM)
I know you are going to get Xtreamer!!! Go for Pro or Sidewinder? brows.gif  Semua pun ada kat saya sini..... drool.gif
i'm getting Pro but i have already made my reservation with Boxbuilder. thanks for the offer

Added on July 9, 2010, 8:36 am
QUOTE(Elanges @ Jul 8 2010, 10:38 PM)
guys e my my friend bought this player 2 days back, today he try to update the firmware and sudenly sometin hapen and now his player doesnt start it seems, im woried briced or someting? can some1 help me pls
taken from acryan how to section

Follow the instructions below to update your Firmware for the Playon!HD:

Standard updating of firmware

1. Download the latest firmware from our download section or our latest beta version from our forums.
2. Unzip your downloaded zip onto an empty USB stick. Make sure that the files within the zip are unzipped within the root of the USB stick.
3. Put your USB stick into one of the USB ports of the Playon!HD.
4. Startup your Playon!HD if it not already on.
5. In the menu, go to Setup, choose System, then go to System Update and select the option System Upgrade.
6. Your Firmware Update will now be progressed. Do not shup down your Playon!HD while the Playon!HD is processing your Firmware Update. The Playon!HD will reboot automatically.
7. After the Playon!HD has rebooted, your new Firmware is installed.

If you are unable to access your main menu, please proceed as follows (this also installs the extensions):

Safe-Mode Reflash

1. Download the latest firmware from our download section or our latest beta version from our forums, also download the extensions.
2. Unzip your downloaded zips onto an empty USB stick. Make sure that the files within the zips are unzipped within the root of the USB stick.
3. Disconnect the power cable from the Playon!HD.
4. Put your USB stick into one of the USB ports of the Playon!HD.
5. Push the power button and hold it pushed.
6. Connect your power cable again.
7. Hold the power button pushed until you get a screen which says that the firmware is updating.
8. Do not release the power button between the time of connecting the power cable and the appearing of the screen.
9. After firmware update the Playon!HD will reboot itself, with the extensions installed and you're done.

hope this helps

This post has been edited by soulquarianz: Jul 9 2010, 08:36 AM
soulquarianz
post Jul 9 2010, 11:04 AM

556 posts

QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ Jul 9 2010, 10:09 AM)
Hi Bro, u really a sifu now. Thanks for your info. Remember bring your 2 friends to join the Playon!HD Workshop ya. A lot of surprise.
i'm not sifulah but i do acknowledge that i play around with pohd. in fact i have tested almost 95% in the acryan how to section (from tweaking speed to enabling service) hehehe....just to get the best out of it.

soulquarianz
post Jul 9 2010, 11:40 AM

556 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Jul 9 2010, 11:29 AM)
So, what is the more stable firmware up to date?
the best firmware in my setup currently is 3875.

soulquarianz
post Jul 12 2010, 03:35 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Jul 12 2010, 11:26 AM)
my current firmware is way old back..... few generations behind.

I should not have any concern to jump directly to 3875 right?
yes. but if the internal HDD is formatted with later version 2388 then u might need to reinstall the additional service pack.

p/s: to be safe please unplug your internal HDD prior to flashing / upgrading / downgrading firmware.

Added on July 12, 2010, 3:43 pm
QUOTE(zirconia @ Jul 12 2010, 12:11 PM)
Hi all,
I need some clarification regarding POHD connectivity with home theater setup (I'm thinking of getting Sony DAV-DZ610)

Which 5.1 surround sound quality is better? between HDMI vs optical connection? I'll be streaming .mkv movies

Is my setup below correct?

if you using HDMI then u dont need to use the optical link. HDMI will carry both audio and video.

then in pohd under setup / audio u need to set HDMI RAW.

This post has been edited by soulquarianz: Jul 12 2010, 03:43 PM
soulquarianz
post Jul 13 2010, 08:52 AM

556 posts

QUOTE(zirconia @ Jul 12 2010, 04:35 PM)
@soulquarianz
But without optical, how can the AVR separate the sound channels? The only HDMI connection into the amp is from TV, not the POHD itself..
bro, sorry your HTIB is not capable of handling 5.1 from pohd. it will downmix to 2 channel stereo. i just ran thru the manual. suggest u get proper AVR to do this like most of us.

Added on July 13, 2010, 8:56 am
QUOTE(putih @ Jul 12 2010, 11:45 PM)
duh! smile.gif  Better connect your POHD HDMI to AVR ... AVR to TV. And try to understand HT 101 basics. It's very simple actually ...
agreed. look for 2nd hand AVR that can do DTS and Dolby decoding only unless u got a newer chip of pohd then get a HD capabilites AVR .

This post has been edited by soulquarianz: Jul 14 2010, 10:07 AM
soulquarianz
post Jul 14 2010, 10:08 AM

556 posts

goodbye POHD !

good product after serving me close to 10 months

sad to say goodbye but i'm jumping to another product ! same realtek chipset but advance version that support hd sound.

adios !
soulquarianz
post Jul 14 2010, 02:19 PM

556 posts

Echo and la soul,

i'm now sailing with Xtreamer Pro tongue.gif
soulquarianz
post Jul 14 2010, 04:37 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(osrisis @ Jul 14 2010, 02:25 PM)
What is the benefit of xtreamer pro compare to POHD?
Pro can host 2HDD, pohd only 1 HDD.
soulquarianz
post Jul 15 2010, 08:23 AM

556 posts

QUOTE(kapultek @ Jul 14 2010, 11:32 PM)
Just cod pohd with soul this evening..nice seller
nice dealing with you bro...hope u like it. if u need any help or assistance feel free to PM me.

This post has been edited by soulquarianz: Jul 15 2010, 08:23 AM
soulquarianz
post Jul 23 2010, 08:54 AM

556 posts

if not mistaken anything DTS-XX (MA/ES/HD) will be downmix to core DTS. Older generation of AVR should be able to pick it up.

Unless u want full HD sound then u need a newer chip POHD (wait for firmware) and AVR that support full DTS-HD and TrueHD
soulquarianz
post Jul 27 2010, 10:33 AM

556 posts

errk so whose coming for the workshop?

i got 1 extra seat !!! hehehe
soulquarianz
post Jul 27 2010, 11:26 AM

556 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jul 27 2010, 10:56 AM)
Count me out. Since must submit questions for preview , I pesume can't ask direct questions about HD Audio, no point going. Will be jumping ship soon anyway like you smile.gif
errk...i didnt submit anythinglah...specially qs to boxbuilder...perhaps..just go there and later when open qs to floor straight run to the nearest microphone and shot the qs ! heheh....actually i got few in mind but dont wanna share....maybe better ask him in person !

if u have anything on mind pls PM me so i can compile with my qs.....

anyway u r always welcome to sail with me...but if u got extra i suggest u go for dune prime....

This post has been edited by soulquarianz: Jul 27 2010, 11:26 AM
soulquarianz
post Jul 27 2010, 02:36 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jul 27 2010, 11:47 AM)
Because Dune 3.0 Base selling at KLAV show around RM950/- almost reaching  BD1 price smile.gif

Added on July 27, 2010, 12:08 pm
If you read the inivitation details you will unnderstand smile.gif

Dear Value Friends:
PlayOn!HD Workshop will be on 31st July 2010, at Federal Ball Room from 2:00pm to 5:00pm. A lot of goodies are waiting for you to grab. Limited to 80 seat only. Register is required and opened for all value customers. Pls email us your personal details and we will reply to you to confirm or reject. Email: info@boxbuilder.com.my
We will invite Mr. Larry Yeo and Eugene both from ACRyan Asia Pacific HQ to give u a talk regarding their plans and technical issue solving. Pls email us your questions and we will pick those most common and interesting problems feed back to Eugene. Let him got time to prepare the answers ya.

Lucky Draw: 1 unit PlayOn!DVR is sponsored by A.C.Ryan Asia Pacific as first prize. It could be yours.

Cheers!
yes if i had money i rather go for Dune then BDX specially PRIME which can play real BD Disc

Bro, maybe i gonna ask the qs after the event like maybe during tea break. but if eugene indeed going to give some sort of presentation i'm sure he gonna answer some qs from the audience...maybe thats the right time to ask also. Not losing anything also coz i only EX customer hehehe.....if cannot ask also nevermind lor just enjoy the seminar (specially the food) and make new friends....

so when u jumping ship? or u sinking with it?
soulquarianz
post Jul 30 2010, 09:24 AM

556 posts

come with me as an ex customer heheh.....

0.0234sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:30 PM