July 2010 Desktops

V3nz
post Jul 3 2010, 12:38 PM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jul 2 2010, 03:57 AM)
Pretty much the same as my setup from past months, with small changes like animated scrolling text on wallpaper (scroll speed is dependent on cpu load), tweaked Pidgin layout (top left) with custom status icons, GTK tweaks and some other boring changes aimed at bringing consistency/usability to late night use.

Thw wallie is sick! rclxm9.gif

share it pls tongue.gif

This post has been edited by V3nz: Jul 3 2010, 12:38 PM
V3nz
post Jul 3 2010, 10:28 PM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jul 3 2010, 09:40 PM)
But people in Hollywood all have their own face (highly photoshopped) as their wallpapers, so that they can stare at themselves all day.
I obviously don't qualify for Hollywood  sad.gif  tongue.gif
Sorry mate, I'm pretty decent at photography and vector related stuff, but I'm totally crap at anything video related (I'm the type of idiot who only found out about ffmpeg 3 yrs ago) >__<
I tried making a screencast with an earlier setup, but it was terrible looking at full screen. The computer I'm using for all this customizing is basically my "experimentation" rig, which I mostly use for distro hopping, theming and Linux/BSD/Open Source software development, so I don't really have most relevant codecs for video editing and stuff like that.
Here's a small, extremely crappy screencast for now = http://omploader.org/vNHRvaA/11.ogg
It horrible framerate doesn't really do the thing justice (my actual desktop is very smooth on this quad core), and I'll try making a better one later if I can.
Sorry >_<
Uhm, my wallpaper in that shot is actually just plane blue. The live scrolling text is actually handled by a hidden script. I have no idea how people actually make all those animated type .gif wallies sad.gif
If you want, I can screencap my current backdrop for you, but that will only produce a static image and the text won't scroll down. Want? smile.gif
Want!Want!Want! rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif
V3nz
post Jul 4 2010, 04:41 PM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jul 4 2010, 12:37 AM)
@V3nz

Made 2 versions for you... different contrast and different font for each.
1600x900 only for now... if you want bigger, I'll have to go make em on my other desktop.
this too awesome!!! rclxm9.gif

yeah,can do a bigger version?i want 1920x1080 one,hehe! tongue.gif

take your time anyway icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by V3nz: Jul 4 2010, 04:47 PM
V3nz
post Jul 6 2010, 03:52 PM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jul 6 2010, 03:44 PM)
Sorry for the lateness, currently away from home and stuck with the netbook.
Interpolated it for you = http://omploader.org/vNHVtcw
Will make better one when I get home.

Dun worry,take your time

that reso is for my not-yet-reach lcd one sweat.gif tongue.gif

Added on July 6, 2010, 3:55 pm
QUOTE(outlife11 @ Jul 6 2010, 02:57 PM)

don know what to mod  brows.gif
Cool man,wat software are you using?? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by V3nz: Jul 7 2010, 01:05 AM
V3nz
post Jul 7 2010, 01:06 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(outlife11 @ Jul 6 2010, 07:49 PM)
rainmeter n stardock

Added on July 6, 2010, 7:49 pm

check pm brows.gif
can give some link?

i mean exactly what rainmeter ae you using?

there is so many raimeter stuff out there
V3nz
post Jul 8 2010, 12:24 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(cmgan72 @ Jul 7 2010, 08:27 PM)
hi guys. this is mine.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
nice wallie,share2? brows.gif
V3nz
post Jul 8 2010, 12:42 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(cmgan72 @ Jul 8 2010, 12:31 AM)
here u go abduzeedo
thank you very much!! notworthy.gif rclxm9.gif
V3nz
post Jul 18 2010, 03:43 PM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(four_add @ Jul 18 2010, 02:58 PM)
OMG, is so pretty.. using win 7? erm, tools to used? very newbie here.. PM me the details please.. smile.gif tq
Dun think he is using Win7
V3nz
post Jul 25 2010, 09:02 PM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(Foolproof @ Jul 25 2010, 04:16 PM)

Never mod my desktop for months. Thinking of starting it later, just change the wallpaper for now.
the wallpaper is amazing! rclxm9.gif

can share it? brows.gif tongue.gif
V3nz
post Jul 26 2010, 02:22 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(Foolproof @ Jul 25 2010, 10:03 PM)
this is the wallie?

so,you juz change the background to white color isit? hmm.gif
V3nz
post Jul 26 2010, 11:14 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(Foolproof @ Jul 26 2010, 10:17 AM)
Lets say your desktop resolution is 1600x1200. Create a 1600x1200 file in Photoshop with white background, paste the picture and adjust the position.
haha,nice idea! thumbup.gif

i'll try and see,thank you!
V3nz
post Jul 27 2010, 03:27 PM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Jul 27 2010, 01:07 AM)
Yeah, sorry about the blinding brightness. I toned it down a bit in this updated version

Added on July 27, 2010, 1:07 am@v1c0d1n

As for your Linux question;
Linux distros like Ubuntu or Mint aren't really that hard to learn. Just head over to the website (Ubuntu for example), read the instructions, download and burn the .iso file, install (you can install alongside windows, the installer should have an auto option for that). You can also read one of the many Ubuntu guides available online, like http://ubuntuguide.org or visit the forums.

I suggest you avoid the more advanced distros like Debian, Arch or Slackware for now, since these require quite a bit of configuring and prior Linux experience.

Try learning Ubuntu and it's default Gnome environment first. There are also other deskkop environments available for Ubuntu, like KDE and XFCE, both of which are available in the repositories (you'll know the meaning of repositories once you use Linux/Ubuntu). Then, after you've familiarized yourself and want to try out a standalone window manager (like mine), I could gladly give you some assistance.

Feel free to ask if you need anything, but it would be better to start another thread or ask through PM, since the mods might not like this sort of discussion in the screenshots thread.

Cheers.
Can share your wallie? brows.gif

0.0208sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:07 PM