Autofoam Review

IceCube
post Aug 24 2011, 10:11 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(cuckoo bird @ Aug 24 2011, 11:27 AM)
Referring to comments on Autofoam, for those of you who have not done it, you need to be very clear of what effect Autofoam will have for your ride.

Autofoam on the chassis will no doubt give you the following benefits -
- better NVH on highway speed, wind turbulence noise can be reduced with foam filled chassis vs. hollow chassis.
- slightly better handling.
- increased rigidness of chassis / reduce the chassis flex.

But there is a negative effect on your ride comfort, for a Vios, your creamy smooth ride quality on soft sprung absorber will be affected.

Some people may believe and say that Autofoam gives you continental car feeling like BMW, I would not say its not true,...but its only partially true, let me put it this way -

- over certain road conditions, for example highways,...or freeway type of smoother roads with smoothly tarred connection on different road levels, then yes,...you can feel the firmness of the ride, abit BMW like because your car's feeling over such smooth bumps are more direct and less squat.

- However, if you are to go to some town roads, with alot of small bumps on left, right of the road,...your ride is gonna suffer badly,...it is gonna feel too "busy"...quite alot worse than before foaming.
Or if you go thru lots of ripples on the road,...you will suffer more vibrations,...basically the ride is harsher.
Therefore, the notion of autofoam making your car feels continental is only partly true,...there is a negative side to the ride quality as well.

In conclusion, doing autofoam makes you realise that how much your chassis flex before doing foaming. But, a chassis flex is not always a bad thing, depending on how you look at it. If you are sporty driver placing top priority over ride comfort, by all means you can consider autofoam.
For our conventional cars, chassis flexibility is actually an extension of the bump and road uneveness absorption, thus improving ride quality.

1. It had been argued that autofoam or chassis stiffening improves ride quality because a stiff chassis forces the absorber to work harder to absorb the bump. This is true that the absorber probably works harder and absorbs more bump. However, a car with original absorber and chassis flex configuration still rides more comfortable on most road conditions.

Why? You can imagine this -
Scenario 1, original car chassis flex with original absorber = one mattress (or something similar) placed over 4 springs at different end.

Scenario 2, Autofoamed chassis with original absorber = a very stiff plank placed over 4 springs. 

Both have plank and mattress have similar weight, when there is energy forced from spring to plank,...it needs to work harder to absorb the impact from below because the plank is stiff. While for the mattress, the spring works less when there is impact from below. But when you sit on the middle of the plank you feel more movements compared to sitting on the mattress.
What does this mean? A flexing mattress will be more comfortable than the stiff plank to sit on even though the spring works harder on the plank.

It is not true flexible chassis causes discomfort to the ride, you are sitting in the middle of the car,...the flex is more on the both ends of the car at front and read wheel,....just like the mattress.
So more or less you guys understand what autofoam does?
I don't have anything against autofoam, I just want you guys to be very clear of the effect because it is not reversible once you do it.
For guys who place very high priority on ride comfort, they regret doing autofoam even though it helps to reduce noise level to a certain extent. You can check out some random displeasures out there in Autoworld forum.

What i am commenting is on normal mainstream cars like Vios, City and so on.

Some could argue that stiffer chassis is definitely better because all the car manufacturers like BMW is increase the stiffness for newer model. But you need to understand that when the engineer of Honda or Toyota perform suspension R&D test on the Vios, it is based on such flexible chassis, so if you stiffen the chassis, it throws out the perfect original comfort setting, the absorber would not work as well for comfort anymore.

BMWs and Merc are different, they are heavy cars,...and they want handling performance as well as comfort,...for these cars, their ideology to achieve this is to stiffen up the chassis,...to optimize for handling and comfort,..and their suspension tuning is based on such chassis stiffness.
notworthy.gif I salute your explanation bro. This is very true. I think autofoam have many package too from normal undercarriage til the whole car. Your explanation apply to all foam on the market. I did my own car, firstly the undercarriage and then the whole car (not autofoam , but my own stuff) . The undercarriage does improve alot for NVH on my small kenari and handling does improve slightly. I got greedy and did the A pillar and D pillar , and like you said, lose out on comfort but performance is very very impressive. At a 360degree turn (roundabout) the car no long fish tail and i can throttle faster without feeling the car will overturn itself. Impressive i would say . Its like i had installed tons of stabilizer bar at the front and rear.
It was worth it. For RM199 undercarriage , you cant go wrong.
To foam the whole car, you guys better not regret as its really feels like a track car (i love it! but my wife and kids nagging about the bumpiness after the A pillar and D pillar).
MY opinion is to just do the undercarriage would be more then enough. comfort and performance in a package. biggrin.gif

IceCube
post Aug 24 2011, 11:14 PM

319 posts

cuckoo bird,

agreed bro! Its hard to say how stiff is stiff and how harsh is harsh. I might feel its harsh but you might feel its stiff in your own opinion.

And yes, if u foam the whole car, at some road condition especially bad road condition you will feel more vibration transferred from the chassis into the cabin. that why when foaming the WHOLE CAR , the owner need to know this.

If only doing the undercarriage, its more toward comfort and still the upper chassis can still absorb some momentum and flex accordingly. This is what comfort need (minor chassis flex to absorb the vibration).

nice infor shared here bro. Thanks~enjoy reading it.
IceCube
post Aug 26 2011, 08:34 PM

319 posts

cuckoo bird,
you did the comfort package or the whole car? sorry if u mention it before but i miss it.

i think best is just do the comfort package which is the undercarriage without doing the front and other pillar. just my opinion though.
IceCube
post Aug 26 2011, 10:23 PM

319 posts

cuckoo bird,

Oh i see. How long were you on the A and C pillar before adding the B and comfort package ?

IceCube
post Aug 29 2011, 08:38 PM

319 posts

nice info there by KLauto. I am not here to sell my foam but just to share my finding like everybody else. Selling only take part at automotive garage section.

Lots of good and crititcal information shared here, so i just tag along, if KLauto is offended by this, my apology.

Will create another topic to cater for other brand on the market like Profoam and EA foam.

Cheers. And HAPPY HOLIDAY , SELAMAT HARI RAYA !!

We are open during this holiday season but fully booked til thursday. biggrin.gif

IceCube
post Aug 30 2011, 10:50 AM

319 posts

biggrin.gif Its not EA autoworks also. EA = Eco Asia (our company name). LOL.

Thanks for the additional info.
IceCube
post Sep 6 2011, 08:27 PM

319 posts

indeed very good unbiased review. Its good to hear pro and cons of a product from the actual user. Love reading every review here. I think everybody should read this before foaming their ride. Its really like a quiet rally car if fully foamed which i like it. Maybe not everybody cup of tea . So just foam the undercarriage only would be enough.

Added on September 6, 2011, 8:46 pmindeed very good unbiased review. Its good to hear pro and cons of a product from the actual user. Love reading every review here. I think everybody should read this before foaming their ride. Its really like a quiet rally car if fully foamed which i like it. Maybe not everybody cup of tea . So just foam the undercarriage only would be enough.

This post has been edited by IceCube: Sep 6 2011, 08:46 PM
IceCube
post Sep 15 2011, 03:31 PM

319 posts

Did autofoam spray water into your chassis prior to foaming ?

Did anyone see how they foam your undercarriage ? Just curious.

This post has been edited by IceCube: Sep 15 2011, 03:40 PM
IceCube
post Sep 16 2011, 03:37 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Sep 15 2011, 04:27 PM)
Why spray water into the chassis?
So the foam can expand ? I dunno waiting for "review" loh.
QUOTE(lunchtime @ Sep 16 2011, 01:48 PM)
IceCube, how about your foam? How does it perform?

lunchtime,
Dont want discuss here later ppl say i trying to say sell my stuff here. Here is just autofoam reviews/questions.
IceCube
post Sep 24 2011, 08:54 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(kl_auto @ Sep 20 2011, 05:00 PM)
Greetings all,

Sorry for late again. This is the first day i am free since i came back.

Thank you very much for posting my video.

This should help everyone here understand the wisdom and value of choosing the proper Foam treatment solution for your valuable ride.

Make sure you subject the foam, whatever the brand you choose, to the required same stringent tests esp.
1) on water retention.
2) Fire retardancy. This is crucial as in event of an accident involving the Chassis, the Body shop will need to cut and weld the affected area.

AutoFOAM is tested and proven on both these points by no less than Petronas Adventure Team, PAT for their excursions to the Himalayas and Nusatara.

Btw, out of curiosity, why do you think it is water alone we use?
Do you do that with EA Foam?

Since we are on videos, this one will be more interesting esp. for those interested in Water..
http://youtu.be/Nn7Q5o0vgvI

Cheers,

Des
KL AUTO
AutoFOAM
One time application, Life-time performance.
You did not answer the question. Its just a simple question.
Lucky my chassis foam is fire retardant and water proof at the same time.
Anyone is welcome to lit fire on it and it will self-extinguish. Not to promote anything but nowadays alot of new tech and importer bringing in good valuable stuff. No doubt, autofoam is still the best around. Must do if i have the cash and a better ride.
IceCube
post Sep 29 2011, 12:42 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Sep 26 2011, 06:04 PM)
Like I said, it's all about marketing/advertising smile.gif If we start promoting another type of foam with a proper brand name, marketing, reviews, etc then it will eventually become popular. It's just like Michelin VS Continental tyres. On the other hand, I don't think the foam is from Wurth (at least what I have been told when I foamed my car years ago was something else).

Anyway it's a personal choice on how we spend our money biggrin.gif My point is clear, if the difference is minimal then it's pointless to pay so much more for something that will work.
Correctly! Autofoam still the best product around and above all clouds and ground (i mean the price). tongue.gif
IceCube
post Sep 30 2011, 04:58 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Sep 29 2011, 04:02 PM)
I'm also curious, why alternative brands are still not able to offer full foaming packages for the car like what Autofoam is offering...
Mostly is undercarriage & certain pillars... Is it because they don't really examine the individual chassis structure of the cars like KL Auto?
Actually if you are more to a comfortable ride, foaming the most basic yet important structure is more then enough. Aka the comfort package foaming. If you are all out racing, try to consult them, i am sure other brands can do the whole car as long as the customer are willing to pay.
IceCube
post Oct 2 2011, 09:44 AM

319 posts

Thanks bro Desmond for sharing the information that i pm-ed one of the member here. He is your staff or yourself? Its okie, i dont mind answering if you are curious about our product.

We welcome anyone who want to see/feel/touch/ride on our demo . That is what forum is about, sharing information. Its not always about the business, but giving logical information and logical real life answers to questions is very crucial.

Anyway, good luck with your Lexus foaming and the honda accord owner who came by the other day, he can do better then that, bro.

Added on October 2, 2011, 9:46 am
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Oct 2 2011, 03:06 AM)
+1 and I totally agree smile.gif The product is obviously not their own R&D and it is very likely competitors are probably using the same foam except they don't brand it.
Hit right on the head, bro.

Now, you understand what i meant the other day ,huh? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by IceCube: Oct 2 2011, 09:46 AM
IceCube
post Oct 13 2011, 12:34 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(omels @ Oct 13 2011, 01:38 AM)
Done Foam on my Civic FD2 last week....To be honest, i totally agree with "cuckoo bird". I m also having bad experienced in this product. No more comfort drive, car's feel very harsh....
I tot you did it on monday? 3 days ago ?

so fast already feel "harsh" ?
IceCube
post Oct 13 2011, 02:49 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Oct 13 2011, 02:19 PM)
buat dgn siapa ?
sama tempat dengan kamu~ tongue.gif tapi tayar nipis size 45 , eibach spring ,koni abs, 17incher.
probably already abit bumpy after do the foam might contribute more or less toward abit harsh ride, was waiting for the civic fd2 to drop by and ride on it to see how or what harsh mean but he didnt turn up today.

IceCube
post Oct 14 2011, 09:52 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(omels @ Oct 13 2011, 09:10 PM)
Ya laa bro...Feel harsh, even my wife also asking why this car suddenly feel not smooth when hitting uneven surface.... cry.gif  cry.gif

Added on October 13, 2011, 9:16 pm

dont want to mention seller name, but i like the seller, very friendly laa.....actually i m really hope after doing this foam, i can experiance all the postive feedback by forumer who has done it before...but maybe i m not lucky here....my civic FD2 comfort gone now.... cry.gif

Added on October 13, 2011, 9:22 pm

sorry cannot make today, quite busy....aiyoo.....i dont want to mentione name...but u oredi mention urself....

P/S:FYI CIVIC FD2 Stock tyre 215/45/17....
Its okie to let everybody knows. I dont like to be hiding or running away.
Drop by and let me check it out when you are free. Would really want to feel how the harsh ride is.

There is a way to get the comfort back but i am not sure if it will work on your ride or not, did it on my own cars and it manage to reduce the bumpiness . But let it cure at least for a week plus first. Let me know when you come by .

Oh ya, someone did mention that "fake" or "imitation" foam will not last long and the feeling of "tightness" will not be there after few months. If that is true, then omels have nothing to be worried about. Obviously its not true, well, omels drop by when you are free, my sifu will put his kungfu and kao tim for you.

IceCube
post Dec 2 2011, 05:04 PM

319 posts

oriongoh, you like copy and paste, why not copy and paste my reply also leh?? tongue.gif hehe

here i do for you, reply to underhill msg.
Hi bro,

No worries. Due to newer car, we do not prey open the plastic cover that cover up the chassis hole (only available on some car model like forte and they usually fall off after a year to unknown reason). If i remember correctly, your car was just a week old during foaming so we took extra care to not scratch or broke anything. But due to too much concern on this we did miss out the spot where the covers are. This only happen on the first batch of forte or those newer car model. We apologies for the error and will fix this without any other charges. On top of this, we will give a free under carriage rubberize spray for those who came back for the check-up and fix . This is our promise of better service and improvement. The first batch were on sept 2011 foaming. The rest of the cars was not effected as they do not have the plastic cover as in the pics below, all beams have been filled up to over-flowing level. (see pic).

Added on December 2, 2011, 5:10 pm
QUOTE(Kirie @ Dec 2 2011, 04:53 PM)
Yup, nowadays also many DIYer come up with this , but if want DIY, alot of precaution and like they say, got kungfu skill one you know? not cincai spray like that. it would not be as hard. see the foam they spray out is different. but better then nothing lah.

People always say will rust but what the use of undercarriage anti-rust? Oh YA! nowadays new car mostly also dont have anti-rust paint on the undercarriage~ that why we offer to spray after doing the foam, value added service! biggrin.gif

but still autofoam is the best there is, the best there was, and ever will be loh, who dare challange ohh~~ ? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by IceCube: Dec 2 2011, 05:10 PM

0.0361sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:06 PM