survey on living in landed or highrise, choose one

TSvdfoo
post Jun 30 2010, 10:49 AM, updated 16y ago

314 posts

this is a survey, just curiosity what property people like to live in.
if give a situation, where money is not a problem, you are given a choice to choose to live in a landed property (lets say a standard double story link) and a high rise (lets say a condo). both of them give the same built-up size, same price, facing the same view, etc - everything is identical. which one would u choose?
leongal
post Jun 30 2010, 11:59 AM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

if got same number of parking spaces oso, i will choose condo tongue.gif
uniquesoul
post Jun 30 2010, 12:03 PM

104 posts

Condo is not ideal for parking. Problems occurred during festive seasons when your relatives or friends came and pay you a visit. Some refuse to park outside.
gkl83
post Jun 30 2010, 01:23 PM

8,377 posts

i prefer to park my own car in front house as convenience... smile.gif
edyek
post Jun 30 2010, 01:38 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

Downtown = Highrise

Sub-urban = Landed
barista
post Jun 30 2010, 01:40 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

Money, parking, safety issues.

Of course the more money you have, the better the living condition you can have.
rakyat
post Jun 30 2010, 01:50 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

I think nowadays there is a tendency to choose highrise due to security and facilities. But I will still take landed as I need to have my green patch and my dog
mingyew
post Jun 30 2010, 02:13 PM

4,177 posts

if money not a problem, i dont see any issue not to choose landed.

security wise can build guard house in front of your house, hired more guard, feed more dog, cctv, glass sensor, door sensor, infra red movement sensor.

parking on my way i like

build a wall, hide illeagal satellite dish...

build a pond, swim when i like...

wakakakaka tongue.gif

Tohsan
post Jun 30 2010, 03:12 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Jun 30 2010, 01:50 PM)
I think nowadays there is a tendency to choose highrise due to security and facilities. But I will still take landed as I need to have my green patch and my dog
nowadays people get more scare living in high rise becos there are cases of peoples get mobbed or robbed when they come out from lift or their unit get break-in by the insiders.
uniquesoul
post Jun 30 2010, 03:31 PM

104 posts

But alot of ppl always think that living in high-rise is safe. No break in and robbery..
gkl83
post Jun 30 2010, 03:54 PM

8,377 posts

about earth quake, i staying at landed can feel the land shaking once before, so no need to say high rise building... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jun 30 2010, 03:54 PM
sonycamera
post Jun 30 2010, 03:55 PM

274 posts

I have quite a number of friends who have been staying in landed houses for many years but recently moved to condo.

Many of them are near retirement and children are either not staying with them or studying abroad.

To them, they said condo is much easier to manage (one has even given up maid) and when they travel, just lock up and go and their minds are much more peaceful as compared to staying in landed.

This post has been edited by sonycamera: Jun 30 2010, 03:57 PM
ungmooh
post Jun 30 2010, 03:57 PM

24 posts

i like condo, but prefer landed (if i have that extra money). security wise, unless i'm the only human on this planet i can't think of one place that is 100% safe. maybe 50%, but not 100%.
Tohsan
post Jun 30 2010, 04:35 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(uniquesoul @ Jun 30 2010, 03:31 PM)
But alot of ppl always think that living in high-rise is safe. No break in and robbery..
Then I will say they are dreaming, try come down to Ampang police station to check the crime statistic, you will be amaze how many cases happen daily.
Bobby C
post Jun 30 2010, 05:29 PM

663 posts

Should compare statistic of crime rate esp robbery btw highrise and landed ... that says it all.

Know couple of city folks, borne and breed here staying in landed entire life moved to condo after encountered numerous break in.

Another story direct from developer mouth, quite number of banglo owners moved to gated superlink due to security reason.

In short, landed Yes IF gated.

Besides security, great ventilation if you stay at high floors is another plus point. No need a/c. Esp compare to link houses back to back all cover restrict 'feng sui'. Unless you talk abt corner or banglo good cross ventilation tats diff story.

scorgio
post Jun 30 2010, 08:18 PM

4,696 posts

there's no hard & fast rule as to which is better.

we choose according to our needs & requirements.

take for eg. if your family needs to park 5 cars, then obviously high rise don't fit the bill.
Tohsan
post Jul 1 2010, 10:01 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Jun 30 2010, 05:29 PM)
Should compare statistic of crime rate esp robbery btw highrise and landed ... that says it all.

Know couple of city folks, borne and breed here staying in landed entire life moved to condo after encountered numerous break in.

Another story direct from developer mouth, quite number of banglo owners moved to gated superlink due to security reason.

In short, landed Yes IF gated.

Besides security, great ventilation if you stay at high floors is another plus point. No need a/c. Esp compare to link houses back to back all cover restrict 'feng sui'. Unless you talk abt corner or banglo good cross ventilation tats diff story.
if u talking bout good ventilation then getting own land on top of the hill and build your own bangalow will solve the problem, security wise just hire gurkha guard with gun as long as you hv the moola laugh.gif
ungmooh
post Jul 1 2010, 10:51 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Jun 30 2010, 08:18 PM)
there's no hard & fast rule as to which is better.

we choose according to our needs & requirements.

take for eg. if your family needs to park 5 cars, then obviously high rise don't fit the bill.
2nd it.

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Jul 1 2010, 10:01 AM)
if u talking bout good ventilation then getting own land on top of the hill and build your own bangalow will solve the problem, security wise just hire gurkha guard with gun as long as you hv the moola  laugh.gif
obviously if one had lots of $$$, one can stay whereever, whatever and however one likes. all down to personal preference.
Bobby C
post Jul 1 2010, 01:57 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Jul 1 2010, 10:01 AM)
if u talking bout good ventilation then getting own land on top of the hill and build your own bangalow will solve the problem, security wise just hire gurkha guard with gun as long as you hv the moola  laugh.gif
Of course, people are talking about apple to apple comparison.

As you have just pointed out, you pay price way below cost bungalow and get to enjoy the same or better premium. Best, look down at the bungalow. Hey, it should be the other way round laugh.gif

ADJ
post Jul 1 2010, 04:36 PM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

still prefer landed even though i stay alone rite now in landed, cannot imagine myself in a highrise place.

i remember having a discussion with a colleague some time back before i decided on landed. he was renovating his landed house, so he went to stay in a friend's condo in the mean time, he sed it was so inconvenient:

imagine you are out, nearby or something, or on your way back home, then suddenly u have a big urge to bomb tokyo, u rush back home.

if u were staying in landed, just stop outside ur house, open gate/door, then rush in straight to toilet...nais

now if u were in high-rise, jialat man, u have to go thru security, wave ur access card at the gate, park ur car, go to lift, if just nice there is a lift at ground floor then ok, wat if all oso stuck up there for dunno what reason, then u have to wait for it to come down then onli go up again...and u wanna burst liao

i'm not saying its bad - just inconvenient tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ADJ: Jul 1 2010, 04:37 PM

0.0446sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:32 AM