Punch Card during lunch time?, Office job

seantang
post Jun 29 2010, 11:08 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

I've audited lots of companies, and some do have penalties for long breaks, lateness etc. Some don't care how little time you spend in office, as long as you get your job done.

This is called company culture, is it not?

My current company has an electronic door pass system. So we have to flash our cards every time we exit the main office area ie. to go the lift lobby, pantry, toilets, fire escape etc. Every time we flash the card, the details are recorded. Our admin has exact records of how much time we spent each day in the office, what time we come in leave, how many toilet breaks, trips to pantry, smoke (fire escape!). So, if the company wants to be really uptight about the 40 hours per week, 8.30am - 5.30pm written in our employment contracts - they can. But then again, our culture is "You are free to come and go as long as you get the job done. Just don't overdo it".

I know someone in admin knows I come in at 9.30/10am each morning and leave by 4.30/5pm. But I also know someone in IS knows that I do email at night and during weekends. My boss knows that when I travel on business, I lose my nights and my weekends. So, it's all ok. The culture permits it.

At the end of the day - you should look for a company which culture you enjoy. Otherwise, you have to learn to tolerate it. If you can't tolerate, you should leave. You won't thrive there.
night
post Jun 29 2010, 11:36 AM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

I guess your company is too strict. I've been working for two different company and both does not require me to punch card during lunch hour. My previous company is even more flexible. All the employees are free to come in and go back at whatever time they want as long as they get the job done. I've seen my colleague coming in at 11.30am, have more than an hour lunch and goes back exactly at 5.30pm.
crapp0
post Jun 29 2010, 11:46 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jun 29 2010, 11:05 AM)
Ouch! Keep it hush hush...I'm just fortifying and solidifying my applied knowledge in the process of sharing my bytes and doing a fair share of communal contributions. It's a good thing, you see. But of course I would appreciate if one to keep hush hush about our good deeds that we are doing here.
Not just asians, everybody does it. Even my norwegian colleague also surf facebook which i tak layan anymore since its beginning to be a chore.
willow
post Jun 29 2010, 12:18 PM

50 posts

well, most chinamen company r like that....

some company even don't care if u r late in punching in bcos of traffic, lrt rosak / whatever mishap cos for them "IT IS YOUR FAULT FOR NOT COMING ON TIME"

worst still if u forgot to punch in or out for the day, cos they consider u "DIDN'T WORK ON THAT DAY"

what do u think abt this kind of company eh???

This post has been edited by willow: Jun 29 2010, 12:19 PM
faceless
post Jun 29 2010, 12:31 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(willow @ Jun 29 2010, 12:18 PM)
worst still if u forgot to punch in or out for the day, cos they consider u "DIDN'T WORK ON THAT DAY"

Back in the 80s, this was common practise.
cute_boboi
post Jun 29 2010, 12:35 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

some company even don't care if u r late in punching in bcos of traffic, lrt rosak / whatever mishap cos for them "IT IS YOUR FAULT FOR NOT COMING ON TIME"

Rules are made to be followed, for a specific reason by the company, i.e. they may want to save 50 sen but make it hell for the staff.

Traffic is a very bad excuse. Everyone knows traffic is bad in the morning peak hours. If you know you are generally late by 10 minutes, try going out 20-30 minutes earlier. Or find another job that is flexi-hours.

LRT/Bus/other incidental lateness, I believe is subjective. Once a month is still consider acceptable to me. But if onec a week, every week, then better prepare to find your own solutions to come to work, or find another job.

LRT too full, and have to wait 5-8 trains before can board, is not an excuse either. You know it is normal to be like that in morning, so go earlier to queue. Cannot wake up ? Go find other jobs that is flexi or working afternoon/evening/night shift.

The punch clock/card is there for a reason, and I'm sure they inform the staff about it when they join. You forgot ? Then deduct $. Try it a few more times, and I believe you won't forget about it anymore. Practise makes perfect. Otherwise, find another job, if you think you are losing money in this job for not clocking in /out properly.

I think it is fine for different companies to have different level of strict or flexi rules. It is for you as an employee to fit/adapt into the environment. The environment won't change to fit you, unless you are the boss/major share holder/ CEO. If you can't fit in, come here to LYN to express yourself, then goto careers section to find other jobs. whistling.gif

willow
post Jun 29 2010, 12:36 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jun 29 2010, 12:31 PM)
Back in the 80s, this was common practise.
well, believe me "certain" company still practice this
Joey Christensen
post Jun 29 2010, 12:37 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

It was solely your discretion to accept the employment opportunity with the said company. What do I think about this company? Nothing. It is because you have accepted the offer in the first place. Who is the decision maker? You, yourself, right?
willow
post Jun 29 2010, 12:44 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jun 29 2010, 12:37 PM)
It was solely your discretion to accept the employment opportunity with the said company. What do I think about this company? Nothing. It is because you have accepted the offer in the first place. Who is the decision maker? You, yourself, right?
sure, cos i've accept this job in the 1st place but the catch is these so called rules & regulations were not explained (fully) verbally / in the contract / even given a copy of the rules & regulations....

you only "found out" abt it after u sign the d*mn things, through other colleagues & the so called copy inside the staff room....

This post has been edited by willow: Jun 29 2010, 12:45 PM
azrilyp
post Jun 29 2010, 12:51 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(willow @ Jun 29 2010, 12:44 PM)
sure, cos i've accept this job in the 1st place but the catch is these so called rules & regulations were not explained (fully) verbally / in the contract / even given a copy of the rules & regulations....

you only "found out" abt it after u sign the d*mn things, through other colleagues & the so called copy inside the staff room....
i agree that some rules and regulations were not written in the contract. but do take the time to ask abt the work culture before signing the offer letter.

but then again some of us are too happy with the job offer that we sign blindly. like me for instance...
crapp0
post Jun 29 2010, 12:56 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jun 29 2010, 12:35 PM)
Rules are made to be followed, for a specific reason by the company, i.e. they may want to save 50 sen but make it hell for the staff.

Traffic is a very bad excuse. Everyone knows traffic is bad in the morning peak hours. If you know you are generally late by 10 minutes, try going out 20-30 minutes earlier. Or find another job that is flexi-hours.

LRT/Bus/other incidental lateness, I believe is subjective. Once a month is still consider acceptable to me. But if onec a week, every week, then better prepare to find your own solutions to come to work, or find another job.

LRT too full, and have to wait 5-8 trains before can board, is not an excuse either. You know it is normal to be like that in morning, so go earlier to queue. Cannot wake up ? Go find other jobs that is flexi or working afternoon/evening/night shift.

The punch clock/card is there for a reason, and I'm sure they inform the staff about it when they join. You forgot ? Then deduct $. Try it a few more times, and I believe you won't forget about it anymore. Practise makes perfect. Otherwise, find another job, if you think you are losing money in this job for not clocking in /out properly.

I think it is fine for different companies to have different level of strict or flexi rules. It is for you as an employee to fit/adapt into the environment. The environment won't change to fit you, unless you are the boss/major share holder/ CEO. If you can't fit in, come here to LYN to express yourself, then goto careers section to find other jobs.  whistling.gif
Pioneers usually say rules are meant to be broken.
willow
post Jun 29 2010, 12:56 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Jun 29 2010, 12:51 PM)
i agree that some rules and regulations were not written in the contract. but do take the time to ask abt the work culture before signing the offer letter.

but then again some of us are too happy with the job offer that we sign blindly. like me for instance...
work culture.... i'm sorry if i sound cynical but how many really tell ppl the "REAL" situations whether work wise & ppl in the "office" / "management".

yup, i've learnt the hard way not 2 b so complacent abt a job offer nowadays...
Joey Christensen
post Jun 29 2010, 01:06 PM

3,651 posts

If one to put in a written form of rules and regulations and all that it is to it, you would be reading a textbook of documented materials. That would be utter nonsense and bloody absurd, right? What about ad hoc assignments from time to time? Oh my...damn those Management for not telling me or didn't put forth in plain ink and paper. Holy Christ! What am I going to do about it then?

You weave and sieve through the whole wide of non-written and/or non-documented matters. That's how one learn through an organisational behaviour over a passage of time working. Oh, you could gain a few grains of informative material via grapevines too. Who says the pantry is just for coffee and snacks, eh?

Regards, Joey
azrilyp
post Jun 29 2010, 01:17 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jun 29 2010, 01:06 PM)
If one to put in a written form of rules and regulations and all that it is to it, you would be reading a textbook of documented materials. That would be utter nonsense and bloody absurd, right? What about ad hoc assignments from time to time? Oh my...damn those Management for not telling me or didn't put forth in plain ink and paper. Holy Christ! What am I going to do about it then?

You weave and sieve through the whole wide of non-written and/or non-documented matters. That's how one learn through an organisational behaviour over a passage of time working. Oh, you could gain a few grains of informative material via grapevines too. Who says the pantry is just for coffee and snacks, eh?

Regards, Joey
Look, its not like asking the management to detail everything in the offer letter. Stating working hours and lunch hours would be sufficient. In fact my previous company does that.

my current company does not state those thing in the offer letter but we have a company website which details the rules and regulations. But its just regulations and my company practice tolerance in the work culture.
Joey Christensen
post Jun 29 2010, 01:20 PM

3,651 posts

To be honest, it's just one way or the other. The end result remains the same. In the end of the rainbow, it is whom is affecting whom and whom is being effected.

Regards, Joey
cute_boboi
post Jun 29 2010, 01:50 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jun 29 2010, 12:56 PM)
Pioneers usually say rules are meant to be broken.
... and management say salary to be deducted rolleyes.gif

If these things are a major issue, the person should note it down and ask these questions in future interviews. Don't worry, there is no right/wrong in asking questions during interview. I do have fresh grad asking questions, e.g. Does company provide in-building car park and pay full/subsidise it ?

There are just too many rules and regulations to explain during interview. Even the employee handbook itself can be very lengthy, and most staff (not all though) do not read all of it. Until dispute comes out, and the staff start finding excuse. Some simple things for you, can be very complicated and tough for other people.

Coming back to punch card and punctuality, if the staff of the organisation does not misuse the minor-allowance given on time management, the management will not be so strict on it. e.g. 5 minutes late every day is fine. But if it becomes a habit and delay to 15 minutes or more, other staff may follow and in the end a major discipline problem on attendance and time management.

kidmad
post Jul 1 2010, 12:07 AM

4,482 posts

My rule is simple if you want me to be punctual in and out make sure you let me leave sharp 5.15pm. If your employer is not considerate why bother working for them?! the company needs me more than i need them. I usually have to spend my time working till 7+ and onwards. lunch time slightly late and they want to come and buck me.... they gonna kena. Anyway if they want ppl to be punctual then make sure they got tempat makan either in the office or around the office. If you need to drive out for lunch how can you reach office sharp 1 hour time?

freedom2912
post Jul 1 2010, 08:57 AM

Cool Like Fire
802 posts

+1..

i've been with this kind of company before
lunch time only 40min..no cafe inside so need to eat lunch outside
very troublesome doh.gif
crapp0
post Jul 1 2010, 09:00 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(freedom2912 @ Jul 1 2010, 08:57 AM)
+1..

i've been with this kind of company before
lunch time only 40min..no cafe inside so need to eat lunch outside
very troublesome  doh.gif
Isnt it better to have your lunch outside since more variety? unless your in a campus or self sustain building.

If you cant leave your work premise, its little more then a glorified prison, heck even in the US prisoners also can earn money.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jul 1 2010, 09:01 AM
TommyTan
post Jul 1 2010, 09:45 AM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Jun 29 2010, 09:40 AM)
Hi guys/gals,

Do u ever encounter situation where u need to punch card when goin for lunch break ? If u late there will be deduction on ur salary =_=

This is the first time i working in OFFICE job that require me to punch card for going out for lunch, it make me feel like working as promoter ( last time part time job) where u need to punch in n out for lunch. That one totally understand in promoter / retail job but i working in OFFICE....
I guess you only have previous employees to blame.

It isnt much of a problem unless you are one of those who take long lunch breaks. Or the lunch break is like 30 mins only.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0219sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:21 AM