iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread

warlockimran
post Jun 24 2010, 04:48 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(luxmania @ Jun 24 2010, 02:55 PM)
I just upgraded my 3GS to iOS 4 and few things missing..

1. I cannot do MMS
2. My internet connection did not work

I already reset the phone many times and it still there...any suggestion?
For MMS, try going to Settings>Messages and set "MMS Messaging" to On, just in case it's off.

For internet connection, I read somewhere, try putting your iPhone in Airplane mode a few times. 3-4 times, and see if internet comes back.

warlockimran
post Jun 30 2010, 03:09 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Jun 30 2010, 05:31 AM)
im abit confused by multitasking for the iOS4..when u double tap the home button,are those the recently opened apps or apps running in the background?will leaving all of those things on affect the speed and performance of my phone?since i think only 3-4  of my apps supports iOS4 or multitasking atm..
Actually, I read somewhere that the apps are not running in the background. That is just a list of your previously used apps. Only 2-3 apps would be running in the background. It is there basically for your convenience, basically in suspended animation.
warlockimran
post Jul 1 2010, 04:13 PM

281 posts

Before things get out of hand, let's just get a couple of things straight. With iOS4, there are two main things we need to be aware of when it comes to multitasking, that some seem to be confusing.

1. Multitasking
2. Fast-app switching

First, multitasking, which most of us here understand. It is basically apps running in the background. Easiest example is the iPod app itself, which continues to play music even after you have pressed the Home button.

Second, and this is where some confusion crops up, is when you double click the Home button, this brings up the "Fast-app Switching" row of app icons at the bottom. This is a list of your previously used apps, which basically allows you to switch in and out of apps. The important thing to note here is that not all these apps are active, or multitasking.

Again, just to be clear, this is just a row of apps that you have previously used. The apps in there may be multitasking, or not. To stop a multitasking app, bring up the fast-switching row by double clicking the Home button, press on the app until it jiggles, and then click the red button with the "-" sign. This quits the app, as well as deletes it from your list.

Ok, we may all continue now...
warlockimran
post Jul 5 2010, 08:36 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(cynical66 @ Jul 5 2010, 08:34 PM)
multitasking on i3gs sure drain battery lar...dats y they provide iphone 4 with bigger battery.
So far nothing major for me. 3GS working like normal.
warlockimran
post Jul 8 2010, 07:41 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 7 2010, 01:54 AM)
Look at where all these complaints are coming from. USA. Looks at the responses and the impressions from those who attended the Gathering HERE in KL. Are there any complaints on yellowing display? One complaint on the signal drops, and yet funnily, my iPhone 4, Beavis's iPhone 4, Harmeet's iPhone 4, ksc_3688's iPhone 4, Yuvanesh's iPhone 4 has yet to fail us or drop our calls. I myself have reported the opposite, I get freaking signals in places where calls were dropped before on the 3G[S].

What else do you want us to do to convince you that these complaints are sporadic at best? Out of the 1,700,000 units of iPhone 4, how many of those reported having yellowing display, dropped signals when squeezed? If all these issues are widespread, Apple would have already done a product recall on its iPhone 4, just like how Sony did on their exploding battery issue affecting more than the 500,000 units of their Vaio laptops.

For the love of God, is it so hard to trust you fellow Malaysians, your forum members here that this issue is overblown disporpotionately? Also, notice all these NONSENSE are reported in USA only? The yellowing display issue is the glue drying up, and once dried, it clears up the screen. Read the freaking whole story, and NOT just the juicy bits about the defect. Read why it is yellow in the first place. The dropping signal when held in hand issue, why arent the Germans, the French or the Brits are howling over the internet over this and only the American are b****ing about it? Once you read the big picture, and understand how spotty and problematic AT&T's coverage in the States, and how the American themselves hate AT&T for this, you'd understand why this issue is not the phone, it's the service provider. Why wouldn't I replicate the same results here with Celcom? Or Maxis? In fact, why the hell are you worried about the Americans complaining about their iPhones when you are not getting the American iPhone 4 in the first place, and none of the issues are appearing or being reported and complaint upon by the other users in other countries?

In short, trust your fellow users here. I'm not kissing Apple's butt or reporting misinformation. The reason why the Gathering was planned and held was for you yourself to discern, analyse and remove doubt, once and for all, that all these fluff of complaints are trivial, moot and nonsensical at best. My phone is fine, Beavis's phone is fine, Harmeet's, Yuvanesh and ksc_3688's units are fine. Is that so hard to believe, or are you accusing of covering up these flaws for Apple's sake?

The fact of the matter is, those who shouts and makes complaints the loudest are those who are facing all these problems, and their numbers are far outnumbered by the satisfied customers who had nothing to complain, thus keeping their mouth shut. Only those who had problematic (depending on how they expect their phone to behave) would make the loudest noise, those like us who have perfect phones have no reason to b**** and moan to the top our lungs about it.

I'm free until 11th, if you still dont believe me, come on over, meet me, testdrive the goddamned iPhone 4 and see for yourself that all these nonsense are what it is..."nonsense". Forget the internet reports, their problems their facing is unique to their network infrastructure, network performance on their telco and how it interacts with the iPhone 4 itself. BOTTOM LINE is, those majority of us using our iPhone 4s on Maxis and Celcom are facing none of these issues, and that is what it should matter to you, NOT what is happening to American users on AT&T. You are not going to buy the American iPhone 4s because it is locked anyway, isnt it?

I kept my quiet all this while, but this is the third time, the same question about these "issues" have cropped up, and frankly, it needed to be addressed. Sorry if it sounds a bit exasperated, but folks here asking these questions dont seem to be thinking the big picture, and see how all these howlings of complaints on the iPhone 4 only coming from select part of the launch country and not their own backyard.

Peace, freaking out!
Seriously, thank goodness for this post. I feel exactly the same way. By the way, if you think things are bad here, check out the comments section of iPhone 4 in GSMArena. Trolls running wild and having a field day.
warlockimran
post Jul 11 2010, 02:27 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(iphoneiphone @ Jul 11 2010, 02:09 AM)
Hi guys!
i need some advice and recommendation here.

im using iphone 3G not 3Gs.. (please note that)
i wondering should i upgrade to ios4 ?
i scared alot of problem. many say that it laggss and some other problems.

so to those who upgraded to ios 4 on 3G, can you guys tell me how is it?
the performance and all.. can tell me more about it?

or should i just keep to 3.1.3?

thanks for any advice and recommendation. much appreciated.
This is general advice. If your iPhone is clean, (never unlocked or jailbroken), then there should be no problems, go ahead and upgrade.

If your iPhone is jailbroken or unlocked, then read around more, or maybe one of the guys here who have similar experience will be able to help.
warlockimran
post Jul 13 2010, 09:45 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(ck_yoong @ Jul 13 2010, 09:32 PM)
Actually why is everybody so worked up about people sitting and wait for problem to go by and people keep saying haha I don't care I am going to use it first 1 year earlier than all of you all I enjoy it so much. Then say who wants to wait then just wait in a sarcastic manner.

The Iphone 4 has not even reach our shores or close to our shores of course people in Malaysia is still going to sit around waiting and asking questions.
Not quite sure how to respond to this, as I don't even know who's side you are on lol.
warlockimran
post Jul 13 2010, 10:21 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 13 2010, 10:08 PM)
It should be fair to say its a FLAW by now after confirmation by so many reviewers. However, its hard to say how will this FLAW affect you.

For example, a few lucky Iphone4 owners already confirm they had zero issues with it. Well, maybe we are lucky that our network coverage is good and strong which made it a non issue with the drop in signal strength which is not enough to interupt calls OR maybe it really depends on our whereabout and respective network coverage and signal strength for particular area.

Bottom line, design is FLAWED to begin with, as proven by scientific tests. Upper line is the FLAW might or might not affect you at all.
No one disputes this. However, I think people are missing the point.

The point is that, this has all been discussed, concluded, end of story. The info is there. Want to buy, go buy. Don't want to buy, don't buy. If not sure, wait. Not difficult right? And in between, there is a wealth of information, with the simple use of a search function.

Now, what gets on people's nerves is people who keep bringing this up. No one is defending blindly. You want someone pro iPhone 4? Go back few pages, you will find. You want someone against iPhone 4, because of antenna issue? Go back few pages, you will also find.

Rather than beat a dead horse, lets concentrate on discussion that adds value.
warlockimran
post Jul 15 2010, 03:04 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 15 2010, 02:24 PM)
I can understand now why these Americans would freak out with regards to these signal degradations. But I still think this is an issue blown out of proportion. I mean, sure the signal strength indicator indicated a drop, but even so call still go out. Why such vigorous push for this? I think the instigating parties that is blowing this issue up wants Apple to move away from AT&T and start considering an alternative telco like Verizon.
Yup agreed. I think the whole thing has just been blown out of proportion. My paranoid mind has even wondered if Apple haters have had anything to do with it, everyone jumping in on the bandwagon. It sort of reminds me of when every Tom d*** and Harry were predicting Apple's bankruptcy before Steve Jobs came back as CEO. Kind of like a fashion trend.

I will be glad to leave all this behind after the announcement Friday.
warlockimran
post Jul 15 2010, 04:04 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 15 2010, 03:50 PM)
not only iphone got this problem... any product can have it, no matter how expensive it is or what brand. it's just that iphone get more exposure tongue.gif
Yup agree with you 100%, funny how there are hundreds of these articles flying about, yet it goes back to that ONE lonely iPhone catching fire.

Just Google "HTC Evo overheat" for example, and there are complaints all over, including on HTC support forum itself. Yet, somehow I don't hear the "HTC RECALL EVO NOW!" screams lol.

warlockimran
post Jul 18 2010, 07:46 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Jul 18 2010, 07:26 PM)
In lowest the US locked set is around rm3800 and unlocked is around rm4500..
In my opinion not worth it, knowing that UK models that are sim-free and factory unlocked are available for about RM2500 (including VAT).

I would rather try and get it from UK somehow, or wait. Just feel that locked is not worth the hassle, especially for such a premium price.
warlockimran
post Jul 19 2010, 02:54 AM

281 posts

I think what people are missing is a little perspective, or the context within which Apple is showing the other companies' antenna problems.

I will try to make an analogy, which might highlight the message as I see it, or maybe it might not work. In any case here goes:

Imagine the car industry. Think of Ferrari, who have steadily enjoyed unprecedented success over the years. Then at the peak of the euphoria, they introduce an amazing car that goes super fast!

Then one person says, "eh, how come this car so low one? My Honda CRV, never need to sit so low one, this will lead to bad back!!!"

(Ok at this point, you should be thinking, ni kan sports car, of course la low, obvious right? isn't it obvious also that when you put antenna OUTSIDE, that it may be more sensitive to touch? But because it is outside la is why it is also giving good performance. Same like the Ferrari, so low, that's why go so fast, but people missing the point)

Suddenly everyone concentrates on this issue "Omg Ferrari has height restriction issue, design flaw!"

Then as if not ridiculous enough, Ferrari haters or those who envy come and have a field day "hahaha damn man Ferrari so stupid what kind of car, cannot even put baby chair behind, my 6 year old Toyota also can mwahahaha, cannot even bring to IKEA damn fail car"

So, just in case, the Ferrari designers go back and actually check the design. Cos people making big deal about bad back. Mechanics also heran, designer also heran. Memang la can lead to bad back, this is Sports Car, not orthopedic car. Thought all this while part and parcel? All other cars like this what? Its a specialised car, have to sit properly in the bucket seats, cos high speed and performance involved. This isn't Kancil, with zero g-force.

Again, media has field day "Ferrari CEO says don't sit that way! How arrogant!"

Then they actually do study and what do they find? Eh, Porsche also sports car low what, McLaren etc. In general all car low. Also same thing, have special seats, you must sit properly, drive properly. What's going on? So they decide to hold press conference to highlight this to the people. What else to do? Not a design flaw what.

They then hold a press conference. "Look guys, we did studies, sports cars are low, that's how they are fast (amongst other things)" Look at Porsche, look at McLaren, look at Lamborghini". Its not a design flaw, its just physics! Lower cars go faster!

Know what the response is?

You guessed it lah! Other companies become angry, "Eh, don't try and involve us ok. This your design flaw. How can Ferrari use other company as example, sore loser man." Cos before enjoying their rival kena hentam. Now suddenly realise 'Oh shit! this could backfire on all of us!"

What do you think guys? Ok or not?

Lol, don't know if this makes sense or not. Just want to try and take the problem out of its context and put it in another perspective. I know, there will be many flaws in my analogy, but I think that the point is there (somewhere hopefully hehe). Basically, it could have stopped at the very beginning, it is something that is basically a non-issue, blown out of proportion out of a media hungry for sensation. C'mon seriously, would be shocked if a Nokia 1100 had poor reception? Would people be out in the streets with pitch forks demanding Nokia recall the phones? No, cos no one would give a hoot. There will be some disgruntled people in forums, some will return and get their money back. Some will check if there are workarounds, and maybe do that.

Life goes on.

Phew ok done. I welcome feedback, both positive and negative.

warlockimran
post Jul 20 2010, 01:40 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jul 20 2010, 12:07 AM)
I don't consider the iPhone 4 as 4th gen. Since it is total redesign, it back to 1st gen of new design. So, for now... it is crap. I can bet u Apple is fixing something without telling anyone. It is always their MO for a very long time.

IMO, BMWs are crap to begin with. Had the E32 and E46 once and full of endless probs from engine to gearbox. Sold both away and stuck to Japanese marques. No probs since.
You are entitled to an opinion, but exercise some humility. To say something is crap is very harsh. 1st generation may have teething problems. but to condemn something as crap without a second thought is rather arrogant, and in this case, ignorant.

The iPhone 4 may be 1st generation with external antenna, but the OS is certainly not 1st generation. The screen technology, battery, is far improved etc etc.

Following your logic, Bugatti Veyron is crap. Nissan GTR is crap. Anything original is crap. I know that maybe you didn't mean to offend, but sometimes, a little gentleness in our language goes a long way. You will find that people will get less defensive, and more open to your opinions. Just a thought.
warlockimran
post Jul 21 2010, 12:51 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 21 2010, 12:38 PM)
haha i hv a friend who is in the network team in maxis. currently thy hv about 10 iphone4 models to do testing and etc etc.

expect it to come to our shores soon!!!!!
Cool. That's great news, my brothers all cannot tahan already, but prefer to buy official launch iPhone 4.
warlockimran
post Jul 22 2010, 02:14 PM

281 posts

Seems we'll be able to buy from Apple Store Online Singapore sim-free and unlocked. Of course I assume they will need a Singapore shipping address. However, does anybody know that if we are able to walk in a store and buy one contract free? My feeling is we are not able to, because there is no official Apple Store there. Anyone have insider knowledge for Singapore launch?
warlockimran
post Jul 22 2010, 09:41 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Blackbird @ Jul 22 2010, 09:37 PM)
Yeah, what's M1? Iphone 4 will be launching end of this month?
Singapore Telco.
warlockimran
post Jul 24 2010, 10:31 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(stylin @ Jul 24 2010, 12:39 AM)
Hello people, I just bought an Iphone 4 from singapore and i was being told that this is unlocked version and I discovered that my Iphone 4 is a Locked phone from AT&T....Damn I got conned!

Do you guys have any idea where i can unlock my phone ?
You bought from shop or online? If it was at all possible, I would try and return it and get my money back, or to get a real unlocked one from the same seller.
warlockimran
post Jul 25 2010, 01:16 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(iphoneiphone @ Jul 25 2010, 08:50 AM)
I've read almost everything from page 1 to here in this thread.
Omg, sometimes i found out that this thread is sick and i can say its unhealthy as well as there was fighthing how bad and how good its iphone 4.  Come on friends. There is no such perfect phone in this world.

And not to mention, there are even politic-alike comment on this thread. (you know who you are). No matter who you are, no politic pls.

I hope to see more healthy discussion here for our own good. I've been following this thread everysingle day eventho i dont post anythg.

Hope we can improve on that. Cheers. :-)
Yup healthy discussion is what we want. Don't worry, there are guys here who keep everybody in line, even though sometimes it gets rowdy. Feel free to drop an opinion when you feel like it.

By the way, very very out of topic, but STREET FIGHTER vs TEKKEN was jsut officially announced by Ono woot! Gameplay video is unbelievable! Now go and find the relevant thread hehehe.

warlockimran
post Jul 25 2010, 04:04 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jul 25 2010, 03:55 PM)
when ip5 out..u will be saying the same thing waiting for ip6 and so on~
Yup technology marches on. Buy the best that you can within your means, enjoy it, and max your usage out of it.
warlockimran
post Jul 28 2010, 08:19 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(ken_jr @ Jul 28 2010, 07:40 PM)
i need all the luck then bro.. worse to worst.. i'll just go SG get myself a iphone 4 ...  brows.gif
lesson learnt here - if using iphone, keep up with tech & updates.. or else will be sotong (not paul, who's made billions if he was human)
Can get iPhone 4 from Singapore contract free? Thought this was only possible from Apple Store Online? Thought the ones available in shops must be with contract.

0.0502sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:17 AM