Centrino Platform: Santa Rosa/Satnta Rosa Refresh
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T7100/T7250/T7300/T7500/T8100
Chipset: Intel PM965 + ICH8-M
Graphic: Nvidia GeForce 8600M GS 256MB GDDR3
Wireless: Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Monitor: 14.1" UltraVivid @ 1280x800, 16ms response time
Weight: 2.4kg with battery

BenQ Joybook S41.5 (NON-OFFICIAL)
Centrino Platform: Santa-vina (cuz more Santa Rosa parts than Montevina parts laugh.gif)
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T7500
Chipset: Intel GM45 + ICH9-M
Graphic: Nvidia GeForce 9600M GT 256MB GDDR3, Intel Graphic Media Accelerator X4500MHD
Wireless: Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Monitor: 14.1" UltraVivid @ 1280x800, 16ms response time

BenQ Joybook S42
Centrino Platform: Montevina
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P8400/P8600/P8700
Chipset: Intel GM45 + ICH9-M
Graphic: Nvidia GeForce 9600M GT 256MB GDDR3, Intel Graphic Media Accelerator X4500MHD
Wireless: Intel WiFi Link 5300
Monitor: 14.1" UltraVivid @ 1280x800, 8ms response time
Windows Experience Index (C2D P8600)

BenQ Joybook S57
Centrino Platform: Montevina
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P8700
Chipset: Intel PM45 + ICH9-M
Graphic: AMD-ATi Mobility Radeon HD 4650 512MB DDR3
Wireless: Intel WiFi Link 5100
Monitor: 15.6" UltraVivid @ 1366x768, 8ms response time
Weight: 2.8kg with battery
Windows Experiene Index

Told you this is a performance thread. We dun use standard BenQ drivers. Try the following if you dare. flex.gif

Chipset Software Installation Utility: Click Here (Intel)

Wireless: 4965AGN (Intel) 5300 and 5100 (Intel)

HD Audio: Click Here (Realtek)

Graphic:
Forceware for GeForce M - LaptopVideo2Go (modded - Physx driver removed)(Recommended thumbup.gif) Nvidia (Official - includes PhysX driver)
Catalyst for Mobility Radeon - AMD (Official)

PhysX (for GeForce only - download if you installed LV2G drivers): Click Here (LV2G)

DirectX: Click Here (Microsoft) (Requires Genuine Windows laugh.gif)

Touchpad: Click Here (LV2G) Synaptics (Official)

Driver Sweeper: Click Here (Guru3D)

How to do a clean update of graphic driver:

Done with the drivers??? Good, now let's check it out. rclxms.gif

CPU-Z (Displays info abt your CPU, mobo and RAM): Click Here (CPUID)

GPU-Z (Displays info abt your graphic accelerator): Click Here (TechPowerUp)

CoreTemp (Monitor the temperature of your CPU): Click Here (CoreTemp)

HWMonitor (Monitor fan speed, temperature and voltage): Click Here (CPUID)

RivaTuner (Overclock and monitor your GPU, comes with framerate detection): Click Here (Guru3D)

ATi Tool: (Another handy overclocking tool, supports Radeon and GeForce): Click Here (TechPowerUp)

SiSoftware Sandra (System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant): Click Here (Guru3D)

3D Mark 06 (Check out how your GPU performs): Click Me (Guru3D)

Benchmarking / Game screenshots
[/b]
S42 - Courtesy of DoubleU

S57 - Courtesy of rd33

Price (updated 10/01/2010, for reference only)

Members of the Vee V22

Freest members of V21

Top 10 members with the most free time V20

miahahaha
post Jun 20 2010, 01:31 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

2nd post...like always--------->

UBUNTU INSTALLATION GUIDE

LINK FOR GAMES BENCHMARK

INSTALLING DOX MODDED DRIVER FOR S42~BBXiong Style

For users that use BenQ S42 that have problem installing hybrid graphic (Dox modded 185.85)..refer to the steps below, as it already been tested by BBX for a 60%??? successful rate of installation...works for x86

Installing Dox Modded 195.62, Double_U style (tested by double_U and he said that within 10 minutes and you are clear)

AS REQUESTED ----> Dox Modded 195.62 (32/64 bit)

ANOTHER HYBRID DRIVER -----> Nautis 191.90 (32-bit) & 191.97 (64-bit)

Official Hybrid GC Driver BenQ ------> 187.45 (Official 32-bit BenQ Hybrid)

~~~~~> Click For How To Dissect BENQ S42

This post has been edited by miahahaha: Jun 28 2010, 08:49 AM
lee_what2004
post Jun 20 2010, 01:31 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

coming~
evolution120
post Jun 20 2010, 01:33 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

u guys are fast..

Added on June 20, 2010, 1:34 pm
QUOTE(evolution120 @ Jun 20 2010, 01:33 PM)
use cpuz to check the manufacturer? there stated as "Hewlett Packard" wor..
This post has been edited by evolution120: Jun 20 2010, 01:34 PM
miahahaha
post Jun 20 2010, 01:35 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

Ok, this is the 2nd part of my officially 2nd post nod.gif..dun want to mess things in 2nd post, so this post i dedicated for :

BenQ S42 Dissecting

Read step by step, and do it on your own risk (warranty is VOIDED when you do this nod.gif)

1. Remove 2 screws on RAM module cover; take out rams, disconnect the 3 pins of wireless LAN antenna (remember the order which is black white grey from top to bottom), remove 2 screws that secure the wireless lan card and take the card out,

2. Remove 2 screws on HDD (one of which is covered with a seal in my case) bay cover and remove the HDD bay cover, remove 2 screws that secure the HDD and take out HDD

3. Remove 1 screw that secures the optical drive and take out the optical drive, you'll see this :

4. Remove all the remaining screws on the bottom, 12 if I didn't count wrong, remove the battery, remove another 2 ordinary screws and 3 flat screws under battery,

5. Remove 4 screws on the back of the laptop (2 on each side of the screen hinges),

6. Put the laptop in normal position, open the lid all the way to the back. Now uncover the hinge cover from the right end (the long piece with power button), use some steady force if needed, after which you'll see this:

7. Lift keyboard from top, under the keyboard unplug the keyboard cable, remove the keyboard; disconnect the LCD cable (top left), pull out the wireless LAN card antenna cables (black/white/gray) unplug the touchpad cable and another cable (the two in the middle with blue plastic cover) :

8. You can remove the 4 screws that secures the lid to the main chassis but that's not necessary; now remove the 3 screws under the keyboard, turn the back of the laptop towards you, then you can lift up the top cover of the main chassis (remove the lid may make this step a little easier) to reveal the mainboard, disconnect the plug near the touchpad which shall be the speaker cable,

9. Turn the opened main chassis in normal position, with the mainboard on the left half of the chassis, disconnect the bluetooth cable on bottom left, USB cable near HDD bay, and power cable on top left corner, remove 2 screws on top and bottom of the mainboard then you can take out the mainboard (remove the lower part where the audio jack is first, then slide it out from left), The empty bottom chassis looks like this:

10. The mainboard looks like the picture below. to remove the cooling system, unscrew the 4 screws on CPU/chipset heatsink, and 2 screws on GPU heatsink. These 6 screws are fixed on heatsink so don't force to take them out. then remove 1 last screw on top of fan. Now the cooling assembly can be take out from mainboard.

11. Clean the vent on the bottom of main chassis; clean the fan and vent with vacuum or compressed air if there are dusts.

12. I forgot to take picture when I first opened up the laptop. So what you see from the final picture is after I remove the thermal pad on GPU. I put a small aluminum pad in between GPU and heatsink (the shining silver pad shown on the heatsink) with thermal paste (OCZ freeze) on both sides.

Remark: when I fist open up the heatsink assembly, the two yellowish plastic bands near the top VRAM chips actually covers the chip and the thermal pad is not in direct contact with the chips. That's what make me think that the VRAM chip may not have a big heat issue, so I didn't replace those thermal pads with metal pads.

~~credits to mangos47 @NBR

This post has been edited by miahahaha: Jun 28 2010, 08:50 AM
TSastria
post Jun 20 2010, 01:35 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

can't get the thumbnail back... sad.gif
miahahaha
post Jun 20 2010, 01:37 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

wonder i see the thumbnail look kinda weird sad.gif...

@astria
Maybe you can delete the part for Price..as the units are kinda rare as for now nod.gif..and also the [/b] part under the benchmark title nod.gif
jakuraz
post Jun 20 2010, 01:43 PM

need more stars. i luv em
582 posts

for S42 P8600, the official nvidia driver(from nvidia website) is better or Dox 185.85?
or is there any other better drivers?
miahahaha
post Jun 20 2010, 01:45 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

QUOTE(jakuraz @ Jun 20 2010, 01:43 PM)
for S42 P8600, the official nvidia driver(from nvidia website) is better or Dox 185.85?
or is there any other better drivers?
Well, for less hassle while installing, the official one is better while Dox can provide you the best temp while playing games (at most max out 96C, well for some S42 that is)....you can try out Nautis driver (please check 2nd post), but temp wise Dox is still better...

Dox 185.85 is still the best (for me that is) when comes to temp nod.gif...

Added on June 20, 2010, 1:46 pmWait, you cannot use the official driver from nVidia, from BenQ website then can be use...nVidia neglected Hybrid GC, there are no official one from nVidia as we speak now nod.gif

This post has been edited by miahahaha: Jun 20 2010, 01:46 PM
jakuraz
post Jun 20 2010, 01:46 PM

need more stars. i luv em
582 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Jun 20 2010, 01:45 PM)
Well, for less hassle while installing, the official one is better while Dox can provide you the best temp while playing games (at most max out 96C, well for some S42 that is)....you can try out Nautis driver (please check 2nd post), but temp wise Dox is still better...

Dox 185.85 is still the best (for me that is) when comes to temp nod.gif...
thnx biggrin.gif
but i have problem installing dox 185.85 in win 7 32-bit..
after restarting laptop, the screen goes blank all the way
miahahaha
post Jun 20 2010, 01:48 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

Just wait, i linked to the official one from BenQ nod.gif

Added on June 20, 2010, 1:50 pm@Jakuraz
Maybe you can try out Dox 195.62 nod.gif..usually its easier to install the 32-bit version rather than 64-bit one nod.gif

This post has been edited by miahahaha: Jun 20 2010, 01:50 PM
TSastria
post Jun 20 2010, 01:51 PM

22,158 posts

here u go...

miahahaha
post Jun 20 2010, 01:53 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

No wonder astria is missing for a moment there..busy taking pictures laugh.gif..
Dackson
post Jun 20 2010, 01:59 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

congrate new v ~

Added on June 20, 2010, 2:02 pmwhat astria doing ??
if not mistaken that unit is n81vp ? bcoz blue board may be is PM45 gua~
harddisc is hitachi one ... not very nice la ~
i saw the wiring not welly done !

This post has been edited by Dackson: Jun 20 2010, 02:02 PM
miahahaha
post Jun 20 2010, 02:06 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

@Dackson
Look closely..its not even a 14" sweat.gif..that one is Acer Aspire One nod.gif

Added on June 20, 2010, 2:07 pmMaybe you can open up your Mini can compare with astria brows.gif..see, which mobo HP Mini use laugh.gif

Added on June 20, 2010, 2:09 pmJust found out...where did all lee siggy gone?? Delete himself or got nuked?? hmm.gif..that Dell coupon is useful info smile.gif

This post has been edited by miahahaha: Jun 20 2010, 02:09 PM
evolution120
post Jun 20 2010, 02:15 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Jun 20 2010, 02:06 PM)
@Dackson
Look closely..its not even a 14" sweat.gif..that one is Acer Aspire One nod.gif

Added on June 20, 2010, 2:07 pmMaybe you can open up your Mini can compare with astria brows.gif..see, which mobo HP Mini use laugh.gif

Added on June 20, 2010, 2:09 pmJust found out...where did all lee siggy gone?? Delete himself or got nuked?? hmm.gif..that Dell coupon is useful info smile.gif
i guess is nuked..

going lowyat plaza~ bye guys! catch up u guys later~!
TSastria
post Jun 20 2010, 02:22 PM

22,158 posts

man.. i got poisoned deep deep by the Aspire One 521... drool.gif

self poisoned... wat the hell... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Jun 20 2010, 02:22 PM
miahahaha
post Jun 20 2010, 02:33 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

How come you poisoned yourself with your own netbook sweat.gif...
TSastria
post Jun 20 2010, 02:33 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Jun 20 2010, 02:33 PM)
How come you poisoned yourself with your own netbook sweat.gif...
the new one with Athlon II Neo wor...
miahahaha
post Jun 20 2010, 02:34 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

Just noticed something, my laptop is running cooler with Win7 hmm.gif..now idle for CPU is 49C~51C, when on Vista its 53C~55C hmm.gif..

126 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:30 AM