5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

University Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN) thread V3, ~Uniten Generates Professionals~

41LY45
post Jul 4 2010, 11:09 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

Hello Bros..

Living in A2 here.. Nice place, better than the last place i went to (for 1 week only there la) ..

QUOTE(jieNzye @ Jul 4 2010, 10:46 PM)
dota? anybody?
Anything else but dota pls.. CS:S or maybe some BFBC2..

I'm not sure of 2nd one with the current situation of the net now..

41LY45
post Jul 7 2010, 12:34 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(LiSa C @ Jul 6 2010, 09:04 PM)
Seriously ?? What's wrong with you ??

Added on July 6, 2010, 9:06 pm

Tak habis-habis cerita pasal DOTA.....boring laa.....

DOTA------>>>DUNIA ORANG TIADA AWEK.....
LOL.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Finally someone who agrees with me on the DOTA issue.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
41LY45
post Jul 16 2010, 01:03 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(old_and_slow @ Jul 16 2010, 12:32 AM)
in this week, 2 laptops were stolen in the admin building, because of careless...

if you bring laptop, please keep your eyes on.
Now i fear for my laptop.. sad.gif

BTW, are the lockers at the library safe enough?
41LY45
post Sep 22 2010, 04:26 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(Dagger69 @ Sep 21 2010, 12:50 AM)
All also sucks. Coverage not that good. Tried with p1, the speed okok only. But at least p1, celcom bb and maxis bb are better compare to uniten's line.
blink.gif Got P1 Wimax meh?? hows coverage, stability?

41LY45
post Sep 24 2010, 02:03 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(Dagger69 @ Sep 23 2010, 05:40 PM)
Got. Coverage so so only. Thats why the connection not that fast. Stable is stable.
How is it compared to the other mobile broadband?

Thinking of maybe picking one up if it's better la..
41LY45
post Sep 25 2010, 02:21 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(Dagger69 @ Sep 24 2010, 11:06 PM)
Erm P1 not as good as Maxis BB. Maxis BB at Cendi is fast. But trust me, all of them are way better than Uniten internet.  biggrin.gif
Way better indeed.
Uniten internet is damn slow.

So, Maxis BB huh? Probably a better choice since coverage better than P1, celcom's new plan now sucks la..

Get same quota, less speed, same price.

Thanks anyway bro. biggrin.gif
41LY45
post Oct 19 2010, 05:16 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(jah_skido @ Oct 18 2010, 01:59 AM)

But i've heard rumours there are ways of bypassing the proxy and what not..but nothing substantial...Furthermore i've heard of staff ip's and underground ip address known only by select few that grants access to super fast internet...

Anyone know nething??
Well, if people know something, they won't let others know la.. Many people = slow connection..
VPN's do not work, my friend tried that out, and failed..

Proxy? it seems more and more likely to be permanent....

Can't even skype on normal proxy.. but got solution for that .

BTW, heard that 4 laptops got stolen at amanah recently..

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Oct 19 2010, 05:22 PM
41LY45
post Oct 19 2010, 05:59 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Oct 19 2010, 05:22 PM)
FYI, it's tunneling. How is it and who's offering it, well good luck in finding that laugh.gif
via DNS using SSH? brows.gif

QUOTE(Fabrication @ Oct 19 2010, 05:25 PM)
please advise where is Seri Sarjana Hall  (680)??

i am not familiar with uniten campus, please provide clear direction..
better if with gps coordinate.. smile.gif

thanks.
http://maps.google.com.my/maps?hl=en&clien...F-8&sa=N&tab=wl

You'll see it on the left side of the road, can't miss it. right on the hill. smile.gif
41LY45
post Dec 10 2010, 06:47 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

From early yesterday, we have had problems with our Internet access. Our equipment has been subjected to abnormal traffic levels which has resulted in extremely slow response times. We are monitoring the situation closely and will do all we can to minimize the impact of the increased traffic levels.

At this moment, we can only speculate that this increased traffic may be due to the hacker attacks on sites which have denied service to WikiLeaks. The mechanism that is normally used for such attacks is to infect PCs on the Internet with malicious software that will then attempt to bring down the targeted sites. Some of our PCs on campus may have been infected and is thus generating the increased traffic.
We will take all the necessary action to overcome this problem as soon as possible. We regret the inconvenience caused.

IT & Multimedia Services

Source: email
doh.gif doh.gif

41LY45
post Jan 7 2011, 12:15 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Jan 6 2011, 11:36 PM)
IIRC some people said to me previously UNITEN is going to charge for electricity. I guess it's the meter for that.
doh.gif

People using too much electricity maybe?

Some people do their folding here though. whistling.gif

41LY45
post Jan 7 2011, 07:53 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(rebornyama @ Jan 7 2011, 05:54 PM)
OMG. Awang!!! hahaha~
Kantoi sudah.. sweat.gif

Zayani laugh.gif
41LY45
post Feb 10 2011, 03:48 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(rebornyama @ Feb 10 2011, 03:40 PM)
news.

hmph, so it seems like the boys from PPOU-PPC will be moving into ILMU this upcoming third sem. haiyaaaa. why nid to move laaaaaa
Lol, brows.gif brows.gif
41LY45
post Mar 4 2011, 12:16 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(kuaq11 @ Mar 3 2011, 09:06 AM)
haiyooo....if like this i gotta think twice to enter Uniten...everything is increasing...sure my money will flow like a water in there...im not from the rich family...sedih2  cry.gif
Have to consider that too bro.
Even us scholars are having a hard time, prepaid meter, sh!tty internet and all.

Added on March 4, 2011, 12:28 am
QUOTE(LiMi @ Mar 2 2011, 01:26 PM)
There IS a "boycott-gathering" thingy happening tomorrow
Facebook note
tl;dr version  - ppl are pissed off and they wanna call ppl to wear RED shirt to DSS on Thurday 7.30 pm

Maybe they ARE educating us ... that in the ADULT world $$$ is all that matters. shakehead.gif

Like i said, they're better off making the Air con in COIT less cold by 1C enough to save like >1 mil in a month, why turn into Vampires and SUCK our blood?
Got TNB Data center up there. Must keep servers cool. sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(demolationz @ Mar 2 2011, 07:45 PM)
dont worry la . tomorrow got Dialogue With Uniten's Management . better you voice out and makes a stand bro . Dont simply flaming them , by becoming keyboard critics . No offense .  tongue.gif

go HERE (Facebook Link)
Just got back! IT WAS AWESOME!

QUOTE(apO? @ Mar 2 2011, 08:31 PM)
I'm planning to go tomorrow. what I'm afraid is, even if we make our stand, will they listen to us?

For the years I'm studying here, history thought me that the management always win. they do whatever they wanted to.

but you got a point, voice out and make a stand..better to try than to do nothing.

Fellow Uniten students, let make DSS @ MPH crowded tomorrow..
nod.gif nod.gif

Anyway,

‎50Mbps for 600k per year? Lying to me.
Time's 24Mbps enterprise package didn't even reach 2k/per month.

If you double that pun, it does not even = 600k. WATAFAK?!!?

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Mar 4 2011, 12:28 AM
41LY45
post Mar 4 2011, 08:54 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Mar 4 2011, 08:39 AM)
There's no server in Coit. only PCs. UNITEN server room is somewhere else.

50Mbps? That's UNITEN line? Last I heard it was only either 32 or 36  hmm.gif
It's at the upper levels. TNB's one actually. It mirrors the one in Bangsar. And nobody is suppose to know about that actually. whistling.gif

Yup, thats wat they said. sweat.gif

UiTM got 1Gbps. We haz...... doh.gif

QUOTE(demolationz @ Mar 4 2011, 08:40 AM)
seriously awesome ? kinda kecewa dont go  cry.gif i've got Islamic studies class last nite . aiyoh  laugh.gif
Yeah, VC kena tembak by students. Got back early form a lecture. Managed to catch up @ QA session only. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Mar 4 2011, 09:06 AM
41LY45
post Mar 4 2011, 10:05 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Mar 4 2011, 09:59 AM)
The one on 5th floor eh? That floor is pretty new actually. Last 2 years maybe. Before that students were calling ghost floor or something because it was empty while the other floors were bustling with classes and 6th floor is the dean's office lol. Well I did heard it was for ILSAS but never knew there was a server there. LOL~
Yup, that's it alright. Now full of TNB servers.
41LY45
post Mar 4 2011, 01:28 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(LiMi @ Mar 4 2011, 12:55 PM)
Can describe more about the Dialogue?
How's the attendance? Whats the resolution?
Too bad i didnt go cause i went back.

ps : on the internet part, are they STILL repairing/upgrading internet servers? The direct connection seems to be slower than average.
1. Tok kok by uniten the others said. Followed by Q/A session.

What is confirmed the apartment rates will not go up.
The rest is still under "discussion". doh.gif doh.gif

Using the proxy on mine. I think they purposely do that la. sweat.gif
41LY45
post Mar 4 2011, 03:59 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(demolationz @ Mar 4 2011, 02:19 PM)
VC sudah kena ? kinda cool bro . lol  brows.gif

upper lvl got TNB server ? my lecturer oledi told . long long time ago . you know so-called-Penguin lecturer ?  tongue.gif
Mr. Alan Cheah? whistling.gif

And the monkeys in the server room?

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Mar 4 2011, 04:06 PM
41LY45
post Mar 4 2011, 04:09 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(aXisSymmetry @ Mar 4 2011, 03:01 PM)
Oi, since when Uniten's thread got active n merrier like this? Hahaha

Just because of the electric meter huh? laugh.gif

Yup, this really pain on the butt. Right now, our average use for 1 day is about ±RM4 I think.  biggrin.gif

Dunno if this ok or what.  sweat.gif
K.O. Me thinks. doh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(Seager @ Mar 4 2011, 03:59 PM)
Nope, it's definitely not okay.
We, as students, are being charged the industrial rate of 39.7cents per KWH, instead of the domestic rate of 21cents (If i'm not mistaken).
Besides, don't you think that the meters are running pretty fast?  brows.gif
Even my state back home, (highest tariff in Malaysia, 34sen/KWH) charges cheaper than UNITEN. doh.gif sweat.gif
41LY45
post Mar 4 2011, 06:12 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(aXisSymmetry @ Mar 4 2011, 04:11 PM)
Yup. I know about the rate. Its 40cents per KWH FYI. It showed on the meter. N I realized that the meter is running fast. But this is kinda OK to me right now because my friend at another house just reached below RM20 this week. laugh.gif So mine's better. Btw, I'm running a PC.

Edit: Mine is still above RM20. Then, my friend mentioned before is using laptop.

Also, I agreed on what u say. Why does we being charged on Industrial rate at the first place? Lol this in residential area, what they expect students use factory devices in each house? mad.gif

Srsly, 40cent? Industrial rate on residential area? What shocking me is that the meter just support Single-Phase system. Not a Triple-phase. Usually the triples will get industrial rates. Oh what?  vmad.gif
Oh, the person who likes use "penguin" in his talks.

Could someone who experienced his class? So I can counter-action or something?  whistling.gif
I did, susah sikit nak counter. laugh.gif

QUOTE(ragu91 @ Mar 4 2011, 05:30 PM)
dont enter uniten ,for ur good..  smile.gif
got TNB servers.. alan cheah told before..

yea.. 50mbps, and they claim it cost them 400k per year.. wtf ?  mad.gif

Added on March 4, 2011, 5:35 pm
yea kinda.. at a point of time , i was also thinking of credit transfer to other uni.. lol..
anyway, i found staying at unipark(near KLIUC) is cheaper compared to cendikiawan.. smile.gif
It's 600k per year. (based on slides during dialog and what a panel say.
vmad.gif vmad.gif

41LY45
post Mar 4 2011, 11:36 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Mar 4 2011, 06:16 PM)
I don't really trust the slides. Anyone could have created slides and put random figures in.
For all we know, they could be playing mind games with us.

"Why is it that in COIT it is so cold, but in COE is it so BLOODY HOT?!" - Legendary. lol
doh.gif doh.gif
They need to be more transparent of the expenses. The REAL numbers should be revealed.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0513sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:41 PM