Where can I buy techron concentrate plus ?, Additive ...
Jul 19 2014, 12:11 PM
7,757 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Subang |
I can vouch for the Techron Concentrate Plus. I'm currently in the states and this is by far the most recommended fuel additive that actually works. I use it frequently on my VW and it helps improve the mileage by a noticeable amount. I use a bottle every ~2000km.
Jul 20 2014, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(kitongti @ Jul 19 2014, 02:43 PM) Just pour in a bottle of the Techron when your fuel tank is almost empty then proceed to refuel your car. QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Jul 19 2014, 06:42 PM) I've tried many other brands but none works as well as this TCP. A new one that just came out here is the Royal Purple Max Clean but the verdict is still out there. Tried a bottle of it but didn't notice as big of a difference as with the Techron. |
Jul 22 2014, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 20 2014, 03:23 PM) A definite increase in MPG. (I'm in the states and that's what they use I do have to say this though, initially my car had some misfiring issue that was giving me a headache (changed spark plugs, coilpacks etc with no result) and surprisingly this Techron managed to temporarily stop the misfiring issue that I had. Eventually I found out the real cause for the misfiring and got it fixed permanently QUOTE(kitongti @ Jul 21 2014, 12:39 AM) Thanks pengster... at my kampung got a few of them.. i asked the counter.. he also don't know how... No worries! Hope it works out well for you |
Jul 22 2014, 03:12 PM
Jul 23 2014, 11:04 AM
Jul 23 2014, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 23 2014, 12:01 PM) My car is using a DI engine. Technically it will not be able to clean the intake valves because of the nature of direct injection. But it still helps in other ways for my car. QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jul 23 2014, 01:43 PM) You used a funnel and it didn't work? Get one that's suitable for cars and not just any normal funnel.Edit: This is something like the one I got for my friend. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by pengster: Jul 23 2014, 03:17 PM |
Jul 23 2014, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jul 23 2014, 03:29 PM) Yeah it shouldn't be too expensive. QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 23 2014, 03:30 PM) He has a Fiesta which has the capless fuel tank thingy that makes things difficult |
Jul 24 2014, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(thankyou @ Jul 23 2014, 06:36 PM) SEriously wont' help? Meaning it wouldn't help for VW cars as well? The only real way to get rid of the carbon deposit on our DI engines is to either get it manually cleaned (which is what I did) or do an Italian tune up. I've bought one bottle and waiting to refill my petrol QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 23 2014, 07:19 PM) Actually it might, carbon build up in Di engines is because fuel is hitting the valves during injection causing build up. So if the fuel has detergent like the tcp it may help remove some It might help a bit but it won't get rid of the carbon buildup. The fuel does not go through the intake valves in DI engines. For non DI engines you're right, the fuel will hit the intake valves hence cleaning it if the fuel has detergent in it or if an additive is used in the fuel. QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Jul 23 2014, 08:41 PM) Filled up with around 50l of petrol for my first bottle of tcp followed by second bottle with around 30l of petrol. Not sure if the techron concentrated plus does improve the RON rating but the engine does feel very energetic for the second tank. Yup, similar experience here. I only pump the equivalent of RON98 here and even then there's still a noticeable improvement. |
Jul 24 2014, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(thankyou @ Jul 24 2014, 10:38 AM) I had it manually cleaned. The workshop guys removed the intake manifold and soaked the valves in a solution for a couple of hours before scrubbing all the carbon out. BMW has their own procedure for their DI engines which is called walnut blasting. It seems to be a normal procedure for them to have their valves blasted once in a while. For reference, take a look at how bad the carbon buildup was on my car » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by pengster: Jul 24 2014, 03:26 PM |
Jul 25 2014, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 24 2014, 07:20 PM) QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 24 2014, 09:10 PM) Yup it's pretty bad. But its common among the VW/Audi 2.0TFSI engines and on the BMW DI engines. Doing a full carbon cleaning once in a while is common practice for owners here. But, an italian tune up every now and then helps keep our valves clean Here's one of the valves after cleaning: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Aug 2 2014, 01:10 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
| Change to: | 0.0323sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:57 PM |