Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" v.28, v51.0.06 is up + C6 CFW.

sklchan
post Jun 14 2010, 10:29 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(denon91 @ Jun 13 2010, 11:58 PM)
Hi bro,i oso found tat my v50 fw also buggy and  laggy.i want to know any problem u use current cfw firmwre,which 1 u thinkis better,origina o cfw?thx
smartphone are all the same, when ppl saying laggy it's when they compare it with others brand hp like the iphone or the xperia or others, but do keep in mind all the hp out there have it's own pro/con as well as price tag, for me the 5800xm is the most customisable, affordable plus HUGE pile of user group where come into mods and improvement it will be the fastest compare to others hp nod.gif
sklchan
post Jun 14 2010, 01:12 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jun 14 2010, 11:33 AM)
Hi all....

This is regarding Ovi Map 3.04 installer, after i hard reset the phone, ovi map will revert back to 3.03 and my phone memory will be at 72MB but after i download and install ovi maps 3.04, my phone memory drop to 58MB, is there any way to dump all the ovi map files into memory card?

this is always the case, the new manual install Ovi Map won't and cannot overwrite the firmware included version. Refer to others although if we success to modify the latest Ovi Map install in mem card this will render the setting unable to be safe. The current only solution for this is to modify the Ovi Maps through cfw but sadly it still unable to overwrite all original firmware Ovi Maps as the installation is inside the .c00 core files where till date no solution for modification, if u really need the latest Ovi Map then u have to wait for the next firmware release which hopefully will reach us by July? (if we look at the history track on the 5800xm firmware release) nod.gif

Added on June 14, 2010, 1:31 pm
QUOTE(denon91 @ Jun 14 2010, 10:57 AM)
Actually i am loyal supporter of nokia smartphone(3650,6600,6681,n70,n97),all phones cant be 100% perfect,btw,i am very satisfied with my 5800 now.my warranty is expired long long time ago,so i dun nid scare to flash to cfw,hehe
when come to say of the flaws and hitches on the 5800xm, below is some weird things i saw with the latest v50 firmware:

1. sometimes the phone out of sudden use up lots of power (from normal ~3mA to abnormal ~30mA), a restart will resolve the issue, suspecting it's due to either the wifi/gps/bt/rf circuitry that hang and stay ON although inactive.

2. wifi connection established but data wont flow through, a restart will resolve the issue.

3. Orange tsunami saying "HS out of memory" (new issue after using the Orange Tsunami HS, very rare happen only once for about 2 weeks usage), a restart will resolve the issue.

4. Incoming call can't make the phone ring although the network showing ok, other side getting the phone is not reachable, a restart will resolve the issue (rare issue happen about 2 times since v50 update a few months back)

5. Nokia messaging app. won't auto reconnect to dedicated wifi connection after it disconnected, the nokia 5530 perform better on the auto email retrieve once the dedicated wifi ap discover within the range. Confirm it's app related bug.

6. MENU items sometimes not responding on click, this is mostly related to the KS setting (a lots of mods out there) regarding the "drag ability" setting. All back to personal preference, original KS setting make the MENU items sometime scroll out of edge especially on the lower and upper icons.

7. MENU screen scroll are more lag compare with other KS screen, non of the KS setting mods out there able to resolve this whistling.gif

Hope these info will be useful for someone as references nod.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jun 14 2010, 01:31 PM
sklchan
post Jun 16 2010, 02:43 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Forgotten06 @ Jun 16 2010, 02:01 PM)
Guys, did you noticed that Ovi Maps for Malaysia is updated?
u mean the maps? not check it yet as the last time check the maps still same
sklchan
post Jun 16 2010, 03:09 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Forgotten06 @ Jun 16 2010, 03:01 PM)
Mine is 0.1.24.114.
+1, i just updated my MFM maps. more POI is added.
seem like it do have update, POI vise the nokia Maps won't be as much as MFM Maps, but what we really need is the roads update, if really want to point out the advantage of the nokia Maps it would be the internal road (example inside the factory, housing area/block) are more detail compare with MFM where this tiny road just doesn't exist. nod.gif
sklchan
post Jun 16 2010, 04:17 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Jun 16 2010, 03:16 PM)
i just like ovi maps because its accuracy, i move it move, and also can browse map without worrying for it to hang...

i just learned that garmin v.5.00.60 is the last version of garmin...garmin mobile xt for symbian is discontinued.

fixes
v5.00.60:
- To improve the horizontal to vertical NOKIA 5800 screen problem
- NOKIA 5800 to improve the horizontal screen open "turn preview" issue
- To improve the NOKIA 5800 in the evening when the text mode

Added on June 16, 2010, 3:28 pmThanks for contacting GARMIN corp. Your mail has been forwarded on to us from Garmin International.

We regret to say that your Nokia N97 is not GMXT supported. We are not going release any new software to fix it. Please understand about this.
When replying to this message please be sure to include all previous correspondences.

Best regards,

Denise Ting
Marketing Dept, GARMIN Corp.
Add: No. 68, Jhangshu 2nd Road, Sijhih, Taipei County 221, Taiwan
Tel: 02-2642-8999 Ext: 6866

----------------------------

Another Correspondance from a different user
Thanks for contacting GARMIN corp.

Since nuvifone is currently available, our GMXT for smart phones will discontinue.
When replying to this message please be sure to include all previous correspondences.

Best regards,

Denise Ting
Marketing Dept, GARMIN Corp.
Add: No. 68, Jhangshu 2nd Road, Sijhih, Taipei County 221, Taiwan
Tel: 02-2642-8999 Ext: 6866

source: http://www.malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=4300
This is why hoping for our MFM group to catch up to nokia Maps but sadly they got piss off by the nokia Maps provider last time shakehead.gif
sklchan
post Jun 17 2010, 09:13 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Jun 17 2010, 08:28 AM)
u giving good comments.. i think cannot wait adi.. hope i managed to buy tomoro!! also outdated but who cares.. i'm buying a legendary phone biggrin.gif
you won't regret for what you paid for nod.gif
but sure you will need a long way learning how to harvest the most out from the phone tongue.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2010, 02:45 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jun 23 2010, 02:06 PM)
anyone?  blush.gif
memory card corruption, connect through usb as mass storage then use the windows scandisk tool to scan the memory card, u will lost all those corrupted files (which will be rename and move into the file000 folder), if those currupted files not involving critical system files then u are good to go, but if it's involving system files then a full format on the mem card will resolve the issue. nod.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2010, 03:09 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jun 23 2010, 03:04 PM)
memory card problem ? wudn't it be anything related to the screen ? i'm having rainbow colors on my screen when restart bro
do it first before go futher discussion doh.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2010, 03:21 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Jinx-Z @ Jun 23 2010, 03:12 PM)
refer to the FP on thread title "What & How To I"...

is tis the step???
- Open Windows Explorer
- Open E:\Private folder
- Open 101ffca9 Folder
- Delete harvesterdb.dat file
- Delete the E:\Private\10281e17
- Disconnect phone from PC
- Turn device OFF then ON back again

Remember: Media library refreshing may take somtime to load for the first time depending on the amount of songs you're having on the device. Please be patient.

mean that i need to hack my hp?from what i read,hacking the hp will void the warranty...is that true??
this will be the 1st step, and if it can resolve ur issue then u are good to go, but if it can't that's mean u have to go through the scandisk process to eliminate all corrupted files. 5800xm very easy to have corrupted file system within the mem card even the v50 firmware still seeing the issue, not sure the rootcause but for me i'm seldom use the mass storage method for transfer, i facing the curruption just after I fully update to v50 as some of my files (the whole folder gone empty) without reason whistling.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2010, 03:52 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jun 23 2010, 03:44 PM)
bro may i know did u experience this issue b4 ?
what I'm facing before might not same as yours but same rainbow strip line seeing and the phone reboot, the screen fade in from bright to dim and shrink into arainbow color line to the side. If u really wanna change your screen then it's up to you as i dont think this is hardware problem, although changing the screen is FOC within warranty period but i dont trust the servicing guy method will be better compare to factory made tongue.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2010, 04:02 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 23 2010, 03:57 PM)
If have lines send to nokia care centre for warranty if AP then send to the shop u bought from.

This problem been around since this thread is V10
but from what he saying is the "rainbow line" and not the dead pixel line, if it really due to the hardware then i'm sure it wont just happen "sometimes" it will be a permanent rainbow line at the screen tongue.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2010, 04:09 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Jun 23 2010, 04:06 PM)
this problem also appeared in v40(software problem), try to update to v50, if the lines still there then its a hardware problem. plus hang apps also cause this, u can try to boot without card, if its there = hardware.
good point... rclxms.gif

turion64, you can do this step for "extream fast" verification nod.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2010, 04:21 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jun 23 2010, 04:18 PM)
updated to v50..same issue  blush.gif
not this lah, try to remove your mem card and reboot, then try and see the rainbow thing still happen or not without the mem card attach... nod.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2010, 04:44 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jun 23 2010, 04:39 PM)
my warranty end this month. guess i better hurry

thanks guys!
so? did u run through the test by removing your mem card? at least your proper troubleshooting and root cause the rainbow line thing get proper confirmation on hardware/software failure... nod.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2010, 05:18 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jun 23 2010, 05:10 PM)
the thing is it only came up when i flash it with custom firmware (the first time when it boot up with the new firmware, it will have that rainbow line)

another cause is that when i using facebook app it will suddenly reboot itself showing that rainbow lines.

if i reboot the phone myself it will not show..sorry for not being clear just now.
hehe, then if i were you, i won't be suspecting the hardware... every single rainbow line occurance whenever u have hanging/crashing apps. But for safe site and comfort of your heart (also warranty near end) u have to make your decision fast about changing the LCD nod.gif
sklchan
post Jun 28 2010, 05:58 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Forgotten06 @ Jun 28 2010, 03:59 PM)
From what I observed, OVI maps have more detailed maps and road maps but less POI compared to garmin. (I compared both of them in latest map version)
it all depend on where you refer to, at my area the Garmin already have proper route for the latest U-Turn or Traffic light but no where found inside the Ovi Maps, something the Ovi Maps do have is the detail route inside most of the housing area where in Garmin only showing the building blocks without road. nod.gif
sklchan
post Jul 1 2010, 05:31 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

Garmin Mobile XT v6.00.10 released... go ask uncle google nod.gif
sklchan
post Jul 1 2010, 07:10 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 1 2010, 07:00 PM)
Its unofficial version... maybe even fake
fake no fake not sure but the GMobileXT.exe within the .sis installer is far more huge then the v5.00.60... i've try to browse maps so far not hanging... but the special character during POI search will still lock the screen within the key in screen nod.gif
sklchan
post Jul 2 2010, 12:33 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Jul 2 2010, 08:27 AM)
u install it on top of v5? coz i read u need to have v5 to install v6.. something like addon..
don't think it's an add on but more to a whole new .exe for the main application, not much different notice during yesterday trial run... hmm.gif
but the Browse Maps feature do improve for me, last time it sure will hang if I zoom out to East Malaysia Maps then zoom in back and scroll the maps, but this round it stay ok through out the experiment nod.gif
sklchan
post Jul 13 2010, 03:07 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(StrifeShady @ Jul 13 2010, 03:01 PM)
i am very sorry for asking a bloody question and annoys you. yeah, i am poor and could not afford an iphone.

@ navilink, do you think it would have any effect on the phone by removing it when the phone hangs?
at the beginning stage the 5800xm really need lots of your attention on all those miniminimo error... sweat.gif
but sooner later when u learn more on the device it actually out perform lots of smartphone out there... nod.gif
what i can say is that the 5800xm is a "not so smart" smartphone at it initial state tongue.gif

eye on the N8 now... drool.gif

Added on July 13, 2010, 3:14 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 13 2010, 03:03 PM)
U not annoying me only many others. Thats why u notice the thread is dying. Those that care had enough and leave already. If u cant afford an iphone stop complaining about 5800XM. Because its one of the up to date touchscreen phone in the market that worth every buck.
proud u still here rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jul 13 2010, 03:14 PM

0.0216sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:14 PM