Science Mirror, Does it lie??

TSmelvin91motorola
post Jun 9 2010, 10:10 PM, updated 16y ago

349 posts

My 1st question is, everytime we look at a mirror, do people surrounding us see our image what we seen in the mirror? then how do we know we look good in peoples eyes anyway because the mirror inverted our image? sometimes i look in the mirror i look kinda good, but when i snap my own photo it looks different like my jaw is not symmetry, it kinda lose my self-esteem abit sad.gif and i wish i saw what people see me in real life than what i saw in mirror

does the mirror lie then?
SUSCliffrison
post Jun 9 2010, 10:16 PM

It's so fluffy I'm gonna die!
819 posts

wtf is this?
SUSslimey
post Jun 9 2010, 10:16 PM

6,914 posts

possible if the mirror has "defects" such as a rough or distorted reflecting surface

anyway...... unsymmetrical parts of the body is pretty common
teongpeng
post Jun 10 2010, 12:37 AM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Jun 9 2010, 10:10 PM)
My 1st question is, everytime we look at a mirror, do people surrounding us see our image what we seen in the mirror? then how do we know we look good in peoples eyes anyway because the mirror inverted our image? sometimes i look in the mirror i look kinda good, but when i snap my own photo it looks different like my jaw is not symmetry, it kinda lose my self-esteem abit  sad.gif  and i wish i saw what people see me in real life than what i saw in mirror

does the mirror lie then?

when u look in the mirror, you see a reflection of yourself reflecting what u want to see up close in the here and now. when u look at a still picture its like looking at a 3rd party externally from faraway. our perception changes (so do our eyes and its judgements) according to what we want in the here and now. since a picture is taken in the past, we have no control on where we want to look and the stillness of a photo forces us to look at it with more objective eyes.

what u described happens to many ppl.

This post has been edited by teongpeng: Jun 10 2010, 12:40 AM
SUSgarytong
post Jun 10 2010, 01:23 AM

203 posts

You should be asking does camera lie?!

The lense curve make people look very good or very bad in picture.

malutapimau
post Jun 10 2010, 08:32 AM

751 posts

relax,,,,just accept the fact that you're non-photogenic-----never take pics of yourself / never post pics in www-----------
faceless
post Jun 10 2010, 09:26 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

The difference in the image you see in the camera and the mirror is the angle of sight. In mirrors you will at eye-level prespective. In camera it has many variation. Eg, brideye's view, elavation, ... That is what sometime you see your jaw twisted in picture.
naughtyz
post Jun 10 2010, 12:58 PM

1,557 posts

depends what kinda mirror...DSLR does not lie... haha
camrycilver
post Jun 10 2010, 03:22 PM

'Sheet' Happens. Just Take It Easy. Relax la.. (`_´)v
1,234 posts

mirror2 hanging on da wall...pls somebody tell me, who's da biggest fool of all... tongue.gif

oh...btw, i think bcos of da lighting la...mirror no lighting...so, look 'normal' a bit la... rolleyes.gif
jind86
post Jun 10 2010, 05:23 PM

1,507 posts

er... should this be here? o.O"
camrycilver
post Jun 10 2010, 05:28 PM

1,234 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Jun 10 2010, 05:23 PM)
er... should this be here? o.O"
men oso ned 2 look gd wat... smile.gif more confidence... tongue.gif look like artist(tom cruise,brad pitt laugh.gif )
naughtyz
post Jun 10 2010, 08:40 PM

1,557 posts

I don't think TC n BP look into the mirror always...the girl's give the opinion like alway s...
netmatrix
post Jun 10 2010, 11:19 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,723 posts

It seems like TS have self conscious issues. shakehead.gif
fixgd
post Jun 10 2010, 11:47 PM

3,880 posts

lol. cant blame the mirror la. cant blame camera also. if we are good looking, then should be no problem at all
camrycilver
post Jun 10 2010, 11:58 PM

1,234 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ Jun 10 2010, 11:47 PM)
lol. cant blame the mirror la. cant blame camera also. if we are good looking, then should be no problem at all
jus love our god-given face... nod.gif (if got pimple, can squeeze it...no prob...tis 1 is annoying laugh.gif )
TSmelvin91motorola
post Jun 11 2010, 12:45 AM

349 posts

It seems like TS have self conscious issues. shakehead.gif

no i dont smile.gif im just amazed to see what i look in the mirror is so much different in the photo

jus love our god-given face... nod.gif (if got pimple, can squeeze it...no prob...tis 1 is annoying laugh.gif )

smile.gif im happy with what im being blessed, i have flaws, so do evryone else, and that makes human interesting, beauty is imperfection smile.gif
camrycilver
post Jun 11 2010, 03:40 AM

1,234 posts

QUOTE(melvin91motorola @ Jun 11 2010, 12:45 AM)
no i dont  smile.gif im just amazed to see what i look in the mirror is so much different in the photo
sumtimes i look fat(face like fishball) in da photo... sweat.gif

if meet me outside, normal only... rolleyes.gif maintain handsome... whistling.gif
SUSLiLFreaK
post Jun 11 2010, 07:03 AM

374 posts

i think photo should be the real deal
camrycilver
post Jun 11 2010, 02:10 PM

1,234 posts

QUOTE(LiLFreaK @ Jun 11 2010, 07:03 AM)
i think photo should be the real deal
some ppl r photogenic...some r not... rolleyes.gif
night
post Jun 12 2010, 10:29 AM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

What you're facing here, everyone faces it as well. Me included. Sometimes I looked good in picture but not in real life.
netmatrix
post Jun 12 2010, 02:09 PM

6,723 posts

If you guys keep thinking that way, you would end up believing that there is another world behind the mirror. icon_idea.gif
camrycilver
post Jun 12 2010, 03:56 PM

1,234 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jun 12 2010, 02:09 PM)
If you guys keep thinking that way, you would end up believing that there is another world behind the mirror. icon_idea.gif
laugh.gif no la, tat 1 is 'kepercayaan karut'... icon_idea.gif
netmatrix
post Jun 12 2010, 04:28 PM

6,723 posts

Then accept that whats in front of the mirror is [you, yourself and you are]. Unless you are in a mirror fun house, now thats a different story.
maxilias
post Jun 12 2010, 07:41 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(naughtyz @ Jun 10 2010, 12:58 PM)
depends what kinda mirror...DSLR does not lie... haha
dslr even enhance ur looks..lolx
camrycilver
post Jun 13 2010, 01:11 AM

1,234 posts

QUOTE(maxilias @ Jun 12 2010, 07:41 PM)
dslr even enhance ur looks..lolx
betul ke ni ?!?!?? unsure.gif
maxilias
post Jun 13 2010, 04:56 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(camrycilver @ Jun 13 2010, 01:11 AM)
betul ke ni ?!?!?? unsure.gif
it captures every single figment of details of you..smile.gif
camrycilver
post Jun 14 2010, 05:11 AM

1,234 posts

QUOTE(maxilias @ Jun 13 2010, 04:56 AM)
it captures every single figment of details of you..smile.gif
rolleyes.gif face look 'shiny2'...lik tat la... laugh.gif

0.0216sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled