QX9650 Overclocking, Run OCCT 4hours++ Considered Stable?

TSbusta_dude
post Jun 7 2010, 12:25 PM, updated 16y ago

302 posts

Guys, I'm new in Quaddie. I just bought an OEM QX9650 and I OC it to 3.990GHz using 9.5 x 420FSB. I left my PC on with OCCT mix test for 4Hours++ then I stopped it because need to do some work. The max Temp it reached 79C. Is it can considered stable. My pc are not running 24/7. Only ON when I feel like gaming.
tech3910
post Jun 7 2010, 03:59 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Jun 7 2010, 12:25 PM)
Guys, I'm new in Quaddie. I just bought an OEM QX9650 and I OC it to 3.990GHz using 9.5 x 420FSB. I left my PC on with OCCT mix test for 4Hours++ then I stopped it because need to do some work. The max Temp it reached 79C. Is it can considered stable. My pc are not running 24/7. Only ON when I feel like gaming.
yes, stable & acceptable temperature.....
nikessj4
post Jun 11 2010, 06:15 PM

469 posts

dunt worry bro is safe btw ur stressing the cpu oni daily usage didnt reach the temp also happy.gif
saturn85
post Jun 20 2010, 07:43 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

if you not confident enough, you can test it for 6-10 hours.
its should be good if you can get better cooling. biggrin.gif
monsh
post Jun 21 2010, 01:34 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

yeah i somehow think that 8 hours is a good one, but if u want to know for sure, u would probably need to go for a solid 24 hours .
alexooi17
post Jun 21 2010, 11:20 AM

569 posts

bro,what is the cooler that you use ?
TSbusta_dude
post Jun 21 2010, 11:59 AM

302 posts

QX9650 @ 3.65GHz @ 430 x 8.5 @ 1.32V::Biostar TPower I45::4GB Kingston HyperX T1 @ 1066 @ 2.144V::Sapphire HD5970::500GB Seagate Sata2 32MB HDD::1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 32MB HDD::Corsair TX750::Creative Ectiva 5.1 WDM Sound Card::CCF w Tuniq TX-3 paste::

saturn85
post Jun 21 2010, 02:21 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

then what casing are you using?
TSbusta_dude
post Jun 21 2010, 03:46 PM

302 posts

Cooler Master CM590 with 3 intake 3 out.
saturn85
post Jun 21 2010, 03:53 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

i see, cooling solution is not bad.
maybe you can find the lowest vcore that is still stable with the overclock.
or may consider liquid cooling. brows.gif
monsh
post Jun 21 2010, 04:10 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

79C considered ok laa .
no need to fork out thousands of dollar on WC just to get a reading of 60C .
yes it'll give u more headroom for OC but i dont think its worth it that much .
ur doing great with ur OC there .
just try to see if u could go with lower vCore .
shinjite
post Jun 22 2010, 10:58 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

Normally 24 hours is considered rock stable....

But it all depends on the user how long he wanna stress his machine

But 79c is what you will get out of 4Ghz, it is THAT HOT smile.gif
tech3910
post Jun 22 2010, 01:19 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

frankly speaking, running hours of stress test program r like pushing the CPU >100% for a long period of time.

there is no way, under normal, usual usage, the CPU will ever gonna get loaded to dis extreme.
unless u run hours of rendering o something similar.

actually if the OC is stable wit 10 minutes of prime95, u can play game for whole day & it will not crash.
shinjite
post Jun 22 2010, 08:11 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

10 minutes is really too short actually
saturn85
post Jun 23 2010, 02:01 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

error may occur after even 1 hour of occt test. sad.gif
tech3910
post Jun 23 2010, 07:55 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Jun 23 2010, 02:01 AM)
error may occur after even 1 hour of occt test.  sad.gif
den test for 2 hours, but error may occur in >2 hours.
den test for 12 hours, but error may occur in >12 hours.
den test for 48 hours, but error may occur in >48 hours.
den y dun keep it running 4ever?

the point is, is really depend on ur usage.
like i said, if browsing internet, playing games (even hardcore), is wat u pc does, den 10 minutes of prime95 can edi provide rock solid stability.
saturn85
post Jun 23 2010, 09:19 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

haha, get what you mean la.
just different hardware, different situation. biggrin.gif
monsh
post Jun 23 2010, 11:07 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

haiyark that's like ur saying any car can drive at 100 but y buy mercedez instead ?

its because of the safety liao .

please remember than unstable overclock might be harmful to your hardware as well .

example, auto restart and such, can affect ur hardware .

i'd say a solid 8 hours is a good stress test .
but my low end rig failed after 10 hours .
now that is stressful to me T_T

possibly unstable ram .
SSJBen
post Jun 23 2010, 11:17 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jun 23 2010, 07:55 PM)
den test for 2 hours, but error may occur in >2 hours.
den test for 12 hours, but error may occur in >12 hours.
den test for 48 hours, but error may occur in >48 hours.
den y dun keep it running 4ever?

the point is, is really depend on ur usage.
like i said, if browsing internet, playing games (even hardcore), is wat u pc does, den 10 minutes of prime95 can edi provide rock solid stability.
A little ignorant aren't you? rolleyes.gif
People prime/OCCT/stress test for over 8 hours to ensure that the system is rock solid stable under the worst possible conditions.

Its true that most users will never run their PC at 100% usage for more than 1 hour even, much less to say over 5 hours...
But it is to ensure system stability.

To TS, I would also suggest you use your PC under your normal conditions also.
Run a simulation of what you'd normally do with your PC.
saturn85
post Jun 23 2010, 11:25 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(monsh @ Jun 23 2010, 11:07 PM)
haiyark that's like ur saying any car can drive at 100 but y buy mercedez instead ?

its because of the safety liao .

please remember than unstable overclock might be harmful to your hardware as well .

example, auto restart and such, can affect ur hardware .

i'd say a solid 8 hours is a good stress test .
but my low end rig failed after 10 hours .
now that is stressful to me T_T

possibly unstable ram .
wao, error after 10 hours, that is speechless.

but my system abit cripple, all stock setting, but occt test got error after 1 hour. doh.gif
i don't know whats going on.

0.0198sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:24 AM