Dell Streak

aminsa
post Jan 28 2011, 07:58 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 28 2011, 04:21 PM)
No issue with both thethering. I used wifi thether a few times with ipad. Only downside the battery usage I estimate increases about 20%
Your Dell cannot detect your notebook /or whatever you are using ??
Can detect, in fact connected but no Internet. But on dell I can see it is connected to 3G/H. Some how the pc say (Win7) no Internet connection but connected to dell. When I switch to usb tethering, its OK. Actually before this there is no issues, I could use wifi tethering.

This post has been edited by aminsa: Jan 28 2011, 07:59 PM
aminsa
post Feb 13 2011, 03:07 PM

71 posts

I just update my dell to 1.7.0 a few days ago. I like it except I experienced a few 'can not wake-up' problems. The only solutions is the remove the battery than boot. From what i have read from xda dev forum, people with the latest froyo 2.2 322 have less problem than people with 318 like mee. Anybody here know how to move to 322 from steve 318 1.7.0. I have already download the pkg file but don't know how to use it properly. Any pointer from people here?
aminsa
post Feb 13 2011, 05:33 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 13 2011, 04:40 PM)
FIRST Install Stock Recovery:
Download the stock recovery image and extract to a directory - rename it as recovery.img. Copy this to the same directory where you have the ADB commands
Get this file from  this link post#9:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=931113

Download the pkg file ( which you already have done ) and copy it to your microSD card but renamed it as update.pkg

Put your device in bootloader mode
Unplug the device from your PC, remove the device battery, then replace it and turn device on with the camera button pressed. Select the 'fastboot' text on the top right, wait around 10 seconds then plug the device into your PC. The screen display should change to 'FASTBOOT MODE'. If it doesn't, repeat and retry
At WINDOWS: double click 'install-recovery-windows.bat'

Power on your device with the 'volume up' and 'volume down' buttons pressed. This will give you a menu, where the second option is 'Apply update.pkg from SD card' Select this option (using volume keys and camera button to select).
When this process completes, your upgrade is done
Thank you benny,

I am doing it right now.
Done
Baseband GAUSB1A132211-US Build 12947

This post has been edited by aminsa: Feb 13 2011, 05:46 PM
aminsa
post Feb 13 2011, 06:41 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 13 2011, 05:49 PM)
Congrats. That was fast.
Yes thank to you for a very good instructions and precise. Thanks again.
aminsa
post Feb 13 2011, 09:40 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 13 2011, 08:08 PM)
You will find that the HK Froyo stock  rom is quite laggy compared to Stephen's Froyo's builds
If you need to upgrade back to Steve's rom, you need to reflash StreakMod recovery or ClockworkMod recovery . Then from these recovery modes, just flash Stephen zip file - then you have best of both worlds - a better baseband and a slicker rom
Actually I just completed flashing steve 1.7.0 back onto 322 baseband with all the apps (more than 100) and remove chinese keyboard. Now i hope the dell will behave better than before.
aminsa
post Feb 25 2011, 04:07 PM

71 posts

Flashed 1.8.0. I think Dell Streak perform better with this version
aminsa
post Feb 25 2011, 08:32 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Tricky @ Feb 25 2011, 04:57 PM)
will your dell steak hving laggy issue after you install many apps inside? i dun mean opening/running many apps in one time.
Base on my folder organizer, I have 153 applications installed but Titanium Backup said 357 applications. Most of the time I don't feel the laggy but sometimes I do feel it.
aminsa
post Feb 27 2011, 10:57 AM

71 posts

I'm trying to root dell streak froyo 2.2 baseband 322 but failed using superoneclick 1.6.5.0. Anyone know how to do it. Please shared it with me and others here.

Thank
aminsa
post Feb 27 2011, 07:40 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 27 2011, 12:05 PM)
Most probably your PC failed to detect the Streak ?? Check whether the Dell USB drivers re installed

If you upgrade to Stepehn's rom, it will be auto root , saves you the trouble
Yes PC failed to detect the streak. I have already reinstall the Dell USB drivers but still can not detect. I'm using Win7. In fact my PC never able detect my streak. I giveup and keep using Steven's rom. Actually I want to test stock rom 318 and 322, how good they are by using it for daily use.
aminsa
post Feb 28 2011, 07:53 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 27 2011, 08:31 PM)
Try this - extract from my blog : Several users at Spore forum follow this and updated me it works

The following need to be downloaded and installed on the Windows PC :
1. Android SDK : http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html
The software will be auto installed. Locate the folder where it is installed and execute the SDK manager.exe
2. Download and installed the Dell USB Android drivers : ftp://ftp.dell.com/Handheld/R288920.exe

On the Dell, Press Camera and Power until you see a white screen
Press the touch screen on the top right (Fastboot), the screen will than show  ‘Wait for USB FastBoot detect….’.
Wait for about 10 secs
Connect your phone to computer using the  USB cable. The screen should display ‘FASTBOOT_MODE’. If you do not see this message , you will now have to manually force install the USB drivers :

—-> Go to device manager (Control Panel>System>Device Manager).
View “Other devices” there should be a “Android 1.0″ device with a yellow warning symbol
Right click -> Update Driver Software -> Browse for the driver -> Let me pick -> Show all -> Google, Inc -> Android Bootloader Interface.
Ok, Next, Next, Yes I’m sure, etc. Until the drivers have loaded.
Now when you check (Control Panel>System>Device Manager) you should see an “Android Phone” section with the “Android Bootloader Interface”
Once this is done, you will see “Fastboot_Mode” displayed
thank you, will try that latter
aminsa
post Mar 23 2011, 09:59 AM

71 posts

Flashed froyo 2.2.2 baseband 345 and rooted yesterday. Benchmark less than 900 but feels very smooth and fluid .No sudden reboot
aminsa
post Mar 29 2011, 08:09 PM

71 posts

Move to 318 stock with perfmod from 345 2.2.2 stock because of problem with broadband data keep disconnected.
aminsa
post Apr 25 2011, 09:54 AM

71 posts

Just to share with all Dell streak users here. I'm now running Stock Froyo 2.2.2 BB 345 after using several of steve ROM. My conclusion is the stock ROM is much more reliable than the custom ROM and you can depend on it. Of course if you compare the benchmark it is not impressive but overall is better. You can tried yourself. With stock I don't have random boot, no hang/stuck when you are want to use it for important call or received call. Anyway you have to decide what is important to you. Now I can concentrate on using it for productivity and depend on it.

I might move to the new stock BB351, just finished download pkg and recovery.img last night

Have fun
aminsa
post Apr 26 2011, 08:37 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(saya_zharif @ Apr 25 2011, 05:11 PM)
Do dell streak has something like UI from SGS? and font? i missed it sad.gif and when open setting instead of black and white icon, i prefer colored one. and the status bar. its all green, need something colorful and cheerful like sgs one. anything? anyone? sad.gif

Added on April 25, 2011, 5:13 pm

do u have link for it bro? i may try one! smile.gif
Here is the link http://forum.xda-developers.com/wiki/index...Streak#Official

I also learn a lot from Benny

Amin
aminsa
post Apr 29 2011, 09:29 AM

71 posts

Just move to stock bb351 from bb345. My conclusion: no much different. Just stay with bb345, if you are on 345

0.0462sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:27 PM