16 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 >Bottom

How many ppl here are actually doing phd?, Many topics here arent PhD stuff..

SUSf4tE
post Aug 25 2010, 01:01 PM

1,605 posts

No shit.. 9-10k permonth... But i bet only certain race can get it. sad.gif
The Envoy
post Aug 25 2010, 03:11 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Aug 25 2010, 11:25 AM)
u mean electronics?
No, tectonics = a study of the movement of Earth's tectonic plates -> its a geology subject
VMSmith
post Aug 25 2010, 03:14 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Aug 25 2010, 01:01 PM)
I'll bet. That is 5 times my own allowance.

Heck, even my pay will not be that high when I finally get my ass to work.

This post has been edited by VMSmith: Aug 25 2010, 03:15 PM
SUSf4tE
post Aug 25 2010, 03:18 PM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(VMSmith @ Aug 25 2010, 03:14 PM)
I'll bet. That is 5 times my own allowance.

Heck, even my pay will not be that high when I finally get my ass to work.
even senior lecturer pay not so high. doh.gif

tectonic study where? Is it related to the oil and gas industry?
besoul_58
post Aug 25 2010, 03:19 PM

173 posts

That amount of allowance are for the ones who studied oversea. The amount for the candidates studying her local would be different and of course still A LOT compared with other scholarship applicable only for local studies! nod.gif
SUSf4tE
post Aug 25 2010, 03:34 PM

1,605 posts

from the website it say rm2500 about the same as normal schlarship la

but whichidiot will try so hard for the scholarship and go local.. I dun think they even accept local uni for that scholarship cuz it say must secure place in ivy league or some high ass level institution.. Malaysia just doesnt haf
VMSmith
post Aug 25 2010, 03:49 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Aug 25 2010, 03:18 PM)
even senior lecturer pay not so high. doh.gif

I think we've all been in the education line to know that unfortunately, senior lecturers do not get senior salaries. sad.gif

I believe tectonic studies is more related to shifting of the earth's crusts rather than being directly related to O&G.
besoul_58
post Aug 25 2010, 03:52 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Aug 25 2010, 03:34 PM)
from the website it say rm2500 about the same as normal schlarship la
but whichidiot will try so hard for the scholarship and go local.. I dun think they even accept local uni for that scholarship cuz it say must secure place in ivy league or some high ass level institution.. Malaysia just doesnt haf
from a student POV, if you get extra 200 bucks compared with other scholarship, thats totally A LOT!! They do accept local institution, only IPTA applicable if am not mistaken. This due to the facts that my colleague won the YDPA scholarship.
SUSf4tE
post Aug 25 2010, 03:58 PM

1,605 posts

your colleague won the YDPA scholarhsip and continue local? hmm.gif

he could have just taken any other scholarhsip and letother ppl go over seas tongue.gif
TSspikyz
post Aug 26 2010, 02:07 PM

1,341 posts

well bro, i think ur comment is abit out of d line.

i went for the interview before, and i can say there a quite a number of Chinese and Indians during the interview. So yeah, ur allegation is quite baseless.

btw i didnt get the scholarship. lolz. Coz im continuing my study in Nottingham Malaysia Campus only, if im not mistaken, ppl that going to cambridge/oxford get that scholarship.
The Envoy
post Aug 26 2010, 03:20 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Aug 25 2010, 03:18 PM)

Tectonics can be applied to oil and gas ind. at the exploration stage, mining or earthquake prediction - for starters.
pleasuresaurus
post Aug 30 2010, 10:44 AM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

Why do I get the feeling that after these YDPA scholars get their degrees, they won't come back to MY?
The Envoy
post Aug 31 2010, 05:34 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Aug 30 2010, 10:44 AM)
Why do I get the feeling that after these YDPA scholars get their degrees, they won't come back to MY?
Easy question
1. More money out there
2. Less restrictions from society/government (academics in general tend to be left leaning folks, in contrast to more right leaning people who dominate this country)
feekle
post Aug 31 2010, 05:49 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(MizZue @ Aug 19 2010, 04:04 PM)
in malaysia you could do it up to 6 years long as well as in USA, in Australia its 5 years, mean while UK is 3-4 years
but, you could finish it earlier.

im full time studying..if you are doing it part time, it will take like ages to complete your phd..BUT, you could try Research Assistant post for some extra money while doing the pHD.
Apart from journal paper, preceedings and patents, i do find myself some time to read some good books

Im 22. I take pHD straight away after finished my 1st degree.. now Im in my second year phd.. doing well so far.. (: smile.gif

Added on August 19, 2010, 4:07 pm
the interview is depending on the panel.. its the usual interview..just like NSF..

wish you best of luck
22 already taking phd? that's so young..but i doubt the quality of your thesis writings..since you're still very young & short of experience..

This post has been edited by feekle: Aug 31 2010, 05:55 PM
CarroTT
post Sep 1 2010, 01:29 AM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

tompang lalu, aku mau tanya sikit arr dari koko dan jiejie sini arr

normally u guys write Problem Statement, is in the Literature review or Methodology chapter arr ?
or sumwhere else ?

oso arr when wan to cite more than 1 journal arr, how arr ?
i wrote liddis APA stylo
(Saltmiras & Lemley, 2002; Neppolian et al., 2004)
korekt arr ?
Sargeant Pepper
post Sep 1 2010, 08:24 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Sep 1 2010, 01:29 AM)
tompang lalu, aku mau tanya sikit arr dari koko dan jiejie sini arr

normally u guys write Problem Statement, is in the Literature review or Methodology chapter arr ?
or sumwhere else ?
oso arr when wan to cite more than 1 journal arr, how arr ?
i wrote liddis APA stylo
(Saltmiras & Lemley, 2002; Neppolian et al., 2004) 
korekt arr ?
I place Problem Statement in Introduction chapter. Right before I explain Objective of Study.

About citation, that's correct. But I suggest re-confirm with your supervisor as I noticed even when everyone follow APA guideline, they still have their preference, whether the earlier or later version. And pay extra attention on where to italicized like et al

Like, the latest version of APA guideline when I do my FYP states that if 6 or less names, cite everyone like (A, B, C, D, E & F, 2010) but my supervisor insist on (A et al., 2010).
SUSf4tE
post Sep 1 2010, 11:02 AM

1,605 posts

No smart ppl will come back to Malaysia. The opportunity for them isnt there. Even for smart bumiputera. Those lazy ones will come back because they have easy life here.

Dont judge ppl's ability because they are young. Many bright kids already proffesor at 22-23 age in other countries like US

What is Problem statement? i never come across.

The Envoy
post Sep 1 2010, 11:05 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Aug 31 2010, 05:49 PM)
22 already taking phd? that's so young..but i doubt the quality of your thesis writings..since you're still very young & short of experience..
Quality of writing has nothing to do with "life experience". Its determined by your command of language and understanding of the subject. If say a 15 year old "child genius" has an excellent command of the language of writing (I'm assuming its English here), he could write something on par with a 50 year old on the same subject, provided the subject is a wholy theoretical one.
Sargeant Pepper
post Sep 1 2010, 12:01 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Sep 1 2010, 11:02 AM)
No smart ppl will come back to Malaysia. The opportunity for them isnt there. Even for smart bumiputera. Those lazy ones will come back because they have easy life here.

Dont judge ppl's ability because they are young. Many bright kids already proffesor at 22-23 age in other countries like US

What is Problem statement? i never come across.
Problem Statement is like an excuse for wasting the research grant to do your research. lol
CarroTT
post Sep 1 2010, 12:59 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(Sargeant Pepper @ Sep 1 2010, 12:01 PM)
Problem Statement is like an excuse for wasting the research grant to do your research. lol
the most accurate definition i ever heard thumbup.gif

ya, i agree
shud put in intro after objectives
hmmmmm, sum people put in lit review oso . . . .

oso arr, u guys know where to find info bout upcoming science conferences in malaysia ?
i wan find cheap cheap n near near international conference, if can i dun wan go oversea, unless i got sponsor for fees, accomodation n travel
me cheaposkate tongue.gif

16 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.0284sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:37 PM