How many ppl here are actually doing phd?, Many topics here arent PhD stuff..

besoul_58
post Jun 9 2010, 10:36 PM

173 posts

Cool! Bunch of people doing research studies. Currently, am pursuing my master studies by research. More on structure and material topic. With hope that I be able to produce the governing model for the buckling of triaxial weave fabric composites which consider various components and effects including the contribution of thermal load from the total potential energy method.

Am pretty much stuck with my non linear formulation right now. To date, its has been 34 days am stuck with the problem. cool2.gif

My morale are pretty much struck down right now. mad.gif icon_question.gif
besoul_58
post Jun 11 2010, 06:43 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(spikyz @ Jun 10 2010, 01:00 AM)
tongue.gif
Dont worry dude, im stuck at my codes as well, a month or so, and d best part, last meeting my prof ask me to do something which i have done before and like nullify my current work. hahahha

btw my advise, i just finish dl "homeless to harvard", it will help with ur morale  rclxms.gif
Ho3...I did watch autobiography movie if my morale are down, just for inspiration. Preferably, 'beautiful mind' as one of my choice!! nod.gif

besoul_58
post Jul 19 2010, 06:16 PM

173 posts

cool!! I sense lots of people like me here.. lets speak geek!! flex.gif
besoul_58
post Jul 20 2010, 12:07 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Jul 19 2010, 07:53 PM)
i might not even see the result of the process after i die...

The status of acedemic in malaysia is still on the bottom.. Research companies dont invest in malaysia. Even doing research in academic labs need 2 or 3 weeks for a simple reagent to arrive.
Sacrifice is one part of the revolution. You might not able to see the result by yourself, but knowing yourself involve in the process is enough or satisfactory. rclxm9.gif

Called me stupid or anything, but I dont mind if its for the greater good. I hope if death comes to me, my knowledge and my legacy would be continue later. nod.gif
besoul_58
post Jul 24 2010, 10:47 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Jul 24 2010, 12:16 AM)
y wan to make ceramic bits arr ?
wats the advantage arr ?

diamond bits not good enough ?
diamond bits can last long a not ?  wink.gif
most probably m'sia have lots of ceramic material, so its cheaper than we use diamond.

Plus, who the hell use diamond cutter to cut a piece of metal. totally not worth it!!! hmm.gif
besoul_58
post Jul 24 2010, 02:08 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Jul 24 2010, 11:02 AM)
So what is the normal material used to cut metal? and what advantages ceramic has over that?
We could say a similar metal but has higher yield strength with the metal you gonna cut. But am not specialist in this cutting industry, lets hope zahirani could explain to us.
besoul_58
post Aug 25 2010, 03:19 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Aug 25 2010, 01:01 PM)
No shit.. 9-10k permonth... But i bet only certain race can get it. sad.gif
That amount of allowance are for the ones who studied oversea. The amount for the candidates studying her local would be different and of course still A LOT compared with other scholarship applicable only for local studies! nod.gif
besoul_58
post Aug 25 2010, 03:52 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Aug 25 2010, 03:34 PM)
from the website it say rm2500 about the same as normal schlarship la
but whichidiot will try so hard for the scholarship and go local.. I dun think they even accept local uni for that scholarship cuz it say must secure place in ivy league or some high ass level institution.. Malaysia just doesnt haf
from a student POV, if you get extra 200 bucks compared with other scholarship, thats totally A LOT!! They do accept local institution, only IPTA applicable if am not mistaken. This due to the facts that my colleague won the YDPA scholarship.
besoul_58
post Sep 1 2010, 03:30 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Sep 1 2010, 03:05 PM)
It's not life experience but the knowledge that one acquired either theoretical or hands on where one understands what he wants ( that's where working world exposure comes in) & knows what to research (why do u think previous generation professors took their phd later?) That is when the phd content is a "mature' in terms writings & content..but as we know..who wants to read up 300+ pages or more research paper.
Most previous professors who are called authority in their own field does not work first. They jumped straight to acquired pHD. Thats the reality of the world of academia. Their work is merely only the purpose of gaining knowledge and publish/share their finding with fellow researcher around the world.

0.0266sec    1.05    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:12 PM