Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 29 2010, 12:17 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

oh yea thats why i notice my nokia n900 always shows 2.5G at least in GSM can get up to edge speed.

2G is too slow. 2.5G can get up to 236.8 kbit/s

If i switch my hotlink to dual mode my speed wont be 384kbps but up to 3mbps.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 29 2010, 12:21 AM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 29 2010, 12:35 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

It also depends on your location for me hotlink/maxis provide better stability, speed and coverage.

If wanna know how stable is digi u can try go thru long highways phone can suddenly lose signal one keke.

I go everywhere Nokia n900 with hotlink and my other phone is digi.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 29 2010, 12:36 AM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 29 2010, 03:15 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jun 29 2010, 12:47 PM)
iPhone 4 - This changes everything. I want to get one ASAP.
it doesnt changes anything at all. it still doesnt support flash and its a fanboy phone
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 29 2010, 05:34 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jun 29 2010, 03:54 PM)
see the advertisement attached. see what it says.

Added on June 29, 2010, 3:55 pm
i use back original font. other fonts look funny in some apps...

just edit gtkrc and increase all font definition & new fonts for maemo by 1 point. especially the small fonts. it looks better...
u mean the ads steve said users are holding the phone the wrongly? Must hold steve way?
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 29 2010, 08:29 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 29 2010, 08:03 PM)
i just OC my n900 to 800MHz.
i checked conky it says 800Mhz.
but 2 seconds later changed to 125Mhz.
did i do anything wrong?
i followed all the steps on the front page.
please help
if it stays at 800mhz constant your phone battery will flat in few hours. imagine a computer stays at max processor speed sure burn off.

it only goes up to 800mhz when your phone needs it
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 29 2010, 10:18 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Steve jobs way of holding iphone haha

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 29 2010, 10:18 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 29 2010, 10:34 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Jun 29 2010, 10:21 PM)
my test resutl .. 3hours on active wifi connection(just left it on like tht) with a few calls and smses... do u think it's normal?

Added on June 29, 2010, 10:27 pmi'm kinda spoiled by my e72 lioa.....lol..4 days of usage
yea if N900 same size screen as E72 then its possible.

TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 29 2010, 11:17 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 29 2010, 10:53 PM)
Symbiian 3 is impossible to run in 5800 since dedicated graphic required to run symbian 3 & 5800 don' have it.

N900 have 800 x 480 pixel which almost as many as iPhone 4(though iPhone4 use totally different technology).This is part of the reason for the heavy power consumption.

MeeGo 1.1 could be buggy as hell & probably early review will kill it but I still want to try it tongue.gif
curious? how do u know hell is very buggy? u been there haha jk tongue.gif tongue.gif
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 29 2010, 11:55 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 29 2010, 11:48 PM)
Symbian porting could be very difficult.Most of the components are closed source.

Why emulate iPhone browser?Better emulate Mozilla.

Japan still 0-0 what.Still got chance.
Yea better emulate mozilla. I already prepared a 2GB microsd card from my old E71. WIll try it when its out

- sent via iPhone 5GS

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 29 2010, 11:58 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 30 2010, 07:08 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 30 2010, 02:19 AM)
I prefer to use main page of facebook.
microB display it perfectly well.I don't bother to open crappy touch or mobile version.
send via poslaju
me too makes me feel like on the computer with no limitation

- sent via iTV 9GS
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 30 2010, 02:36 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

imagine running your pc for few weeks non stop
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 30 2010, 02:47 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Jun 30 2010, 02:46 PM)
Maybe....just maybe can do a script to Auto reboot your phone once every 2 days....where it monitor the uptime of the phone....once reach the maximum uptime...it will auto reboot...hence clearing all the unnecessary stuff....

Hmmmm....
why not learn to off the phone everytime to reduce the chances of getting cancer?

This info is for those ppl that sleep beside the phone or sleep very near the phone. All phones emits some radiation thats why there are SAR level.

When u are asleep your brain will be in the defenseless mode so radiation of the phone attack u easily. Sometimes u woke up u feel ure more tired or having headache its cause by interuption when u are asleep.

http://sar.nokia.com/sar/index.jsp

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 30 2010, 02:52 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 30 2010, 10:08 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(drexar @ Jun 30 2010, 09:54 PM)
Tq aspire for this useful knowledge smile.gif
No problem thats why alot ppl recommend do not get china phone. Most ppl use china phone too long get bad headache one. From what i remember most branded phone have a special shielding to reduce the emit of the radiation. When china phone do not have it totally.
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 1 2010, 11:11 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

I tested my bluetooth headset BH-503 on to my iphone 3GS sound like crap. It sounds better on my nokia 5800 n N900
But the UI is really very smooth thats why steve remove the multitasking feature

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jul 1 2010, 11:12 AM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 1 2010, 02:12 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

i am using the setting on frontpage working fine.

Added on July 1, 2010, 2:13 pmJust reminder it will charge u base on data transfer aka 10kb = 10cent not per MMS 20cent or 30cent watever cost

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jul 1 2010, 02:13 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 1 2010, 02:16 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

i am using version 1.1.9 too

working for me. Those that asking FMMS pls at least post your telco.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jul 1 2010, 02:16 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 2 2010, 09:34 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 2 2010, 09:12 PM)
hi guy, i need to buy N900, unfortunately the place i live is doh.gif
i ask most of the phone shop but not available, i PM few forumers selling ORI Nokia phone, also not available!!!! what wrong with it?

any one can tell me where can i find N900 at ipoh area??
doesn't matter AP or ORI, as long the warranty cover at ipoh area.
really need some help here
Ori set only available in nokia care centre
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 3 2010, 01:31 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Guys i just tested Iphone 3GS the games available for this phone is amazing

I already tried Angry Birds there have many more levels
Asphalt 5 cool game using accelerator
Even the 3D roller coaster jurrasic park thats coming for n900 already available
I have tried Prince of persia bloody hell amazing somemore no lag.

For flexibility yea n900 wins and for iphone its confusing even wanna JB its not easy. For internet surfing yes N900 win hands on. I am kinda not used to playing capacitive and resisitive sometimes i can confuse myself why use finger nail dun work 1 biggrin.gif Iphone really design for dumb proof means anyone can use it. If u want more advance thing then it comes very confusing

I love my nokia n900 still of course
now playing this

Added on July 3, 2010, 1:36 amMy n900 i have OC to 900mhz. Its quite stable until now even on PR1.2

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jul 3 2010, 01:42 AM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 3 2010, 09:03 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 3 2010, 08:45 AM)
Yup, there're tons of games available, some games that are NOT even available for consoles or portable gaming device like PSP or NDS.
There're also PLANT VS ZOMBIES.

For the racing game, try "GT Racing: Motor Academy", "Real Racing" and "Need For Speed: Shift". These are superb.
On the iPod Touch 3G, the performance was slightly better, faster loading times, etc.

As I said, it's a great entertainment/gaming device, it felt just like having a PSP except without the controls, everything is touch. However there're some games that are really hard to play with capacitive touch, like those shooting game which ask you to touch to aim (e.g. MGS), unless you have really small fingers, still nothing beats finger nails or stylus.

Firmware 3.1.x is easy to JB, just use Spirit, it comes with Cydia by default, and there's a Cydia store, an app store for JB, no joke, $$$ again.
Nonetheless, in terms of entertainment/gaming, it wins hands down.
As a smartphone, it doesn't even feel like a smartphone, honestly. It does not even qualify, that's why many "expert" or "advanced" users won't even regard it as a smartphone.
One more thing, ladies with long fingernails will have hard time using the iPhone, especially typing text

Anyway, if one just looking for the games/apps, iPod Touch 3G is a much much better option and spend the rest of the money on a better smartphone instead. This way, you can enjoy BOTH, instead of keeping the EGO just to have this statement "I have an iPhone".
As I said, iPhone 3GS 32GB = 2.8K?
iPod Touch 3G 32GB = 1.1K
You still have 1.5K to get a "REAL" smartphone.
Plus, those that get iPhone, paid extra 1.5K for just the added phone, 3MP Camera, built-in GPS. Then because of all the games, ended up using the battery then not enough for phone calls, etc. Is it worth paying 1.5K for it?
The extra 1.5K can get you many great smartphones with far far better camera, GPS, etc.

By the way, really disappointed with Nokia. They never get developers to develop for N900/Maemo, it's abandoned, left aside. My friend recently just bought Samsung Wave which is running Samsung's Bada OS. At first, I told him that since it's Samsung own OS, it might have less support, not much apps, etc.
Surprisingly, Samsung put effort to bring in developers...
It comes pre-installed with Asphalt 5 (which by the way, looks better than iPhone 3GS, well the specs is similar with Galaxy S/iPhone4 anyway).
Btw, it's Super AMOLED, so we tested a comparison with my iPod Touch 3G and gosh, it's makes iPod Touch 3G screen looks like rubbish. But the iPhone 4 Retina display is superb tough.
Recently, Samsung provides FREE Need For Speed: Shift!!! FREE!!!
There's even PapaGo M6 and M7 according to my friend.

Hello Nokia? Previous article about the symbian-guru website shutdown, someone comment about developers, which is very true. WHAT IS NOKIA DOING?

Added on July 3, 2010, 8:48 am

Huh? jloi? Never watch Iron Man?
Hehe its iron man 2. They also have iron man aerial flight u play as iron man flying shooting down plane abit addictive.
Yea i already won plants and zombie on the pc so addictive. I have also install in the iphone.

I was shock i can even play asphalt 5 with the accelerator its quite stable.

Another thing more shocking was there resident evil 4 in iphone. Back then i played it on my computer with high spec. The iphone speaker sux like hell it makes my music sound like crap. Even my 5800XM speaker perform better

I like my maemo but after awhile you realize why is there so few good games available?
Totally agree with your statement if games ipod touch is a better choice.

Just sad waiting and waiting n900 so limited quality applications. What happen to EA games? Gameloft? all this develper not worth to invest in maemo?

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jul 3 2010, 09:11 AM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 3 2010, 09:43 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Yea i tried dawn of the dead. Using bat to kill zombie haha. Very addictive too..

So many bloody game. Furthermore the games size are all so big. Now i installing until 3rd page already

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jul 3 2010, 09:59 AM

19 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0508sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:55 PM