Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 16 2010, 10:33 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 16 2010, 10:21 AM)
This reviewer need to use the phone properly.

No Facebook and Twitter widget? Huh?
Maybe he/she meant widget which lets you do MORE stuffs.

And it mentioned about social networking app. Huh???
The beauty of N900 is these social networking is BUILT-IN to contacts. There're no need to install 3rd party IM, and there IS 3rd party IM apps, but not required.

While others have to open 3rd party app, login, etc. For N900, everything is built into the Contacts and Conversations.
This is the revolutionary and what others lack of.

Clearly, many reviewers are still very un-experienced and don't know much about smartphones. They should learn more about smartphones and what it can offer before doing the review. There're so many things that N900 have that others doesn't.
Just look at the previous pages talk about Desktop design, just Desktop design alone can be non-stop because of it's flexibility, we will see many different creativity and nice design Desktop.

As for apps, sorry but in extras, there're just sooo many useful and nice apps. I have the iPod Touch 3G, I don't find many useful or nice apps, but more on entertainment and gaming. But N900 have many interesting and nice apps, and together with the support for Widgets, it's even more useful.

Plus, I just tested, the N900 is capable of playing MKV files, in fact many more file format with the use of mplayer. BUT, playing 720p (HD) quality MKV on N900 seems take long time to buffer. I tested another lower quality MKV file, it plays but the video is slower than the sound, out of sync. But I know there're many configurations you can do to the mplayer, need to learn the configurations first (e.g. frameskip, etc).

Smartphones it's about bringing computer like experience or being as close to a computer as possible, the capabilities, power, etc. That's the reason why Smartphones were created.
For powerful smartphones like N900, one needs to put their time and effort to understand, explore, etc on the phone first before putting a poor review.
Previously in older N900 threads, I mentioned about a Linux Magazine from India, the reviewer wrotes more than 6 pages of review on the phone and in the end, he mentioned that he probably just covered 50% of it but due to page contraints, he have to stop. Compare to our Malaysian review? LoL, even the HK ones, their launching is so detailed and introduce so many things about the N900. Clearly, Nokia Malaysia needs to buckle up A LOT.
Maybe the reviewer is not those really techy guy that have enough time to explore like us. i totally agree wat u wrote the best part of n900 social its integrated.

Maybe u can write an email to thestars to correct them and then cc a copy to nokia malaysia.
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 16 2010, 10:39 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(dasonyeoh @ Jun 16 2010, 10:35 AM)
Anyone here knows where to find all interesting icons for N900?

tried

http://meego.de/menueuser/downloads/Dr-MZs...derby,2/page,3/

But still need more icons...
actually u can find and edit icons yourself no need wait this guys to post.

go google for windows or mac icons resize it accordingly and replace
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 16 2010, 05:53 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 16 2010, 04:39 PM)
1) RM2000
2) MMS depend on 3rd party app. Chinese font supported, but to type Chinese font you need to install 3rd party app.
3) INTERNATIONAL?
Zitron Set = Malaysian Set
AP Set = Oversea Set
Both also ORIGINAL. What do you mean by international coverage warranty?

For N900 AP Set, there is US and UK Set. Not sure if there's any HK Set.

For other Nokia AP Set, you might get from units from other countries.

Added on June 16, 2010, 4:41 pmBtw, I notice our Calendar, when you set "Repeat Every Year" for an event, it defaults Repeat Until Year 2014. Why?

And, the maximum year is 2037 ONLY? Why?

1. Why it doesn't default repeat forever or until the maximum year, but set to 2014??? Will something happen to N900 in 2014?
2. Why maximum of 2037? Does it mean N900 can only survive until 2037?
all my calender auto set to 2037 if i set every year.

2037 thats like 27 years from now even the oldest nokia 3310 was from year 2000 now who still uses nokia 3310 @ 2010 ? thats only 10years for n900 in 27years can put in museum di

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 16 2010, 05:56 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 16 2010, 07:46 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(ZackFong @ Jun 16 2010, 07:31 PM)
that clears me a lot. thankx.
okay.. now i get it... thanks...
now i considering purchasing an AP set since if i bring it to Taiwan there is no warranty cover too.

so my concern is.. can AP set runs 3rd party apps as smooth as zitron set? i'm very worry if it cannot installed with chinese font and MMS software....

can AP set have regular firmware updates too?
thankx for answering...
ap or ori same only different warranty.

firmware can always flash or update
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 16 2010, 08:44 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jun 16 2010, 08:24 PM)
hey guys. found the msn conversation plug in(Haze)are unable to connect . how can i solve the problem?
i install msn protocol plugin for conversations and contacts

if i use haze i cant see my msn contacts
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 16 2010, 10:06 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(ZackFong @ Jun 16 2010, 07:51 PM)
thankx host.

my local dealer warn me that he will not responsible if my phone cant get chinese / MMS apps installed. can you verify that AP set have no problem with that?
I can confirm. 60% of the users here are AP users. MMS apps requires 3rd party confirmed because i am using it right now. For chinese i am not so sure because i dont use it.
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 16 2010, 10:26 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

For original set if u are station in malaysia its really good but if u will be in taiwan try check any good deals there?

The price difference so far because alot of AP users here 6 out of 10 have problem claiming their warranty.
If your phone got no problem its alright when have problem thats where your nightmare also start

Those usually with original set they are very happy with warranty claims fast and efficient.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 16 2010, 10:27 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 16 2010, 10:28 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 16 2010, 10:28 PM)
i think 80% using AP.
haha
because ori and AP price diff nearly Rm500.
ohmy.gif
haha thats now Last time AP starting the time RM3300 then drop to RM2K ++ then drop to 1.8K only lately RM1.5K something.
Original users are quite alot here too. Lately i been to nokia care centre when i sit there i saw the shop worker keep taking out n900 . I was like everyone say iphone roxx but i still see alot demand for Nokia N900. I was there half an hour i saw 3 nokia n900 sold di

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 16 2010, 10:30 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 16 2010, 10:43 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 16 2010, 10:30 PM)
how bad is the AP companies?
what problem has the fone given?
i'm worried right now :/
Ill explain again

ORIGINAL SET
- Warranty by Nokia Malaysia (COME ON Nokia MALAYSIA )
[/size]
- Free gifts
- Risk of faulty lower
- Warranty is fixed
- Pay premium price
- Correct region language
- Buying accessories no one dare to comment
-Complete accessories

Trained professional to repair your phones with original parts that comes with warranty. Come on the cost is bare by NOKIA MALAYSIA

AP Set

- Warranty By the shop ( COME ON SMALL SHOP HOW MANY PHONES CAN THEY REPLACE)
- No free gift or some tiny gift
- Risk of faulty higher because taken from another region
-Warranty not fixed like 2 years motherboard, 6months LCD, 3 months ribbon, 1 month accessories
-Pay for lower price if its higher than ori no one will buy
-Region language depend where the phone is from
-Buying accessories ppl will comment because its an AP phone
-Give incomplete accessories

The warranty of AP phones are by the shop itself lets say they sell to u RM1500 after 2 months u come back they must use their own pocket money to repair for u. If casing damage it might cost RM200 - RM300 so imagine if everyone come to their shop change casing they will be doing at lost. So they find reason to make it sound like its your fault so they dont bare the cost. When buying everything CAN CAN CAN CAN. Example 3 cases the guy phone cant turn on the shop say got water inside but the buyer never touch water or cases saying technician not available la he missing la no stock for parts. etc etc

Risk of changing your phone parts as spare parts? Non professional work like soldering might damage other things.

This are just risks assessment and not all AP dealers are like that but just handful are.

1 of my fren case also is Nokia 8800 ARTE CARBON. Zitron set because friend is AP company let him repair because micro usb port broken. The guy solder back it works for 2months then broke again.
2nd time send back he said cant fixed because he did a bad job in soldering it damage other parts of the motherboard. To change the motherboard cost like RM1200. Because the microusb is stick to the motherboard.

This just are my experience and opinion
AP phones are great when there is no problem. When there are problems hehe have fun tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 16 2010, 10:53 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 16 2010, 11:00 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 16 2010, 10:58 PM)
Actually quality wise it depends, even authorised/official set distributed by Zitron, it maybe model form certain country. As previous circulated emails, there's mentioned that you can check where your Nokia is made (country of origin). If you get "00", it's the best, which comes from original Nokia factory in Finland.
Even authorised/official set by Zitron may not get the best because they have batches and depends where the stock come from. So, sometimes AP Set can have better build if it's model from certain country.

For Nokia Flagship model like N97, as I've read, it's usually from the main Nokia factory in Finland.
Because phones come in batch sometimes the batch is good ure okay. The only pros part if anything happen u can send to nokia centre even changing faded chrome on the casing they change entire casing for u.

Hehe i like AP phones last time my phones most are AP if u have good warranty.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 16 2010, 11:04 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 17 2010, 10:06 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

@Andy

Of course, at times, maybe some people maybe unlucky to get a lemon or problem unit, that's when the warranty is really important and one will start to appreciates the warranty and additional premium paid is worth it.
Yea totally agree on that. Most ppl think original RM2000 and AP RM1500. Crazy i buy AP i save rm500. Good deal right tongue.gif
But like u said maybe your luck not so good something serious spoil example microusb pin break,drop your phone on tar road, drop in water etc etc thats where your nightmare begins. Lately i realize repairs phone at 3rd party after warranty is not that cheap anymore.

Added on June 17, 2010, 10:07 am
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 17 2010, 09:57 AM)
Check the "My Stuff" area of Ovi for re-downloads. But savegames after reflash... gone forever man.

Buying w/o CC is not possible yet, which is a shame. Try get Debit card?
or pay cash to somebody wit CC and ask him help u buy lor

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 17 2010, 10:07 AM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 17 2010, 10:26 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 17 2010, 10:22 AM)
Went to "My Stuff" area.No download link there.

Might use my debit card later.
u just press the word downloaded it will give u the download link again. I tested it before
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 17 2010, 10:43 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ Jun 17 2010, 10:35 AM)
happened to me too. and i now replayed for the third time stopped at world 2. no mood to go on already. lol

just bought zen bound!! where is dinasour roller coaster?
i wan to play too wu wu wu sad.gif i saw the preview on youtube pretty cool looking game
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 17 2010, 10:56 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

actually Nokia n900 original price still stays its not dropping at all. Only the AP phones thats dropping maybe because the AP supplier have good demand and good supply.
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 17 2010, 12:25 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

all those homescreen are normal images converted to suit N900 screen size and u overwrite the default images. Format must be in .png

Thats the uniqueness of having linux like nokia n900. U do not need special software to make it work.

Added on June 17, 2010, 12:25 pm
QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 17 2010, 11:35 AM)
that is such an innovative homescreen!
how you made it?
requires openSSH to copy paste image to replace the default images.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 17 2010, 12:28 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 17 2010, 12:29 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

OpenSSH is not a software to make themes but a software to access your phone root files so u can edit it.
*BE WARN* if u replace or deleted the wrong files u will end up bricking your phone
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 17 2010, 12:36 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 17 2010, 12:34 PM)
bricking?
meaning?
here the link
http://www.nokian900applications.com/openssh-on-nokia-n900/

means your phone cant boot up or show nokia screen keep restarting restarting or weird things appearing on your screen
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 17 2010, 12:40 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 17 2010, 12:38 PM)
after reflashing, will everything be ok?
Yes after flash it will be working. You can restore data too
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 17 2010, 12:42 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 17 2010, 12:37 PM)
Spend 1/2 hours in front of my computer laugh.gif
Before I reflash my phone,I did a lot customization but trouble is I didn't save the commands.
All you need is X-Terminal & some png files.
But if you're beginner maybe you need OpenSSH,WinSCP & ready made scrips from maemo talk forum.
Actually if you really good with X-Terminal you won't be needing WinSCP.
Can restore everything within few minutes by reflashing.
N900 is practically unbrickable software wise.
I agree but X-terminal very mafan if the text is very long 1 wrong text must retype again. With WinSCP copy paste settle haha
Like u said can copy and paste command through text too.

To intermediate and advance user yes its unbrickable to beginner its OMFG it spoil my phone
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 17 2010, 12:50 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Actually u can go access the root folder its somewhere in themes alpha if u r using the blue and white theme.

usr/icons/hicolor somewhere. U can open image by image until u see that clock image background haha

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 17 2010, 12:51 PM

19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:57 AM