Astro B.yond V5.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT
l_berd
Jun 1 2010, 03:37 PM
i dont think they will tie in WD HDD recognition in their FW code. mind you that they only say current recommended HDD is WD HDD passport 320GB.. the key word is recommended.
which means they only done testing with the particular HDD (probably due to the power and speed)
dont see there's any show stopper for us to switch to other HDD if met their power and speed requirement. i would bet other 320GB +power saving feature will work just fine.. perhaps SSD too
no idea about 500GB since i would assume it will consume more memory buffer (not sure about this)
l_berd
Jun 1 2010, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(doey @ Jun 1 2010, 04:13 PM) I'm sure....!!! The keyword here is not recomended. It is COMPATIBLE! See the above advertisement and you can see the words. Please bear in mind that ASSStro is a money making company, and besides the piracy issue on recorded material, they must have some tie with WD on this. WD also produces many external HDD range. Notice that it mentioned "MY Passport AV" HDD. I have an inside info on this. And WD factory is just in PJ right? right the word is compatible.. is not MUST. compatible means adhere to the spec determined by the astro box, not some tie-off on the HDD brand itself. it just mean that it guaranteed to work using the HDD in the compatible list and did not guarantee it can work on others.. it did not say for sure that it wont work with other HDD.. if it is the case, they should clarify it on the ads. sth like "not able to work with other HDD"
l_berd
Jun 1 2010, 04:47 PM
i think it's reasonable to roll under preview since Fox is a debut channel for astro subscriber.. normally that's what they do right when they introduce new channel? after that only will available for whatever package it sits into
l_berd
Jun 2 2010, 02:31 AM
QUOTE(writesimply @ Jun 2 2010, 01:36 AM) EDIT: I was told by the Astro tech person at MidValley that FX HD would be in the Family package, AXN HD in the Variety package and that Chinese HD channel in Dynasty. He didn't say when but I guess the 16th is as good as any launch date. fuad
Justin, is this true for AXN HD? what's the sense AXN HD in Variety while AXN is in basic..
l_berd
Jun 9 2010, 02:06 AM
saw thw 4 additional HD channels (825-828) for WC + 1 central HD channel (810)
l_berd
Jun 11 2010, 09:01 PM
channel 825 astro logo is quite near to center.. Justin, adjust to the right a bit lar
l_berd
Jun 11 2010, 09:35 PM
i noticed that the first command from remote will responded by decoder almost 2 sec late after some time.. this only happen after the latest fw update i thiink
l_berd
Jun 15 2010, 11:08 AM
fox HD channel number? i know axn HD is 721.. cant wait for tonight
l_berd
Jun 16 2010, 12:10 AM
huhu saw the AXN HD.. nothing interesting today.. gonna wait till House / 24 on air.. maybe some movies too.
l_berd
Jun 16 2010, 11:43 AM
the drama in Zhi Zun is not the latest.. so kinda switched off a bit
l_berd
Jun 17 2010, 01:06 AM
only some of the AXN HD program are stretched.. i think the "magician secret unveiled" is one of them.. House's ads is very good though (it's season 6 so no reason for them not to get HD version)
l_berd
Jun 22 2010, 05:36 PM
i think astro try to even out the number of HD channel per package.
family : AXN HD, FxHD (pending to roll under variety)
Movie: HBO HD
Dynasty: Zhi Zun HD
Learning: Nat Geo HD, History HD
Sport: ASSP HD and ESPN HD
i expect there will be another one in variety, and another one in either movie or dynasty
l_berd
Jun 22 2010, 06:13 PM
duno.. kids dun care HD or not?
l_berd
Jun 29 2010, 05:10 PM
they can remove the FxHD.. it's totally crap and filled with outdated series such as Seinfeld and Boston Legal (sorry fans  ).. Heroes is ok though, so does Flash Forward (is it on FxHD or AXN HD, cant remember). i'm waiting for more HD in variety to upgrade my package (only add rm5 get two extra HD and few SD )
l_berd
Jun 29 2010, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(jalsrix @ Jun 29 2010, 05:26 PM) You mean add HD ? It is rm 20 and not rm 5. How do you calculate. already got the HD package before this so rm20 is already there regardless i take variety or not.. what i mean was i will take variety if there's two HD channel available in it
l_berd
Jun 29 2010, 06:49 PM
it's free preview for one month for now.. after that should roll under variety
l_berd
Jul 1 2010, 03:00 PM
halo, tv3 is colored..
l_berd
Jul 6 2010, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(kfthoo @ Jul 6 2010, 05:11 PM) just bought the wd my passport av portable drive....1 question, can i switch off (not the stand by mode, just cut off the power) the byond box with the portable drive connected? everything will be reformatted when the byond box switch back on? it wont reformat by itself i believe.. not sure if u do that while in the middle of recording
l_berd
Jul 7 2010, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jul 7 2010, 12:43 PM) in the context of this thread being Astro Byond - my question is cautionary as people are eyeing a 3DTV just for the WC finals alone. It would be more interesting to see what future 3D features Astro has in store. on a wider perspective, i still think its premature to buy the current batch of 3DTVs, in relation to its price and the supporting softwares available. it would make more sense to buy it when 3D softwares (movies, games, etc) are more widely available and that would also be the time when the prices of 3DTVs would be relatively much cheaper and better 3D models are developed. Added on July 7, 2010, 12:44 pmNo need ler... the best cable is the one that comes free with it. agreed. i did tried the box's cable vs samsung gold plate cable.. no difference
l_berd
Jul 13 2010, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jul 13 2010, 11:49 AM) I think I did that. Didn't come out anything...Maybe I've mistaken somewhere in between. I'll give it a try. I believe the 720p will produce much sharper imagery than 1080i. Progressive all the way! Thanks for the tip. For the HDMI cable, I was worried that the default HDMI that came with the Astro B.YOND decoder doesn't supports up to 1080p. That's makes me came to thinking of switching the HDMI cables. the limitation is always the tv and astro, not the cable itself.. yes the cable is good enough to support 1080p ( i assume the source will be either your HTPC,Blu-ray player or PS 3) for the HD setting, go to home, tvsetting or installation.. kinda forget.. but search for the installation word.. from there you'll see .. passcode is default 0000