Opening a Bank Account in Singapore
Ramjade
Aug 22 2023, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(elea88 @ Aug 22 2023, 09:31 AM) hi i recently got the MY ACCOUNT from DBS as they change the debit card to MULTI CURRENCY. means i can now close the POEMS eeveryday savers ac? the one with min 500 requirement? and just maintain the MY ACCOUNT? i read the t&c.. like no mention of min. amount. balance Sis you are slow. I have been using DBS my account for ages and only keep SGD0.10 inside. Yes. No more Mon SGD500 or 3000 requirement. That's why when I going down to Singapore one of these days, going to close Maybank as well.
Ramjade
Aug 22 2023, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(elea88 @ Aug 22 2023, 02:16 PM) haha o.k i go transfer my 500 to the MY AC then close the poems. my MBB i close it long long time ago. Make sure you open my account first before closing your posb account. Cause I dont know if you can open acocunt after closing posb account. Steps. 1. Open DBS my acocunt online. 2. Talk to chatbot about closing your posb acocunt 3. Follow the steps required. 4. Upon closing the posb account there will be section asking you where to transfer your money. Choose your new DBS my account number.
Ramjade
Aug 22 2023, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Aug 22 2023, 02:20 PM) Why close the accounts? Having an account there allows you to diversify your assets, if not, just park in for example - Syfe Cash - Endowus Cash - CIMB SG (3.5% interest p.a) Because sg bank accounts have min amount requirement inside or else there's a penalty of SGD2-5.00/month (depending on acocunt). This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 22 2023, 04:39 PM
Ramjade
Aug 22 2023, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(elea88 @ Aug 22 2023, 09:29 PM) yes already open the MY ACCOUNT. let me go link all other ac with MY ACCOUNT before i close POSB Yes. But make sure to follow the steps above before closing your account.
Ramjade
Aug 27 2023, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(Super2047 @ Aug 27 2023, 10:32 AM) Hi sifus, Just a quick question. Can i walk in to CIMB SG branch to open a bank account if I am a Malaysian visiting Singapore only? From what I know application is online. If you are visiting Singapore, go for DBS Vickers and DBS my account. It's superior to CIMB account. Condition to get DBS account, must open DBS Vickers. Can only be done at MBFC.
Ramjade
Aug 27 2023, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(Super2047 @ Aug 27 2023, 12:40 PM) This is opened for just a visitor to their country? Officially said you need employment pass/study pass. Unofficially can open. Just need to ask them nicely/beg.
Ramjade
Aug 28 2023, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(leo2010 @ Aug 28 2023, 09:26 AM) Can we do online non-SGD forex conversion (eg. USD <--> EUR) with DBS My Account ? I assume not. Never tried. You can get better rates by opening up a Forex broker and convert it inside the Forex broker than use DBS. Don't use IBKR for conversion cause if you use it for conversion only, they can and will ban you. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 28 2023, 01:36 PM
Ramjade
Aug 28 2023, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(leo2010 @ Aug 28 2023, 10:30 AM) Sorry, side-track abit. IBKR forex trading has the same USD2 min. commission for tiered pricing, and you get to set the desired conversion rate for the day (vs. currency conversion @ spot rate, USD2 commission). Just curious, would you get flagged and possibly banned too, taking the forex trading path, for the sake of forex conversion? Yes that's right. There have been reports of people of abusing IBKR, IBKR send out a warning email to that person that if he continue doing that, account will be closed.
Ramjade
Aug 29 2023, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(Toku @ Aug 29 2023, 11:09 AM) I doubt so. Those getting banned were most likely using the account only for conversion and withdraw it after conversion. For normal user who is holding equities, money deposit for investment/trading i.e. convert money for investment (not direct withdrawal) IBKR will not banned as this is the normal account activities. Even though users do a trade on FX pairs, it should be consider a normal activities. The abnormal activities is to deposit-conversion-withdrawal. System will flag that. From what I gathered, if you convert you need to use it to buy stuff. Not sure if conversion > buying will it be flag. That's why to be on the safe side, just convert and use the money for investment. Don't use ibkr as a conversion tool.
Ramjade
Sep 6 2023, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(PropZ @ Sep 6 2023, 05:37 PM) Hi, can you advise the steps you use to open moomoo SG version via VPN, i do not have address in SG and also not PR. Thanks Use get windscribe VPN. It's free. You don't need SG address or PR This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 6 2023, 06:13 PM
Ramjade
Sep 7 2023, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(unkaleong @ Sep 7 2023, 01:01 PM) My bank issued token has failed (OCBC). I have been trying to register my Malaysian mobile number to receive TAC, but unable to do so. Do I have to request for this over the counter? Download the ocbc app? Alternatively give them a call. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 7 2023, 01:35 PM
Ramjade
Sep 7 2023, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(john123x @ Sep 7 2023, 01:40 PM)  Ramjade is right, nowadays OCBC uses "OCBC OneToken" Remarks: i accidentally setup onetoken on wrong phone (old phone), i have requested the 6 digit Token Key (sended by slow mail) on 1 Sept. and i am still waiting for it. https://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/digit...g/onetoken.page
Ramjade
Sep 12 2023, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(john123x @ Sep 12 2023, 02:05 PM) are you a SG resident or working in Singapore? I dont think its possible for Non resident to apply for Frank TOS steps is not applicable to us Malaysian who is not a student or working there. Just stick with what works for us.
Ramjade
Sep 12 2023, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Sep 12 2023, 03:06 PM) no issue for those working or studying in sg Yeah. You can open any account you want. That's why no need guide for people working or studying there. Guided needed for people like me.
Ramjade
Sep 14 2023, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Sep 14 2023, 02:04 PM) One of the good US brokerage which is quite free Vs interactive broker. Have real time data, buying and selling stocks is free. Only downside only have US market access, and only accepts money from DBS. To fund t generally need wire/telegraphic transfer.
Ramjade
Sep 14 2023, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(john123x @ Sep 14 2023, 06:39 PM) i guess i can open only Maybank CIMB (they been chasing for lots of documents) and OCBC (my mistake i activate OneToken on the wrong phone, and now i still waiting for Token Key after 2 weeks) will be hard to get for me Just give them whatever documents they ask. If you give up half way of course cannot open acocunt. That's what happen to me. They suddenly send me email asking for proof of income, all my transaction. Send it them and they keep quiet already. Lol. Regarding ocbc just deregister the token. Not that hard. Download the token to correct phone. And register again. I don't think they are giving out hardware token anymore. Now everyone use digital token already. Just call them up and ask. Use IDD calls to get cheaper call rates.
Ramjade
Sep 15 2023, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(kart @ Sep 15 2023, 09:36 AM) I would like to offer a different opinion on this matter. OCBC Singapore still provides hardware token to interested OCBC Singapore customers, although OCBC Singapore encourages the usage of mobile app with digital token. I still prefer to use hardware tokens for OCBC Singapore and CIMB Singapore savings accounts. Good to know.
Ramjade
Sep 21 2023, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 21 2023, 01:31 PM) Life is gonna be tough for China-born Spore bank clients with other citizenships. https://www.scmp.com/news/asia/southeast-as...aundering-probeLike 1mdb lo. Before 1mdb easy for us Malaysian to open account. After that not easy. Before 1mdb you walk into any branch can open account. Later if got scandal from Thailand or Indonesia, then tighten against thai or Indonesia. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 21 2023, 01:33 PM
Ramjade
Sep 21 2023, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 21 2023, 09:38 PM) Can still apply DBS account while still in MY and not working or studying at SG still? You can try. Never say no until you tried. But you need to travel down. There is no way to open from Malaysia unless you sign up for priority banking. QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Sep 21 2023, 09:39 PM) Not tested yet. You don't know. I did it during 1mdb as a student (not studying in Singapore) This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 21 2023, 10:14 PM
Ramjade
Sep 22 2023, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 22 2023, 04:03 PM) Now tightening against acct-holders and applicants of Chinese origin BUT holding other nationality passports. Some accts have been closed. Actually should just target all the private banking customer cause normal people got no money to launder. Settle. But targeting those people is like killing the cash cow. Lol Double dilemma. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 22 2023, 05:14 PM