Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

prince_mk
post Sep 15 2019, 12:12 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 31 2019, 07:37 PM)
I don't transfer money back to malaysia. I only transfer money  to Singapore.
Contact their customer service and tell them you want to open a SG account not Malaysia account. Secluded an appointment with SG Instarem. Account should be easily opened if you had all the documents.
Another alternative is head to their office straight at Hong Leong tower.
Ramjade,

transfer money from Msia to Sg using Instarem ? ok ? signup via online ?

any advise ? reliable ?
prince_mk
post Sep 15 2019, 12:59 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 15 2019, 12:31 PM)
Is my choice to transfer money. I never rushed any other service than instarem. Used to use moneymatch until realised moneymatch more expensive.

Way cheaper than banks, fast (same day if you transfer in the am), reliable. Amount displayed = amount received. Won't be single sen less. Highly recommend. thumbup.gif
TQ Ramjade. will consider using Instarem.
prince_mk
post Sep 15 2019, 04:16 PM

2,679 posts

Charges transfer frm msia to sg is how much
prince_mk
post Oct 5 2019, 06:03 PM

2,679 posts

Just sign up INSTAREM to remit money from Msia to Sg acc. went and sign up already. office located at Bangsar South Village.
prince_mk
post Oct 16 2019, 06:41 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(jieGeGe @ Oct 15 2019, 10:31 PM)
Thanks for help. Need to download CIMB SG app in order to activate digital token.
Now can perform transaction to other SG account ad
prince_mk
post Oct 16 2019, 04:01 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(jieGeGe @ Oct 16 2019, 11:09 AM)
Yeah. I using BigPay Transfer the first 1K to activate the account.
Instarem I using it for USD payment. BigPay Not support
What usd payment are u referring
prince_mk
post Oct 28 2019, 05:23 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 26 2019, 07:52 PM)
oh yeah ........ instarem is cheaper. Will definitely use that.
I had use it since last mth. Fast and reliable.
prince_mk
post Nov 9 2019, 06:28 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 5 2019, 03:18 PM)
Why do I need to access it in Malaysia? I have sufficient cash to use for daily expenses in Malaysia (bills, petrol groceries etc).
Money I transferred to SG are basically money I am not using for a very long time and is a one way ticket for me.
Good for u. Free frm house loan and car loan.

U got buy medical insurance ? And plan to start a family. This is also cost alot in long term run.
prince_mk
post Nov 11 2019, 08:35 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Nov 10 2019, 06:59 PM)

It is clear for this method that I need to wait till Month 9, before I can open a trading account in Tradestation Global and start trading.  I can purchase the SGX REIT units faster, if I continue using Maybank Kim Eng.

Sigh, it is a dilemma for someone with limited fund for me. If I need to look at long term, I have to stop buying SGX REIT, and focus on accumulating funds, for the sake of getting the initial deposit for Tradestation Global.

Tough decision for me to make.  sad.gif
slowly start accumulating sgd. I also did this since few years ago. then u may invest in Sg shares. keep it up! Gambateh.
prince_mk
post Nov 11 2019, 08:40 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 9 2019, 07:15 PM)
Nope. Why should I buy when I can use govt hospital service?

Some disease can be prevented. Diabetes, hypertension, kidney disease, heart and stroke are all preventable disease. Eat right (no junk food, ample fruits and veges), exercise every week (3-4x/week) don't smoke,  don't drink.

gov hospital is good but I cant bear the long queue. so I opt to get a medical card for my future use.

prince_mk
post Nov 11 2019, 09:06 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Nov 11 2019, 08:52 PM)
haha this i dun agree.. i just upgrade myself to 1.5 mil medical card.!!!
Wondering if i am crazy or not..? Paying so much $ for something that i might just not use.
i calculated some of my stocks div will will  be financing this until i SAYONARA.

Do not want to burden my kids with my medical care..

Work so hard.. When i am sick.. yes!!! i want the 5* treatment!!!
as i firmly believe that.
the only person taking care of the older me..is always the YOUNGER ME today...!
AIA will insured 1.5M on yearly basis. u can check in the luxury hospital on monthly or perhaps weekly basis.

anyway, it is good to eat healthily, exercise and worklife balance too.
prince_mk
post Nov 12 2019, 09:46 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 12 2019, 07:41 AM)
You are lucky. I started when SGD was 3.3. I just convert every few months. Never stop. Collect money, convert sgd3-4k every quarter.
During young times..u can convert sgd3k 4k every quarterly.

I worried u cant save much once u started with a small family. All is about money ! Else your spouse will give u big headache.
prince_mk
post Nov 12 2019, 10:25 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 12 2019, 07:41 AM)
You are lucky. I started when SGD was 3.3. I just convert every few months. Never stop. Collect money, convert sgd3-4k every quarter.
My time was ard 2.3 to 2.4
prince_mk
post Nov 12 2019, 11:06 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 12 2019, 10:35 AM)
Know your priorities. You cannot buy unit trust, topup EPF, topup asnb and still expect enough money to convert to SGD right? Pick your battle carefully. Don't win the battle but lose the war. Some things just forget about it.

Live without aircon, limit internet to RM89 and phone to RM30 enough. Use small cars. Forget all toyota, big house, fine dining, starbucks, netflix.  Keep electricity at RM20. Should be able to save up quite a lot. Make your bullets count. Don't simply buy for the sake of buying.
Prioritize what u feel important and necessary for your living.

Living without aircond ? Hmmmm bit difficult with current weather.

End of day, when you reached retirement age, what is the use of being wealthy with figures in the investment or bank account ?

The key point is must learn to balance between life and investment. I would say maybe try to enjoy life abit. Scare gone when you are 40th then like no point of saving few M in investment or bank acc.

For me, family and travelling to overseas is important. Nowadays working lifw is tough too. Many are having mental illness due to this.

My view only.
prince_mk
post Nov 14 2019, 07:41 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Nov 14 2019, 09:10 AM)
btw, is there a limit how much money can send to the sg account?
Not sure. I send bit by bit using Instarem. worried got line problem etc.
prince_mk
post Jan 19 2020, 11:27 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Jan 17 2020, 07:22 PM)
I don't hold any permit and I am not a SG PR. I have an SG OCBC bank. My main purpose to have another SG bank (CIMB or Maybank) is for me to transfer my malaysia ringgit to SG bank. Looking for the best alternative with the lowest charges, because I will be doing it regularly. Thanks.
Thanks. I am a CIMB Preferred. I like cash too  tongue.gif  But don't think is a good idea to bring quite a big amount of cash to SG lor.  tongue.gif
I use Instarem only.
prince_mk
post May 24 2020, 10:13 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(livellorT @ May 18 2020, 08:38 PM)
May I ask, what to do next after linking the SG account. I've successfully key in the IC at the SG account tab.

Is this step correct?

1. Wait for CIMB SG reply on the linking.

2. Once approved, transfer SGD1000 to SG account.

3. Then only apply for the CIMB Clicks SG??
Can u share the link to open Sg CIMB Acc frm Msia.

TQ
prince_mk
post Jul 31 2020, 04:55 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(eddysh @ Jul 31 2020, 04:49 PM)
Hey, May I know can using instarem, TransferWise transfer SGD to CIME Sg?
I used Instarem to remit to Sg acc. smile.gif
prince_mk
post Aug 15 2020, 08:24 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Aug 4 2020, 12:16 PM)
Hi prince_mk, just to clarify. You could not use it for the 1st transfer right?

1st transfer must be SGD 1000 from an account which has our name. So in this case maybe cimb malaysia account or other bank accounts with our name.

TQ
I remember for first time I transferred ard sgd100 to test water to my acc in Sg.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.2079sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:12 PM